(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

my bb has been sick for 3 wks le.. started with the voice hoarse, then pd started to treat him for reflux.. then along the way got cough, started nebulizer.. then got recover abit then worsen again.. so far have been on nebuliser for close to 2 wks le.. today just went pd again.. cannt drag on le, started him on antibiotics today.. was hoping he can fight the virus then no need start antibiotics.. but dragging on too long, and he's starting to worsen so pd says need to start liao.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] over these 3 wks i spent ard $700 liao.. nw i just hope bb recover fast fast.. gg back for review again next monday.. then me and hubby haven recover also.. so worried will pass back to bb..

bliss, i dont give sweets... but outsider do!!eg. he go pd and pd will give him end of the session and daddy happliy open for him!! i will hide his sweet or last time he never taste before i will ask him to give mummy to keep... now cant liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] he only has his first lolipop 2 days ago... and of cuz is by courtesy of some auntie in the restaurant!!! when i back from ladies, he is happily licking on it! haiz..

jojo,what happen to your bb? hope he get well soon

jojo, what happen to your bb?? last mon i also bring my bb to see PD on her eczema.. at the same time asked abt her hoarse voice. PD say she cried until hoarse voice de.

is your bb reflux serious? recently i also found that my gal will kinda choke herself after feed. got 3 occasion she throw out almost all the milk.

missbluey, old people always spoil market one lah, they think they sayang the child, but you know lah...sometimes depend on them as caregivers also no choice. I rather leave my boy alone with my maid then bring him to my MIL. Out of 1 million MIL, only got 1 is really nice, and i think one of the mummies here (is it Cath) is lucky enough to strike the jackpot!

thanks mummies.... i also duno wat virus he having lei.. i tink its the typical cough/flu.. but coz pd wanted to try letting him fight it first so in the beginning the medication very mild i guess? in fact in the beginning she din even give cough/flu med or antibiotics.. just treated him for reflux coz his throat red and inflammed from the acid backflow.. rabbit, he never thow up excessively i tink, but coz throat inflammed, pd say its caused by the backflow.. along the way mayb the virus won lo.. so the symptoms all start coming - cough, ytd start running nose.. then tues had low grade fever, hovered ard 37.5 - 37.9 degrees almost whole day, even with fever med also ard 37.4-37.6.. so today pd say need to start antibiotics le.. too earli start antibiotics no good rite? though i duno y no good but i guess general perception is its nt too good to give antibiotics, if possible ppl will try to avoid rite.. but since he's not recovering on his own and its dragging on too long, better start it and help him recover fast ba..

abit scary lei.. for babies, simple cough and flu can drag so long and be so exp.. cant imagine...

bluberi

thanks thanks! bb's given around 90ml in total of cereal + FM only. Normally his intake is around 150ml BM every 3 hours now.

Guess there are 101 ways to give bb first foods. I've a nephew 2 years old dun like to drink water now cos 1st 6 months die die no water given cos drinking bm.

I read from a book borrowed from library about first foods, mentioned that giving first food is not to emphasize on nutrition, it's more to let baby start learning "eating skills". So I think it's ok to give rice cereal for first foods and subsequently after 5 days, to move on to oat or fruit puree. And after 6 months, iron and zinc will be depleted from bb's body. So if start solid from 6 months, have to quickly give varieties to supplement these nutrients. Anyway, seems like babies are generally ok whether they start first foods from 4th month, 5th month or 6th month. Just depends on baby's and mummy's readiness.

bluey

your mil really cannot make it. wonder what will happen if you use your breastfeeding experience with #1 and #2 to work on this with her? Heck care about it and the opposite will attract? But will be risky cos don't think will wanna sacrifice #1's teeth.

Jojo

oh dear. sounds bad. hope your baby recovers fast! Now alot of people are sick. Now stay at home is the best! You and hubby also sick? Better wear mask or something to cover mouth.

yaozi, ur bb taking 150ml every 3hrs ar.. why not try to increase his milk intake slightly n drag the interval time longer? my gal used to drink 120ml every 3hrs.. nw its 150ml every 4hrs, if we include the cereal in her milk, she oni cry for feed 5hrs later or earliest 4.5hrs.

i gave my girl bottled pureed pumpkin+potatoes, she likes it but aft a few spoons she will scream coz i feed very slowly. lolx

bluberi

cos all along his milk intake very little. If give more, he dun drink one. Got attitude. If no, means no. If "force" or "trick" him, also no use. And nite time, if he can sleep from 10pm to 3am with one dream feed, we can hide smile liaoz. Now his feeding time still every 3 hourly from 8+am. Maybe will try to drag longer time.

