(2010/04) April 2010 mtb

Vicma,

yes. It's quite fast, actual labour abt 4.5hrs. Dr woody checked my dilation and burst waterbag at abt 6pm..

wah the milk bags this person sellig is the playtex ones and same price as buying from robinssons must buy the bindles then considered cheap.

cottagefry

i am so scared this time with so much walking i did it will be natural no choice.

4.5 hrs is really a gd time.

i just login first time today... was tired n busy whole day today.. got visitors thru out these 2 days but all close frens n family.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cottagefry,

congrats!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

who else have popped???

Celia,

ya.. i drank coconut drink in the last few weeks of preg.. abt once a week... i also ate the flesh whenever can... (if the coconut flesh is tender... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif])...

gbh weekends is like that one. My girl too pop friday evening wah so many visitors and we were sso proud to show her off she got too stimulated and cried non stop on 2nd night then we realised we over did it.

After my friend heard my story she told pple not to visit for her own birth.

vic_ma,

luckily for me, very few ppl handled my BB so she wasn't overly stimulated... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cottagefry,

im in ward 315 now! u wanna meet tmr morning? since now quite late liao? i will be discharging tmr

Gbh,

hmmm.. I look v ugly and tired now.. Maybe can meet before u discharge tmr..

cottagefry,

hahaha! i also mah... no one looks pretty after going thru labour.. i will try to pop by your room tmr morning before i go off... if u busy or not around then we can meet up after confinement too! i rem u n Celia also staying near CCK right?

we can meet up nearby after our confinement! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi I have popped last wed n disch yesterday tho baby need to stay for jaundice. Supposed to be induced labour but bb got stuck so end up Caesar after 11 hours labour. Am damn glad I took the epi, no regrets.

This is first nite away fr bb so feel a bit strange. Pumping ebm for her now. Realise pumping every 2-3 hours is not easy.

Legs r swollen badly fr water retention. Pain fr wound is bearable. Manage to pass motion yesterday.

Hope bb can go home soon.

It's me again at this kind of hours. Think we will kind of post message at this hour because of breastfeeding. Baby is cranky again. Drank milk at 3am, stopped at 3.45am, then 4am starts to cry again. My confinement lady tried to carry her n comfort her but no used, i've instructed my confinement lady to give her abt 10ml of my ebm, baby just fell asleep. Is my milk not enough again? Hmm. Really wonder? Can anyone teach me how to keep baby awake during feeds? My baby falls asleep n drink very slowly, I got to keep talking to her to wake her up. Maybe she cried till no energy to drink her milk properly.

Guess what, my baby crying again. Ai yo. How to rest?

gbh, cottagefry,

Great lets mit up after confinement,

Anyone in west, join us for a tiger babies get-to-gether.

Vic ma

yar, just air it out lar... My mum always say that before marriage must open both eyes. After marriage, just close one eye.

Oh, I think I ranted about my MIL some time back about her wanting to cook some confinement food for me with a cup of Martell.

I told my hubby to broach the issue yesterday. But he refused. Then when we went to bring my ILs out for dinner, my MIL gave #1 a pack of sweets without checking with us. I don't let #1 take too much sweets and I think it's inappropriate to introduce sweets to her when she is not even 2 years old.

So while walking to our car, I told my hubby to stop MIL from buying sweets for #1. Again, he refused. His view is that we will just confiscate everytime MIL buys sweets. My view is why teach a young child that she will get a pack of sweets almost everytime she turns up at granny's place? Why start something that is not supposed to start in the beginning?

So, once in our car, I broached the sweets topic first and cited teeth issues as reasons. When we got to our dinner destination, I broached the confinement food issue while FIL was smoking and hubby was parking the car.

So I cited it being too troublesome for her to cook and bring it over to my place (cos she stays at West Coast and I live at Jurong West). Bus trip will take about 40mins. Then cold food still has to be reheated. Then really no point cooking also...

Why I am so sensitive to her cooking is cos of 2 past experiences. She cooks a lot. She can cook 10 pax share for a small group of 3-4 pax. How to finish? I cannot imagine how much food she will cook for me, even for just one dish... Then she will cook wrong stuff. During my last confinement, she brought me fish porridge out of concern and I also appreciated it (of cos it was cold by the time she reached and I had to entertain her because she came unannounced and I had to heat up the porridge myself too cos CL was still tied up with another case).

Later, I checked with my mum. Apparently I am not to take fish porridge for confinement. So... No matter what I must stop her from cooking anything for me for confinement.

