(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

yaya, yup.. shall think on the bright side..

i'll be 6wks exactly tomorrow.. gynea visit was on tis fri actually but my gynea told mi to walk in tml instead due to my M/C history. wonder if 6wks can see heartbeat anot.

BluBeri,

I saw that your EDD is 23 June. Means that you are about 6 weeks? Can I ask when your last menses was?

Mine was 29 August. When I went to gynae, he told me that my bb is only 5 weeks. (that was last week). My EDD is around 22 June.

However, when I use online calculator, it says that I am 7-8 weeks. Feeling a little confused here. That's why I'm asking you. Hope you don't mind.

Sourfish, my last menses was 16Sept.. i got the EDD fm online calculator.. i tink it might go later after seeing gynea tml.

how is ur period cycle... coz if the cycle is longer, the ovulation might be later than day 14 which results in a later EDD. mine is calculated based on 28day cycle, though i'm nt sure if i ovulated on day 14 itself.

Does BabyCenter count the weeks of pregnancy starting from conception or from a woman's last menstrual period?

At BabyCenter, we count the weeks of pregnancy starting from the first day of your last menstrual period (also called your "LMP") because that's the way most medical practitioners do it these days. A few may count pregnancy from your estimated date of conception, which is the day that you were likely to be ovulating during the month you became pregnant. (This is usually about two weeks after your last period started.) While the estimated day of conception is literally the day you first became pregnant, most practitioners don't count pregnancy from that date because there's no way to know for sure when you really did ovulate and conceive. So they take the easier route and go back to the first day of your last menstrual period. Then they count 40 weeks from that day to find your due date. (On the other hand, if you're counting pregnancy from your estimated date of conception, your due date will be only 38 weeks from that day.) And by the way, your last menstrual period is also the date from which your practitioner will measure your baby's gestational age. That is, when you're 20 weeks pregnant (starting from your LMP), your baby's gestational age is also 20 weeks.

Why are you telling me I'm 4 weeks pregnant when I'm in my 5th week, counting from the first day of my last period?

This is a pretty confusing issue for a lot of pregnant women. The fact is when you're in your 5th week of pregnancy, you are 4 weeks pregnant! During the week you start your period, you are in your first week of pregnancy, but you have not yet completed any weeks so you are zero weeks pregnant. Think about it this way - you don't say that a baby is one year old during his first year of life do you? He is not considered to be one year old until he's actually in his second year.

A lot of pregnancy books and web sites don't make this distinction, which makes things even more confusing. To make things as simple as possible, we recently standardized our wording so that we only refer to you as being a certain number of weeks pregnant. We try not to say "you are in your 5th week" because that's when you are actually 4 weeks pregnant. We just say, "you are 4 weeks pregnant." You'll notice that the weeks on our Pregnancy Calendar (and everywhere else) say "5 weeks" for example, not "week 5." And that's how most practitioners express it, too. If you start thinking in terms of how many weeks pregnant you are instead of what week you're in, you'll be less confused.

above info copy & paste from http://www.babycenter.com/help-howto-timing

Forgot to ask gynae just now but anyone here experiencing backache ah? aiyo pple say stomach big liao then will have backache but me hor, now have woh. Is it normal? I lie straight on bed will have aching feeling too.. very cham..

Hi BluBeri,

I got my EDD from the online calculator plus my GP. She actually helped me calculate. But I think my gynae is more accurate 'cos he actually measured the sac to tell me estimated how many weeks. Hai.. just dying to break the news officially yet again cannot tell 'cos I still feel it is too early for me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Can't wait for first tri to be over so that I can officially announce at my workplace so that I don't have to keep on trying to act normal daily when in fact I feel terrible inside 'cos of all the symptoms. Hahaha.

Sourfish, i tink measuring the sac gives a better estimation on the EDD.. previously for my failed preggie, the EDD given by gynea n online calculator is abt 8-9days difference.

I happened to check this maternity website. Few mths ago it was holding a closing down sale. So I tot shld have alrdy closed liao. But seeing e wesbite like e sale still ongoing. Anyway for those who are interested pls reconfirm 1st. for details pls refer to http://www.bellysima.com/INDEX.HTM

Hi mikojade, i can understand ur feeling. my son also just turned into 10 months. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so, i think our body is not fully recover yet, so still a bit of weak, but my hubby is very excited and pray is gal this time. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i will visit the gynae this thursday, pray that the baby is healhty. i guess my edd should be around the same date as u.

