(2010/05) May 2010 mtb

Jerbunny. Hw r u nw? I want to check with u hw much is ur bill for csect in tmc cos del on next thurs n

wld like to do some comparison. Btw u staying single rm?

Hi mummies, just back from gyne, baby is growing well and he is 2.7 at 36 weeks. now my appt wd on weekly.

bbf,I gave birth on monday,so my hubby took leave from mon till wed, then thur he returned to office to settle urgent thing,then fri he took leave again.So total he took 4 days.

Thanks Alsky, shuyan, bx! I think I will try to persuade hb to take a few more days on top of the paternal leave.

The last time he was quite free, he just spent his time changing diaper and buying us breakfast, but this time, we have #1 to deal with.

shuyan,

ur hb also quite on type only take 4 days. how do u cope with your #1? does he help out?

Hey all

I'm still in delivery suite...first induction done at 3.30pm....waited n waited no contraction and cervix still closed...now 2nd induction took place at 9.30pm(6 HRS later) ..still waiting for some contraction...tomm gynae will come down to check personally, if no progress 3rd final induction will be done..and if still nothing happens, will go for c sect...

This is long tiring wait..hubby is bored n restless...and I'm getting impatient!

Agginess, all the best for your delivery!!

Take the time to rest. If the 3rd induction works then you need the energy to push bb out.

How do they induce? Did they put you on the drip?

Congrats BB Hon!

JIA YOU CASS, AGGINESS & SHARON!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I survived the week! kekeke me and hb planning to induce bb out on 30th April after much discussion with family. Dun want to risk bb born in cab or at home. So far bb still seem to like being inside me despite 2cm dilated. Arghhh... i dun really like to be induced. its more painful than natural birth... i'm so not looking forward to the pain.

Sue - frankly speaking. I think my early delivery may have something to do with what was done at the clinic. Dr Ang did a VE on 17 Apr which left me spotting. Then he did another VE on 19 Apr. This time round, the VE was rougher and more intense. So i suspect that why i got contraction. But then again, I have a lot of frens who told me, he is one who predict the birth of bb very accurately by feeling and sensing rather than the EDD. On 19 apr, he did tell me it could be anytime now... So, leave it to u to judge.

bbf - txs for the info. Will try not to swaddle her when i bf her next time round.

Alsky, ya. I did the same as you did. =P But doing that in the middle of the night can be quite irritating. ok. Me bad. But TBF is really not something easy. I am so deprived off sleep. =(

For mummies whom deciding bet epi/GA, i personally feel epi would be good as you get to see ur bb immed after the birth. It is that moment that you wouldn't want to miss out. My hubby almost teared when he saw his little princess for the first time... And i told myself the 20hr of labor is worth it. Its an experience.

Hey ladies! Mng!!

I had a really bad night.. was in pain.. Arghhh! But no frequent contractions and bb is moving well.. The BHC are getting stronger.. haiz!

bbf- Your date is may 1 rgt. So if bb doesnt come out by then will u go for induce?

I think i am falling sick.. i was perspiring alot last ngt bec it was too hot. Didnt switch on the aircon till much muhc later bec scared hb will get too cold and lose his slp.. all that sweating gave me a cold... My helper has been sneezing too.. and that girl has being blessing the house with her sneezing.. dunno if i got it from her or on my own.. haiz! These ppl dunno the impt of hyigene!

AR, at least you got BH. Still havent experience any... its like tightening of tummy right? am waiting for the feeling... my edd is still a mth and a week away... ,<

Been feeling baby squirming and poking dho. Can feel his bum.. keep moving left and right.. ,)

anyway mummies who have popped...

do you know, after we paid the down payment upon admission.. the extra $ after deducting from medisave e.g. babys care coz of having jaundice etc.. will top up in cash or totally cut from medisave? was explained to, but didnt really pay attention. thnx.

