(2010/05) May 2010 mtb

mummies, r any of ur bbs cranky? Mine is super cranky in her week 3. First 2 weeks r fine, she has mild colic now but she seems to be screaming and wailing her lungs out at the slightest thing! So stressful for us all!!

chubby tiger : ya lor. they not suppose to go home one.. and of cos there is paper work to be done.. my suggestion is that u change maid .. since that u also cannot cope without a maid.. but even if u change maid.. she also cannot go home.. is this ur first maid?

Aloe... me same case as u.. bb problem burping n vomit milk.. i hv tried colic drop but not much use... ru yi oil... helps a bit... baby massage does help... but im still trying my best to burp him after each feed... else his face turns red from trying to burp n can't slp well..

any mummies hv good advice?

lil tiger : mine too.. colic problem comes in .. now week 3 also.. going on 4.. keep crying n crying..

maggie mee : u put ru yi oil already.. must wrap.. den they feel better and secured..

maggie mee : baby massage does help - u bring him somewhere to massage or u DIY ? i was thinking shd i bring him to Ma Kuang

aloe.. i bring him to chinese physician..does help.. they give 2 stomach pack to put to reduce wind.. i feel my bb better after tat although still hv wind lah..

Nana: I prefer this current maid so far no "problems" so hope she wrk n take care my bb for me n to change means I hv to retrain I m just too lazy to teach everything again plus we r so tire during this period. I m thinking wat if her mum really can't make it n she stil serving her loan it mean she also can't go home, right? But we r like so bad.

hehe nanabear you so funny [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] sori for the unglam look that was my first attempt in posting lah got to excuse me!!!:D Yeah pour EBM into bottle and then the mb for storage. Once milk in bag, squeeze out the excess air, zip and freeze the ebm. Can lie flat for storage so it takes up less space in fridge. Look at this link very useful http://familydoctor.org/online/famdocen/home/women/pregnancy/birth/828.html

Help! My bb only poop once a day! But certain days never poop at all, like today. Pee as usual but just poop once a day is it normal?? I hear ya all bb poop after every feed... Mine no leh.

Little Tiger, same here, bb oso 3wks+. wify told me bb was super cranky this noon. both now concuss liao.

chillimum, not really poo aft every feed for mine. sometimes oni pee for the whole day then nite will poo.

DeAr mummies

I give 90ml fm just now but I think fm is thicker than bm so the teats dun allow easy flow and bb gets frustrated after sucking 35ml and screammed at cl.. How? Anyone using diff teats for fm and bm ?

I have been reading silently, but just too tired to post.

RE: Burping - about 2 times a day I give bb colic drops(Dentinox) . Usually right after drinking milk bb dunt burp.I will keep rubbing his back and then after doing it for 5-10 mins, I lay bb down flat on bed, go and wash his feeding bottle. After laying him down, I lift him up again and try burping him, and usually all the time he burps successfully. He will feel uncomfortable and turn red and cries most times after his burp coz he feels like vomitting out milk. I do continue to burp him untill he either falls aslp or vomits some milk out. All mummies try laying him down for 10-15mins before burping bb again.

RE : Taking care of bb yrself - How do u gals do it?? Ive been bringing bb home since day 17, and its so tiring. My hubby helps to feed and take care of him with me and its still tiring. Im desparately looking for maid to share the load. Its too much, washing bb clothes, feeding, burping and doing housework. Furthermore Im not even Bfing.

RE : Menses - After my csect, Im having my first menses this month. It terribly heavy , and I have to change pad every 3-4 hours else it gets drenched and flows out. I change my clothes 3 times becus of overflowing probs. this has been happening since yesterday, and Im getting worried. Its seriously alot of blood, any mummies experiencing the same thing?

Hi all~

There has been a lot of posts and it sure take some time to read them..

Birth Story :

17 May 2010

@3+pm : was woken up by hubby saying that it is rather late and I m still sleeping. Wait my bb ger hungry how? Got up and went to washroom. Finish doing small biz and found some blood when I wipe. Called gynae's clinic but doc has left. Nurse advise me to observe for more bleeding or contractions.

