(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

New member joining this thread. Just tested positive yesterday by Dr Benjamin Tham @KK, confirmed that I'm 5 weeks. EDD is late June 2010. Mixed feeling as I have heart and thyroid problem. This is my 1st preg and I have been referred to Heart Centre, TTSH for my condition. Keeping my fingers crossed.

hi friends78,

welcome! hope you n the lil one gonna be alright! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sberry122

I think the key is moderation to all food bah tats wat my doc told me. I even ate sashimi for my no 1 haha which i think as long as its fresh its ok.

hi vanilla, thanks for your info. i just vomited this morning after breakfast. guess like you, on and off. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Welcome to the thread... FRIENDS....

Dun worry everything will be fine now a day everything so high tech i believe doc will do the best to protect you and your little one. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thks gals... I have been married for 8 years and we are still enjoying 'er ren shi jie'... Main reason of not wanting cos we are aware of my health complications...Dr Ben is very understanding and spend quite a while 'brain washing' me of the joy and benefits of having a child... I'm kind of excited yet worried that I will need to deal with disappointment later... Hence, now can only wait for my heart centre review ...

Hi cj,

Which News paper you refer to? i flip all the section for straits time couldn't find the "twin's news you mention.

Hi genice,

i hate ms too last two day was terrible for me. but today bb so good never vomite [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] how many week are you now? i am 8 weeks liao may be tat y it is better now. hope MS can go away soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning everyone,

linda thanks for info I was really thinking about getting the jab, will think twice now,

FRIENDS I believe you are in very good hands with Dr Benjamin Tham I have heard many good things about him!

my mood swings are so bad at the moment,is anyone else feeling like this, even the dog is cowering in the corner in case I shout at her, I am lucky husband is still overseas as he would not put up with it, just so tired and cranky,

Hi all [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Genice, my 2 elder kids is 9 and 7 years respectively [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I also always feel bloated before my meal, so I will force myself to vomit out before take the meal. THis way I can eat better.

Now i feel bloated again, but not sure if it's hungry or what ?? Really hate this feeling, make me very down [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi Aven,

I don't have mood swing lei. heard some ppl wil like that may be you are too tire. got so many thing to take care. try to rest more. or may be watch a funny movie.

yaya, yes i'm seeing Dr Woo. may i know why are you uncomfortable with him ? i seen him once before only. so far so good so want to hear more comment before i sign a package with him the next time i visit him.

jalgal, i find Dr woo okay. short waiting time and not in a hurry to finish the consulation. quite detail in scan. to me he is quite gentle. package is $650 from 2nd visit onwards. include consulation,scan and medication and 2 post natal checkup. blood test not included. charges still okok. not very ex although my previous gynae charge $500 if i can remember.

my next visit is 10th Nov.

sberry, actually pregnant lady can take everything in moderate and not alot as everyday eating the same thing. for cold and cooling stuff elderly normally will advise to avoid. But when you crave for it you will just eat. I just ate subway for dinner with lettuce and tom yam maggie mee for supper. actually was already in the bed but the craving is so strong that i woke up to cook so i can sleep better. hahaha

Hi bliss.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

good to hear that dr woo is a detail type cos i scare those fast fast chop chop type make me gan cheong n forgot wat i wanna ask. hee hee. ya i also thing his charger for package is reasonable. wah you next appt so long ar? but since is ur second one i think you dun mind going later rite? somemore now you got so many thing to pack. where you moving to ar? so fa i also dun have much craving. only thing i love tomyam but my koli always said me if they see me eat tomyam. say not good for baby. dunno true or not.

jalgal, my next appointment is 3 weeks after my first. should be ok since i am not spotting etc. second baby not so gan cheong already. sometimes i even forgot i'm pregnant. only when i feel nausea i will remember. haha! i'm moving to toa payoh. don't know if i will miss this area since i grow up here.

i think tom yam should be fine.. normally if i eat junk, i will drink some mummy milk or eat better my next meal. haha

Should i go for Oscar on my 12 week? Doc say it's not a must, normally for women who are above 35 years old. I'm only 29 and it cost $300 leh, heart pain! Doc say it's a detail check on bb's neck....

sberry122,

dun worry, u will be fine & will be eating heartily again. =)

i still take oily, heaty, spicy food especially spicy food eg. chilli. can't help myself on spiciness though i know it isn't gd for my piles. =(

btw, can i still continue to drink anlene milk? i forgot to ask my doctor.

oh ya, any mummies still drink coffee during pregnancy?

hi all MTBs,

i been "burping" for weeks after meal...is it ok?

and i m 34yrs and hubby same age, do u all go for down syndrome test? any advise? TIA

hi missbluey

think is best to take those pregnancy milk e.g anmum cos better nutrition components for preggy and fetus..