Back to dinner last night, she tried to insist on it. But I stood my ground. Still, my gut feeling tells me that she might ignore what I told her not to do. Cos I am only DIL (and the woman who took her only son from her, whom she is super dependent on after her divorce with my FIL) and not dd.

Halfway during dinner, while FIL took a smoke break, hubby told her upfront not to cook anything for me during confinement (I did not even manage to inform him that I have broached the topic prior).

What astounds me was the tactic that he used to discourage any attempts of insistence from her (which I suspect he and his siblings have been using to discourage her from cooking). He told her that my mum cooks better (which he believes otherwise) and it is still better for my mum to cook for me since she is already cooking for me for confinement. Then he added, 'Why not you just cook soup for me when I come back from overseas?'

My MIL was effectively silenced. I was happy that the issue is resolved, though a little worried when he used a tactic like this to stop his mum from cooking. It's very discouraging and hurting to his mum.

Yes, I don't hate her and sometimes I also feel for her cos all she wants to do is to show care and love for her children. But for me, I am really terrified by the things that she may do, especially since she may not be taking medication for her condition on regular basis.

That's why Vic ma, I tell you hubby will always do things differently. Afterall, we come from different backgrounds and have different upbringing. So just close one eye can already.

Juye

what I do to keep baby suckling at the breast is to stroke the cheeks with my pinkie. If still does not work, burp bb and change latch-on to the other breast. If still do not work, change bb diapers.

Yes, they would usually be more wakeful when you change their diapers cos they don't like the feeling of being exposed in the nether area. So I just change the diapers if all else fails. Anyway, will have to change diapers after the feed.

Maddie

congrats! Hope you are feeling better. It can be quite emo taxing for you since bb is still under obs for jaundice. Jiayou on the EBM. Remember to ask for slightly lesser ginger in your confinement food since Ginger will worsen jaundice.

Take more fluids to flush out water retention and place your legs higher than your heart if you are lying down.

Morning,

celia,gbh

Sure, we can always meet up after our confinement.

Vicma,

try not to walk too much if you want to avoid natural..

Re: coconuts

I think is gd to drink some coconut water.. I drank before i went for my labour. I thinks it's helps to cleanse bb.. I find my bb quite clean..

hi cottagefry,

im still in ward and havent even had breakfast yet... got some crop up here.. BB might have jaundice.. so waiting for results to see if BB can go home... plus something else.. hmmm.. not nice to say here yet so i PM u ok... read it before u go home.. so i think might not have time to meet u today... we meet up again after confinement with Celia?

just told my BB has jaundice... quite high.. 15+... so BB has to stay n im also staying behind for a day so that i can still BF her around the clock... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

i m short sightedly typing this fm mtA as mr c left my specs at home.

super short totally drug free labour lasting 2 hours from waters breakg to actual birth ard 1am. and i still took shower, wahsed and dried hair aft waters break sm more... haha.

i feel great now.. still got a lot of endorphins surging thro my syst. c2 latched 4 one hr aft birth, now already suckled twice for 15mins eac session.

din expect to deliver bouncing easter bunny boy!!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

post more later....

table update

3.3kg, 51cm, drug free vaginal birth

Congrats to all who popped!

Cellow,

Amazing... can't wait to read more later!

Gbh,

Thanks for your tips on how to manage the pain. Good that you are staying to BF her. Hope the jaundice clears off soon.

gbh no worries, ur bb is in good hands [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cellow, saw the fb update [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] 2 hours?! u trying to break record??? congrats [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wow! Seems like weekends are peak periods for babies to arrive. Hope my baby arrives on a weekend too so HB will be around.

Cellow: Congrats on your easter bunny [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Glad you had the birth experience you wanted. Looking forward to catching up on all the birth stories later.

gbh,

No worry, jaundice is normal, my boi also 12.4 then when discharge is 10 bb doc ask mi to undress him for 8am n 5pm sun ard 20 mins, cover wif eyes, but i didnt do so, my hse no sun at tat hr n my mum use tiger beer to bathe him.

Cottagefry,

I hav gbh msn, wats urs? We cn mit up..

Any other mummies wanna mit up, cn join together.

my breasts starting to feel hard... is this the norm after birth? must i massage now n then to prevent engorgement? or just latch BB on as much as possible... how i know how hard is normal n wont lead to engorgement?

Here's my birth story.

10am: Went for gynae's check up. After much discussion, gynae advise us to go induce immediately.

