(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

Working mums, can you share how you intend to intro solids to baby? I seriously don't know how I can do it on weekdays, can only give him on weekends as I dun trust my maid totally to feed him correctly. Is it ok if I only feed him during weekends till next year? He's born early June so next week he's 6 months.

Ty

I am taking my kids to Oz. I take my kids everywhere [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

It just screws up my plans a little cos now I have to find someone new before the trip and then headache over where I'm going to park the maid when I am traveling. The plan was she goes on home leave and we go on holiday. We come home a day before she is due home.

Not sure if I want to get another Myanmar maid or Filipino. I have heard lots of horror stories over Filipino maids leh. Do you have a good one to recommend?

Elise

She already decided then no point persuading her cos if her heart not in it, then what's the point. Already her heart like don't know go where liao. Today it rained very heavily right? She can forget to close window and my hubby's Xbox games by the window was all wet! And she always gives me the same excuse - Forget!

Ty

Ok de. Babies don't really go fully on solids till 9-10 months. And even then it's only up to twice a day only. The 1st year still need to drink a lot of milk. The trying of solids is just to intro to baby only, and get them to learn eating from spoon. Not for nutrition values. Don't worry too much!

Jojo - The person told me that we should prepare many sets of clothes. better to bring "classic" clothes and not those with many cartoon characters. They will hv some props, e.g. tutu skirts, angel wings, etc. but bound to have some pics which bb will be wearing clothes.

Hopecg, hee.. looks like we are classic Singaporeans...

tywong, i have the tefal rice-cooker. Dun think it can cook porriage till so nuah nuah..

Thanks jenn, yr words make me feel less of a failure because I am still so clueless. I am sitting on my bed staring and thinking helplessly about how how how to cook porridge! My days are so different now. I love my baby but sometimes there is just so much to think abt and my hubby either doesn't talk or say "I dunno!" when I ask him anything abt baby. So now it means I can continue to give him only 2 teaspoon of fruits a day till he's 9 mnth old, something like that right?

Maids I dun dare to introduce honestly. Personally I prefer Filipino though they are notorious. Every nationality also have it's fair share of negative comments from singaporeans. We are a bunch of birds born fortunate but don't realize it. If I m a Filipino, I will never like to work in sg, I rather work in hong kong or Canada where the welfare is hundred times better.

Tersher, your tefal model is the one with the button labelled baby congee? Heh heh maybe you can experiment and let me know how it turned out?

tywong, i don't have that option. I have one button that says porriage which i tried before (not so nuah loh). think i should be buying a mini slow cooker. Friends say i will definitely need one if i intend to travel with bb..

Anyway, I'm as clueless as you about starting solids. bb will turn 6 mths this sat and i intend to start on sat. I even took leave next Mon and Tue.. but i still havent't figure out what to do in terms of "starting solids". I should be starting with rice cereal. but i dunno whether i can intro fruits in the same week.

Ty

Not just fruits lah. Try some cereal, bread (maybe from 7-8 months, tear into small pieces). Personally I don't use those fancy pot and pans to cook my baby's congee. I just pre-soak the rice to soften and then boil over slow heat/ fire or use slow cooker, with a some wolfberries. I put in mince fish (threadfin) and then boil it just before I serve cos the fish will be hard if boil for too long. Then I use 2 big metal spoon and mash the rice grain further. I don't do puree. I feed congee for 1 meal, and cereal for another meal. This is from 9-10 months onwards.

Oh jenn I m really stupid when it comes to this. I will keep asking you now every month what to feed. This friday I will bug the shit out of the pd when I bring sx for his jab.

mil made some boiled sweet potato for the adults. for the fun of it, i let me ger hold on to it. she was initially just licking it then suddenly my greedy girl chomped off a piece of it! instead of swallowing any part it she pushed everything out with her tongue. LOL.

lucky she pushed everything out, i was quite worried she might get choked by it.

dot - sparkle just transferred $16 to you. my fb name is meikeen

re: solids.

books and articles mentioned that by 6 months, the iron level in babies are depleting which is why its about time to introduce solids.

am i supposed to introduce iron rich food?

cereals have no iron right? *scratch head*

Ty

I already shared what I did liao. LOL! I don't do those purée purée stuff. My #1 eat the same thing all the time so much so my hubby feels sick for him. My hubby will say things like "he's eating the same congee again?!?!". Thus maybe why now he super greedy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

As for fruit, I only feed apples and papaya. No bananas, no melon etc. So boring hor?

Sparkle

Some cereals are iron fortified. Look out for them.

