(2010/04) April 2010 mtb

#1 starting weekly spelling & tin xie le.

step up from the 20 mins daily english & chinese readers.

one word a day i plan - its around 5 english words. chinese i still haven look yet

Hi mommies and 1sttimepapa,

Here's wishing everyone a smooth 2013 - may our toddlers grow up more obedient everyday!! Hah!!!

morning mummies..

monday blues..

cellow: you still maid-less? mine came back. hurray!

ruru: haha! may i not have to use the cane (so often)

hb & i want to cane #2 soon. he is getting very out of hand when going out. he likes to take off his shoes & run barefooted around & likes to run away!

happy new year all

vic

i already start canning, very stubborn skin not scare at all

any advise how to control his bad temper

no advise i am just as bad.

I feel boys are like puppy dogs thye need time & space to run around. cannot enclose all the time one lor. else will sure siao.

I am trying to rechannel his energy to lego & puzzles which he can sit down quite long to do.

but he still needs to run around go siao part. i have to relook now since full day school - it might be better cos pm last time 12-5pm he will be looked after by maid bored at home. now at least he will have friends & activities will see how that helps lor.

First full day in cc .. so far except for a "I don't want to go school face and almost crying face" teachers have feedback that he has been bubbly in class and cheerful. But mid morning milk he refused and also lunch he only ate 2 tablespoon of rice. He really hates to eat I think. Hope it gets better. Teacher actually said it's a good start? Apparently there are kids who refused to eat totally??!!

HJ usually teachers will try to help to feed. they will ignore bad behaviour & priase when good behaviour is done.

he should be right on track soon.

Hope so .. apparently he did cry a bit in pm class cos there were new kids crying and he was affected by them .. hope he realise he needs to eat soon and drink milk too!

HJ its normal to worry & its normal for crying. its why they say drop & go.

dont worry kids very clever when hungry they will ask for it. They wont allow themselves to go hungry de.

Actually my sil noticed after CC her girls eat better. previously they also struggled with feedig them at home.

HJ...it's a good start lah..cannot hiam...my boy 1st day in CC...he refused brekky at home & in sch hor..then lunch ate but cos the portion so bloody small, he went hungry & gulped dwn a bottle of milk before nap..Will take time & yes..the "I DUN WANA GO SCH" mantra is what u will be hearing v v often ...Jiayou!!

Haha Ya he ate a lot when he is back home. But I realised he finished all his snacks I packed from home. 2 Heinz fruit bars, animal biscuits cheese biscuits .. he is on a biscuit diet!!

mommies with older kids. is it common for cc to cut their nap when they are older? yu ze nap time is cut to 1 hour 45 mins in k1. is it common?

i'm quite sad leh to see nap time being cut. he sleeps through the nap time till teacher wake everyone up kind.

Son is admitted to Mt Alvernia for brochitis. Was vomiting last night n complaining abt abdomen pain on tue night. Send him to KK hospital n doc send his lung is ok n gave him anti-vomit pills for observation. Was discharge after monitoring 2 hrs with no vomi. Asked doc y never give anti-vomit pills to be taken at home n reply was can only administered at hospital n if vomit happened again, send to KK hospital for admission. Son condition never improve today n wife said we should send to his PD at TMC. Recalled PD at TMC n was told son has bronchitis. PD has kindly arrange for direct admission to mt Alvernia as TMC is full. She has also waived for off-hours charge..of $350.

Parents always asked lots of 'if' when their kids fall sick. Son should not suffer so much if I could send him to PD this afternoon seeing him so restless. It is actually piercing my heart to hear son said 'will eat slowly' to avoid vomiting this afternoon. Thought of buying air purifier? Do u all have any recommendation? What is diff bet air purifier n air dehumanizer?

Hi 1sttimepapa,

Air purifier works best in a enclosed area (eg aircon room). If non-enclosed, the person must be within don't know how near (depends on size/strength of the machine) the air purifier to enjoy the benefit.

I hope your son will recover fast.