4+ pm: Decide to go down to TMC as having a bit of contraction.

5+ pm: Reach TMC and sit down near the 24 hr clinic. Hub went to buy Jollibean and both of us sit there and eat. Timed contractions is 15 mins apart.

6+pm : Decided to go home since contractions not that intense. Had dinner at home at ard 9+ and went to bed at ard 12+.

18 May 2010

@3.00am : Waterbag burst at home (felt water flowing out rapidly) and quickly we took a cab down to TMC.

@3.15am : Arrive at TMC and went to the observation ward. Nurse did a VE and also attached to CTG machine. Could not time contractions as clock was blocked by curtain of my bed.

@5+am : Vomitted my dinner out due to contractions pain. Was thinking how come none of the nurses on duty ask whether I want pain relief or not.

@6am : Press the nurse bell and asked for laughing gas as cannot take contraction pain. Nurse was asking y I did not request for it earlier.

@7+ : Gynae come and did a VE for me and he informed me that I was 8cm dilated. He told me that I should be able to deliver naturally in an hour time. Was wheeled into labour ward and the nurse help to prepare me for nautral birth. Was telling me what to do when crowning happens. Was doing around 6-7 pushes and breathing my laughing gas before nurse went to call gynae.

@9am : Contraction hit and gynae asked me to push and my little princess is born at 9.13am.

Taking care of baby

I have been taking care of my gal myself as my mom only cooks, wash my gal's clothes and help do a bit of housework. These few days my hubby was working late so by the time he reaches home, he is very tired.

Diaper

I only change my gal's diaper when she poo or when I feel her diaper is very heavy. Did put rash cream on her butt as it is slightly red.

Pooing n peeing

After I change from BM to FM as my gal got bad jaundice, my gal has been pooing at least once every day.

Burping

My gal did not burp every time after she finishes her milk. Did try to burp her but she too sleepy to even respond to me. Will try Agginess's method later when she drinks finish her milk.

Thanks bx, Sue and Loh who had accepted my friend request in FB. Can add me at [email protected] for other moms.

Mrs Teo, wat my CL did was to use needle to enlarge or can cut a small criss cross on the teat hole to make it slightly bigger.. then easier for the babe to drink FM.. just remember which teats u use for FM which ones u use for BM (can also use the already enlarged holes just that flow will be faster)

Hey mng ladies..

My bb has this mng routine.. he knows for his first feed of the day (at abt 5am) I will always give it to him lying down on my bed then both of us would fall asleep until nez feed. only sometimes i will put him back in his cot.. today he came snuggling to me when i put him in my bed.. then when i put him away from him bec i was scared of accidentially sleeping on him.. awhile ltr i found him sticking to me again.. heheh.. so cute! and only 5 wk old.

Hey agnes! nice to hear from u. U want part time help? my urut lady has some contacts.. she knows some malay aunties who can come to ur place and clean like for half a day and even cook meals if u want.. 91652026.. auntie jumie

chillimum- u on TBF or EBM? if then baby no need to poop everyday.. sometimes can poop once a week only. bec BM is easily digestable and the nutrients are all used up so rarely any waste.. but need to pee everyday.. thats the only way to tell tt ur bb is getting food into her body.

Wind in stomach - my PD gave me ridwind baby drops to put in her milk which i find quite effective (about once a day)and i rub ru yi oil after every bath.. she still has wind and sometimes she doesn't burp either (too sleepy) ...my CL also apply this 'su he wan' some black ball thing on her tummy and holds it there with a cotton pad about once a week.. i ain't too sure if its effective but touch wood... no colic yet...

Poo - baby is 5 weeks today... every since changed to FM she poops about 1x a day.. but i do give water... maybe the total of 20ml - 30ml a day... my CL insists 100ml a day is the max but i ain't gonna give so much...

Looking after babe - my CL leaves tmrw *sob sob*... i dun need to do housework, dun do washing of clothes, dun cook.... and i already find it so tiring looking after the babe!! Hubby doesnt help cos he normally stones in front of the tv after work.... sigh... my SIL just told me the other day... toughen up princess....

