(2010/05) May 2010 mtb

congrats to all who gave birth recently!

Have not been in here for quite some time, how is all the mummies coping with BFg?

Shuyan, leg lifts will help or you can the scissors kick or something. Do it while watching tv is the best.

KTSC

congrats! Notice that you went nat this time!

bb-baoz

I am waiting for you to do confinement then I can pop by to visit leh!

Mrs Heng

I usually let my girls sleep facing up on a pillow with an indention in the centre. I will only let them sleep on their sides or stomach if I am around to watch them or after they know how to flip back on their back, cos of SIDs.

huggy- 90ml!? I m extremely surprised. REALLY surprised bec both the PD i went to strongly against giving bb water and i went to do further research. That when i found out abt water intoxication and all. -But like i said when do ing research, many ppl indicated they giv their bb water for many reasons and ntg happened..

When my bb was admitted for jandice they just flushed him with my BM n FM and that reduced his jandice lvl by 3 folds.. Ok thanks for ur info.. will go do further research on this school of thought..

Luckyone- U can read jap ah? U seem to like to shop from the Jap websites.. the raseberry tealeaf also from some jap website rgt?

oh I also lot 10kg!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hi five!- 10 more to go.. i think thats mainly from thigh area..

Today very unforunATE.. i slept last night in front of the fan bec it was super hot and my hubby doesnt let me switch on the aircon.. when i woke up, kena a cold.. now am constantly cleanign my hands with the dettol sanitizer bec so paranoid the flu bug spread to my lil one..

Sue- i think its the stitches that is causing the pain.. I rmb i had that pain for about 2 weeks when i was pee-ing..

mummies! i guess we really hor! ahahahaha! at nite feeding also come in forum leh! hahaha.. u see our posts.. 2 am.. 3 am.. hahhaa!

recent these 2 days hor.. baby has been latching for 10 mins. den cry 2 hrs later.. den 10 mins again den 2 hrs later. i was wondering it is i not enuff milk.. faintz! but my milk is dripping leh!

AR : i have been asking.. u all haven tell me.. wat is the rapsberry tea for?? wat benefits?

sue : could be ur stitches? check with ur gynae.. u still go for checkup right?

Sue, nanabear,

actually 2 hrly feeds are quite normal for TBF...sometimes the interval stretches to 2.5,3,4 hrs. It really depends on how much bb drinks at each feed.

nanabear,

I didn't take the rapaberry tea but I think it is use to make the labour easier. But take to early might induce labour, only advise to take after 32 weeks of pregnancy. It is a traditionally thingy in the western country, but no scientific proof.

nanabear, my baby is also feeding 2-hourly. I tried increasing the milk volume so that the interval can be longer but she can't seem to finish it. I'm now having a big headache on how I can fit it my pumping schedule with baby's feeds when my CL leaves this Sat. Any mummy can share? I'm pumping exclusively.

AR,

I believe that every thing if take in moderation amount should be fine.

The problem starts when there is no control of intake.

Hi mommies!

Finally managed to come online after battling with the baby the whole week. When I was discharged from hospital and moved to my mom's place, I realised I'm not in my comfort zone anymore.

Biggest culprit - NO AIRCON !!!!

Seems like my confinement not really confinement also. Just that i have confinement food thats all.

I still went to Jurong Point to buy things on the 4th day.. told my mom I will go crazy if I stay at home without aircon. I showered twice a day!

rantingbaby

I think I rather bring my baby out to your place, my house is so warm with no wind and ventilation.. we both will get depression. LOL..

Shuyan

Hope Darius is getting better already.. please take care of yourself too okay? Big hugs to you =)

Hi Loh,

Could you please kindly help me update?

ADD: 18th May

Wt/Ht: 2.88kg / 49cm

Nat + Epi

Thank you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I realised my delivery was almost painless with the epidural, the whole event was like over so fast. I was sleeping (and probably snoring) in the delivery room!

Sometimes when my bb cries for milk, I let him latch on.. but he only latched for 5min, suckle a while and goes back to sleep!

I cant be feeding him every half an hour right...?

I tried to stroke him, remove his clothes a bit, but he still falls into deeeep sleep.

How ah?

bb-bao,thanks for ur hug.At 1st wanna visit u de,but right now my bb still very cranky after been discharge fr hospital,then next week need to admit again for further check up,so might not be able to visit u liao.BB full mth u do it at home or ur mum?U very steady lor 4th day go JP liao,n bath twice a day.Ur mum allow u to do so ah?No air-con then u sit in-front of the fan.

