(2010/05) May 2010 mtb

AR,

You are allowed to bath during confinement? I envy you leh. I almost cannot take it, i'm so sticky and feel so dirty! I'm only allowed to have herbal bath once a week. But don't know when can wash hair, MIL say cannot wash so early. No fans allowed but luckily can on air-con at night if not i'm sure i will get depression haha.

Too bad i had c-sect, if normal delivery i heck care so much.

Ice Milk Tea, I also C-sec already started bath in hospital before I discharge (MIL nagged like hell).

Then I almost bath twice a day with herb and wash my hair every 2 days.

My currenct CL lady said it's ok to bath.

She done her daughter confinement also allow her to bath without hern loh.

Herb to bath> I will stop tomorrow cause after 1 week++ bath with herb, my skin is super itchy!

Hullo mummies!!! how;s everyone? Hope we are coping better each day.... i am trying....

Luckyone.. i've stopped raspberry tea... but if ok to drink, i wat to continue since i got 1 and half packet left!!

luckyone ... i also feel the same with PILs staying with me... but only 3 more wks to endure..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] then im alone with baby!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My bb got colic so always crying.. sigh... heard from my mum bb will get better after 1st mth...

Thanks rantingbaby! Juz hope my milk supply continues.... i'm in fact feeding on demand... havent invested in a pump yet...afraid that milk supply will drop and wld not need it.

luckyone and iced milk tea - me also bathe everyday. 'secretly' without telling my mum. else cannot stand it.. esp when breastfeeding.

but most impt dun stress... me got baby blues during 1st wk after discharge.... but now feeling better.... juz try to take it easy... keep reminding myself...

As for PIL's way of handing baby, have to keep one eye close loh... wat to do....

Luckyone,

I don't want my in law to look after... cos the way they do things different from wat i want.... my baby super light sleeper MIL will switch on light.... open the curtains and then she wake up from her nap.... the room very warm have to blow the fan towards her MIL will turn the fan away then baby also wake up.... sigh... i just wish MIL would leave baby alone....then baby feed already want to sleep my MIL will try to disturb her dun want to sleep...dun want to put her down to the cot.. tak boleh tahan.... and just now she hint to me dun want to put baby in the bedroom she wants baby to sleep in the living room.. wtf.... so many mosquitoes dare to suggest such a thing to me.....

I signed her up for infant care too and MIL is SUPER unhappy..but put deposit already... so once go back work and baby is in infant care only need to see in laws at night and i dun need to bother how she care for my babe....

Basically to them they raise their kids that way and all of them turned out fine.... here we are all newbies wat do we know of looking after kids.... so have to ren lor....

Luckyone,

You are really lucky to have such a CL.

piglet81,

Ya Ya super hot when breastfeeding! My sweat like dripping from my chin. The night before i broke down and cried, thought i was having depression. I told hubby i cannot take it anymore cos really very hot. He said i can secretly bath at night when the master bedroom door is closed so that MIL can't hear. I doubt so since her bedroom is only next to ours unless i wait until she falls asleep which is dun know what time. I'm still thinking abt it. Cos if i wash hair sure can see de ma, nw my hair is super oily!

iced milk tea,

ya, was telling my hubby my mood will surely go haywired if i dun bathe.... i used to bathe at least twice daily in the past lor. if u can, maybe lock e master bedroom door... bathe and quickly blow dry ur hair.. if asked, then say its ur hubby bathing lor :p at most, dun do it everyday lor. good thing for me, my mum did my confinement only for the day at my place... so evening onwards i'm on my own.

Iced Milk Tea, yeap me too. If my in law take care of my baby, he will sleep in air con room 24 hours, eat on the bed, watiching TV when eating and beside sleep, he will spend his time wating TV.

Icedmilktea - sry but i cant seems to pm u leh..can u drop me a pm? I rather nt post to public coz doesnt wan to appear as advertising although i hv no relationship with my ML la..hahha!

Huggy - wow..tks for the tips..gonna do the same too hehehee

bx - i nt latching anymore le...pure pumping.

rantingbaby - tks for the info n great to see u ard again ^^

Actually I dont care my in law like it or not.

