(2010/05) May 2010 mtb

Edie, same here...wont want my own mummy or my mil to be with me if hubby not around...rather have my sister or any of my good frens...

tink having someone you know of, is better than no one familiar inside...had an operation last time, continuous cry like hell when my hubby cannot follow me into the operating theatre...and cried even more when i see no familiar face inside...until i see my doc...then peace of heart n mind....that i refused to let go his hand even after they put me on GA....hahaha

AR: congrats!!! u will be seeing yr baby v v soon! have you got all the bb essentials ready?

2.9kg is a gd weight [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] one more week for you to relax! i'll be seeing doc ng nx tues. she mentioned on my last checkup that theres some calcification of my placenta already & shes chided my hubby alil coz ive nt been putting on weight. but thank gdness the lil one is still gaining weight..

wow! seems like more april babies comin nw!

gd luck to Agginess & Cass!

Phy: i'm confirm having water retention in legs. but my legs are reddish with small white patches (think polka dots) and turns darker red if i walk or stand for long periods. looks scary. like anytime will turn black. haha... the feet part will stay depressed slightly if i go press it. you can try testing.

Agginess: all the best for your delivery!

Brenda: my gynae says it's normal for bb to be less active now that we are closing in the end of 3 tri cos bb is running out of space. So cannot expect big movements but small movements should still be present. She also told me to monitor bb movement. if bb never move for extended hours (something like 10 hours) must quickly call her or go down to check.

Blue_turtle, yes! exact same condition! my legs are soooooo ugly and fat now. Depressed!

good luck to all mummies getting ready for delivery!

phy: if u have massage oil or moisturizer, pls give ur feet a massage. massage upwards so that the water can move. else... find a box or something, put under your table and keep ur feet raised. That's what i'm doing right now. can see that the swelling has gone down a fair bit after abt 30mins. try to move around a little, dun stay stagnant for more than 30mins or so.

tonight shall make hb do extended massage for my poor feet. hehe...

gynae also recommended drinking more water, reduce salt intake to keep the water retention under better control.

baby_t- yup yup, got my essentials.. going to repack my bag again (orders from hb).. then must pack HIS bag also! Haiz!

What does calcification means?- U mean placenta drying up?- Mine too. But she said its normal..

Water retention- I was told barley water helps and keep draining urself with H20. Will help the flow of liquid in ya body. It will only go away after delivery apparently... Hang in there ladies!! All this will be over soon... Mine is the stretch marks have turned black. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] in the hips and underarms area..

Yar, i have a box under my desk, but not helping much. The swelling is ok, but the white dots/patches is extremely unsightly. Especially when I'm wearing skirts/dresses.

You know what? my gynae actually told me that no need to restrict water or salt intake, cos no use. It'll only go away after birth (keeping fingers crossed!). 2 more weeks!

Blue_turtle>Really ah then i more relieved..So scary leyz..dun move as much as last wk..So my hb n I gt so worried..Nowadays cannot wait for gynae visits even though its weekly alrdy..Wish i gt their ultrasound scanning machines hahahahaha!!! Think too stressed alr..

All the best to those mummies gg to deliver!!!

I'm still waiting for my turn..Another 9 more days to my due date..If my baby overdue, gynae wans me to be induced!

Mrs Lee> Dun be scared most imp is baby healthy!

Phy> Need to massage feet a little, My toes getting red though..So i asked my hb help me massage the toes abit n lift it higher on the pillow when i slp..It helps a bit rather if not very aching n pain when u walk..But dun be like me i ks haha put the legs very high at nite then cramp n numb there hahahahaha!! in the end need massage thigh also

Hi Serene,

Im also looking forward for gd news today...i want to have the baby soon, i cant take it...im so tired with aches and pains all over my body...

But baby is as active as ever inside me!!! Im dragging myself to work too n hoping to be on ML soon...

Brenda, hb not around, no one to help me massage. these days, i have difficulties reaching my feet! LOL!

You're very near your due date al, hang in there! could be anytime soon. I had my #1, 8 days before my due date.

Sharon and Agginess,

Have a smooth delivery. Wish you happy mooing....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

AR: tts great news, finally you are going to have your prince in your arms. Im counting down my days too...want baby to come ard the 1st or 5th... hope it happens...