Back from the pd. He also can't tell. He said only the big spot on the thigh looks like it, the rest don't. N then he also said bcos babies receive antibodies when they r in the womb n also through bm, so the chicken pox could be a modified version. N it's not good for babies to catch chicken pox at this age due to the uncertainties n bcos they receive mothers' antibodies, their bodies will not produce their own antibodies. Which means in the future, they will get chicken pox again. Only way to determine is to do a blood test one month later. Tmr my bb also need to do swab test for his navel as the pd thinks he may has some bacteria there. Feel so heartpain. Swab test then blood test. This pd not bad, quite detailed.

Jenn, chinese food is forever repitition. As long as the child is not fussy anything goes. That's my style la. When they r older, can anyhow eat for the rest of their lives. I see albums of some of your babies posted on fb, I feel so pai seh tht I never bother to take much pics of my baby. I wonder what I m so busy with everyday besides being preoccupied abt work. I feel so bad.

Ty

Take lots of pictures of your baby now. No amount of money can bring this time back. You can only reminisce this period thru pictures and video [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Maybe instead of worrying about what to feed your baby, aim to take 3-5 pictures a day! Hahahah....

As for food, my feel is what they have not tried, they will not miss. So like drinking milk, babies can eat the same thing over and over again if they like it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tywong: so how? really stop using the sophie? can share why u think its not right. i got one from the expo fair for my friend... but looks sama leh? my eyes have prob?

Zoie I believe the one you bought at expo comes in a different packaging? But that is just a small thing. There are a few differences if you look carefully. I will stop giving my boy the sophie but whether you believe in the authencity of yr Sophie is really your own call.

I think I can tell you here tht the real Sophie has a serial number on one of it's legs. I have emailed the manufacturer to ask for more verification details.

ty

let your maid feed a few spoonful of solids a day. since cereal is like a snack to them .. not consider a meal replacement for milk.

you can pre prepare the cereal+milk feed for your maid in case she dunno how many scoops to make. or you train her to feed the baby over the wkend first

then when you come back after work, can feed puree apple/pear.

i scared if you only feed on wkends, baby may not seem interested in eating.

ty, i brought my bb for his jab yesterday and my pd say can actually replace a milk feed with solids if ur bb is feeding well. she says if bb can eat 3/4 to 1 baby bowl it's considered a milk feed alr.. though i dunno what is a baby bowl.. i told her i gave 2 tablespoons of cereal (organix) mixed w milk and she mentioned can give more.. maybe because my bb is big size? i think he can join sumo club too.. haha

any mummies know where i can get those artificial christmas wreaths to hang on front door?

tywong: i checked my sophie. Yah its different! Arrgghhhh....let me know when the manufacturer gets back to u k.. bet the bulk purchases ones are made from china!

on another note, i am so zombified. my boy woke up twice in the night and they were both long wakings of more than one hr... he was just playing and making noise... argggh

Ty

Serial number on the legs? Oh my! My bb has been munching the giraffe from head to toe! Do let us know when manufacturer revert.

Zoie

Leave him to play on his own n don talk to him. Slowly he will go back to sleep. If u play w him next time he 'll wake n expect to play.

Zinc

I want but dunno how to collect Fr u. U stay at seng kang rite? Could u pm me ur addy first n I try to arrange w my hubby.

Zoie, Tywong

Where did u buy ur Sophie? BP in June thread or in SMH BP section?

Re the serial no

I saw from the BP that only this year siphon have serial no as there is fake ones in Taiwan. The BP seller in SMH is authentic ones as I enquire the local distributor before.

For the BP that a few mummies bought with different packaging one I'm not very sure

But mine is without serial no too. Mine can't be fake cause I bought at bb PD clinic. So I guess serial no is not a way to check.

But ur Sophie look different from a real one?

My bb also kept waking up... Not to talk but to cry. Can see his little teeth now and is killing me.. Am sick for the past few days but nv get enough rest cuz he kept waking up.. Sigh!!

Sophie

Fakes? Hmmm, den is vanilla affected?

Can slowly SMS mi or pm mi ur nos? I got back my line n bought another iPhone. Pkt for no reason kena burn big hole

Seriel no

ya, I read abt it from the Internet last time. Whether the sophies have seriel number or not depends on the batches. Not just seriel number, the head size also differs in different batches of Sophie. I'm surprise the packaging is different. How ar?

Zoie, how different r the two sophies?

Your boys wake up to play. Only my boy wake up to cry.