Hi Vanilla, i also thinking to quit the job, due to the pregnancy, i am a bit of puzzle, one of the reason is the financial site. so my plan is to quit hopefully i can hold it after i deliver my baby. ya, i think SAHM is a big decision, so i quite admire all the SAHM, like Aven , koaru and Bliss. :D

Hi faithe, what is AMC stand for?

Hi koaru, ya, my boy also very active, hectic ler. ya, i think u better go to look for job after u deliver ur 2nd baby. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] same as u, i starting the nausea and cannot eat since 1st day i missed my period. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] within 2 days, i lost 1kg, i keep vomiting and no appetite, and the most hectic part is i have motion sickness, every time i sit inside the car, i get vomiting, so i try to avoid taxi now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi peck, used the CLARIN brand, i used it last time, and its really effective, i recommended to my others friends, all also said very good :D checkout from the counter. i remember i bought it from air-port terminal is cheapper than outside. next week i will take flight back to MY, do you want one? i can bought it for u and mail to u. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i intend to buy one also

Hi Tiger Baby, yes, i think about that price last year i delivered in Mount Avernia with Epidural. For my case is about 5k is because i used a lot of epidural and also i induced to deliver. and the other part also i stayed in a single deluxe room, so is expensive, about 5k. so i think if 5k for normal deliverly with epidural and should be 2 night ler, the cost is less than 5k gua. can't recall, need to check again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi, this is the 1st time joining this forum.

I'm expecting my 4th baby and EDD is 13 Jun 09. This morning I felt some cramp at my lower abdomen. After visiting my gynae,I was given 1 week MC to rest so the baby are unstable. Hope my baby will be fine :D

Hi Barbara, 4th baby?!! wow! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] congratulations!!! ya, pray for you and your baby. dont worry and rest well. HUGS!

Barbara 4th baby GOOD ON YOU

cj you go to your gynae everyweek, I now have to wait a month, also have back ache

hello all, first time here...just went for my first gynae check up, Im 6-7 weeks....edd, i check tru the calculator is 16 June...forgot to ask my gynae..cos was concerned whether bb okie or not..hehe...this bb is my second one. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mummy2nia, wow! so i'm not alone. at first i thought i'm too fast to get 2nd pregnant. hahaha... :D sigh.. nowadyas i always get nausea, very charm. just hope this period can go away ler. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

mommylouis

hehe..u r not alone....hehhe....same..i oso get nausea...it's tiring...i feel guilty whenever i see my bb cos my focus now on the 2nd one cos mine is unplanned...

Hi mummy2nia, i also feel guilty to baby Louis, mine also unplanned. i just feel too nausea and can't play too many games with him since last 2 days. due to i have motion sickness, if my motion too big, i will feel nausea. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] sigh.. so i just hope this period can faster go away, so i can spend more time with baby Louis before my 2nd one pop up.

I strongly feel this website is still active cos some of the tops I have not seen b4. If its still ongoing, this is a good buy! In May, I spent just $130 buying 7 tops, 1 capri, 1 dress & 1 swimsuit!!!

In case you guys missed my previous post, this is e website again, but pls double check urself k.

http://www.bellysima.com/INDEX.HTM

haha, looks like i have the most kids, but this 4th baby is actually accident.

I also feel very guilty cos now very nausea and my 2 elder kids is having exams soon, but too sick to teach them [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

cj & bizzymum,I am just the reverse. I dont backaches nor do i feel nausea. Am getting worried cos i bleed again today and gynae says it doesnt look good. Bb is not showing on the scan the development it ought to be. Am praying for the best for my next review on fri.

Hi bizzymum, I have 2 colleagues with 4 kids, and 1 with 5 kids! All were unintentional, and I really, really salute them cos it is difficult juggling them. Mothers are so noble! And I love to hear stories of the interaction between the siblings in bigger families, very heartwarming.

Regarding the calculation of how many weeks the baby's at, or due date, the most accurate is if you had been tracking your ovulation. Not everyone ovulates on day 14, which is the standard that gynaes usually use. When I was planning for this baby, I used the Clearblue Fertility Monitor to track my ovulation date (it was day 18). This puts me at exactly 7 weeks today, though the gynae put me at 7 week and 3 days according to the measurement in the ultrasound and calculation of my last menstrual period.