12:30pm: Reached TMC, did admission.

1pm: Went to observation room, nurse did ctg monitoring and dilation check. Im 2cm dilated.

2pm: Nurse inserted pill.

3pm: Nurse sent me back to my ward room to rest ate some sandwitches.

4.30pm: Went back to observation room to wait for dr woody. Wait, wait, wait. I'm 3cm dilated.

6pm: Dr woody came, did dilation check and broke my waterbag.

6:10pm: Contraction came. More and more intense.

7:10pm: Asked nurse for gas mask but i dont know how to use. Haha! Endured the pain..

7:40pm: Decided to throw white flag, asked for epidural = happidural.

8pm: Epidural given.

9pm: 4cm dilated. Still can feel abit of Contraction.

10pm: Can feel strong pressure that the bb head is coming out. Told midwife, practise pushing with midwife.

1030pm: Dr woody arrived, 3 hard pushes.. BB Aaron is out, weighing 3.035kg, ht 48cm.

Congrats to those mummies who pop [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

GBH,

Your breast getting hard means milk coming in. Yes please massage to prevent engorgement and ask baby to latch on.

Once your milk in your breast is clear, it will turn soft again. When your breast if filled with, it will turn hard.

Dunno if you can prevent engorgement or not. Cos usually when the milk ducts gets "activiated", the milk will all "come in". Unless you been latching/pumping frequently, maybe can avoid engorgement.

morning mummies

congrats mummies who had popped.

gbh,

breast is hard means milk coming in liao. massage before pump and latch. must clear milk to prevent engorgement.

My nipples are so sore n painful, it starts to bleed. Should I stop breastfeeding for a while? When baby latch on, I feel super painful but i've been bearing with the pain.

juye,

squeeze some bm and rub over your nipples for it to heal. you can continue to bf though you are bleeding, no issue. not sure if you pump, will it be less painful for you? make sure baby latch on correctly so that you won't get crack and sore nipples.

gbh, I shall not repeat what other mummies have said about hard breasts.

Juye, you still can feed your bb with sore and bleeding nipples. Feed bb on the side that hurts most first. Just keep to 15mins first then burp and latch on the other side (also keep to 15mins).

If you are still pumping, keep to the same timing for both breasts. After you are done, squeeze out some breastmilk and apply them to your nipples and air dry them.

Why the sore and bleed is because 1. you latch on for too long or 2. Baby is not latched correctly.

Your breastmilk will help your nipples recover. But meantime, keep to 15-20mins latch-on/pump for each side until your nipples are used to it.

rant on swweets i will tell anyone offmyself. Esp my fil on peanuts he insist its harmless the allergic nuts documented are different nuts biang.

I think yr hb tot alot before saying that and my. I must say he said that very well effective wo hurting yr mil as well.

Sometimes i think men say no cos they still thinking. I also sometimes use reverse physcho it works only sometimes so i limit the use. I mk him see things my way wo trying to force him to agree on that very spot. Its abit hard cos u hv to curb the anger yet discuss patiently.

My hb is thankfully a patient man and much smarter than me.

My ex i tell u. I would hv died trying to talk to him. Bringing up any issue he takes it as i am attacking him and the sesssion ends badly i hv to even apologise! Resulting a more hurt me. Oh well he managed to drive me into such a little corner i decided to break free cos i also felt i was loving him less and less as the days go by unconciously. What is a rs wo open communication?

I am still happy with my hb choice. Not the best father or hb. But a better one than before.

Now he is bathing my girl and she is happily laughing away. Its sort of family bliss. Haha i am chatting in forum and making up to get ready for lunch!

Vicma - it is a challenge for today's mothers to e managing the husband, the kid(s) and the household, not to mention the arrival of a newborn baby.. Keep your cool or else it will affect the baby inside u yah. All things else, just let ur hubby settle. Jia you~

To all mummies who have popped - congrats! This spurs me on for my search of coconuts.. i want coconuts!

siew ping,

Not too much of coconuts..hahaaa..

1 wk 1 hor..

During labour, all depends of u, must tahan all the way... remember ur husband n family is cheering for u n so are we..

Its fun n good to hav sharing session in forum to increase our knowledge.

It has seen so long since my little girl popped on 21st March instead of 6 Apr 10. ;)

Hope it is not too late to share my birth story now.

20th Mar

2pm: Got show and called gynae to check. Was told to observe for more show, contractions & waterbag leak before admission.

