(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

Hi Joy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] will u mind adding me to the table too please? many thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nick: kly

Edd : 17 Jan 2010

BB#: 1

Gynae Name: Dr Benjamin Tham

Hospital: KK

Add zone: Punggol

back from my merlion, ughh! :p

now whenever i see any food, they really turn me off, only food tat i will crave is the korean spicy kimchi noodles and my crackers.

yunzz

but pple say C-sect wounds take a longer time to heal. After vaginal birth, one can walk almost by the next day already. I even took a shower the morning after I gave birth the first time (though felt a bit woozy due to the pethidine jab). Hehe, well, if u feel more comfy with C-sec, it's yr call.

Anyone of you watch Channel 70 - Discover Home & Health? Plenty of shows on birth, pregnancy, raising toddlers etc. The ang mohs even more adventurous! Water birth lah, hire doulas etc. And most of them don't really take painkillers like epidural - they do most of the labour at home!! And their hospitals are quite far away..imagine that...

kyxy,

i dunno if lying on the tummy is bad or not. but i just tink that it's not good because it's like squashing BB. maybe u can check wif your gynae

ginger,

yes, my breasts are really sore...it's putting me off sex..does anyone of you still haf sex..hubby haf been wantg sex but i haf been puttg it off coz i juz dun haf the urge. and yes, i haf oso been waking up at nite to pee..sort of disrupting my sleep coz most of the time, i haf difficulty getiing into sleep after i pee.

why do u need to draw 4 tubes of bloood? why do you need to do blood test?

i have not done any blood test yet.

ginger> welcome! ya man i also keep waking up to pee! cant have a good nite rest. if not will be wake up then tossing and turning and cant sleep.

joy> take care! and i also quite crave korean spicy maggie mee =x

smalldreams> ya i also hear C-sect longer to heal plus after birth cannot massage, so tummy take longer to 'deflat'. And yes i watch Channel 70. See those ang moh give birth like no kick de! once saw an episode, tat woman gave birth herself cos the doc cant reach there in time. she machiam juz squat there then the bb after awhile juz 'slip' out... -_-"""""

yunzz> husband out of town... i'm still 'safe' for now =x but with the MS, cant imagine everything also no interest...

hi Rina,

I've hold off with my studies with curtin uni ,bcos now carrying my hubby's family 4th generation 1st in -line grandchild(father-in law is 1st son & hubby 1st grandson)... just wan2 have a healthy bb throughout tis process..

I'm goin crazy now with the indigestion and heartburn ytd, thou try out small frequent meals..luckily, I'm on nite duty or else will stress my colleagues...sianz !

hopefully these disgusted feeling will be over soon.=(

yunzz - not sure lei....i think before 1st trimester is up, they will be running test on mother to test for 1) HIV 2) genetic disease and all.....this is the norm....i believe for KK patients at least...private I am not sure....I am really scared of needles!! Last round when I draw blood just for health screening purposes, I need 3 nurses to restraint me cos I freak out when I saw the needles [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Talking abt sex...I have stop for the time being, mummy cant even sleep properly and felt nauseaus at night due to baby liao...sorry cant satisfy daddy right now...ekekekkeekkeekkekeke

ginger,

hahhahahha

anyway, i am afriad of needles too.. i heard tat KK does alot more tests than other hospitals.

for me, i only haf to go for the OSCARS test in my week 12..also need to draw blood.. normally i would refrain from drawing blood if i haf a choice...in this case, i tink it's necessary to go for the oscars.

kyxy

haha...nowadays, i 9plus at night knock out liao! and will sleep almost all the way. shld be ok to sleep on tummy lah. cos right now the foetus still very small, so not much effect of getting "squashed".

yunzz

c-sect take long time to heal...and very pain. trust me...cos my 1st preggie i had c-sect thru GA. wake up from the op wah...the pain like hell man, and thru'out the nx few days keep relying on painkiller. took me at least 6mths to heal.