Ha! so cute, your gal. will scream cos u feed slowly. ha! last weekend we went ikea n order chicken wing. when i started eating mine, suddenly hear a scream n saw my boy looking intently at me n my wing. think he's disappointed cos have to give him milk instead. We only started on cereal. haven't on puree yet. i'll start to give him soon, trying to drag abit till he's 5 months first.

Jojo

My Bb that time sick dragged 3wks lo!! 3 agonizing wks!! See Pd see chinese physician, tui na.. Fwahz! No joke!! Am gonna start him on a health prog soon!!!

my gal nw also see us eat will make noise.. dat day my sis was eating in the living room, my gal cruise over to my sis n stare at her food, the more she stare, the bigger her mouth bcom!!! *pengz*

tywong

puree!!! can't imagine eating puree only. You're joking! It's for the babies rite?

x'mas gathering - adult food

mayb for your gathering, you might wanna consider Liang Food Caterer. Their promotional package is quite worth it. $9.50 nett per pax nia for min 30 pax. Even if there are more than 30 people, the food portion is enough. Elise ordered from them before as well. Must try their Mee Goreng, Chocolate Eclair.

http://www.liangfood.com.sg.

Peck,

That's always the problem.. Outsiders love to give sweets..

My boy doesn't have sweet only once in a blue blue moon n can be mths! I will give him chocolate instead cuz at least chocolate benefits health but sweet is totally junk.

Now he is 3 then will realise sweet is nice.

He love to go mama shop to buy those gun etc that got those sweets inside... Once we pay money I'll just pour them away so he won't have a chance to even touch it.

But I feel he dun really like. Someone gave him lollipop but he only lick it like 5 mins n he passed it back to me... Maybe too sweet for his liking...

so long post that i cant catch up at all...

i havent go n get the brown rice powder by eu ren seng.it is a tin container right? hw do we process it? mix with bm n bottle or in bowl then feed? or do we feed bm after giving the brown rice?

puree storage.

can store in the avent storage container and freeze it too..

Xmas Gathering

yeah! lets plan.. we are 1 mth away from the celebration..

puree

jojo, hope ur boy gets well soon!

anyone bring bb for cruise before? there's a super gd deal on star cruise now.. oceanstaterm w balcony only $299/pax.. http://www.deal.com.sg/ thinking of gg..

cath, i received e tangs flyer abt e private sales alr.. it says selected electronic appliances 10% off.. then another 12% rebate on top of that? if it is and if e raycop is on 10% off, then e raycop will work out to be $275.60

Koaru, hubby knocks off earlier, so he picks baby up from nanny's place by 7pm and will take care of bb till I'm back. So i must say that he's been very good to me and bb liao.....

Jenn, i also think that i should start thinking abt moving on. Just that i like the current environment (with many peers around me). Likely to move on to a bank but i doubt the working hours will be much better.

Bliss, thanks for the great recommendation on the infantino sale. I went there for some retail therapy and bought lots of stuff - spent abt $170 there.. haha... bought an exersaucer, feeding utensils, toys and some munchkin stuff... baby already has a jumperoo at home, but since the exersaucer is only $100, i just bought it. retail therapy for mum and fun for bb... I was looking for the munchkin straw cup but dun see it leh...

Tersher,

I guess never an easy decision but may want to work on alternative like picking bb later fr nanny etc.. gd to like yr work environment n pays well too! of course if hrs r shorter than perfect!!

Jojo,

spending money still small thing but muz see results.. Poor bb

bluey,

I really hv to peifu u to be able to tolerate all these nonsense.. I sure can't tahan. Gv biscuits also better than sweets bah.. N pls dun gv the mentos type where it sticks to molar.. Worst kind!

Tywong,

besides cath my mil is very very gd too tho now more relax but she never gv a single sweet to my ger. She also thinks that sweets n carbonated/sweet drinks r no no for kids.. Thank gdness.

Bliss,

high 5 to I! My ger dun like lollipop n she used to juz hold her sweets n misplace.. More like toys to her until recently all the bday goodie bags wif so much junk food but I throw away most too :p but she is a choc lover n I am guilty for introducing her that [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bluey,

I prepare fm according to instructions.. Usually 6oz or 180ml water = 3 big levelled scoops or 6 small scoops. But I do know of fren who gv more powder cos she claim her ger likes more concentrated taste but she drank much lesser milk compared to my ger so I think she juz wanna make up for the lesser amt by making it more concentrated lor.

Ya zinc

I called the bank to ask abt the rebates. It's like a stored value where u can use it upon next visit. Rebates are calculated based on every $10 round down. Hence, it's $277.20 if I'm not wrong. Must look at the discount then. N rebates have no cents. Quite complicated right?

So, yes the price is lower if if the 10% is applicable. Can buy! I'll definitely be buying. Can't tompang for too many , so sorry to other mummies le. Maybe the other mummies with tangs card can help.