Thanks Anne. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Still have to wait another week at most though.. Exciting right?

Lucasmummy- I have them. Ya, its looks unsightly. Everytime i ask gynae anything- she is 'its normal' so i figured anything wierd apart from bleeding is normal during pregnancy..

Ladies- Am packing hb's hospital bag.. what to pack for him? apart from his tee shirts, pants and jacket..

brenda> yeaps yeaps. normal for bb to be less active now. but cannot be totally not moving lar. that one must sound alarm leh! haha... dun get too worried ok.

Phy> i just wanna do whatever i can to reduce or relieve the water retention in my legs. cos very uncomfy when the water retention is a lot, hard to walk, cos of the extra weight and lack of flexibility in ankles. Plus, too swollen, i can't fit my feet into my slippers. haha.

blurangel, edie, lucasmummy> good point. who to go into delivery ward if hb not ard. seriously i haven't thot abt that. i have assumed that hb will be with me, somehow. maybe tonight go home think abt this.

AR:this is the imfo tt i gt online. no worries. this is normal during the last few weeks of pregnancy. we are getting there! yea, u better double check, triple check yr labour bag! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] must be getting excited nw. & indulge in yr favourite foods too!

Placenta calcification refers to calcium deposits that appear on the placenta. These calcium deposits indicate an “aging” of the placenta that occurs near the end of pregnancy. These deposits of calcium can cause certain small parts of the placenta to die. The calcium deposits may also cause some parts of the placenta to be replaced with fibrous tissue. The calcium deposits can also obstruct parts of the placenta with clots of maternal blood. They can also harden or block the maternal blood vessels. In most cases, placental calcification does not affect the functioning of the placenta, and the fetus is generally not harmed

blue - i hear you, if only my maternity pants are not sooooo tight, i would have worn my pants to cover those ugly spots!

I'm one of those who have nothing to wear to work already and I still have to work next week.

Phy: count me in, i dont anytg to wear to work now...except for 2 dresses and 1 yoga pants... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

miserable..

AR: what do u mean? Yours is bleeding? Pardon my scattered brain agian.

Packing: Ya, husband very simple one... just extra set of clothes if he is staying over with u and maybe a pullover/ jacket and of cos his brief. U may want to bring him toothbrushes as well...

blue_turtle: looks like ur swelling is quite bad.... remember to sleep with a pillow under ur legs every night ya... walk lesser if you can, and elevate them as much as you can.... or just stretch, massage your legs as and when...

phy: my maternity tops have become shorter, pants and shorts can only wore below the belly... sometimes, I am very cautious that I may reveal the ugly sight of my belly. I always tell my hubby Lucas "zou guang" le...

My one and only most comfortable wear now is a dress that I bought for $10 from Pasar Malam!! Regretted not buying more...

Hi mummies... Thanks for the well wishes.

My birth story is as such...

doc asked to see him on 19 Apr pm at his clinic. After doc examined (everything was normal then), i went home and started having contraction at around 4pm. The contraction were at 2min interval. =( Couldn't really stand it, so showered, took chicken essence and while I can still walk on my own, hubby send me to hospital around7pm. Admitted and was 2cm diluted. Had Epitural at 4am on 20 Apr and when doc came to visit at 7am, I was only 3cm diluted. So he broke my water bag and am induced for labor. Developed a fever at 10am and doc were informed. Birth room were prepared and doc were called in... I was 10cm diluted by then. Pushed into the birth room at 1230pm. Doc came at 1240pm and in 4 push assisted with vacumm, Clair Hon were out. =) I didn't had any food, drinks and sleep the entire night. So didn't had the strength to push. So was assited during birth. But bb head do not have any marking. Heng ah.. =P

Thanks loh for updating. The rest of my details is as follows:

EDD : 9 May

Delivery via: Nat w epi & assisted

nick : bb hon

Gynae : Dr Lawrence Ang

Hospital : TMC

I opted for TBF. So now trying hard to milk like a cow... But my girl keep falling asleep while sucking. Anyone has any good method to keep her awake?

Congrats again Hon!

Your birth story sounded tiring... Take care and rest well k....

Yea, also have the same qn as hon... how to keep NB awake to feed???

Another EDD buddy gave birth! hahah! So I am the last of the May 9 mummy waiting.. hahah!