I just do what ever I think is right and good for my baby.

My in law even want to get invole for my baby's 1st month celebration. Thing like which buffer to order lah, order traditional cake with red egg lah, cut baby's hair lah, etc.

Lucky I told them I already order another buffer and cup cake.

I will not cut my baby's hair untill send him to infant care loh.

My boy born with such a nice hairstyle, I don't want him "bota" during his 1st month celebration.

Luckyone... actually your SIL give birth may be a good thing... cos got another newborn in the house more likely they get off your back...

but living with PIL already hard enough.. i can't imagine living with SIL and BIL as well!

lilstraz29, I don think so. Mine is boy and SIL both girls. Alth they always said " ah yeah same same lah".

And I don't think it good for me cause me baby also light sleeper, the house become more nosiy loh.

Can't bear to send me baby in only 2 months old if not I will go back to work Jul.

Luckyone i think u also having some postnatal blues... maybe wait out a bit longer when the hormones not so irritating u will feel better...

After confinement during the day can't you go ur parents place and hide out or something? Dun need to stay home the whole day can bring baby out...

hi mommies

for those who feed EBM, can share which brand of milk bottle that you baby is using ?

want to know if you think the milk bottle is not giving "gas" problem to you baby ?

Mrs Heng, is your ML the chinese one with own equipment? Sorry confused already.

Also, Mummies who have done their 1st month celebration, any caterers to recommend?

Hi Mrs Heng,

I can't leh, they say user don't accept PM. I try and see if i can do something to my account to accept PM. :>

piglet 81,

Can't cos my hubby once reach home will go bath and he dun have the habit of bathing twice, MIL know him best. I guess i can only wait until she goes to sleep or when she goes market....

Luckyone,

If i were you i will enroll bb for infant care too! Good thing your hubby supports your decision :>

luckyone,other than infant care,have you tot of bb hiring baby sitter or nanny to look after bb?Cos my collegue's bb is in infant care,but if bb is sick she need to look after bb herself,and there is so many bb there,then her bb tend to fall sick easily.But bb in infant care ll be more organize,cos they ll fix the time for slping n drinking.For me I'm quite lucky.My in-law stay with me.My MIL is a baby sitter for many donkeys years,she has her way of handling babies.So I'm very happy to have her to look after my 2 kids.But sometime really we need to close one eyes if we wan peaceful life.

shuyan - i tot of getting YLS too. I need to fill up their form b4 they cfm on the actual quantity i need? Did u pay them 1st or only aft everything?

phy - yeah..dats my ML hehee

icedmilktea - i juz done some setting, u see if u can pm me now? If still cant then i juz post here ba

AR: im so super fedup la. my parents came to stay with me and guess wat the hse is in super mess, if i try to tidy up tgs, my dad asking why im dng and thinks tt we cant keep the hse clean.So fedup, i didnt tell them anytg and yet they get offended, i dont know wat to say.

On the other hand, my sis can ask if i have post natal depression...ayioh!!!

Cant wait for the 1 mth to be over man.

Gals, chcek with you:the stitches down there, would it be itchy and how long would it take to heal complete and i would feel the stretch and itch. Also when would the blood stop flowing?

I feel so uncomfortable with my tummy binded, with stetchy and itchy feeling down tr and cant urine much, cos i cant take plain water also...

I think it was easier being pregnant then to go through all ts. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Baby also not waking up for his feds. he can sleep up to 3 to 4 hrs w/o drinking. we have a hard time waking him up. hes losing weight too...when he was hospitalised the nurse fed him up to 90ml in just 5-6days. Im so worried. Someone pls advise.

ya i bath everyday.. only hair washing is restricted to 4 times for entire confinement..

its hygiene la.. i thk the first week abt 4 days aft delivery- i still havent bath.. then my baby dun want to drink.. then i kinda figured it was bec of my smelly armpits.. next day immediately showered! hahaha! also down there bleeding.. need to wash and keep clean mah..