Chilimum, I think unfinished bm by baby can be put back in fridge but my cl says provided it hasn't touched baby saliva.because bm is so precious, usually taking 90ml from fridge ( which is what baby is drinking) I will split into 2 bottles for feeding, maybe warm up 20ml first to see if she is very hungry (suckle very fast) if indication is positive then I will warm the other 70ml .

If slow, then I will split into another 30ml and 40ml... Warm it up accordingly. Nipples very sore from all the pumping... Our milk is so freaking precious!!! My cl says money also cannot buy... I am very glad this cl is very encouraging in bf-ing.

Nanabear- sorry... heheh.. must hv ober looked ur qn. wat huggy said was correct... for post natal it helps boost milk ss. It was introduced by luckyone. she helped some of us buy online too. But i hvnt been drinking lately bec the post natal medicine i hv is alr a handful.

bb-bao - i know how u feel.. my first week with bb was like tt too... very difficult. he kept falling asleep n cried often... but it became better from 3rd week onwards.. just keep trying..

also maybe he is not latching on properly tt's why he latch for 5 mins..

Bb-bao, the reason I express is because I m unable to measure how much bb drinks from latching. And when she falls asleep after less than 10 min suckle, I end up having to feed her every hour... Cannot cope la.

A_R, u mean the raspsberry leave tea can drink after post natal for milk ss? I stooped after delievery coz thot only for pre natal

hihis...

blue turtle, nanabear, AR:

me just called up the gynae clinic and the clinic asst told me that it's very normal cos i'm not drinking plain water but taking longan and dates water and confinement food...

but really funny lei.. confinement drinks also have water content what...

really puzzled..

the pain is like a sharp pain at the urine tract.. i dun have stitches there lei...

btw, Mrs Teo: wow, so much milk u excreting..hehe...way to go!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bbao:

same same.. sometimes my baby is like that too.. 2 days ago, she cried non stop and i tried to feed non stop and nanny burped her non stop but it didn't soothe her.. finally she fell asleep after 5hrs..

my bb is a really pek chek baby sia.. i literally hear her grunt when she gets upset..

blue turtle:

i see.. me baby getting both.. fore+hindmilk.. but maybe not enuf.. so now i'm feeding on 1 side and pumping on the other just to gauge how much she's drinking...

Hi mummies: Need to clarify: can we give gripwater for baby who is 10 days old. My mum is getting on my nerves abt ts gripwater and water issue. Im ok with the water but gripwater stated that it can be given after the baby is 1 mth.

Another thing: my baby can drink up to 90ml in the hospital when he was admitted for jandice. but when hes home, he only drinks abt 60 to 80ml.he sleeps most during the day and its so difficlt to wake him up for his feds. how ah? im sacred he will lose weight. he wakes three times at night, to play, drink and poo.

Pls advise.

bx, 90ml is thru manual pumping. The Medela mini electric can acheived the same amt but plus another 20-25mins. After 1st wk no more latching liao cos we observed that although bb happily suckling, she woke up more frequently cos she gets tired easily after on the breast for more than 30mins n she might not b getting her required amt of BM. but gd pt is she will always falls asleep straight aft latching. right now she will still stay awake n we hav to entertain her...

aloe, u r in luck cos this fri-sun is Philips Carnival Sale 2010 at Toa PaYoh http://www.greatdeals.com.sg/2010/05/phillips-carnival-sale/ . most items will be at least 25% off. for the pump u can get roughly 30+% off with ref to the prev sales event.

dun missed it! she norm takes 25-35mins to clear both her breast. Tired? maybe bah but most impt is she took lesser time on pumping n no more engorgement liao.

chillimum, better b ks cos weather really is WARM.. BM might goes sour more earlier. hav read thru the mags provided foc by KKH n found out that EBM can b stored in room temp either for 4hrs or 1hrs depending which mag u read. anyway jus taste or smell if the BM is sour b4 givin bb lor. we always do that to ensure milk is still ok but def do not store mor than 3hrs in room temp.

Sue, wify oso exp pain in the urinary tract. she ask gynae n was told she is not taking much liquids therefore the pain.