**** Xmas Party Attendants as on 30th Nov, 9.00am ***

1) Jenn with #1, #2 & maid (Transferred)

2) Rabbit & bb (Transferred, POSB)

3) Agnes & bb

4) Jolene with #1, #2 & hubby or mum

5) Natelie & bb

6) Raleigh & bb

7) Jolynn Teo with bb & hubby

8) Zoie & bb

9) Sheryl with #1, #2 & hubby or maid

10) Julie with #1, #2 & hubby

11) Jocelyn with bb & mum

12) Chiou Fong with #1, #2, #3 & hubby

13) Cindy Guo & bb

14) Irene ong & bb

15) Cath Lim with #1, #2 & hubby

16) Lisa Logam Tan with hubby & bb

17) Jeannie Ng & bb

18) Barbara Lok with #1, #2, #3, #4

19) Bliss with #1, #2 & Mom

20) Doo Lee & bb

21) Elise Chow with bb & hubby (Transferred, POSB)

22) Grace Thio with bb & hubby

23) Amy with bb & hubby

24) Kathleen Lee with #1 & #2

25) Ang hui jia & bb

26) Mei Keen & bb (Transferred)

27) Vanessa Wong with bb & hubby or maid

28) Joelle with bb & hubby

29) Heng Shi Ling with #1, #2 & hubby

30) Kerry Leow with bb & hubby

31) Neo pei pei with #1, #2 & hubby

32) Cynthia Lee with #1, #2 & maid

33) Cheralyn Chew with bb & hubby (TBC)

34) Juliiana Lee with bb & hubby

Please inform, if you are bring spouse, maid or additional kids.

we are limiting to 35 mummies.

Let me know if i am missing out any information thanks.

Please transfer the $16 (Per Family) to:

OCBC 508-822012-001

The first three numbers (508) is the branch number(fyi).

OCBC's Bank Code is 7339

Solid food:

Last sat I let my boy tried apple purée, not sure if he likes a not. He didnt reject it. Sunday, wanted to gave him rice cereals, but failed. Cos instruction as me to pour 200ml of milk n mix 4 tablespoons of cereals. End up became water. Haa.. I thought cereal suppose to b semi solids? End up wasted my 200ml. Haiz.. So thinking, can I feed with porridge itself?

Sick:

I'm on mc for 2 days. Yday went to work only with sore throat. In office started feeling very weak n feverish.. Cannot tahan went bk hm to c doc. Fever was 38.6. Slept the whole day. Now fever gone but body aching. Lay down for too long liao.

6 Dec @11am@ united sq

I'm meeting Hopecg at united sq to buy Christmas goodie bags for BBs. Any mummies wanna join us? We meeting for lunch too.

Sean Lau;

I'm bringing my boy for Sean Lau photo shoot next Friday! So excited. Haa..

human pacifier?

My boy simply refuses to take bottles..snd I am nursing him every 2 hrs, even after giving him 3oz cereal..Is that ok? My PD said feeding shd b 3-4hrly at this stage. I gave him pacifier and he threw away without even sucking. I thought bb at this stage will put everything right into their mouth?

MIL said can give him porridge to fill up his stomach so that he will not keep sticking to my breasts. I am so tempted to give in..hiaz..I wanna let bb know that my breasts are for food not for leisure sucking. Though i admit that it is very heartwarming to have him snuggle in my arms..

Teething gel

Any brand to recommend?

bliss,

I got my sophie from SMH BP, under that shokel seller. The difference that I note was the serial no lor.. and hahaha the cheeks of my sophie hv no pink patch but i m not sure if its becos my bot licked it off. Other than that errr like sama sama?

Regarding packaging, I am not sure cos i bought the gift pack that has the soft toy. the soft toy quality sucks though.

I think vanilla teether shd be fine? i got mine directly from pupsik.

Cath: I dont talk or play but i put the pacifier back for him... Sometimes when i cant tahan his noises, i will pick him up.. but last night was really terrible... it lasted sooo long!!

By the way, what do u all think of using aromatherapy on babies? my boy frequently has stuffy nose, and since he is starting IFC soon, thought of using aromatherapy to ease his discomfort and build up immunity

**** Xmas Party Attendants as on 30th Nov, 9.30am ***

1) Jennifer with #1, #2 & maid (Transferred)

2) Rabbit & bb (Transferred, POSB)

3) Agnes & bb

4) Jolene with #1, #2 & hubby or mum

5) Natelie & bb

6) Raleigh & bb

7) Jolynn Teo with bb & hubby

8) Zoie & bb

9) Sheryl with #1, #2 & hubby or maid

10) Julie with #1, #2 & hubby

11) Jocelyn with bb & mum

12) Chiou Fong with #1, #2, #3 & hubby

13) Cindy Guo & bb

14) Irene ong & bb

15) Cath Lim with #1, #2 & hubby

16) Lisa Logam Tan with hubby & bb

17) Jeannie Ng & bb

18) Barbara Lok with #1, #2, #3, #4

19) Bliss with #1, #2 & Mom

20) Doo Lee & bb

21) Elise Chow with bb & hubby (Transferred, POSB)