Not sure if I'm making myself clear, but the gynae's measurement is usually an estimate, and there could be a few days' difference. So no worries for those mommies who are concerned about the baby's size, it could be just an inaccurate calculation of ovulation date.

Hi everyone! I'm new to this thread. I'm having #2 EDD 26 June. I've just had my check up to confirm last week n have not seen a gynae yet. My 1st one was @ KKH 5 yrs ago n was thinking of Mt A. My previous gynae was Dr Chris Chong now @ Gleneagles. Thus thinking of switching gynae. Anyone to recommend around Sengkang, Hougang, Serangoon area and delivers @ Mt A? Thanks!

hi vanilla, the info was indeed helpful. I havent been tracking my ovulation date and my mensus months back was irregular though more consistent from july onwards. my bb ought to be 7 weeks but still too small to detect heartbeat. Am thinking if i ought to go for another opinion.

cj, my edd base on online calculation is 18 june.. my first visit to gynae is next tue... once i have the date from gynae i update u again..

mummy louis, very kind of you.. thank u for your offer.. if wont be troublesome, i would like to get one tube... may i know where u stay? i may can dropby and self collect from u

bizzymum, wow no.4!! salute u.. i cant imagine myself in your situation :p.. now i start thinking of how to handle my son and the new born together next time le..

hi bbdust to all and yaya

thanks for the info on duphaston... hope i can share my EDD with u gals after my gynae review tmr [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I think its mainly due to our own skin/genes with regards to stretch marks, but of course using cream is better than none at all.

For me, I hv used the Clarins tonic oil + stretch marks cream and I intend to stock them up when Metro is having 20% storewide - cos its upfront disc.

I still carry my gal of 11.3kg at times, and guilty of not hving much energy to play with her. But I make up with more kisses and hugs.. can't do better I guess.

I think I will seriously want to stop at 2 - cant imagine going thru all these 2 yrs later!

mommylouis

yah...this period is terrible, then once the MS over, stomach big liao, wun b the same...hehe...but will oni b for 9 mos... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi all, abt EDD, the gynae at 24hr told me that it depends on the bb growth. Although i used the online calculator and show 6week, the doc says is only abt 5weeks...cos he say it depends u have regular or irregulat menes and your ovulation which most of you mentioned..

yaya, i had same problem as u, didnt sleep well, maybe worry abt our bb, but worst thing is, when i abt to sleep, i found my bladder full and need wake up pass urine....:-(

Hi all..Recently I found out that I am expecting again.it was a surprise as my ovarian cysts condition does not flavor pregnancy. I shd be in my 7 - 8 weeks now. Thinking of seeing my gynae in 2 weeks' time as I am busy preparing my gal's for her year end exams.

This will be my #3. My #1 and #2 are gals and they are currently 6 and 7.

Though I hope this will be a boy (too many yin in the family..), I also learn to appreciate that every life creation is a miracle. Now my 2 gals are more anxious to learn abt this new pregnancy than my hubby and me. And they insist to have another sister. They had even named it with a gal's name.

I have not informed my in laws - as I have not been confirmed by the gynae. If you ask me if I am worried that they will pester me for a boy this time, I will say yes. But, too late to do anything now. So, I might as well learn to enjoy this pregnancy journey with my 2 girls. Afterall, this might be my last chance to be pregnant. In addition, my brain has gone rusty recalling my previous pregnancy experiences. So, now I have to relearn everything from scratch again.

morning ladies,

just want to know would anyone here think about getting the h1n1 jab,

BBdust

wow nice to see u popping in at this thread. Me also on Duphaston.

Linda

im on Duphaston 3x a day cos there is a blood clot near the BB sac. Hopefully the next scan it will have been dissolved already.

CJ Junior, help me to update, i have 1 child and am expecting no 2. thks

bebe75:

I know exactly how you feel! My first 2 are boys and of course everyone is expecting a gal now. But how can you gurantee the baby's gender? Healthy can already what. But with all this pressure, I am also pressured to thinking that this baby should be a gal. So terrible right? Even my ILs and my boys are saying 'baby sister'. LOL.