Congrats Jobel.. welcome to the lack of sleep club...

Hi lilstarz29,

Same here.. my CL is leaving tom.. the real challenge starts tom.. On one hand, I'm looking forward to it (cos' I'm tired of having a stranger in my home, and messy kitchen).. on the other hand, I'm kinda worried that I cannot handle baby alone.. Just got to keep telling myself to try and take it easy.. everything else can take a backseat first..

morning mummies... been super duper busy... finally got time to sit down n read the posts...

Fb

i'm also on FB... pls add me... [email protected]

mrs teo

how's ur ss?? u taking fenugreek?? does it boost ur ss?? i'm taking the tradtional medicinals mother's milk tea... seems like it increase my ss by abit leh...

i think my ger dont like FM lor... trying to finish up the opened can... budden she'll get really fustrated when drinking FM as compared to BM...

wat i did was to let her rest awhile after she suck afew times... n i mix FM with BM so that its not so thick...

Little Tiger

my bb also cranky at times... so gotta guess wat she is not happy abt lor... usually is hungry, diaper soiled, diaper too wet, colic or just wanna be carried lor...

if its colic, ruyi oil really helps...

aloe/ maggie mee

i usually burp my bb by putting her down for 1min then carry upright with her head on my shoulder and pat her backs... u try this method coz it works for both my #1 & #2...

usually they r able to burp very fast like tt...

chillimum

no worries coz tbf bb might not poo every day as bf is easily absorbed... coz my #2 also poo once a day or alternate days kind lor...

i was also worried when #2 did not poo for 2 days... coz my #1 poo after every feed when i tbf him...

Re: poo poo,

I think bb poo poo nw quite stable after full month not like when they just just born 1 day can poo every after feeds n quite siong when come to using diapers. Nw my gal also don poo after every feeds mayb a day abt 3-4 time n not so tiring when come to e night feedings can u imagine they drink n they poo after tt they hungry again very fast n we hv to feed them again.

Agginess, for burping, i always do it in btw her feed n aft it. really recomm this pattern (advice from one mummy here, great!)instead of burping only aft bb finishes the milk. it cuts down the amt of BM being wasted when bb vomit it out. my wify oso has problem burping bb n i think its to do with the position of bb body n the patting strokes. for me i will always stop patting bb aft i hear at least 2 burps.

wify does the EBM. house chores i handle n feeding n burping we share equally. so far still manageable now but i really shack..

abt the menses, wify has really heavy discharge last wk but already subsides now.

A R, no pics of ur bb yet ah on fb?

Mothers, wanna chk do u bring ur bb to pray to both ur hb n ur ancestors b4 bb full mth huh? it has to b b4 or can it b after or mus on actual day??

Another Qn, do u let ur fren/relatives b ur bb godparents?? if so, do they request ur bb to pray to their ancestor??

Re: poo poo

i agree with chubby tiger. poo poo for my baby ger also seem to have stabilize now that she is a month old. About every 3 to 4 times a day, but a lot more each time. But my ger still needs to be fed like every 2 hourly even though she does give me occasional longer breaks by sleeping a little longer (half hour or so).

Next week will be the start of my home alone with baby. Seriously hope I can cope. Else will have to get my MIL to come back to help again. *fingers crossed*

i'm ordering tingkat from House of Catering for lunch also to settle the food problem.

Hi mummies: hope everyone is enjoying your moherhood. I on the other hand have been hit by the blues!!! have been always crying since Day of baby's arrival. my parents not making things easy for me. After a talk with them, they are doing things according to my style and wants. Glad it worked out, but i still feel teary. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Q TO CHECK: baby is having rash or tts wat it looks like on his nose and eye area. is it milk rash or shd i bring him to a PD?

Secondly, how lg would this bleeding last? It is browish in color but suddenly, i will fresh blood. Anyone experience that?

AR: how was ur baby's first mth celebration go?Im looking for a plc to celebrate the first mth...dont neo wr la....tote of chalet but i was told it is not safe as baby is still very young.dont neo why...so left with looking for a plc now.

