(2010/05) May 2010 mtb

bb-bao - Bear hug for u...relax ok? Yday i oso felt quite blue. Hubby worked half day n aft dat he went lunch with his dad nephew. Aft dat all came to my house including BIL n SIL. They were all happily playing WII or watching TV. Then i was alone in the room bz pumping milk n doing packing. Then 9pm+ my hubby told me he going out to meet his frns to get something n coffee. Then i felt so mad!!! He can still enjoy doing what he wans n what abt me ? Moreover today n tmr he is out of town. Y cant he stay at home yday to acc bb n me? He realised i'm unhappi n keep asking me abt it...But i too tired n simply dun feel like talking so i went to bed.

Well, life will nt be the same anymore....But when i see my bb grow everyday, i feel slightly comforted

BX - ooh tks alot !...Btw, my MIL want me to bring bb to polyclinic for vacc coz she say cheaper. But i worry abt the nurse's skill =X

Do u know whats the price range for polyclinic n PDs ?

bx: 1st 6-in-1 jab shd be taken when bb is between 6 weeks to 8 weeks old. I called the PD that's what the assistant advised.

luckyone: i was intending to bring my bb to the BD in front of my house, but to my horror, the PD is moving out after this sat. So, now left with no PD nearby. Considering if wanna send back to the PD assigned when bb was born.

ehh.. if not taking 6-in-1, i am supposed to send bb for 2nd hep b jab when she turns 1 month old. which is in a few days time. now that considering 6-in-1 then can wait another 2 weeks or so.

MrsHeng: U check the health booklet, there's a list of development screenings and immunization to be done (pg 4). just make sure do those can already i think. it's as good as every month though. haha...

Chloie: long time no see u ard. hope u are doing fine too! =D

bb-bao: with a baby around, life is definitely not going to be the same. need to adjust all our lifestyles for the bb. you can still go for nice dinners, movies, or even short holidays later on lar. just need to arrange with parents, in laws or other care givers to help look after the little one.

i was actually happy to have lost the bump cos now i can finally cuddle and hug my hubby without the bump in the way. hahaha...

if u have someone around to help, try to arrange for the person to help look after the bb after the early morning feed or something. then you can spend some time alone to cuddle with hb lar. that's what i've been doing during confinement. After the 6am or 7am feed, my MIL will take over the bb from me, then i get some alone time in bed with hb. bb sleeps with us at night. last few days to do that, cos MIL is going home tmr. end of confinement. =S will have to figure something else out after that. =P

ylc, wow! your CL so thick skin ah! you can feedback to the agent mah.

That's why b4 I give birth, I told my husband I don't want to get Cl but he insist loh.

Actually my CL not bad, but really don't like her always carry my baby, see now my baby thru she the "mother" loh. that's why when I carry my baby he cried like I bully him like that.

Some more already told her yesterday not to carry him when he cried cause I want to train him mah, if not later send him to infant care, the teacher there may not always free to carry him. she said can't stand to hear him cried...haizzz..hellooo my baby not her son or grandson loh!

Then hor, she always ask me to buy thing loh.

1st time buy bath lotion, only 2 dollars ++ so I said no need to pay me, second time said she like "ya kun" kaya so my husband buy for her, then ask me to look arounf any korean meegie mee for her daughters, then ask me if I go NTUC, buy fishball for her grandson.

Helloo! I'm still doing my confinemtn and not suppose to carry heavy thing loh!

I go NTUC is because really need to buy food stuff for her to cook loh!

Next time if I have second baby, I will insist don wan CL!

BTW, ang pao for her last day, 68dollars ok or not ah?

bb-bao, you will send your baby to infant care or someone will take care?

If you're sending baby to infant care hor, you and yr husband can apply a day or half day go for lunch and afternoon movie?

Me and husband planng apply 1 day, go U studio.