Reg air-con, we always on at nite at 27deg else bb will sweat profusely n wake up more often. but my mum nvr no..haha.

talking abt confinement, it seems that mothers r not suppose to do washing in cold tap waters else they will get 'wind' in their finger's bone. now my wify got a bit of pain liao aft washing the bottles when i not ard. has told her to leave it. my fren oso confirmed this as his wife always complained of pain in her fingers after her confinement n very sensitive to weather coming. do take note ladies.

Hi mummies & daddies,

Thank you for your congrats notes :")

Icedmilktea,

I didn't want to stress myself, thus I'm open to give baby FM to keep him hydrated, hope that will flush out the toxic and reduce his juandice.

Huggy,

Yes, guessed both my breasts were engorged, didn't experience this during my first birth. It was really painful, I tried expressing every 3 hrs to relieve the 2 stones, got hubby to massage for me, even resorted to cold cabbage last night, lucky managed to open up some ducts and I was able to pump out 60ml from both side since this morning.

Loh, how to entertain bb when they at so young! I try make bb stay awake in day time and sleep longer house at nght, but Inge day time, u dunno how tokeep her attention... When I so grover she falls asleep.

Today she is taking 90ml every 2.5hr and now still suckling (latch in because I dunno how else to entertain her other than to offer

mynipple.

She is coming three weeks old, anyone canadvice if 100 ml will be too much?

Hi mummies. Was down wit flu bugs n itchy cough fr my #1 n nw bb also had slight flu nw praying hard both of us can recovered soon. Bcos of all this I had to get my maid to take care of bb at nite instead of me n think is time for me to hv a gd rest after all the 1 man show takin cAre bb at nite for 3wks+. told my maid tat she'll b focusing on #2 while I take care #1 cos he also not feeling well n hv being slping late m worried he's not alert during sch time which results him to fall sick easily. To hv more plenty rest I doin pumping more freq nw n let bb latch on when she wants to go to slp.

So mummies, pls rem to take care of ur health if we fall sick then we can't direct contact wit bb. If e all process is too tiring for u pls do some adjustment arrangement wit ur helper if any so tat u can hv a gd rest rather than end up wit depression. Hb hv been grumbling shld let e maid take care at nite since we giving fm in the nite so tat I can hv a gd rest n daytime only get to slp 2-3hrs which is really not enuf n makes me so irritated easily n impatient wit #1.

my boy vomited a while after latching on, so much milk come out from his mouth (think got 50ml).. heart pain.

i already try to burp him after he latch on for few mins. and if he bottle feed, will burp once he take about 20 to 30 ml.

anyone facing this kind of problem & anyone know how to resole this ....

thanks Loh, will go to the sales and purchase it this weekend.. I am actually using the medela duel pump.. but i find it quite useful.. maybe i have to try the manual pump yet :->

Hi Loh

Can update for mine? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ADD: 13 May

Wt/Ht: 2.73kg / 48cm

Nat (asst) + Epi

Wld like to check with mummies here... how do I know if I have enough milk for baby? My baby is on bm and fm. Last few days i will feel engorged every 2-3 hours... but now seems like the feeling is every 4-5 hours.. does it mean that my milk supply is dropping?

Oic.. Ok will keep unused ebm in fridge.

Mrs Teo, I also prefer pumping to latching on though need to wash n sterilize bottles. I find bb more satisfied n slp better after bottle feed leh. Last night just tried n it's the first time she slept throughout the night. Maybe suckling frustrates her?but the only issue is dunno how much bb gg to drink n after warmed ebm, cannot b kept after feeding so sure bound to waste some ebm... Hmm will b testing it out later I'm sure can get a pattern out of her. Also I hav sore nipple le so pumping is liking to massage for me now haha! Also my hubby say the pumping sound v theraputic!

hi. Congratz mummies who have popped!! ,>> i. have. yet. to. pop... uurrrggghhhhhh...

went for 2nd ctg scan yesterday. everythgs okay. next monday, last pre-delivery visit to gynae.. i hope. and, then off to pop. gynae was hoping that i want to be induce. i rather opt for c then induce. thk induce is a long and painful prcess.. will see, still got a week to thk over.

haiz..

Aloe- u are not alone. my bb does the same. Vomits alot. All the precious milk.. sometimes its processed by him and comes out as yogurt-like.. hahah...anyway the vomitting is called reflux. is he poop-ing n pee-ing well?- that will be the indicator tt he is getting the nutrients of ur milk. Pd prescribed some wind drops.. but not much of marked improvement... i was told it will stop after few months..