Hi Bliss,

I just move from toa payoh to commonwealth last year. ha ha.. i think u will like toa payoh cos it's so convience to look for food compare to west side (although my hubby not agree) i think toa payoh is a good place just tat now a day alot of china ppl there and the centre is always clouded with foreigner. huh u can forget abt u r pregnant ar? i think i can not lo my tummy quite big lei guess you are the luckly one. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i wonder what is Oscar test? if test baby got problem can the doc do anything to cure it? if can of cos take is better la i think. if can't then will just make us feel sad.

missbluey: me! me! coz im a coffee drinker..

i still drink max 2 mugs.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jalgal, yes i'm quite sick of the food here. i like toa payoh cause is more central and everything can be found in central.

i have baby bumps too. but that remind me that i ate too much. haha! i only remember i'm pregnant when i'm feeling very terrible from MS. tried to stay as relax as possible cause i don't want my son to get affected if i remind myself too much of pregnancy like must be careful etc. so stay relax and enjoy the time alone with him now.

detail scan can see baby having DS right ? but if doc advise is better to go.

happy, my SIL is 29 too. she did not go for the test though

Hi Irma....

2 mugs of coffee???? can not la..... i tot they say caffeine is not good for baby dun drink too much ok?? i m a coffee drinker too but dunno y just dun feel like drinking after got preggy. the strong smell make me feel like vomite.

Hi sharky oscars is screening for downs syndrome,

this is done by a blood test and detail scan to measure nasal bone etc.

I have done this for both my preg once in hong kong and once in austraila, I did not have a choice it was just done, now at age 33 I guess I will do it again, but like Jal girl pointed out there is nothing the dr can do to cure this so is it better not to know in the slim chance that out baby could have this or is it better to prepare one self

hi bliss

ya... somemore is near amk and serangoon and sim ming road that side got many many nice thing to eat one. next time you raving for what you let me know la then i can recommend you haha

Sharky, Jalgal: OSCAR is a test tat moms can take during 12-13th wk to see if the risk of having an abnormal baby is high or not? If high, will have to go for an invasive test which can harm baby.

To everyone: me v heartened by the encouragement in the thread. Think all mommies need encouragement to go thru this experience.

emm.... thanks aven for the answer. i think i dun wanna do if the doc nvr force me or advise me to do cos i wan to think on the bright side hahaha ...

hi jalgal!

yeah..i noe..trying to cut down.last time worse... i will cut down! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

abt the DS, in 2nd trimester i think,KK will do a DS test... i forgot la what doc say.

cottonball: I am seeing Dr Paul Tseng at tmc. He is v assuring, patient and takes efforts to answer our questions.

When I saw him at 6 weeks (my edd: 8 Jun), he did an scan & also tried his v best to let me hear baby's heartbeat. His clinic no is 62542878 & shares the TLC clinic w 2 other docs so u will need to specify the doc u are looking for.

Hi jalgal and sharky,maybe I should share my experiences with your and other MTB on the OSCAR's test issue.

Im 25 this yr and had my #1 M/C last yr on the Dec. I than conceived my #2 very fast on the FEB again. However, nightmare starts on the 12 weeks, which was the OSCAR's test. I was put to the routine detailed scan and the Professor sonographer told me that, "CONFIRM,CONFIRM its down syndrome.See, your bb's neck skin is so thick,normal babies should be >3, however yours reading is 10.5. he only have a 15 percentage of healthy living as the oscar results ratio shows 1:7(which means in every 7, your bb will be a DS). The best option is to ABORT as both of your are still very young. The other option is to do the CVS at 16 weeks to check the KAROTYPE(the genes) whether to keep or to aborted during then.

The moment I heard what the doctor says, really makes my heart breaks. and thinking that my husband and I are still so young, such problem should not occur. The doc then told us that perhaps, its birth defects, whereby the egg and the sperm did not meet properly. After discussion with my husband, we decided not to keep the bb and do further examinations and did my abortion on May.

2 weeks later after abortion, its the routine check up. when back to the doc again, the doc then told us the bb is a female and KAROTYPE is normal. Immediately, emotions stirred and I burst into tears. I confronted the doc, then why the PROFESSOR sonographer told me that its DS in the end she's NORMAL. The doc says, " I dont know, doesnt mean that her Karotype is normal, doesnt mean she is healthy. The neck skin is so thick!!!"