Mrs Heng, actually polyclinic's nurse skill should be better cause they give a hundreds jab weekly. BUt bad point is you have to wait a long hours cause it cheap loh.

hey mummies, i had gave birth to baby sophie on 30 may, and she weight 3.336kg. was kana induce cos bb is overdue.

so far im still doing total breastfeeding but CL totally not supportive. she keep asking me to give bb formula feed and water. according to her bb is not getting enough and because im doing total breastfeeding bb will not gain any weight and will turn yellow because she cant get enough water. and she say that my bb very skinny!!! KNS 3.336kg bb gal still skinny. a bit cannot tahan this confirment lady keep nagging me to give water.

and just to check, how many wet diapers should a 4day old bb have? so far today bb has 2 poo and 0 wet diaper change so does it mean that bb is getting enough milk? CL is using disposible so wet diaper not obvious?

mush, what i know, if babytaking breastmilk, no need to give water. 1st few day poo 3 times day, green to yello colour. Maybe you gal wet her diaper but mixed with poo so you can't see?

bb poo is brownish-yellow now, so should be ok rite? she's wearing disposible so i tok mayb the pee not so obvious but CL say that the diaper is totally dry. with that she pressure me to give bb water again. according to her water help to clear her jaundice!!! *faint*

Hey Mummies~

Just now my gal gave me a fright.

She just finished her milk and was asleep when we put her into her cot.

The next moment my mom and I went into the room (which is only 5 min apart), she vomitted milk from her nose and mouth.

Quickly called the PD and I think the assistant told me that just feed my gal next time with a more upright position to prevent this kind of incident from happening. I still thot what happen.

hihis

loh:

i just added u on facebook..

if u dun mind me saying... ur gal and my gal look very alike! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i was looking at the hundreds of bb pics at my gynae's clinie wif my hubby and concluded that there're indeed babies who have a similar group of looks.. probably cos their faces are sooo tiny and can't pack too much character wif their small features...

mush:

mmm i oso had TBF in the initial days + nanny swaddled baby in non-aircon room..

ended up bb had a 38.2C fever on the day after i discharged, and kena warded ...

final diagnosis: overswaddling + dehydration caused the fever..

the nurses fed my gal some water (which they usually discourage) cos they saw pink pee.. ( sign of dehydration)

and her fever went down very quickly...

pd advised me to do a latchon followed by 60ml formula feed for 1 week, to prevent dehydration and flush out the jaundice..

after the week, i'm doing ~80% BM and 20% FM..

if only i was more diligent in pumping out my milk every 2hrs in the initial week, to increase supply.. instead of just latching on + FM feed... sigh...

so, in a way what ur nanny says cld be true, but ONLY wen u not producing enuf BM in the initial period..

if u want, can express the BM to check how much bb is drinking..

You know... i think we all also find it hard to adapt to having this bundle of "JOY" in our lives... so do the hubbies.... but somehow becos we are the mothers end up having to do all the work plus being on maternity leave whereas they have to work seems to be the excuse they give.... u know wat gets me everyday??? Middle of the night feeding the baby cries i got to get up to feed... and u see hubby sleeping happily snoring away.... wah..... buay tahan.... sometimes just want to wake him up just for the sake of it!!!

But yeah... my hubby can still negotiate with me say want to play his tennis... whilst i seem to be stuck at home everyday becos of the babe... like so hard to find time to go out... cos i hate the way my MIL 'takes care' of the babe... more like disturb.... so end up in self-exile.....

mush, you can give your bb little bit of water but not too much hor (not more than 10 ml).

Sunlight help on jaundice (before 8am sunlight).

If you bb poo yellow colour, the jaundice should redure.

My baby's jaundice was a bit high and went KKH for 3 times blood test.

The doctor said if I'm taking confinement food like chinese herb, should stop for at least 1 week.

luckyone,

same here! I also told my CL not to carry my son so much. Otherwise when she leaves, I will have to carry him and he can only smell her scent and her voice then I'm like the outsider! I blatantly told her, "you keep carrying him, after you leave, I'm the one suffering okay!" but her reason for carrying him is cus she dun want him to cry so much wait later got wind. Anyway I make him sleep with me throughout my confinement cus I dun like my son sleeping with strangers hahaha ;P

Towards the end of confinement, she became bold! She will use her hp and when i need to go to the bathroom, i told her to look after my son. Then guess what? In my bathroom, i can hear her talking in the kitchen so basically leaving my son all alone in the living room. 2nd last day, after cooking she asked my hb to let her go out and make phone call. She didnt even bother cleaning up the kitchen and the whole place was oily even the walls! Thats y my hb not happy to give her the ang pao. We did complain alot to the agent. Moreover she is the replacement nanny, at first not so bad but gradually you can see all their pattern is the same one...