Anne- welcome to the club! Its super annoying this gripewater n water issue. My MIL also will not give up u know. insist tt its water tt will reduce bb's body heat and etc. If ur mom is persistant- my advise is to give tiny bit of gripe water mixed in no more than 10 ml of cool boiled water (I will usually pray hard that my bb will spit it out- hehehe). To make u feel better i think our indian community have been feeding Newborns with gripewater despite wat the label says for generations and nothing fatal happen that i have heard of..

loh- My bb also will stay awake.. his timing is afternoon btw 2 to 5pm- he just wudnt sleep.. then its short naps all the way until midnight.

Mrs teo- Very tiring to entertain... bb cannot talk to us.. they just stare.. we must do all the talking... i just create conversation with my baby.. put him on my bed and then he loves to looks ard.. then i will take some soft toys and play with him.. sing songs to him... maybe once he hits 2 mths i will start reading to him..

Sue- (I did food science in poly so i am able to provide u the following explanation)

longan date drink and watever flavoured drinks have sugar content in them. This sugar content absorbs the water content when its in ur body, preventing it from fulfill the fluid intake ur body needs. Thats why the gynae of nurse said as such. Unless u take natural fluids like watermelon.. whereby its sucrose.. the water content is absorbed better in ur body. rather than tt, ur body needs just plain water either that or eliminate sugar/salt in ur fluids and dilute it further..

Hi alina,

I'm just like you .... waiting to be pop

Baby look so comfortable inside me and at least your gynae ask you to induce but mine say can still wait on for another 10-11 days arh ...... I really dun want to wait on wor and keep telling my lil gal to come out ASAP - this week please

Raseberry Leaf Tea> I continue to drink after I discharged from hospital.

Heard it's help for breast milk and it's rich in Vitamin C so no harm to finish it loh.

Hi Edie,

It was a short and sweet process but super pain afterwards!

Mrs Heng & Lucasmummy,

Can you share with me your ML's phone number? I'm looking for one. Called up one ML and her package - 10 sessions @ $688.

Hi bb-bao,

I'm facing the same problem as you. Used to feed bb 10 mins at least per side but since yesterday he only feed one side less than 10 mins and fall asleep. Strange thing is he still can sleep 3-4 hours than wake up to demand for milk. I'm having stones for breasts too. What should i do? Express all the milk after i feed him each time? Like that i will end up with alot of milk in the freezer leh. I prefer to latch him on instead of warming milk for him.

Feeling very sad... my baby cry non stop when I carry him but confinement lady carry him, he stop crying.

I think he doesn't like the way I carry him (; ;)

Mrs teo-

Yup yup.. helps to boost milk ss apparently.. here is an article..

http://www.pregnancy.com.au/resources/topics-of-interest/pregnancy/raspberry-leaf.shtml

Alina.. u sure u rather go for C sect?- I heard the wound will take longer to heal.. i was also induced but pretty short labour.. but of course the pain was *$%$#^%&^*%@!!# Hahah! Got epidural to save u.. try natural.. then milk ss will kick in faster then uterus also will contract faster and naturally as u bf..

Luckyone.. no need sad lah... CL also going off after one month..... then u can carry him all you want.... like my colleagues all tell me (those that let maid / grandmother look after).... kids know who the mother is.....

Piglet

the engorgement that you had is most likely the physiological engorgement, which is controlled by hormones. It usually take place within he first 2 weeks after birth. It will subside and your breasts will not feel as engorged. But it does not mean that your supply has dropped.

hihis

loh, ar

thanks so much for sharing the info about painful urinary tract..

sounds like i'd better take more water before i really get an infection!

before confinement, i never take sugary water, so i guess a 100% longan+red date water is like an assault on my bladder...

about water:

AR, anne; u know what, when my mil found out that my confinement nanny didn't feed my kid water, she told us how lousy the lady was, unskilled etc etc.. until i said it was my wishes, then i got a lot of naggings...until i got hubby to step in..

aiyoh, it's a tug of war wif the older caretakers.. like parents, parents in law.. they always insist they knew better cos we were brought up the very same way and it was proven fine..

juz heard that hubby had cockroach shit rubbed on his lips as a baby, to build his immunity!

gross right!

sighs...

thankfully i'm doing confinement at my mum's place..

always easier to deal with own parents than in-laws...