OMG, its sat... i am home "alone" w/o hb. first time in 10mth.. even MIL is out for awhile...

tried out the pigeon rapid steam sterilizer and got maid to wash all the milk bottles for the first time.

i am trying to come out with a schedule for new maid... seems like i cannot do anything until the bb is born... theres is no way to fix a time table now..

topsy turvy,

i think the bills will not be 100% covered by medisave. I heard the estimate is like 40% of total bills.

i was told from my clinic nurse that the deposit i paid (eg 500) receipt + when discharge (paid eg via credit card)... then all receipt, one week later when i go back to gynae for check up, i will apply the medisave there.. but i not very very sure how it will really go

sue,

i've outgrown my initial maternity clothing too... no choice but rely on leggings and tunic for the time being (although not very "office") i rather do this than to spend more $$ on maternity clothes which are often darn expensive.

but i did bot a topshop maternity stretch black pants (very black black leggings) which i believe can be worn aft giving birth ;)

Hon,

Jiayou on the TBF!

AR,

Last time my gynae will check during the growth scan and give me a date like 4 days after EDD,

for me to admit myself for induction or due to contractions (whichever comes first).

I had contractions after my EDD but before her imposed deadline,

so I admitted myself, but in the end because the cervix took too long to open, I was still induced. I'm not particular with dates so we shall see this time.

And pls take care...I have been down with a bad sore throat, running nose and now a cough.

I usually stay off anti-biotics and any medicine my GP gives but this time it is really to close to D-day.

I am taking all my medication and anti-biotics religously now to make sure I get well be4 that.

hihis and good afternoon mtbs, fbs, mummies and daddies...

weather for this weekend sure is really hot boy!terrible!

i've been hooked onto ice blended coffee and begged hubby to drop me off at coffee bean earlier.. then kena emotional blackmailed..

he said that if i dun wanna listen to him (says that coffee + cold drink + ultra sweet choco power is definitely not gd for bb size, my chronic back pain and too much stimulant for bb),

he oso dun wanna listen to me when i dispense advise on how he shld eat better (less deep fry, more water and more fruits)

powerful word man! and KNS of cse

i changed my mind after he said that..

but am quite depressed la, cos i didn't get to fix my ice blended coffee addiction...

sigh...

bb_hon:

oic, yeah.. i feel the same! my friends oso said the same thing - he predicts edd very well

but after the VE yesterday, i was having contractions, back pain and hence started freaking out after i got home.. but after a few hrs it stopped..

from what i learnt during my hypno-birthing class, if the waterbag is being disturbed, it does introduce contractions which may lead to labour - if bb is ready..

maybe that's what happened to u..

my next appmt is 3may noon time.. wha.. if i really deliver on that day, then i'm gonna have to last thru the nite if it's a mid nite bb?

mmmmmmm

how's ur bb and u doing now? does she like her bb cot? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ylc:

mm need to induce ar..how about trying the natural induction methods while u're checked in to the hospital? i.e sex (natural prostragladin) and nipple stimulation (natural oxytocin), both are natural forms of the chemical induction drugs

oh,

or other less drastic forms of induction: sweeping of membranes (nurses just massage the waterbag without breaking it, then see whether ur contractions start / intensify, and if it doesn't work, then break waterbag, then if no progress then use chemicals (pitocin, prostraglanin gel) as last resort....

my 2 cents worth..

... can check my previous links for details and decide whether u wanna try (cos i dun have that website in this laptop)

mrs teo:

oh ya! i haven't de-scaled my avent steam steriliser yet..

i'll be doing confinement at my mum's place, and the last time i told her about descaling the steam steriliser, she laughed it off and said i was being kiasu...and i was like...huh, must follow manufacturer instruction mah..

wha se! i cannot imagine the conflicts we'll get into when the gal is out.. heh

btw i gained about 12 kg too.. for my next preggy, i'll buy more long dresses.. then dun need to worry about growing out of those maternity bottoms.. :/

I have been sick for more than a month!!! Been having sire throat, no voice, bad coughing, running nose and slight fever at initial stage. May be pass down by my daughter.

I hv seen a GP in mid March and this GP din give me antibiotics then as he strongly believe to let my body fight against the bugs. But my sore throat was getting worse after tt night and I went to the GP agn to request for it. It was better but the running nose n cough were still as bad thou my set of antibiotics were consumed.

