(2009/12) December 2009 MTBs

miumiu, can use the blender even till the babies turn older, just don't blend for too long. It's not bad. Abt the thermometer, the seller said she would post out yesterday.. yay..

ainsley, which breastpump are u using? hmm.. maybe can try other pumps to see if they can trigger faster letdown? I had probs w pumping milk in the first month too, bb could get milk via latching but when i pump, there was no milk. It turned out that I had blocked ducts at the nipples, so the lactation consultant helped me to massage it out (more like PINCH..OWWWW) and advised me to get a different nursing bra. Since then, smooth traffic.. so maybe u can check on other factors? It doesn't sound like a supply issue, but a technical issue.

shryn, did u massage the way the lactation consultants tech? u have to press on the hard lumps on the breasts... n why u use needle???? Unclogging no need to use needle. It sounds v painful!

calamari, what timings do u typically pump at? I think i will have to move towards lesser pump timings by sept/oct.. at the moment, i am oversupplying la.. but i KS, just wanna stock up. hee

Augleo now my mensus report on time haha... now trying to see got #2 anot...

miu i think is worth investing in the blender... after 1 yr u dont blend too long lor..

Joanna, ok.. will call them tml since they're close today. Most prob going down tml.

re: iron drops

my boy is taking ferum hausmann cuz he's diagnosed to be slightly anemic.. but his condition still the same after taking the drops since april..

i asked doc if its a big concern.. she said actually its ok cuz only slightly anemic..

Josephine,
good luck & jia u

b4 preg, my mense reports on the dot but nt sure now

smalldreams,
today ss dropped another 30%

Linglee,
hw is ur little prince?

Joanna,
Yu Guo seems famous hor, i hv 2 frez regular there and recommend to me if I need TCM for my children.

Ains, sorry i mean fridge & freezed milk.. I use fridge & freezed bm to bath shay.
Ya our tap like very hard to on.. Lol! I take 45mins to pump, sometimes cannot empty i give up. Sian..

Anyone's bb sudden cry loudly while sleeping?
Like they're having bad dream? Normal?
Seems like this few days shay keep doing that.. Wonder if she's just dreaming or uncomfortable somewhere?

bb_shea,
YK does that too, after 1 loud wail and back to sleep. bad dream?

iliadin nose drops: treatment not more than 5 days hor. discard after open for 30 days.

is that y, ur princess can't sleep well? i mean nose block.

Augleo, does YK often do that?

Any idea y have to discard after 30days huh? Coz the bottle didnt indicate but the clinic asst ask me to throw.

Yup, today is the fifth day using the drop but still not getting better. Might be due to the nose block that cause her to wake up everynow and then. Last nite shay wakes up at 12.30am till 2am then Zzz.. 5am wake up again. Yawn..

baby shea try the med also no use de... just wait n let them recover themselve... try to help them suck the mucus out every hr if it is bad... let them sleep slanted to help them breath well...

Shea: could b due to nose block plus teething. Drops must discard 1 month after opening, just like our eye drops. Cos there is risk of contamination.

Ainsley Yip (ainsley_yip) : or u train nn sleep every 3 hrs. Mine has to sleep every 1-2hrs...
Anyway my SS drop today leh. Sian... Or u try the pigeon battery operated pump, cos my friend's using medela and pigeon, says pigeon can yield more.

Josephine, really can just leave her with the nose block and dun give med? Will the condition get worst and bcum more serious?

Calamari, thks! Understand now.

Jenny, me and ains both using medela.. I also hard to get milk out. Pigeon really better?
Anyone using Medela pump and face problem?

Baby_Shea (karenkkl) : ya pigeon better cos my friend say the pigeon battery operated one can adjust frequency of the pumping. My friend also has prob pumping when using medela.

bb_shea,
so far, YK does that few times le but recently seems better.

iliadin nose drops = instruction does indicate to discard 1 mth aft opening.

as what Josephine's suggestion, u try to lift up the mattress abit it might help Shay sleeps and breathe better.
**try gently massage Shay's armpits? (clear blocked nose)

for me my boy was few days old when he caught a cold so we bring him to kk he stay for 2days after he was discharge we give him the med but also no use so we wait for him to recover himself lor... we will try to suck him mucus out to help him breath better...

if yr bb is eating n sleeping well i think nothing to worry... but if he is not then i think is better to bring him to see doc

smalldreams...
don think yours blocked bah...cause if blocked duct hor, when bb suck, will hurt de. thats wat im experiencing.

bb shea...
i don know leh....everytime i express for ard 20-30 mins with sometimes only 1 letdown, usually its 2 or 3 de. M using freestyle, but I find avent manual pump is better and can express out more milk but then hand ache ah..