Anyone don't feel like eating here? Dunno why, after preggie, i am eating less and sometimes dun even want to eat.. Is this normal? Or bb too small to want eat? hahaha..

ET,

everyday is different for me, a moment i'm thinking of eating certain thing and the next min, i dun want liao. very confusing....

koonie,

I see. So you now just concentrate to be a happy MTB then. Studies can be defer till later. U still so young.

ET

yup me me. my stomach gets a little uncomfortable occasionally, no nausea or anything though. jus feels strange. hence i'm not really hungry and when eating my meals i get full easily.

hey rina ,

I'm not young anymore (*_^) juz wan2 live happily eat happily every mth pocket got $$$ can liao..

ET, I'm facing the same problem of eating less most of the time only craved for soup tat's all

I am counting down, I am wk 9 now, hope my MS will be over in 3wks time ....

hi koonie,

oscars mainly test for down syndrome and any other adnormalities in the pregnancy. it's done during week 11-13.

DNA,

i am in my wk 9 too! yes, i am counting down too..feel will better after wk 12, can do alot of things and BB is stable by then.. :)

kyxy

no appetite i also force myself to eat

if vomit out just too bad

but if dun eat, the gastric + vomit + MS is worse! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

re: zz at night

i zzz alot. but i dun get quality zzz. cos of the puking feeling. i think it would be a long time before i can zz well man

yunz

me 2. stomach cant b empty

but it goes empty v fast!

so i feel like i'm always eating!!

~dg~> c-sect sound scary...

i also wanna count down to the end of MS!!!

bb no.2> same... force myself to eat.

btw people... the oscar test is a mandatory or do i have to request from my gynae to get this test conducted?

kyxxy, depend on ur gynae, usually my gynae will tell me wat test to be expected in the coming visits. But i nt going for oscar test, so prob the next one will be the blood test for the hiv, etc and gluoose test (eeeeekkkk, that my reaction whenever i think of the gluoose test)

Now, I am considering whether to tell my boss or not or should I wait after my oscar scan. But it seem my tummy cannot wait leh...how ????

joy, still trying to hide... if you are observant can see the bloated tummy. But I am batang leh... I lost one before...

DNA, ooo, but if can't hide, then bo pian have to tell boss, i also trying to hide as long as i can, cos this time hb is a bit pantang.

joy> ok let's see my next appt gynae mention anything... wat's the glucose test for?

bb no.2> erm drink the ultra sweet stuff liao then?

DNA> 9 weeks can see tummy liao ah?

kyxyy, the gluoose test is to test ur sugar level if i can recall, after drink the stuff, rest for half an hr or an hr then go back and they draw the blood out for testing.

kyxy

ya. joy is right

joy

the worse part is must starve the night before, so no snacks. you know an empty stomach is enuf to trigger ms. not to mention drinking that stupid stuff. and stil trying to keep it in! cos if vomit out then bo3 bar2 gei1 got to drink again! really can die

just had lunch

now feel like puking again

going to zzz it away

talk about healthy lifestyle [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

haha joy

we're just making each other miserable by thinking about it. and scaring the first timer mummies. better not talk about it anymore [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

joy & bb no.2> wow the test sound like a torture than test. drink so er xin stuff liao still got to draw blood... the tot of it make me wanna puke...

Kyxy,

the glucose test is to rule out gestational diabetes.

Usually only do the test if urine test show high sugar level.

I did the test for my 1st boy, Bld test is nothing for me but i seriously hate the taste of the sweet stuff.

Kyxy,

Usually can skip from the test if urine test does not show high sugar. My case is that time i have high sugar in urine so gynae want me to do the test, it's known as OGTT= Oral Glucose Tolerence Test.

hey ladies...i agreed on the bantang part and normally ple disclosed after 1st trimester...but as I am working in the hospital industry..I decided to disclose today [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

With the H1N1 infection lately, I am afraid of being task to do something silly and will get infected..so weighing both issues of bantang and life endangering, I decided to disclose to my boss today [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] at least, i will not be task anything dangerous to me and baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

kyxyy, u have to check with ur gynae, normally if there is a family history of diabetes and others, it best to let the gynae know.