I think $68 ang pao is gd enough...

mush,

You have to let your CL know who is the employer and who is the employee and let them know their place. If you are going to do total bfing, let them know and tell her that whatever negative comments pls keep to themselves. I total breastfeed my son and he gained 600g in 1 week after birth so its nonsense that they wont gain any weight. bf no need give water. dun let this cl deter you frm total bf...

ylc, at least your CL not sleeping with you.

I have to share room with CL and my husband sleping in living room. What to do, cause staying with in law, BIL, SIL and their maid.

Yeap, agreed most Cl pattern are the same.

So I told my husband no next time liao.

My CL not need to do housework, I clean my room myself so spent thousand over really quite exp!

bb_bao : I have exactly the same feeling. I love my bb, but its too overwhelming and too much to sacrifice. I want my romantic times with hb and also want abit of freedom. I pity my mum and dunt want to dump bb there whenever I want my personal time. And dat is why I came to this most difficult decision of hiring a maid. I think our lives will get back to normal abit once we have a maid. Can go out anytime we want, spend time wif hubby, do many things without gng thru the trouble of sending bb back to mil or mum house. Coz we have to seek thier permission and sometimes we take thier freedom away too by leaving bb with them. And I will feel very obliged to come home or rush home to collect bb if no maid...if got maid and leave at mum house its different u see. With mum supervision, no need to rush back.

Tsk, mummies, i really salute those who sacrifice everything and willing to live this lifestyle. I feel like a bad mum compared to u guys! But when I see my sista, and SIL, all of them like enjoying life coz they all took maid since day 1, and no one is gng thru any pain. So, I eventually went for the "maid" idea.

Would like to share my some of my bb's photoshoot pics here. Taken when she was 10 n 11days old =D

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4056229.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4056230.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4056231.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4056232.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4056233.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4056234.jpg]

Agginess - I had nv hire a maid b4..but often when i read news abt how maid abuse baby....I will worry it will happens to my bb. Unless really lucky to get a responsible and caring maid

Luckyone,

Wah your CL so lucky ah... no need to do housework and such easy money to earn! My Cl sleeps in the study room but she is kinda freaky, at night makes alot of noise and starts talking to herself or sleeps outside my room door! She also lucky cus she basically dun do the night duties. I will change my son's diapers at night and cus he sleeps with me, easy for me to nurse him too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

went shopping today.. woo hooo..

JSP, i think the fenugreek did help increase supply. Anyways am stopping for awhile to see wats the effect w/o like.

Any idea if there is a BP for diapers?

My bb is sh*tting and peeing like no one's business...

And his golden buttocks can only use certain brands.. mainly the more expensive ones.. HAIYOH!

At this rate, his diapers costs more than what I spend on food [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Mrs Heng,

Very beautiful pictures! She's got really long eyelashes, so pretty!! Where was this taken?

Yah la, now my bb is like 2 weeks plus liao, abit too late to take such pictures right?

He jerks and kicks so forcefully now, would be very un-corperative during the shoot..

mummies.. hw to know if your bb is having phelgm?? my bb keep making some noise from his throat.. im not sure if he is having wind or wat..

Phy, Edie, bb-bao - tks tks! ^^

bb-bao - 2weeks plus i think still can leh..actually i engaged Kelly Photography. U may wan to chk with her. She has a thread in SMHF under Business. My bb wasnt cooperative during her shooting on 20th May. So kelly only managed to take a few shots..Very thankful dat kelly is understanding enuff to continue the shooting on the nex day 21st May. Phewww

maggie mee,

mine also got this phlegmy sound, could be due to the mucus in the nasal passage.

Cos after half a day, I will see his pi-sai at the nostrils..

It's like after few hours of phlegmy sound, it sounds like he has difficulty breathing cos nostril is partially blocked.

Very tempted to pick it, but hard to reach leh.

hi hi mummies,

got some info from my PD regarding immunization for the 5 vs 6-in-one.

The main difference is the 6-in-one includes the HepB so it reduces the number of visits and jabs.