Vanilla:

Thanks for the info. I guess that I did not ovulate on day 14 as expected. Because according to gynae, if my baby is only about 5 weeks, and if I count backwards to the day of conception, then it won't be day 14... so interesting... and I always thought that I did ovulate on day 14 as my menses are regular.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hee, that is also my FIL's birthday. but i guess bb might pop earlier? as now i see most mummies i've known have delivered earlier than EDD.

Missbluey,

i wont say so for the 1st child, at least my bb gal decide to stay inside me a few more days after my EDD, so i am hoping my second one will surface sooner! Cos I prefer a Tauras babay, evil me!

Good afternoon!!

going for my gynea visit at 2pm.. feeling so scared n excited.. mixture of feelings.. hope wun hear bad news.

Lolar83, will pray hard for you. Juz rest as much as you can now n remember, your baby is the most impt now.

Peck and Vanilla, 4th really does sound very challenging. My hubby and I are now still trying to adjust ourselves to the idea. Hope it will be a girl so that we can have 2 pair of "Hao".

Clarins tonic oil is really effective. I've used it for my past 3 pregnancy, highly recommended!

CJ Junior, if you realised, I've change my username from Barbara to Bizzymum, pls update [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi bluberi,

Don worry, everyting will be fine. think positively.

I went for my check up yday nite. So excited to see my little one strong heartbeat flickering on e monitor.*thanks god*

Based on growth measurement my gynae say im 9wks. But online calculation show is 8wk wor, so confused.

Due to my previous m/c, im also given hormone pills for past 2wks, 2tab per nite. Till yday my gynae say i can stopped consume it & prescribe me "Ganilia" kind of mineral, vitamins & calcium tab.

I also signed e prenatal package $700.

koaru,

hmmmm...perhaps differ for some mummies bah. cuz for me, my 1st child was delivered 12 days earlier, as i was already 2cm dilated then & i really couldn't wait to see my son! hee. plus i buey tahan carrying my heavy stomach, very tiring. =p

Hi Peck,

I try to carry my son at times too. Don't want him to get too attach to the helper...

Hi Mummy Louis,

I never expected this little one to join the family so soon too! I tried for 8 years before i conceived my first born so when I tested positive at home last friday, I was screaming for my helper to help me double check the test kit again! I couldn't believe my eyes! All along I was thinking it's probably due to stress which is why I'm so late. And I was In Hong Kong last week walking ard alot, carrying my son and lifting up the luggage! Thankfully all is well...

Hi CJ junior,

Thanks for doing up the table. Pls update for me:

Gynae: Dr S.H Kee

Hosp: Mt A

# of kids: 1

Thanks again!

Hi..as I am not seeing my gynae until 2 weeks later (I m likely to be at 9-10th week by then), I have gone to the pharmacy to get the folic acid and calcium tablets myself.

Currently, I am taking

- 5mg folic acid daily

- 500mg calcium daily (I seldom take diary products)

Wondering if these supplements are sufficient for me during these period? Are there any supplements recommended by your gynae?

My gynea gave 5mg folic acid and multi-v. He usually starts me on iron and calcium only around 4-5 mths.

Blueberi, how's your checkup?

Hi CJ: My hospital is TMC, Dr K C Yeo. Thankie Dear!

HI Mummies,

Juz found out tat I'm pregnant wif my #2. Juz went to visit my gynae today coz was bleeding ytd evening.

Now I'm quite stressed out coz in e scan it shows 2 spot, doc was askin if my family gt history of twins. Oni my mum sis gt a pair of twins. Doc was sayin it might oso b blood clot n chances of twins vr slim bt I juz feel vr scared coz my #1 oni 13mths.

Mezzo17, u were saying u gt blood clot oso, wats e size lyk?

hi CJ junior

pls update for me also thanks...god bless me with my 1st little precious, my EDD will be 17/6, Dr SF Loh/KKH, #1 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dear all mums and mother-to-be,

Hope all of you are well :>

Sigh my nausea is getting stronger, same goes for my headache. Backache on and off. Feeling more tired this week, some more i have part-time course to attend, twice a week. Have been skipping lessons for the past 2 weeks, tmr must guai guai attend lesson liao.

Doc also ask me take Duphaston twice a day but i stop taking le since i'm ok. No bleeding and such, i'm a naughty patient haha.