Anne- dun be worried too much. and dun do so much hse work. ur stitches still havent fully heal. wait then u get blood clot

when we get the slightest irritation they think we hv post natal blues...

the stitches will take abt 3 weeks to heal n blood will take abt a month to stop flowing...

why cant take plain water?1 secretly drink up! as it is our indian food is heaty. need fluid for gd BM ss.

ur bb most prob still hv jandice and they are sleepy heads. must wake him up every 3 hrs to feed. wat methods do u try to wake him up? try to express and give since he keeps falling asleep.. but ur expressed milk shudnt be offered by u..

Luckyone- bbe cautious not to overload baby with activities though. just choose one. i was just only talking my hb abt it- he is an ancient man la. he thinks i m crazy for wanting to bring bb for all this. he said cant bring bb anywhere until head is strong.. haiz..

Luckyone- hi 5! me also going bk on aug 2. but i wud complete full 16 weeks.. then go bk to work for 2 mths then plan to tender. i want to be SAHM.

Anne- i changed my mind abt doing my degree now alr.. most will delay it until bb starts schooling.. hb also wants to stop at 2. so will hv second one in 2012 and close shop. heheh.. then can raise together then when they go to sch, i can go work n study too.. see whether it materializes.. if not i am happy enuf being a gd mom. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

anne: my stitches are the dissolving kind. gynae said will take about 2 weeks to heal. but i was feeling a lot more comfortable 1 week after delivery. i did realise that the comfort came in after i pooed! haha... i was super scared to do the big biz but surprisingly, after i did it, the discomfort went away like immediately. maybe was cos of the high pressure created by the high volume of waste? haha...

as for the blood, i'm still dripping a little, some days more some days less, but overall is at most 1 teaspoon to 1 tablespoon kinda amount. i'm at 3 weeks after delivery already.

i asked the nurses at TMC about sleepy bb, they say must wake bb to feed, else bb can sleep for 16 to 20 hours a day. so for the 1st week, i just carry bb out of cot every 2.5 to 3 hours, sit her up, burp her and wake her to feed. i'm bf-ing, so i try to make sure she gets her milk at least 8 times a day.

shuyan: so glad to hear YSL is good. i'm planning to get them for my full month party too!

aloe, we using Avent. it was purported to be colic free?? but there is always gas when i burped my gal. so jus dun short changed bb burping exercise.

chen shuyan, hi can i chk with u the Qty provided by YLS is jus nice or more than enough. cos planning to use them for full mth nxt wk. heard my frens say only order the amt of ppl -10pac. else gotta eat for the rest few days ourselves.

Btw, anyone no where can get nice mini choc eclair??

Mrs Teo, we entertain her by carrying her n walk ard the hse either singing or talking to her. the intent is to get her to doze off so that we can continue with our rest. :p

Infant care

Mummies who are intending or have sent their kiddo to infant care, i have a question. Will infant care feed bb EBM? Or FM only? We need to provide the FM?

Loh - can translate for me? hehe..esp the 3 n 4th line..TIA !

为人心性最聪明

作事轩昂近贵人

衣禄一生天数定

不需劳碌是丰亨

Piglet

you should get a pump to up the ss amount. Sometimes it is also helpful to use pump to remove clogged ducts.

Mrs Heng

no issue. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: water for BFg mummies

pls make sure you drink at least 2 litres of fluids (water / soup / milk) daily to hydrate yourself and for milk production. Milk is equally important to prevent osteoporosis.

Hi all! Have been so busy these last few days to come online. See so many posts until blur liao! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/biggrin.gif]

I've stopped latching my son since Sunday due to very sore nipples and have been pumping every 2 hours for the last 2 days! Just managing to keep up for the time being. The MW told me to give the breast a break and express throughout this time and latch him on when I felt better. Ha! Ha! Seems like he has gotten used to the bottle now. Oh well! Maybe he'll be like my #1 who only decided to latch on after 6 weeks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Anyway no worries. So long as the baby is getting enough nutrients the mode of feeding is irrelevant.