Hon, congrats! And all the best with bf! I was told need alot of perservance. Dun give up! Rmb ur colostrum very impt for the bb. Natural antibodies! U can do it!!

Lucasmummy- Hahah! My fault- Put 2 matters in one sentence. What I meant is that anything wierd in the body functions is pretty normal during pregancy. Only need to be alarmed if u have any form of bleeding down there.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Am not bleeding la.. if i was, I wud be at Parkway East now.. hehe

Thanks AR for helping me ask your gynae. Would be able to see your prince darling beri soon : )

Agginess, good luck for your induce

Congrats BB Hon!

BB hon!

congrats! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i'm seeing Dr Ang tonite and am keeping fingers crossed about bb position (engaged or not) and weight sia.. due 5 days after ya.. and today is 4 days after ur delivery..so.. mmm

am getting nervous as i'm reading more birth stories man..

oh, btw, did dr ang predict ur revised edd? do u think ur contractions got triggered by something done at the clinic?

mummies popping today / this weekend... Have a smooth and speedy delivery ;)

went for my check today... Wk37 and 4days.. bb is at 2.7kg.

Still in breeched postion.. CONFIRMED my C-section on 5th May

next week is my final week at work ;)

my ML is from 3rd May till 20th Aug - i wonder how will we arrange the gathering after all mummies popped...

KTSC-No worries! Yup going to see my lil soon! yuppie!

I finally packed my hospital bag (again!) And packed my hubby's too. :p Even printed out the checklist of wat last minute stuff to pack. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] The last time I had a false alarm, my hb packed for himself one pair of shorts! I was totally speechless when i saw his bag.. hahah!

Mrs Teo!- All the best! I think u might be one of the first true MAY mummies! hahah.

Mrs Teo: Bb is coming out in time to celebrate Mother's Day with you! hehe...

Hon: Congrats on your little princess!

Lucasmummy: my swelling is bad just for today lar. cos last night i fell asleep before hb got a chance to do my nightly feet massage for me. so have to live with the elephant feet for the day.

phy, anne: maybe you wanna consider buying a few more dresses? hmm... but like waste money right? i'm still trying to squeeze myself into my maternity pants. still have about a month to go before EDD and they are a little tight already. i think will resort to leggings and those super long pre-preg tops/short baby doll dresses soon.

hehe.. blueturtle, phy, anne

me in the same dilemma as u ladies..

grew too big for my existing bottoms

i caved in and bought a maternity 3/4 pants and an XL blouse from iora (cheaper than maternity tops lor)

unfortunately my new pants had such lousy belly band that it almost slipped thru my hips when i walked out for lunch on mon..somemore it was the 1st day i wore it (after handwash)

i was SO MAD at the shop and was so tempted to bring back the pants and scream at the boss lady..

but listened to hubby and brought the pants for alteration instead (my trusted seamstress added an elastic band on the top of the pants)

now waiting for weekend to wash the pants again, then wear it for next week..

mrs teo!

now ur labour's gonna be a justified c-section! as opposed to elective c-section even if bb is in right position..

will u be using epidural or GA?

mtbs and 2nd / many time mummies,

if we need to go for emergency c-sec, would u pick epidural or GA?

i'm still quite worried about the long term effects of epidural (gimme lower back pain when old), so may pick GA..

but quite sayang lor, cos then i cannot see my babe or ensure that the gynae will follow thru my wishes for delayed cord clamping..

Sue

I opt for GA. Dun wanna feel the tugging and feel scared during the procedure.

Doc advise that no visitors 4hr after c section.... shd be resting.. after all, will be groggy.

And he says I will be woken after surgery.. but of course will feel sleepy thruout the day.

As per today, I've piled on additional 12kg for this pregnancy.

Now is 68.5kg

I feel like its waste to clothes now, since its due soon. though i am small size, i have difficulty walking esp after meals and alreading waddling like a duck...and baby's movement has been quite painfull lately. Im 36 weeks now and am i asking for too much that baby should be come on the 05/05?I cant wait to see gyne tonight to know how is it going...last afternoon i had lower back pain all the way till 4+am...i have been talking to baby to make his entry on the 05, hope he listens...heheheh

My gynae visit is tmrw then see her confirm whether need c-sec or not... will be 36.5 weeks tmrw....

for the last trimester i just borrowed some maternity wear from close gfs... or bought a few really really cheap dresses from This Fashion this type of place... can't be bothered about fashion and style when i look like a whale walking like a penguin....

crossing my fingers that if need c-sec will go into labour in the wee hours of 1st May then can have my public holiday baby!