6-in-one needs only 3 jabs after the 1st HepB taken in the hospital. Total 4 jabs, 3 clinic visits (Hepb aldy taken in hospital doesn't count)

5-in-one, after the 1st HepB in hospital, still need to take the 5-in-one and 2 HepB boosters. Total: 6 jabs, 5 clinic visits.

Mrsheng,

your bb pics are really very nice. Now I regret not getting it done professionally, but no chance le...factory closed after this final round.

Mrs Heng...its true.I have the same fear to b frank.n thts y I'm taking so long 2choose a maid. But it also depends on luck. Just tht I can leave the housework, making of milk, chaning diapers, washing bb clothes to the maid. It will lessen the burden I think. Then other times leave at mums plce so tht maid will b watched. Tsk, I'm very tired n I really can't think of a btr solution. No choice,I'm sad tht I came to this decision as well. But I need a break too. Btw, the photos r really nice. I wanted so much to take it, but old fashioned mum told me take after bb big,btr. So sad, now seeing yr photos, so envious.

About the phlegm, my bb also have the same sound, I went to check wif PD he said lungs sound fine only some dirt. So he gave a nasal spray to soften mucus, then use a tissue, roll it to have a pointed end,insert intonostril to take it out. Then he also gave us a nose drop to clear nose...1 mth passed no change. Being worried, I went to antoher PD,again he checked n said nothing in the lungs, but he claimed he do have abit of phlegm. So he did nasal suction, used a tiny tube n vacummed phlegm out, then gave us a new nose drop to clear the nose. The prob wif the nose drops is tht u use it for 5 days then discard it. So up till today we still think he has tht sound, esp in d mornings. But we decided to do nothing as his nose dunt seem to have much mucus compared to last time, which we removed diligently almost everyday. Duno how come so much whitish mucus. But the PD did say if his sleeping n drinking is not affected then shld b fine.

hihis... mrs teo

me latch-on almost all the daytime whenever bb is hungry.. but becos i pump on a 2-3hrly basis, i might not have any BM for bb, so i latch on just to make sure bb still remember how to suck (pd and nurse teach me one lei)

after latch on, and if the bb is still hungry, i get nanny to use the EBM first, if EBM not enuf, then move on to FM. 1 at a time.. we dun mix la.. hehe

ylc:

wow..u powerful.. ur baby can gain 600g on TBF alone.. amazing..

wished i had a little more than what my bb needs..

mummies, any advice?

at 3 weeks, my gal drinking up to 100ml milk per 1.5-2hrly feed...

i worry it's too much, so i now get the nanny to do a 60ml+20ml+notifyme feed (if i just pumped) or

30ml+30ml + notify me feed (if it's been >1hr since i pumped)

.. so that i know for sure nanny is not overfeeding my bb...

dunno if i'm being too paranoid.. but the way my nanny feeds the bb, she's like pushing the bottle in and out just to get her to finish the 80ml milk

mrs N

OIC... i forgot that you're a UK mommy.. yeah, i read about the MW thinggy from the foreign websites.. free delivery care too! wow.. i'm envious [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

talking about monster babies (edie's heh)

mine too!

when she's hungry and trying to latch-on, she sometimes misses my nipple in her hurry to get in in her mouth (i use lying down position for feeding).. then she gets frustrated and starts yelling and grunting like it's my fault...

or when i'm not having much milk during nursing, she'll just tilt her head backwards, yank my nipple until she gets her mouth pulled away from it..and it's kindda annoying...

i wonder if this is an inherited bad temper trait from my hubby, or common for babies...

any similar experience?

So much to catch up!

Like most of you, I take care of baby myself, my mum and mil takes turn to come and cook. Hubby will help sometimes.

First 2 nights without CL was bad, I hardly slept. When I showered him with CL around, he never make a single cry.. but yesterday he cried so hard till I felt so angry... He did not sleep much too. On the 2 nights, he only wanted to be carried. On our 2nd day, we bought baby to PP. He behaved the best when we were out. At night, don't know what happen to him, he just couldn't get to sleep and cried so much. I was so afraid he has colic. we applied ru yi oil, burp him, sing to him.... take turn to carry him but he was inconsolable. Then I told my hubby, he was prob hungry and indeed. I feed him 60ml of EBM cos he was only about 1.5 hours away from his last feed. Scared overfed him. He was finally calmed. 1.5 hours later, he cried for hunger again. This time I fed him with 60ml FM. He went back to sleep. And this time it lasted him 3 hours. So relief, it went back to normal... I broke down and cried so hard on the 2nd night, due to stress and weariness. My hubby had to coax a 2nd baby. Hubby has to be away for away for a week, so he called my mum and MIL to come over and look after me so that I can look after baby.. haaa!