22) Grace Thio with bb & hubby

23) Amy with bb & hubby

24) Kathleen Lee with #1 & #2

25) Ang hui jia & bb

26) Mei Keen & bb (Transferred)

27) Vanessa Wong with bb & hubby or maid

28) Joelle with bb & hubby

29) Heng Shi Ling with #1, #2 & hubby

30) Kerry Leow with bb & hubby

31) Neo pei pei with #1, #2 & hubby

32) Cynthia Lee with #1, #2 & maid

33) Cheralyn Chew with bb & hubby (TBC)

34) Juliiana Lee with bb & hubby

35) Jenn Tan Weiling with bb & hubby

36) Ju_vin with bb & hubby

Added another 2 more family to the list. Both of them pm me that they want to join.

Currently we reached 36 families liao. FULL!

Please inform, if you are bring spouse, maid or additional kids.

Let me know if i am missing out any information thanks.

Please transfer the $16 (Per Family) to:

OCBC 508-822012-001

The first three numbers (508) is the branch number(fyi).

OCBC's Bank Code is 7339

sophie

hv one too but my boy doesnt like to bite/suck. thus mine is kept in cupboard. do hope everything turns out fine loh.

zoie, u bought e sophie gift from expo.. i suppose should be authentic right?

I am now waiting for manufacturer's reply.

So far at shops and expo, the Sophies on sale come in boxes, not puffed up packaging like what some of us have here.

Zoie, the texture and material of our sophie versus what is sold at expo is also different.

I'm only just very worried about it but not pointing fingers or blaming.

Bliss, maybe I can bring my Sophie to the xmas party and we can compare?

Dot, i will transfer the amount to you these 2 days.. sorry for the delay.. i can't use my IB now coz my contact no. was not changed with the bank yet (juz changed new mobile no# a mth ago), gonna do it later so that i can use my IB.

X-mas gathering

$16 transferred from POSB. Mine's no 7.

Transaction Reference 5322558086

Rabbit, thanks for updating. =)

Bebe75,

I have a nuk latex pacifier. U want? My bb finally take pacifier when I gave in latex. After he learn that he can suck on pacifier then I change to silicon.

I think is just comfort latch. Even u fill his tummy he also will have the urge to latch...

Teething gel get Dentinox

Zoie,

If from shokel then will be fine. Cause I ever enquire local distributor why that seller is selling cheaply and they are aware of that and explained that cause she bought the giraffe in bulk.

I remember there is a BP in June thread that the giraffe packaging is different but alot cheaper.

Stuffy nose

Armotheraphy may worsen it. I couldn't take smell. It will cause more mucus. At night I'll on humidifier in air con room and it helps..

Tywong,

Can! I'll bring it over. No doubt urs might be fake. I believe in mother instinct. Yea mine comes in box and cert. U gotten in BP in this thread?

jenn,

oh your maid last min chu stunt. hate it when we already plan nice nice liao, then last min gotta adjust plan.

i hope my maid can continue wking for me when her contract is up. i lazy to teach new maid again, also worry that new one will bully my boys.

Bluey

Yah lor. I started to ask her since July if she wanna renew, then in Sep then finally in Oct. She said ok de. Then I book my flights and made payment. Now she changed her mind. I am so pissed man!

Bliss, thanks, we play "compare Sophie" at the xmas party. Hope Joelle won't be offended because I'm really not pitting against anyone. She may also be a "victim" because we bought from the same BP seller. Maybe it's over-reaction on my part, we see on 11dec.

Bluey, yah lor. Looking. Her contract ends in Apr so still have some time to look. Will think of whereto park my new maid during my vacation after I've found one. Damn sian ah!

Hi Folks,

So far, those who have transferred the money are using interbank transfer, so I will confirm the transfer once the money goes thru (2-3 working days).

Anyone one else can offer to bring bumpermats/toys/exersaucer/jumperoo? I don't think we have many things to entertain the kids yet.

I'm bringing my Beco, so if you want to try, you're welcome to!

So exciting!

BTW, any suggestions for a year-end holiday? My hubby is desperately wanting a break. He was suggesting going to Shanghai which I think might be too cold. He wants to drive up to Cameron Highlands, but I think it might be too cold... so I suggested Desaru, but not sure what there is to do there. Also, thinking of the packing is giving me a headache liao