Mrs Heng: I told my Hubby I don't mind going in alone and he said don't be a hero. Oh well, I'll have to see how it goes.

AR: Oh no...My MIL can't come with me!! She has difficulty walking, imagine I'm having contraction and still have to hold her when she's walking. If it happens in the middle of the night, I think I'll just slipped out quietly and not let her know.

Lucasmummy: Yup, most prob I'll ask my eldest sis who had given birth before but she's half my size so I don't know if she's up to my moaning and screaming.

Phy: Make sure your hospital bag is all packed, without HB around, have to deal with a lot of things yourself cos no one can help you to run home and bring it to you at the hospital.

Hon,

What we did is when he starting to fall asleep, we shake the legs and also tickle his ears, he most of the time will awake and start sucking again, but after few sucks, begin to fall asleep, we did the same thing again and again. lol.

Dear mummies & daddies, do u bathe your newborn everyday?and do you bathe them or sponge bath until their imbilical cord falls off?

Yes, every morning before milk, my CL bath him, then also evening time, my CL will use cloths to wipe him.

My CL only use cloth to wipe everything lei, also after bath, she will apply the cord lotion to wipe clean it, anyway, my BBs cord just drop off today. heehee

Hon,

Don't wrap bb snuggly during bf. They will keep sleeping if they are too comfortable.

If necessary undress her a little and hold her close to body for skin to skin contact. Tickle her cheeks , to stimulate her senses. HTH [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anne,

the hospital will provide some alcohol swabs to clean the umblical cord region. After a few baths they will shrivel up and drop off by themselves. Depends on the weather, I bathe my bb every day, each time finish within 5 mins, otherwise using the warm wet cloth to wipe several times a day is good enough too.

Hey mummmies, daddies,

How long does daddy go on leave after your delivery?

Alsky,

how many days of leave did u take for your wife's delivery/ confinement?

Hi mummies & daddies.

Jia you to all mummies who are going to pop soon.

Weather is terrible n horrible.My sweat is dripping non-stop.Plus the wrapping I almost dying soon....lol....

Alsky,bb_hon, my bb too, can slp all the way without drinking milk,then gotta wake him up n force him to drink,but drink abit nia then slp again, how huh?

Hey mommies,

My friend works for Wyeth Nutrition and she distributes directly to supermarkets, clinics and hospitals etc.

Anyone wants free milk samples?? S-26, Promil Gold that kind..

Please PM me.. I'll email you her mobile number.

She gave me some pre-mixed infant formula in 100ml glass bottles with disposible Nuk teats.

I also asked for a tin of infant formula. Yaaa, I'm the typical greedy Singaporean...

She said some tins get dented during transportation to the hospitals or supermarkets,

they will collect back and give out as free samples. But I guess as long it's not punctured, then no problem!

Shuyan,

Wah really that bad ah? so hot? I dont know leh, took a cold shower in the morning and after that been in the air-con room whole day haha...

Your bb seems like easy to look after leh.. Douglas kor kor got help out or not?

I'm so envious, you have two charming sons now!

When I move back to JW for confinement, I'll pop by!

bbf,

my hb applied for 2 weeks leave after i deliver. i think it will be good with his extra help ard.

re: bathing baby

1st few days after discharge must bathe baby ah? i can't remember if i bathed my #1.

Phy,

if contractions mild still can drive but seriously I don't think I can even drive myself to hospi if the contractions are spanned like 5 mins or less apart.

Need to stop everything and breathe!

In case of emergency, call the ambulance or better to call a cab and leave the driving to someone else.

bb-bao, I wan the sample.My bb now drink S26gold.Dunno whether can buy direct from her or not.

Weather is damn hot,then now still gotta wrap,so its even hotter.Today I had my bath,but after bath my sweat still dripping,lol...Cannot on aircon whole day,so gotta "ren",the most I sit infront of my table fan n direct under my ceiling fan.