Hi hi mummies!

My #1 has been down with viral fever and I am super exhausted.

KTSC,

I used BM on my bb's heat rash. It's very effective! Will keep at it. Thanks!

Anne,

my bb also has rashes near his eye and nose. Applying BM seems to work. We apply it after his bath and leave it to dry.

It's been a month I'm still having lochia but it's very little and mine should be tapering off soon maybe in another week or two.

Loh, I cant do burping in between feeds, becus my boy is impatient and hates it when we take out the feeding bottle halfway. So we can only try burping him after he has had enuff. And yes, since i dunt BF, i bottle feed him, I make sure he is in a slight sitting position rather then in a more lying down position. I think it helps to reduce the vomitting of milk out.

AR: I dunt really need part time help, coz I have contact for tht. I want a live in maid, coz I intend to go to work soon so I need a maid anyway. Thinking of long term, we still will need a maid, if planning for bb No 2. So why not hire now.

Mummies who do not intend to take maid, I have a queation. Dunt u feel its too tiring and u cannot go back to yr normal lifestyle like gng out wif frens , doing shopping or doing yr own things? I mean I do understand and Im willing to sacrifice abit. But with the bb, its not even possible to have a decent meal with hubby. How do u gals cope all these changes? I think now u gals know why Im so desparate to take maid...keke..Im a bad mummy, I seriously cant take so much changes and I miss gng out on dates wif hubby, gng out dinners wif frens. Im curious how u gals can so fast accept the changes.

BBF, thanks for the info...hope it stops soon, it looks like no more then suddenly i have it again...so irriating...i will try the BM for his rashes....thanks again

Hi mummies...At last got time log in..baby n hb asleep.. TMr will be the end of my confinement yesh!!! Actually i alr self declared it to end early keke went shopping for few hrs cos baby gap gt sale! Confined cannot go out gg bonkers.

Haf no help since my whole confinement except for my mum n mil bringing me food for lunch n dinner..but sumtms so bz really dun feel like eating..Tat day i bathe my baby for first time cos noone ard to help..Still ok...but v nervous cos my hands no strength to hold baby in position scared drop him into water...Frm tmr onwards gotta bathe baby alr..Wa jing bo eng after having a kid keke..

So tiring the feeds, 2 hrly 100 mls..Think need to increase again..Cos baby gets hungry so fast not even 2 hrs!! Then i also no time pump milk alr haha..can oni squeeze time when my hb ard to take care..

After confinement muz go for full body massage my necks n shoulders n arms are aching frm carrying, feeding n bf baby..He is getting heavier keke...

Burping> if can get your baby burp after milk, don't let your baby led flat cause in case you're away he/she vomit, will choke. Must take note hor.

blue turtle, my baby also can't sleep long hour.

He will wake up, every 1 half or 2 hours to cry for milk. Day and night the same...

edie, Thanks I will try.

Mrs Lee, talking about my CL, she not no good but just I don't like she always carry my baby loh. Now mt baby only used to her so next week she left hor, I sure can't cope.

Yeap already learned everything from her exp bath. This morning I want to bath my baby but he cried so CL said she will bath instead.

Mrs Lee & AR, yeap you gals are not alone.

Me too will have to take care of my baby alone after my CL left.

Alth staying with in law, but don't dare to let them take care.

1 question, how you're bath when taking care of baby alone?

My baby very light sleeper and will wake up anytime.

nanabear, yesterday he even hole pacifier himself! He very smart but super naughty...headache..

Loh, Thanks for the infor. Will tell my husband and discuss with him whether to remove the teeth or not.For me is "no" loh.

Brenda, if scared about droppin baby in bath.. i bought this net seat thing that u put in the baby bathtub... it reclines so can rest baby on it while u bathe him. No worries about dropping... cost only something like $12 plus from kiddy palace... but when turn baby over to wash the back then have to remove and be more careful there...

can support the neck too? I bot the anti slip mat..Really no strength carry baby too long lol...my hb always scold me for being clumsy..after preggy also clumsy..v hard wash baby back leh.. i still nt used to over turn him support front cos my baby getting active..ok will go kiddy palace c

Hmm.. its like a net seat u put in the bathtub.. so u can rest the baby on it in a 45 degrees lying down position but of course hold on to baby... so if u got active baby like mine kick and kick u dun feel so kan cheong..