Then abt a wk later I saw my gyne who gave me my 2nd set of antibiotics n his clinic's cough syrup. Completed it but my condition din improved at all.

Went to see him agn for my routine check abt 2 wks later, given me 3rd set of antibiotics. During this period I noticed tt the meds prescribed din help at all. I have been living my past couple of mths without an audible voice! I asked my gyne if I cld see him for further advice without first completing my course of antibiotics or to see him after the completion. He advised me to either see him or visit my family dic. Was rather disappointed cos I reckon he has no more remedies to cure my cough and sore throat.

So I take a chance on TCM. I was told tt docs dare not prescribe strong meds cos we are preg. Thing is I'm so desperate to get myself well agn before I go for the c sec. Till date, whenever I cough slightly harder I can feel the stitch fr my previous c sec wound is going to rupture. Abit pain too so pretty worried that the cough still persists after my delivery and that may make things even worse.

The Chinese physician was telling me that hopefully the TCM can stop at least 80% of my cough after the 3rd day of dosage. It's the 3rd day but the cough and bad sore throat still with me.

Sigh. What else can I do?

bbf!

oh dear! do have lotsa rest, take MCs and hope u recover before THE day....

btw, i'm still waiting for my online acct for the oils, to be fully activated.. am getting annoyed wif the progress...

will fb u again..

oh, btw, shuli passed me some of my orders thru her last tues.. the joy blend is really nice.. helped me calm down a bit when i diffuse it.. heh

Hi mummies I had delivered yesterday. Natural without gas/assistant.

Baby weighing 3.195kg.

Birth story will update later when I discharge tomorrow

Congrats Cass!!

Chubby baby! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bbf- OIC.. my gynae's EDD for me is tmr.. I seriously doubt bb will come out by then.. I wanna go for induce bec the BHC pretty strong.. and am worried abt the dropping amiontic fluid lvl.. most prob if bb doesn come out by wed i'll go see her and chk on the fluid lvl ask whether to induce or not..

I am feeling extremely tired.. didnt sleep well last ngt.. cant sleep now too. lower back has been hurting since yesterday.. not going away... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

SK- can take normal medication now is it? bec u seem to be taking all the strng medication.. I have been contemplating on taking panadol max for my flu..

Congrats Cass! Good weight for a baby!!

Went to see gynae today... 36.5 weeks... baby suddenly in 2 weeks put on from 2.2kg to 2.96kg..think all the sleeping early and not moving much helps... but i didn't put on any weight.... anyway total weight gain so far is 11kg.....and darling princess still in breech....

But problem is fluid level got acute drop... normal level supposed to be 8. mine is at 7.3.. critical is 5... so gynae wants me to go in everyday to monitor the level from Monday onwards... so if drop too much emergency c-sec.... so think monday morning go in to work and hand over everything then go in see her... tuesday onwards start my maternity.....in case need to c-sec i dun even know when...so now rushing to pack my hospital bag finish... yes its about 75% since dunno when never got round to finishing it......

wha everything like suddenly move so fast i thot i can give birth first week of may c-sec but gyane say she doesn't think can last till then.... still feeling a bit in shock and stunned...

Congrats Cass!! Natural w/o any painkiller? Wow!

bbf: You have to take care cos after very soon you won't have time to take care of yourself. Better get yourself recovered first.

AR: Can I check with you, is your helper Singaporean? She's helping you part time only? I thought of changing helper and yours sounds like a nice lady.

SK: suggest u go to a GP again. Try to gobble down more warm water esp before u go to bed?

Lilstarz: amazing bb weight gain! Eat more and I meant more! Just like my gynae asked me to continue to eat more even though I have gained 17kg! My water bag lvl went back from 6.7 - 8.1!

Congrats Cass!! Hear ur birth story soon! Meanwhile... Take care and Rest Well!!

Lucasmummy, that really makes me feel ALOT better knowing that your water level went back up! Anyway i will start maternity on Tuesday and do the eating and sleeping routine.. a bit lei chey to keep going up and down the hospital everyday but no choice i guess... Despite knowing for the past 9 mths going to give birth but still got this unprepared feeling!!

cass, gong xi gong xi.