Tersher,

How's the condition of the exersaucer? Is those that in packaging?

I think the straw cup is gone! Almost everyone will buy cuz is those Dora spongebob strawcup..

I'm very with my buys today [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Koaru,

Somehow chocolate is good for health but not too much...

Goodie bag! He get to know sweet is nice thru that and in order not to let him eat all, I go thru the goodie bag n quickly eat it myself! Haha!! He will be generous enough for me to eat then throw it away or else he will fuss...

Koaru - maybe i will knock off earlier and bring work home at do after 11pm. didn't want to do that earlier cos the files and laptop are so heavy and i'm still lugging my milk bottles along. hope that will appease hubby.

Bliss - the exersaucer is pretty new, except that the stickers on the bottom tray are a little worn off. I'm going back on Saturday cos i need to buy safety gates. they are selling brand new ones for only $59 (rp = $89). see if i can spot other good stuff... I'm very pleased with today's purchase as well. showed each and every of one them to hubby.. ;o)

Tersher, lucky u to buy the exersaucer at such a low price!

Read thru so many posts, dunno wad to reply. Too tired liao. Just hope bb will sleep well tonight. Still got laundry to do.

My mil is also very good. I strike lottery. Haha! When I said no sweets for bb when he grows up, she quickly agree with me. Actually I'm a snacker, potato chips, coke, choc, cookies, I can eat them for meals when I can't get proper food when hungry.

Me also hardly hv time to read and post now...sianz

Xmas gathering:

yeah so happy jenn you manage to get the function rm.

thanks to one of the mummy (think its tigerbaby) who mentioned can get animal print tee fm the zoo.

Solids

Am still trying to delay feeding my boy any solids though he is showing signs of his greediness by making the tiap tiap sound with his lips when he sees us eating.

Sweets & Choc

best is can dnt introduce to the kid but i was the guilty one who introduced sweets to #1 cos was on the plane and thought if she chewed on sweets she wont get earache. Ended up now super addicted to sweet. Sigh...i always secretly throw away the sweets fm the goodie bag she gets fm the school.

Re party

I was in goodie bag committee? Rounding up fellow members nw =)

Xiaoxiin

Same! Eat loads of junk.. Hoping Bb won't b lydat.. Will eat less w him ard hee

The infantino sale till when huh?

Mummies w maids

Do u.follow her to see doc for bi annual checks? Enter doc room?

Tersher

Understand about the camaraderie in big-4. Agree that in banks hours may not be better cos if in investment banks sure have lots of conference calls in the night. If wanna move, try non-banks is better.

Sweets

My boy also not sweets fan. Once someone gave him a small pack of gummy bear. He was so upset that I bit the head of the bear off! He likes to look at them and play like toys. He collects these sweets from doc, haircut shop etc but don't eat them. But he is a HUGE choc fan like me. Similar to koaru, I'm that one that intro to him. But ok lah. According to my dentist, choc is lesser of ther 2 evil [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shopping

I really pei-fu some of you mommies. Got things to buy meh? Maybe cos it's my 2nd child now. Have most things so nothing to buy leh. But was told that next week got Taka toys fair. May go check it out the toys for x'mas.

Function room

I managed to book it cos the online portal was down. So I had to go down to management office personally to book. The office opened at 9. I was already there at 850! Wahahaha... So kiasu of me! But if the portal was up might not be able to get it cos then can book right after midnight.

Bluey!! Tok abt sweets! Yester night my mil still let my ger munch on a box of zooland biscuits I think she ate at least 10 pieces until I came out n stopped her! It was after dinner already n later my ger will still take her milk but the most impt thing is biscuits will cause her to cough more, it's one of e good to avoid given by the doc. My ger already asked me after dinner n I said no then while I was bz settling #2 , she asked my mil n my mil just let her eat w/o controlling het. So angry! I said she will cough n she ask me to feed cough syrup after I took away e biscuits.

Jenn.. Thks for booking e room. Btw how many pax plus babies do u think the RM can accommodate ?

X'mas Party Function Room

Genice, good question! I think if everyone is in the room, can accommodate about 60-80 adults max! Think maybe we limited to be 1st 40 mommies who sign-up? Wahaha...

jojo, i see. hope your LO will recover asap. you and your hubby try to take more vit c? so that wont fall sick so easily.

thanks jenn from booking the room.. =) maybe someone can setup a event note on Jun MTB grp in FB?

abt feeding,

my gal still drinking every 3-3.5 hrs. i tried giving her 4 hrs. end up her intake drops. no matter is 3hrs or 4 hrs.. she still drinks 120-140ml only. if she is on 4 hrs feed, she only end up having 5 feeds. if is 3 hrs, she still can have 6 feeds and sure got 1 feed she drinks 60-70% nia. overall milk intake pretty stagnant.