Been reading all posts but no time to really post. Now eating my lunch and posting with one hand hahaha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

CL left on Friday and it was a relief to all of us at home! When she left, she didnt do a good job! I found some rotting food in my kitchen hidden, those chinese mushrooms already soaked in a plastic bag, an oily kitchen, badly scratched counter top and the list goes on.... worse of all, she left my son with sticky ears, sticky eyes, from a mild heat rash to a very severe case of heat rash until it affected the scalp as well. It started out as rashes on his scalp and now its all stuck to his scalp like cradle cap. One day my mil came over and told me my son is smelly! I think that was 2 days before she left. In the end, i took over all duties from CL.

Been so busy caring for my boy. Now his rash is almost all cleared, no more sticky eyes, no more sticky ears, hair cleaned and not oily anymore. I'm waiting for my balm to arrive from Australia to clear his cradle cap.

Besides that, I have to look after my #1 cus she is sick (cough & running nose). And she has been wanting lots of attention from me and hb. When hb is at work, she wants it frm me and keep asking me to put didi on his bed and play with her. Phew... Not easy handling cleaning up the house, laundry & caring for 1 infant & entertaining 1 kid! Yesterday my #1 wants me to do baking with her and I had to make my son take a nap and then do baking with her. *faintz*

Wet nappies:

Usually I change his nappy pretty frequently even if its a little bit of pee. My boy dislike it so I have to change pretty frequently. He can even sleep while I'm changing him so I don't have a problem of him waking up every change.

Agginess,

Yes, I feel that frustration often even with 2nd kid, but I have accepted the fact that life is never going to be as carefree as I did when I had no kids. It will take a while for the acceptance to sink in, sometimes the same frustration comes back here and there but there is no turning back.

A lot of my stress is reduced by ensuring that there is a good support network, like hb, parents, in laws, sisters, maid etc, to help when I need to take a breather.

I will plan to have "me" time and go out on dinners and outings with friends, but it's never spontaneous anymore coz the bb runs my schedule.

Even now that my #1 is not a bb, when I do go out, I will be thinking of going back to my kid very soon and calling up to check how he is doing.

As a working mum, I can spend very little time with them, and they grow up so very fast. When I think of that, I can grit my teeth and cope better.

Luckyone,

I use a baby monitor, so that I can do stuff around the house while bb is sleeping.

When I am alone with bb, I will bathe after he has been fed and I manage to put him to sleep. Just need to make sure he is safe where he is sleeping. He just has to cry a bit until I am done bathing. No choice, a little crying won't hurt.

gals, any suggestions, where we can hold 1 month celebration? tote of chalet but got some feedback tt its not really a good idea, so i need some ideas and i cant think of any now.

anne: chalet will be hard to get now anyways, cos school holiday already.

maybe you wanna try borrow/rent some condo function room, country club function room or book buffet @ hotel? depends on what is your budget and how many people you intending to invite also. need to check if you have place to express milk or nurse baby @ the venue too.

i'm doing mine this sat at home, order buffet in.

bbf, maybe I have to bath before my husband leave to work in the morning and bath again after my husband come back to work loh.

Wow! How come your CL like that!

These CL hor, want to earn money but don do proper job.

How much ang pao you give her on her last day?

Anne Raj, You alot of guest? Restaurant VIP room?

HELLO MUMMIES!!!!!!!!!!!

How are all of you? I drool seeing all of your cute babies pics in fb! Hope all are doing fine.

Luckyone> Just saw your msg in fb. Are you ok? Anything must voice out to your hb or cl. Can msg me if you need to talk.

Immunization:

Mummies, anyone has any advice on the effectiveness of the 5-in-1 jab vs the 6-in-1? I need to bring my ger for hep b 2nd boost, but can't decide if shd opt for the 6-in-1 instead.

blue turtle,

same here!! for my #1, we brought her for 5-in-1. planning to bring #2 for 6-in-1 instead.

can anyone advise when to bring our bb for the 6-in-1 jab? still needa bring them for hp B 2nd dosage at 1st month?