1st time pa

i bot my air purfier from mega discount store. its the sharp ionizer models that might be better with the usual hepa filters as well.

it not only cleans the air but it also ions kills the germs to a certain effect.

but to take note on ionisers - some people get headaches with them - usually old people, children & younger adults usually dont have this issue so much. but i will get headache too cos i am migraine prone.

someitmes we on a 15 mins ioniser blast function in the room & then i leave the room.

the other option if sinus is also a concern is the rainbow machine - its a vaccum + purifier in one - crazy price but reall can vaccum thru 12 inch thick mattresses & stuff. thye sell only thru recommendations & as an mlm they do force you to buy on 1st visit but the 1st visit promises an hr free demo & cleaning - make the best use of it if u ask one of your friends who have rainbow to hook u up wiht their agent.

I have a rain bow too.

my hb reads that if someone having flu in the room - this air purifer helps but then i really rather kid just dont sleep with the sick adult. but cos all need aircon my house very noisey & near main road dusty too. so we still all stick into the same room. it was a $799 & a 699 model we purchased for around $150-200 less at mega discount store. my friends & i bot together maybe thus the better discount. we had 4 pcs in the purchase.

Celyn

my school cut nap in K1 already, K1 they do english reading lesser ratio - send all the kids to the eng teachers of PG1 & 2 & N classes sincethose kids still sleeping.

while inK2 its step up. i think Chinese also got reading during nap time. so there is a reason to cutting nap i am fine anyway my girl doeesnt nap - she always ka chiao people as she used to wake around 830am hard to nap so soon after lunch.

1st time papa .. use the brand Honeywell air purifier. It's trusted by most clinics and hospitals.

My son had bronchitis before too. Saw an asthma pd expert and got well without nebulizer

i think my school dont nap so long .

but i know what you mean - some kids need their nap else cranky like #1 she never really naps unless she is sick - i dont like it i rather she nap but she like to LUNz like siao then8-9pm so cranky lor.

hey mummies.

1sttimepapa....hope ah boy gets well soon.

naps...CC ctr allows 1.5hrs after lunch, shower & after milk. Weekend naps are typically longer these days...2-3hrs bah on avg .....something rare for us cos ah boy usually naps max an hr nia when attending PG.

C2 started school yesterday with his korkor.

since school is entirely new for him, he is adjusting better than his kor kor. who told me last night that he wants to go back to his old school. sigh.

1sttimepapa,

ah boy get well soon!

morning mommies

i just realise their nap time in cc has been cut progressively and that i didn't notice. yu xi's nap time is only 2 hours. which means they nap more at home then in cc.

Morning mummies ..

3rd day of full day cc .. TodS started his "I don't want to go school and drop off sobbing"

He was good at day 2 .. But I think the realization of long hours in school is setting in. I offered him to bring him out to play bowling but he told me he prefer to go home and play with his trains instead. Think he misses home.

But at least he has started drinking milk in school and eating lunch too. Hope he continues. Just thankful the weekend is just round the corner.

Cc nap time .. He sleeps at 240pm to 4pm. I guess it's adequate cos he can still be playing at 9pm which I have to invite him to sleep.

Looks like first week of school is going well for everyone! HJ, todS very good already! They will miss their bed and things and toys. My gal will come home and touch all her important stuff. Like she said last night ‘mummy, I LIKE to go to school but I also LIKE to come home’. Then this morning she didn’t want to change uniform to go to school. Have to lure her using one of our tricks again. It never ends lo. I remember even sec sch, JC and uni also I can don’t feel like going to school. And now also don’t feel like going to work. Haha.

Maddie: I think it was not a bad start. I've expected worse.

He also didn't want to wear uniform today .. Very hard for us .. Always have to have a lot tricks up our sleeves ..

HJ i not pro but at home we usually use that citrolle ingredient around 6 cm diameter disk 3+ cm thick, it can last for around 1 month but of course the only problem is children touching them & all.

I also have this brand i found at guardian says "under 1" seems ok i have both spray & lotion versions. usually spray at the feet or back of the body.

problem is we stopped the disc thingy at home & the time the kids come home is the time they say mozzie cme out to feed time - late evening 5-6 pm hr or so. & being the youngest blood they always kena at home & at home we dont spray those anti mozzie thingsy.

hb bot one of those black & decker electrical thingy to attract the mozzies instead at home.

they still get bitten though. esp jie jie maybe cos she eats more sweets!

my kids school actually gives them mozzie cream to apply at the beginning of the day.

I am not sure if its just last yr but there was like building works going on behind the school & now there is another enbloc-ed property also developing nearby.

not only is there more mozzies i am experiencing more rats too at one point in time. quite scarey.