I was devasted and this had put me to a real nightmare. I went home to search online on the OSCAR test and to my knowledge , there are many ppl who experienced the same thing as me. THe doc told them, the bb's neck skin is thick and perhaps, they might be DS, however, some due to religon, they cannot abort, and they gave birth to a healthy baby eventually.

Therefore, I strongly agree that, this OSCAR test can only provide "Probabilities" but not "diagnosis" whether ur child is DS. I really hate myself for not courageous to go true further tests.

Right now, Im preggy again and in my 6weeks. will go to see a diff gynae tml. hope my experiences will let your understand OSCAR test better.

linda,

im not sure whether its considered burping for me as i do have "erm erm" sounds & that bloated feeling after meals, usually only lunch times. i myself dunno why. perhaps while you are eating, air accidentally go inside your stomach? try drinking warm water.

as for milk, cuz i dun like powder form, i perfer liquid type. im currently drinking HL, doubt i can swallow milk powder form w/o puking.

lrma,

wao! 2 mugs! i dun dare to take coffee now, im also hesitating to take tea (another 1 of my fave!). like jalgal, i dun seem to like my nescafe coffee smell when i got preggie, as if turned off. haha.

i did take the DS test during my 1st pregnancy even though i was 24. they did a blood test on me.

re: gynae

nobody try Dr Tan Thiam Chye from KKH? he was my gynae back then. im thinking of going back to him for my #2. he is very patient & easy to approach too.

Juliiana: Thank you very much for sharing your experience [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Juliiana, thanks for sharing ur experience on OSCAR test.. in fact i m tinking to go for it tis time though i only took the triple test for my last preg. from my understanding, triple test shows only ~70% accuracy of detection of D/S whereas Oscar test ~90%.

thanks for ur advise on the diet.. hopefully i can overcome the MS soon.. i heard of a preggie pop drops herbal tat is effective for curing MS. anyone has tried? Safe? http://thebirthshop.com.sg/item_26/Preggie-Pop-Drops-Herbal.htm

hi juliana

thanks for sharing...and sorry abt the loss ..but glad that u r now preggy again...me still hestitate whether to do tis oscar test or nt..me 34 yrs old liao...any other advise?

hi linda

triple test is also a test to detect abnormality like down syndrome. but its accuracy is only ard 70%. usually the gynae will recommend it.. but now it seems like Oscar test is gettin more popular as more pple are gettin conscious n don't mind to pay more to get more accurate results..

yes, its 90% dectection, but every babies are different. for my case, my baby turns out to be normal and its definately devasted. as i say, this oscar test can only guide us on probibilites, but cannot diagnosis whether bb is down. my advice is to go on further test like CVS which has 1% of danger on micarriage.

Hi Juliiana,

thanks a lot for sharing this. must be hard for you. but luckly God bless you with another baby so fast. it's totally not ur mistake. dun blame urself with the pass experience. atlease now from sharing your experience you actually help a lot of parents understand more abt oscar test. and it is a good did. wish your and ur baby are in healthiest condition. beside WELCOME to join our threaD. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi ladies, sorry to interrupt. I'm selling BN Nepia Newborn & Small size diapers at $15 each pack. Collection at Yew Tee MRT stn. PM me.

sberry122: have not tried the drops but noticed it contains ginger. Separately, I tried ginger tea to soothe my MS but was put off by it & ended up feeling worse.

In the end, my MS was helped by diluted ribena and dry crackers, each time I feel a wave of nausea coming up.

thank you jalgal. infact, i almost slight into depression. luckily my hb, family and friends supports me during that darkess hours. if nt, i dont knw how and i to overcome it. and im really blessed with God's love

ya.... Juli....must have faith [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] chinese ppl said "over the darkness will see the light." haha " Hei an de jin tou jiu shi kuang ming" everything wil be fine. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yes, i agreed juliiana.. the tests shld act as reference purpose only.. if we are unsure, really no choice, then gotta opt for CVS which shld be 100% accurate (my colleague went for it).. let's all stay positive and i m sure all of us here will have a healthy baby by next June [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi Juliana

sorry to know abt your loss..i think i'ld be lost & confused too if to know abt my bb being like that.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] glad you're alright now & expecting.

now makes me think twice if we shd take the test!

Missybluey: yeah.. 2 mugs.. haha.. im suprised too that i can still smell the aroma..