Chloie, haha yeah "talk" to my husband almost everyday when he's back. Then last week he can't "tahan" and scold me haha..

I think it's better I go back to work asap so I won't keep nagging.

No lah just don't feel comfortable staying at home...

Really hope can get my house key asap..(another 2 more years...siah)

Blue turtle, your baby booked under any doctor? You can check with your baby doctor for advice.

I will give my baby 6 in 1.

So fast you bring you baby for 2nd jab?

Mine is 3rd month 2nd jab.

Hi All mommies

Sorry to disrupt,im 2009 mummy, have a few brandnew items to let go

Interested mummies pls do contact me at [email protected] or hp 82884133

Thankyou

Item1:

BrandNew Philips Newborn Starter Set[Price$36,Original Price:$45.90]

Contains 2 feeding bottles (260ml/9oz) with newborn teats(No2) ; 2 feeding bottles (125ml/4oz) with newborn teats(No1); 2 newborn teats(No1); 1 Newborn soother and 1 Bottle brush (altogether 8 pcs)

Item2:

Munchkin Drying Rack[Price:$10, Original Price:$15]

Item3:

Cradler gotten from Taka BabyFair

[Price:$15,Original Price:$21.90]

[PriceTag intact]

Item4:

MyBreast@Friends from MotherCare[100% BrandNew]

[Price: $70, Original Price$81.90 ]

[PriceTag intact]

Item5:

Montaly GiftSet_100% Cotton

[Price:$15,Original: Unknown]

Consist of 2 bodysuits,1 pair of Mitten & booties & 1 cap

Item 6:

Disney 100% Original Gift Set_100% Cotton

Price:$18

Item7:

100% Original Chateau De Sable

[Tag intact,Gift Box as well]

Size: 6mth

Price:$45

[Original Price:$34+$34+$9 ]

Item 8:

BRAND Chicken Essense

Item 9:

DOM Tonic Drink

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4055546.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4055547.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4055548.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4055549.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4055550.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4055551.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4055552.jpg]

Luckyone,

My hb didnt want to give the ang pao to CL cus she didnt do a gd job and also opened all our new toiletries to use without even asking us first. She even soaked her dentures in my beautiful glass cup in my bathroom for putting toothbrushes (given to me by my sister during house warming) and now I have to throw the cup away cus it simply reminds me of her dentures! Anyway my sis told me to take it easy as she will buy another one for me in Australia. Besides my mum gave her an ang pao during 1st month celebration. Anyway she had the audacity to ask for ang pao frm my hb 2x on the day she leaves. She keep insisting we check her bags before the agent comes to pick her up but we didnt as we want the agent to witness. When we gave her the pay, she even can count wrongly and say we short-change her. Luckily agent was around and counted the money and it was the correct amount. Anyway we did give her an ang pao as my mum told me to give as a token for gd things to come to my son.

bx,

if you opt for 6-in-1 jab, no need to bring for hep b 2nd dosage at 1 month. 6-in-1 jab can be done 2nd month.

Sigh, I cried to my hubby last night that our lives will never be the same again. No more nice, long dinners, movies every weekend or shopping. It's not that I dont love my bb, somehow I got the feeling he became a 'third party'.

I am kinda depressed cos I felt a certain loss... I felt that I 'lost' the growing bump that was with me for 9 months and now, this unfamiliar, wailing baby is in front of me suddenly, the reality havent sink in yet.

I am thankful that you all are here sharing your experiences.. it really helps to relieve some stress.

One baby is already enough to make us wanna claw our faces.. I wonder how our grandmas manage to handle 6 or 8??

Ylc,

thks for the clarification [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bb bao,

when ur bb grow older, u can always get ur parents to help bb sit, then u can go out for a nice dinner or movie. That was what I did during my #1 days.

Mrs heng,

no monthly checkup. Just check during the visits for vaccinations.