My bb is hospitalize today because of jaundice level is high.So heartpain to see him under the light therapy.Then he keep crying and I also cried with him.

A R and Lucasmummy > docs are nit giving me strong meds, dunno y can't or don't. So I assume it's cos I'm preg. The Chinese physician was telling me luckily I'm in my 3rd trimester where our bb are considered fully developed unlike in the 1st trimester.

However, if giving me strong meds now will it cause more harm or something? Since I hv been taking so much antibiotics lately. I'm getting more paranoid and apprehensive.

Shuyan,

My cl say let bb sip green grapes juice to reduce juandice. She let my bb sip everyday once, yesterday during checkup, juandice level is very low. Dunno how useful it is, not sure isit the grapes or my son is himself.

Mrs teo,

Nope, it's just what the CL says. She says a few cases with juandice and with the help of green grape juice really helps reduce the level.

If the juandice level is too serious, she says use sugar cane. We also dunno all this, just that she's the experience one around, have to believe her lo.

Congrats Cass! Will await your birth story! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shuyan - am sure the hospital equipment will get your baby back in shape in no time! Dun worry too much!

Cass,

Congratulations! Can't wait for your birth story [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ShuYan, Alsky,

I was also told by a chinese medicine hall to feed bb the juice of 3-4pcs fresh green grapes in order to reduce the jaundice. I guess no harm to try.

VE check,

My VE check by Dr Lawrence Ang was on Apr 21. I didn't have any spotting or contraction until today. Maybe my bb isn't ready yet. Dr Ang also commented that my labour won't be coming so soon, still need some time. Anyway, for my #1, I also never have any sign of labour after the VE check by Dr Ang.

Therefore, since bb is not ready yet, I might not want to induce bb out next week (week 38), will discuss again with Dr ang on Monday. Maybe postpone to week 39. Then I still can be a May mummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shuyan,

Hope your bb can discharge soon. It's really heart pain when we see our kid suffer. Like yesterday, bb went to checkup. Have to draw blood, cried jiat lat jiat lat. After calm down already, doc say give bcg injection. Cried again. So very ke lian. See Liao pity him sia.

Have to endure. Still got so many injection to go.

helo helo!!!

congrats to mummies who popped for the past 2 days i din log in.. was very very busy at work..

i hope all my may mummies are in my fb! ahahaa.. den when i update.. i just update my FB can liaoz.. lazy right??

Am 37 weeks today.. and baby is at 2.5-2.8kg.. growing growing.. and she is very very low.. but am not dilated yet.. good thing though!

i am confirm popping on the 15th may already.. early in the morning.. i should say 1st thing in the morning.. hahaha!

Shuyan : saw ur fb... jaundice in babies are common.. dun worry.. i can understand.. easy to say.. hard to do.. my #1 did not go home with me.. i cried the whole nite at home.. sadr right...

AR : i wanna share abt bathing babies.. i personally will bathe baby everyday w/o fail. even if the ambillical cord haven drop..i think its hygenie lor.. i have heard of horrid stories from my mum doing confinement for people where they dun bathe their babies for 1 month!! and only wipe.. i dunno abt u all.. but i think its kinda gross... baby will sweat also.. pee and poo.. better to wash it den just wipe...

bb_hon / lucasmummy : to stop baby from sleeping while feeding.. when they fall asleep.. u need to stimulate them by touching their chin.. if not in time to come.. u all will be human pacifier already..

shuyan : if baby were to sleep thruout the night w/o milk.. its a good thing! dun wake them up to drink.. they actually are still in hibernation period just out from us.. when they are hungry.. they will definiately look for food.. its like a kind of human survival instinct.. just like animals..

Cass, Congratulations!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wow, bb very big plus natural w/o epi....xin ku le

Sue,

take it easy lah...your hb just meant well. Consider it a caffeine break since it's the weekend. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

No hurry on the oils though so pls take your time, we could both be due anytime now.