koaru,

dun peifu me leh. it makes me feel bad. sometimes i really think are these 2 my kids?? my mil behaves as if they ARE her kids! -.-

cant possibly start a war with mil right? cuz i know once start war, cant stop le. actually my temper isnt very gd de, but i have to stop myself from uttering the words i really wanted to say!

biscuits: she does give biscuits. she intro OREO!! & those biscuits comes with salt. hais!!! oreo is damn sweet lor, the other type is quite salty. only she intro wang wang (round ones) is the best so far. perhaps this #2, i will intro those kids biscuits.

oh mentos, #1 dunno eat how many liao. hais. mil.......dunno what to describe her!

eh, your mil good lor. why my mil is like that??? mil spoil market, fil sometimes spoil market, hubby on & off spoil market, sian! sometimes i glare @ hubby when he offer soft drinks to #1.

ya, i also followed instructions. problem is #1 drink ok ma, sometimes finished all, sometimes never finish. so mil find its sayang to throw unfinished fm, so she 'help' to drink & thinks its NOT sweet enough. -.-

fm need to be so sweet for what?!

genice,

you should tell your mil if *touchwood* your gal is sick, will she take care of her???

sometimes my hubby will also shoot his mother if she gives that kind of answer. i find its irresponsible.

Bluey,

tell yr mil cos eat too many sweets so not hungry lor =p - why force them to finish leh maybe dinner eat a lot le ma.. sigh. I can understand yr situation no point start a war but luckily hubby is on my side when it comes to discipline. So I simply take over when my ger is pushing her luck too far wif the 2 nice grandparents. Till today I still buy wholegrain cookies for my ger cos less sodium n sugar but ocassionally also gv her the sweeter version like those Disney character types for gd behaviour.. but always get small pack so can control intake.

Jenn,

thanks for all the hassle in securing the room!

Genice,

cough still gv biscuits... alamak. Old folks juz wanna pls the kids sigh..

Jenn.. when u mention abt 40 parents with babes.. does that include space provision for the playmats?? cause our babes need space to roll over right and displaying their crawling skills.. haha. I think we prob need at least 4-6 mats..

can someone send me te invite for xmas party?

jenn: maybe the first 40 who sign up? oh if it incudes hubbies, then numbers may b smaller right?

Missbluey, so funny. I think your mil just like heavy tastes. Like how the old ppl like to eat salted fish n salted eggs. Old habits la.

U ladies r making me feel guilty leh. I always pop sugar free candies, biscuits n chocolates. Drink coke, green tea. Means I must quit my snacks? Or u gals eat them behind the kids? I sure can't hide from my boy. Mmm....

I rem when I was very young, my father also dun let us eat snacks. Once a neighbour ah ma bot me a bag of egg biscuits, those small round type. My father pour the whole bag into our then dog's bowl n she gobbled all down. I am super sad. Until now....

koaru,

ypu lucky that your hubby is on your side. my hubby bochap one lor. -.-"""

i have to pester him to tell mil to cut down giving #1 sweets. she still can say i never give alot leh.

zzzzzzzzzzz!!!

xiao xiin,

confirm with guarantee chop that mil prefer strong taste. like she can eat the fried fish with alot of salt marinated in it! haiyo.

sometimes we do eat tidbits in front of #1, but when we sees #1 is taking too many of it, we stop then keep. but of cuz #1 will fuss & cry, depends on his mood. have to distract him with other things.

my #1 likes green tea lor, which i hate it.

my parents control my food intake back then. i remembered my mummy only allowed me to have 2 chicken drumsticks/wings. & every weekend eat brown rice. plus the food she cook are not too oily compared to mil's.

saw a seller wanting to sell her ergo:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/4730719.html?1289529357

Bluey,

Tell ur MIL one mentos contains 7 spoonful of sugar!! Scare her and see of she still dare to give! Kids really should t eat sweets or at least not so much... Makes them hyperactive too..

I feel biscuit still okay but is really culprit of phlegm... My boy so very into biscuit.. Ok thanks to my mom too... But I always get very small pack or I'll eat with him..

Now he learns to stop after having some n keep for tml...

But my son can finish a pack of biscuit before he finish his bowl of rice..

After seeing my fren kids I think my boy not so bad... Haha! Cuz every min they will ask for sweet or biscuit or they will make noise... Even during meal time they are eating n munching on biscuit at the same time... I'm shock to see that..

Xiaoxin,

I don't snack on front of my son... If I do I make sure my potato chips is spicy one. Haha! But I have cold drinks like coke etc on front of him.. Once on a blue moon he will ask for it but he like got no feelings towards my coke.. His water bottle is his best friend. When daddy snack he won't even dare to ask!!