Today was the 3rd day. I must say I have picked up a little in reading him. He also did not cry during his bathing time. I want to give him a little star for today! :D

Freedom

Agginess: Give ourselves some time to adjust. At this point of time, all of us are stucked with their crankiness. Hang in there. I have friends, some with 2 children who still manage to find some private time. Good luck to your search for a good helper.

PD

I am brining my bb to Kids Clinic, Sengkang Branch. I think they have other branches too...

Diaper

TMC provides Fitti, my baby is ok with it.

So to me, it's cheap and bagus! I am also using Pampers... but the cutting is so big. Will leave it till he is bigger...

fenugreek

For those who are taking the capsules supplement. Do you all follow dosage as instructed on the bottle or do you take more? Any advice?

Sue: my bb got this habit to "head butt" my boobies when i am slow to respond to her cries for food. tilt her head back, bang against my boobs with her mouth opened and move her head back again repeatedly. something liddat lar. but after a while she will give up and start on her feed.

my MIL says she's bad tempered. haha... so nowadays i just need to be super quick at responding to her hunger cries and she won't head butt me too often.

bb-bao: my bb ger also got pi sai in her nostrils after we carried her back from hospital. my hubby used some stick or something to hook it out. (i was in shock when i found that out. they did that when i wasn't around!) but the snorting sound sorta reduced after that.

my FIL says can suck it out. yes... some hero in the house gotta suck it out. we haven't tried that. sounds too gross to try.

mrs heng: nice pictures. now i regret not taking for my bb. arggg...

Hi Loh,

Please assist to update:

Ashley (ryosui)

Delivered on 25 May 2010

Baby Boy weighing 3.6kg

C-sect + epi

Mommies need your comments and advice:

Any mummies giving out bengawan solo 1st month cards? Do you usually go back to office to give out the cards?

Then, my boss asked my staff to sms me today when I will be back in office and whether I can attend a meeting next week when I am back. Dunnoe whether to attend or not...sianz

Sue, sry what is ur name in fb again. kinda confused with so many mummies whose nick does not correspond with their actual names. oso i cant rem names well. :p

on ur bb milk intake is just norm. mine now taking 120ml at 3wks+.

bb-bao, there is BP for huggies in this forum. but dun really like huggies. y dun u buy from Venus, its cheap or mayb when Carrefour got 10% disc oso nt bad. anyway Pampers still the BEST. love it but hurts my pocket.

Mrs Heng, same here. too much bad reviews/comments from my fren/relatives/colleague that i really scared of them. so far i oni no one of my fren who hav really gd maid. but his Philippino maid salary quite high wor, $600/mth.

Luckyone, $68 very gd lor given her attitude.

bbf, tks for ur info on the diff btw 5in1 vs 6in1. the choice for 6in1 is more worth it.

bbf, initially wify oso wants to giv cards but then dunno who talk to her so she chg her mind to bring one big box of cupcakes n various 'gui' for her department. oni her CEO/CFO will rx the cards.

wa u r indispensable to ur co. wor!

I using the brand nepia for my baby... newborn size 60 pieces for $15... buy from the website can call them to mix and match size... they deliver 4 packs (1 carton) for free.... not sure considered cheap or not but not too bad so i just stick to it.....

sigh... baby sleeping liao after feed... but i can't!!!! so frustrating....

Sue,

I also tot the request is weird but then my boss is single. And I don't know how to reject since my colleagues know I will b going down...I think I sway..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Loh,

last time I gave cupcakes so I had it delivered...argh boh bian, I bought the cards aldy...I'm not indispensable, and this is really shocking to me. At first I want to refuse flat out, I mean I'm on ML what hello!!!??? But then if I say no, like don't give my boss face?

Do any of your bbs grunt when they are sleeping? Mine makes A LOT of those grr,errrr,eea noises like a grumpy old man and fidgets a little, but he continues sleeping.