Re: Reusing expressed breastmilk

You might find this helpful: http://www.kellymom.com/bf/pumping/reusing-expressedmilk.html

I've never thrown EBM away. I always let my #1 finish up what he had in the bottle even if he didn't always finished it at one feeding. Never did him any harm.

ylc regarding BLW. Yeah that's what I thought initially that BLW is more suitable for ang moh diet which is one reason why I did partially. But after several months of doing it I realised that it can be practised for all kinds of diets. You just have to be a bit more imaginative in your presentation. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] For e.g. before my son could use cutlery I used to roll his rice into balls so that it was easier for him to pick it up or if giving porridge just load it on a spoon and let him take the spoon from you or leave it on the plate and let him pick it up himself. The whole idea is to let baby be in control of what goes into his mouth. The jist of BLW is that babies learn by watching their parents. So eating together as a family is encouraged cos it will teach them to eat the same food as you and make them less fussy eaters. Because they are eating the same food as the adults, we need to adapt our cooking to be more healthy. As a result the whole family eats healthily. Even when we eat out we tend to choose more healthy foods so that my son can eat what we eat. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] It more work to clean up the mess but very heartwarming when you see your child enjoying and having fun at meals. Meal times needn't be a battle of tears and tantrums. And the good thing about it I needn't spend so much time cooking seperate meals just one meal for everybody. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/wink.gif]

ranting baby - ya, was thinking of getting one, before my milk ss depletes until 0 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] just hop its not too late and i can get my ss up gradually..

mrs heng - we were in the same hospital too! what time is ur baby out? i was in birth room 9, admitted at 5am, baby out at 1320 hrs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. afterwhich stayed in room 313.

Had my first

Massage session with madam jumie. Farted alot!!! But the smell of the ointment is too strong for me. She's good!

Btw, I couldn't take it anymore and took cold green tea just now, and had asked hubby to get me coke by late Afternoon

alamak! really a lot of posts to catch up leh! cant raed all ..

Ya.. like i said.. hydrate urself to get lots of BM ss..

mummies.. i wanna share with u all something that my other mummy thread shared..

its the light-deep sleep pattern

its emerging sleep pattern.. bb wakes up crying after surfacing from deep sleep to light sleep. coz hasn't master going back to sleep by herself.. so will cry. then we might feel she hungry. but she is not.. just suckle for a while.. dozed off again.. then might form the haibt of suckling to sleep.. hard to prevent.. unless can tolerate the bb cry..

actually no need to really tolerate.. i normally dun pick up the baby asap when she cries.. i normally will let her cry for while.. sometimes she just stops and fall asleep back.. sometimes it gets urgent, i pick up only when it gets urgent den to change diaper and feed. Also look at the feeding time.

when not really feeding time, i just let her cry a while lor..

Massage :

Can i check with u all.. how much ur packages? I got a lady is 7 days for $380.. i thinking of cutting down to 5 days.. dunno can a not..

anyway.. c-sec mummies.. actually massage can do immediately one.. as in .. after we discharge.. this lady she has more den 10 yrs experience said so.. i used her for my #1 but i din do it right after c-sec also la.. me only starting next week..

I ordered the YSL buffet online,so I juz ticked the food tat I wan then I submit online.I submit on sunday,then monday they called me n confirmed with me again the location,the food and the quantity.I paid full once the food arrived,then they ll collect back the barang barang after 5hours.I invited ard 65 people,but I ordered for 50pax.The food is more than enough esp the rice,so much left over.But I oso had ordered other side dish from outside (100 curry puff,1 tray fried beehoon and 50 fishball)

Ice Milk Tea, I not veyr close to my parent cause not staying with them when I'm kid.

Anyway, just bear another 2 more months loh.

My hubby also allow me to go back to work early.

BIL & SIL will move out 3, 4 months later.

Blue Turtle, me sending baby to infant care.

Since I don't have much breast milk supply, I will bring FM to infant care.

As what I know, some infant care have warmer, so you can bring your breast milk there.

AR, I will let my baby start the swiming course end of 2 weeks before send him to infant care.

Somewhere in mid July he will be around 2 and half months.

As for the music course for baby, it more like playing and make friends with other baby.

I will let him start after 4 months hehe