Kyxy - no need to worry too much...though i am also fearful of needles and test but so long they can assured baby is safe and healthy is ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi yunzz,

we are gog to the same gynae, Dr Paul Tseng. This is the 3rd pregnancy I'm seeing him. I simply admire him, very cool all the times. haha...

Anyway, whether c-sec or natural, giving birth somehow will be painful. My personal opinion is it will be good to try natural if possible. I had csec for my 1st 2 cos like u, scare of pain but actually also pain lor. In fact, I took 1 mth to recover from my 1st birth, 2nd was really fast, 1 week. When I had my no. 3, I wanted to try natural cos somehow dun feel very complete without the natural birth. Since trying for a VBA2C, not many dr will want to take me except Dr Paul Tseng and Dr FM Lai. I decided to take Dr Paul Tseng cos his charges is more manageable. In order to prepare myself for this birth, I also went thru hypnobirthing course and engaged Ginny from 4th Trimester as my doula. It was a great experience for me eventhough in the end I still ended up with an Emergency C-sec due to cervic failed to progress. I went thru the labour pain, underwent VE etc... Good experience for me cos it was 1st time gog thru all thru despite this was the 3rd bb then. Yunzz, if you are really planning to go thru csec, there's no need to do it in Dec09 cos Dr Paul Tseng is always very willing to let the labour start 1st b4 proceeding with the csec. In a way, it's your baby telling you that he/she is ready to come to this world.

hi kyxy, same as the rest of the mummies, I tot must wait 3-4 weeks after csec b4 I can start the massage but I was wrong. With no. 3, I started my massge 3 weeks after csec and the massge aunty told me I should do it earlier so that it's easier to walk etc... With no. 4, I started the very next day when I discharged from the hospital. I did a total of 5-7 days and by the 4th day, I was able to walk about without much problem and the wound pain seems to lessen alot too. In fact, for csec, it's best to walk more then the wound will be lesser painful but of cos, when I'm back hm, my mum will nag if she c me walking abt cos she said must rest, cannot walk abt, scare later uterus will "drop".

Hi Joy, can u add in my details in the table, please?

Nick: Jes

Edd : 4 Jan 2010

BB#: 5

Gynae Name: Dr Paul Tseng

Hospital: TMC

Add zone: Bedok Reservoir

wow!!!! number 5 for jes \^^/

jess - wats hypnobirthing course? something to psycho u so that u wont be able to feel pain hur??? wah lao...like tat more effective than epidural liao...i also wana take up..kekekekekee

wats a doula too??

jes> SALUTE!!!! steady... u love kids alot? and thanks for sharing your experience!

ginger & joy> thanks ok i shall not go tink so much...

ginger> hahah if realli is psycho we shall all go!

i read something about doula... she's like a nanny tat prepare u for your child birth. be it breathing technique etc... tats roughly wat i read but i didnt know sg also got ppl engage doula...

jes> care to share how much it cost hiring a doula?

wah sei, baby no. 5.. Steady mummy!!

Regarding the pantang, i already disclose to many people leh, really got effect one? Cos i am a born loudspeaker, didnt really think much about the pang tang before i say.. lol..

Hi Jes,

Thanks for your advice! it was really great listening to your experience with Dr Paul Tseng!

When you say you took 1 month/ 1 week to recover from the c-sec, does it mean you actually hurt for the entire week/ month?

i read that nowadays c-sec recover pretty fast, some can walk the next day. is that not true?

if let's say i perform csec after the labour starts, would i be charged for emergency csec which is alot more expensive?

Was Dr Paul Tseng csec stitches good?