However, as I can't really feel BB's movement, I requested to do a CTG to ensure all is all right.

3.45pm: Reached TMC and headed to the ward to do the scan for an hr. Luckily, BB is all rt and very active and CTG showed I was having frequent contractions which I did not feel it at all.

Thereafter, gynae asked me to go home and observed for contractions, more show and waterbag leaked for the next 24 hrs then admit.

21st March 10

6am: Tummy started to have the achy feeling and menses like cramp which I was not sure if it's contractions. Later which I noticed more show!

7.15am: Observed till 7.15am as the pain comes every 4 mins and called up the emergency hotline and informed them abt my symptons and was told to admit immediately by my gynae.

8.30am: Reaches TMC & went to observation room, nurse did ctg monitoring and dilation check. I was 1.5cm dilated and contractions was 4 mins interval.

9.15am: Nurse sent me to delivery suite to rest and wait for more dilation and till gynae come and see me at 11am.

The pain was still bearable and I waited and waited till abt 10.15am where the pain was more intense and requested for epidural. The nurse told me that per my gynae, epi can only be given if I am 3cm dilated and OMG! I was still 2cm dilated!!! Thus I was given gas but it was of no use!

11am: At last gynae came and checked and I was only 2.5cm dilated. He checked BB's position and said that Bb's position is still high up thou heads down. I asked can i try natural delivery and he replied can try but if even given another 6 hours for more dilation, it might not exceed 6cm and thereafter, 80% will result in emergency casearan as BB's head is big for my pelvic. So no point spend more $$$ on natural & c-sect.

11.15am: After discussing w hubby, decided to go for c-sect and gynae then broke my waterbag. Gosh!!! It was so painful tt i tot maybe I have make the rt choice!!!

11.30am: Was pushed to the ops theatre

11.40am: Was given epidural

12.05am: My little angel, Yu Xian, is out, weighing 3.2kg, ht 48cm.

In the end, my little girl arrives into this world 16 days earlier!

i've booked for normal single bed in TMC. If they put us in premium single bed due to unavailability of normal single bed, will they charge us premium single bed ?

Have you all encountered the above situation before?

1sttimepapa,

They will charge you premium single bed. I booked normal single bedded but all fully taken eventually i upgrade to super deluxe suite and im charge as per what i have upgrade, now i back to normal single cos the prices really difference alot. Almost double the price. Haha!

no lei, u dun upgrade urself, they wil assign upon availiabilty if they put u to a better room they wont charge u.

tis is wat happen to people i knw. If they ask u upgrade u say u no money or simply say u jus wan single bedded.

1sttimepapa,

they will charge u the premier single rm rate... at first we also almost got no 1 single bedded due to no room... they give u option of down grade or upgrade...

then they got tell my HB the next grade is premier but gotta pay more... so must be u gotta pay one... bcoz they tell u the premier rates n nvr say its free...

oh.. clarify a bit im in single bedded all the along bcoz by time i gave birth, there enuff single bedded to go around liao... but during admission time dun have so they got tell my HB the rates if wanna upgrade n the topup diff... so i guess the topup is bore by u one n not free by hosp...

my breasts now start to feel painful n a bit lumpy... i have been massaging them in btw feeds n latchign BB 3 hrly and at least 15 min each side but still like that.. am i doing enuff?

i alrdy requested for more freq latchings to be 2 hrly but also gotta see if BB hungry or not n they also need BB to be in nursery as much as possible for her photolight for the jaundice... any other way to relieve engorgement? like shld i use hot or cold compress on my breasts?

gbh,

why not you borrow their pump to express if you didn't bring yours. i never use hot/cold compress before so don't know how it would help.

gbh

u hv to use warm towel to massage ur breasts. It's not soft massage have to use some strength. I did ask parentcraft for help for my first birth. This 2nd one, I used same method n it worked. My milk ducts are open n pump more. So u may wan to try or ask parentcraft for help.

long time didnt login le... so happy to hear so many of u have POP!!

*Congratez!!*

wow, i reali salute mummies who pump every 2 to 3hrs..for me i feel really tired... after feed still need to pump, like tat really no time for sleeping liao.

i agreed with Celia, the reason y people don't chose premium single over normal single is due to the cost factor.

Really must argue with them if am forced to downgrade or worse pay extra though i've asked for normal single bed.

Congrats all popped mummies. Wanted baby out in April cos' daddy a April baby but somehow baby out in March. But still a Aries baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]