SK,

medicine is one thing but I think in general we need lots of rest and need to take care of our diet as well to recover faster. Being sick for one month is really no joke, hope we both recover really soon.

edie,

ya, this time very stress, sick also got deadline to recover.

u be good too, don't drive to hospi by your self if contractions start hor...

If I had to bring someone other than hb, it will be my dad to delivery, then sis, then mayb mum. Chosen in the order of steadiness in times of panic.

If it is my MIL, I think I will choose to C-sect with GA immy. *no eyes to see or hear anything better*

My MIL is great but can be very high strung,

mayb there'll even be squealing from her if she see the bb head and blood.

Anyhow that's all in my imagination, I may have underestimated her...ha

alsky, shuyan,

btw bb is on TBF, was previously asked to cut down on ginger intake to reduce BM jaundice as well. Hope ur bbs recover soon enough.

Cass, Congrats!!!

SK and BBF, hope both of u a speedy recovery.

Edie, think better to have someone close to accompany u for D day, don't drive to hospital by yourself.

Alsky, thanks for the tip of the green grape juice, would take note of that if BB has jaundice.

Shuyan, sayang sayang don't worry too much. Your BB would recover from jaundice.

THanks for the updates Loh! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Very updated! hehehe!

Mng mummies! 2nd day without proper sleep.. cant seem to fall asleep. Even deprived of my afternoon naps.. sob sob...

Edie- My helper is FT with me until June then I'm sending her back to India.Good news- Her sister does PT on sundays.She is also good. Do u want her contact? If u do, nudge me on FB then I PM u her number..

shuyan- *hugs* Medicine is very advanced. All will be well ok. I am sure Douglas (thats ur #1's name rgt?) will give u comforting hugs and kisses to make u better.

SK- U better tc. Your bb also still not yet full term if not can suggest to go take baby out earlier so that u can recover for ur sickness without harming bb. Like what bbf said- rest alot. Then flush urself with fluids to get the bugs out. Protect ur bb by taking all the anenatal supplements religiously.

Ok ladies- am going to go try psycho my hb to bring me for Mac breakfast.. hehehe!! See ya laters! I better savour this last weekend of being pregnant. hahah!

Hi mummies , any mummies have good mattress cleaners to recommend ? Those that can come to your house and to the chemical cleaning that get rid of the dust mites. THinking of doing one round before baby comes it.

Thanks mummies n daddies, my bb jaundice went down to 11.5, but doc say keep him for 1 more day to monitor.Hopefully tmr can discharge.Really heartpain lor,cos he is so tiny n yet everyday gotta draw blood to check on the level.

Doc oso say its good to feed the bb on time,cos by drinking milk,it helps to flush out the yellow substance.On the 1st 2 day at home,my bb keep slping then din drink much,so his jaundice level is high.So remember to wake ur bb up for milk.

AR, Douglas is super noisy recently,maybe still can't get use to have a bb at home,cos all along he is the only bb at home.

bbf/KTSC: Don't think I'll be driving there myself.I've already doubt my skill now, cannot imagine when contraction starts. Still don't know who to ask to go in with me, just hope that my hubby will be around when it happens.

AR: Actually I'd like a full time one, cos my current one getting a bit lazy and is always quarreling with my MIL and always cook the same thing, you guess it, fish curry, maybe they are from village or what she has no positive learning attitude. When she has nothing to do, she'll just sit around and talk on phone, I've never seen her clean the windows the whole time I'm staying here. Hubby ran out of patience with her already.

So yours is from India? You got her from agency?

Hi mummies... Got

discharge from hospital already. Not easy with 2 kids. Birth story as follow: 22th apr the mencus plug came off but still no bleeding then on Friday morning starting to show. Sent my elder son to in law then went gynae at ten. Check 2 cm dilated advised to be warded afternoon. Went shopping with hubby and went back to thomson at 3pm. Check and was 5 cm dilated. At 5pm only 6cm dilated...then gynae come and break waterbag at 6pm. At 7pm fully dilated and urge to push. After 4 pushes he is out. Not too painful this time and only tear a bit so not too bad.