About illadin, yeah stop after 5 days.
Btw, my pd gave a medicine for nose block de, quite effective, after taking, it relieve the block and becomes running nose then after awhile, it will be ok, but need to continue zytec till bb is well. Not too sure what the drug name liao. if u wan i go chk out for u.

May...
i did massage and also with hot towel. Its slightly better but it will still be blocked.
Usually I use the needle 'head' to prick out the milk pcs from the duct and next you can see milk flowing out. I don use the sharp needle part. thats really ouch.

Today its much better le. At least wont feel so uncomfy.

Oh btw, my menses hasn't report yet. dont know when it will come back, hope not too soon.

yeah agreed.
if baby is having running nose, do try to suck out their mucus to help them breathe better.
I use sterimar spray then after that suck out watever inside using the pigeon nose cleaner.

But high chance of mummy getting the virus too.
Thats what i'm worrying everytime. but no choice, seeing them well is more important.

augleo, rui is better. thanks.
yesterday, not feverish thruout the day.
well, dunno why, but he juz felt feverish every now & then.

shea, rui oso wailed loudly during his sleep @ times.
think it's juz bad dream.
my mum said he's being "punished" by 床母 (a goddess who helps to guide & teach the babies to behave) for being 'disobedient'. haha...

Shea, seems like only u n me gt this prob leh. Y huh? Liling n luwen oso total latch bt dun think they pump. Hw ah? Like tat everyday dread pumping

Ain & shea, refrigerated & frozen ebm got this metallic smell, which I was told that it was caused by iron. Hence, kinda confused when someone mentioned that bm didn’t contain iron. Maybe just lower levels? Abt pumping, how abt gg back to lactaction consultant or medela service centre for them to help?

Abt running nose for babies, they can’t take medicine at this point. But I heard there’s one brand of nose spray which is stronger but can only use 5 days consecutively. Maybe can check the baby’s environment to see what caused the running nose? My bb had pretty bad running nose for a while and it was due to air con. After we increased the temp to 27 degrees, it stopped.

Augleo, the doctor probably recommends to discard because of contamination @ the nozzle area. Can the nozzle be detached to clean?

shryn, i m using freestyle. U know the cap portion.. overtime, the capping/membrane closure will be slightly loose. If you hold the cap tightly and massage with another hand, it's more effective.

Jenny, hmm.. Now i'm thinking if its medela's pump problem. Wow.. Ur bb can slp so much? At night also guai guai sleep thru? Shay cant sleep so much.

Augleo, shay has been like that continuously for days and it happens every nap and at night wor.. Iliadin drop, when the clinic give me the drop, they throw the intruction paper away.. Only give me the bottle. Massage armpit? Okok, i try!

Linglee, 床母?? Good good, come teach shay to sleep thru the night! LOL!

Josephine, seen doc already.. No use. Maybe if tml not getting better then will head for TCM. Yup, she's still eating and drinking but she always cant breath when latching due to the nose blocked and snoring wakes herself up.

Ains, previously when shay was just few days old till 2-3mths, i totally bottle fed her.. And pumping was ok. But after i decided not to go back to work, i latch her and seems like breast got use to bb sucking.. Hard to get letdown from pump ley.

Shryn, oh.. Then maybe u should get avent electrical pump? I tried sucking out the mucus but nothing to suck out. Not running nose, she's having nose blocked.

Shea, reali ah? Initially u gt no prob with pumping?? Hmm.. So it's bcos of used to latching tats y.. Bt if pump once everyday can gt used?

My battery died while i was pumping at work juz now... only manage to express halfway n breast still quite full. =(

Didnt know menses will reduce ss, my menses still not back yet so my ss is still good, same as calamari i can yield 950ml a day....

baby shea,
go buy this drops call Karvol, drop it on a hankerchief and put at her bed or directly on the bed if u not scare of the stain. Clear block nose for a good nite sleep

Ains, y at 1st no problem with pumping.. But after i latch her i still pump everynight b4 bed, still cant get letdown.

Ivy, where to get it? Do u know how much? Is that aromatherapy oil?

josephine,
can eat tofu but dunno tasteless they eat or not.

baby shea,
get from guardian pharmacy should have. its very effective, yes its aromatherapy for 3mths & abv to use.

I have 4 tins of Friso 2 900gm manufactured by Dutchlady to let go as my daughter don't drink formula milk. Willing to let go cheap at $20 per tin self-collect at Bedok. PM for details. Thanks.

shea & ain, if u planning to go medela for consultation, wanna go tog? hehe.. i taking leave next monday to send the pump for servicing.

Ains, i think we just have the same problem orh? "Y cannot get letdown from pumping" problem.

Ivy, thks! I will go check out tml. Hope enyu is recovering well.

May, u mean medela do consultation meh?

Shea, thanks. She is bit better, i hope tomolo will be even better! she start finish her 180ml of milk liao, so tats an improvement. Hope ur bb can sleep well ya.