Hi ladies! I'm still waiting to pop too! Hopefully by this weekend I can deliver but so far no signs yet. It seems most of you have pop and some even going to celebrate or have celebrated first month! hehehe!

luckyone- *hugs* dun say like tat.. u are still the mother. Ur bb loves u alot.. maybe u havent got the hang of carrying him yet.. thats why he cried- uncomfortable perhaps.. nez time try to put him on my chest. they say a newborn finds the sound of his mother's heartbeat very soothing..

I also need to los the tummy. need to bind.. but no time to. wake up need to feed bb... then take nap with him.. then by the time i bath and hv breakfast he alr wake up.. how to bind? haiz.. Mine is more of thunderthighs.

Luckyone.. u plan to bring bb for activity classes once he is 2 mths? if u are then let me know.. am planning to.. i cant wait to bring him swimming when he hits 4 mths..

Hi AR,

do u feed him again a while after he vomited ?? just now after he vomited, CL feed him almost 100 EBM.

He is poop-ing n pee-ing well.. and just now he got that "yogurt-like" milk vomited.

we are giving him the baby drops for colic, but not much help.

I think i am having this "Overactive Letdown Reflex"..http://pediatrics.about.com/cs/breastfeeding/a/colic_2.htm maybe that the reason he got too much gas in his tiny stomach and cost the vomit. :-<

Me kind of depress no because of my baby, it due to my in law.

During my confinement period, my MIL keep nagging on me not drink the herb tea lah, shower lah, wash hair lah, bar bar bar... and FIL keep smoking, althr he close the dorr and smoke outside the house but still can smell it quite strong loh.

No only that, my FIL keep kissing my baby face!

Sometimes after he smoked!!

I dont even dare to kiss my baby's face loh!

If I want to kiss him, I make sure I clear my mouth loh.

I started to hate staying with them...my new house have to wait another 2 more years.

So stress untill I keep complain to my husband.

Feel I'm also quite nagging staying at home.

So I told my husband this afternoon I want to go back to work early, maybe end of July which my baby only 2 months ++.

I think it better for me and baby, at least can keep him away from his grand father's kiss.

Some more next month SIL also going to deliver,

the house will become super noisy.

Really feeling quite depress.

Keep worry like place to hand my baby's clothing (in my house there's 3 babys, 3 couples and 1 maid), when can I cook if my SIL's CL and maid wants to cook and even sharing of toilet (I'm not staying in master bedroom).

So, you all tell me, is it better to go back to work asap?

Luckyone i know exactly how u feel.... stay with in laws a bit like jail like that!! cos i want to avoid them until whole time stay in my room sigh.....makes me even more bored and depressed....whole day just surf net when baby sleeping...

But you go back to work early then the baby who look after?

lilstarz29, yeah hopefully loh. Thanks.

Sue, both of my CL lady feed my baby water.

But remember dont feed after milk or baby hiccup.

Better feed baby in between the milk time.

BTW, are you breast feeding? If breast feeding or feed baby breast milk loh, no need to drink so much water.

Because Formular Milk quite hearty so that why need to feed baby more water.

Sue!! cockroach poop!?!! I am speechless.. but it is true they do all kinds of nonsense!

Aloe- i feed him on demand.. if after vomit he is hungry i will feed him.. if not he will fall asleep himself.. bec overfeeding also can cause reflex..thanks for the link. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Luckyone,

Don't be sad, it could be confinement lady has more experience? My son looks more comfortable in my MIL's arms. I keep telling myself it's because i'm doing confinement and thus not allow to bath tats why my son more comfortable with MIL lol.

AR, I will bring my baby to "baby can swim?" when he's about 2 and half months old before I send him to infant care.

Then later maybe will send him to baby music course. I haven't check the details yet.

I also want to blend my tummy but tried few time still feeling pain on my wound.

lilstarz29, yeah me too. Next month after my SIL delivered, I will 24 hours stay in room cause her 2nd baby will sleep in the room beside living room.

And also I want to protect my baby from his grand father.

I will send my baby to infant care.

You let your in law take care?

I don't dare cause they really not hygiene loh.

They don't wash hand before feeding baby.

There's one time I saw my FIL (just came back from outside, guess after he's smoked too), peel grape to feed my SIL's 1st baby!

Ice Milk Tea, I bath everyday (;;) should smell ok leh.

Baby vomit> My baby vomit if let him cried too long (cause the win go into his stomach) and when he drink too fast.