(2009/12) December 2009 MTBs

wahlau, forum lag again jus now, keep on wantin to post but cannot..

may: i already approved u!

yeap, i got my peach from supermarket jus now, gg to let ash try bake peach after pumkpin!

oh ya, anyone wana order anythin from bbmallonline, i lookin to order prewalker shoe nia... now got extra 20% off...

Shokel,
Yes pea a lot of work man! Peach n apricot need to cook?? I read better buy organic, cos peaches apricot skin absorb pesticide more dunno true or not..

ivy: ya man, a read tt pea is alot of wk!
erm, i also heard abt peach... i intend to bake the peach anyway, peelin and clean off the skin 1st..

yes, peach n apricot need to be cook before givin bb...

faith: i bought a whole pc of pumpkin, organic one from ntuc... but nt very big one, abt average size, machiam a size of a small honeydew...
i wanted to get acorn/butternut squash, but cant find lei, so jus buy pumpkin lor..

Faith- mi bot normal pumpkin from ntuc n bb reali like it!! My mil put in rice cooker n steam it.. Hee!! Wat else to offer bb??

shokel,
good that u are feeling better

hope to see u in next meet up.

Carol,
thks for the photos, YK keeps "munching".

Linglee,
ur children miss daddy?
hey! ur girl v.guai, keeps helping to take care of the bb

wow, so many pretty mummies n cute babies in the pic. Must be fun.

Ains, u look great in yr new haircut.

shokel, the wash cloths from babymall r gd, very soft material.

augleo, my gal was crying like nobody's biz in the car last nite.
she's always like tt when daddy goes overseas.
sometimes, cried until the daddy heartache...
so, he oso wept over the other end of the phone. haha... ;p
for my #2, daddy's away means "it's finally time w/o the disciplinarian". so, to him, the outstation duration the longer the better. sigh...
for #3, still know nothing, so still gong-gong lor...
it's daddy who's gonna miss him.

ya, gals r always such sweeties.
she's gd @ looking after & taking care of the younger ones.
she had oredi exhibited tis trait since she's 1+ yrs old when my #2 arrived.

Btw, personally i do find bake stuff more heaty. Coz i always get sore throat after eating cookies. Thus, i was wondering if baked pumpkin are heaty too mar?

Oh yar last week, one mummy advised me to get organic teething gel but i went to Vivo yday but no organic teething gel too. May i know where can i get it? The teething phase is getting into me. Sleepless nites too.

My boy neck keeps having red red rashes is it due to allegy or ezcema huh? Been a week already but it comes and goes daily. Maybe morn has afternoon it subsides evening mayb red again... Any mummies can advise why? Need to see doc?

manunited, recently Enyu is having red rashes on her back too but it goes off after a few days. We applied aloe vera cream on her back and let her sleep in aircon. So far the red rashes are gone. We did bring her to see PD but he said it is due to hot weather. Just make sure ur boy dont have any fever.

Manu, my gal has very bad ezcema pass down from me.. Ezcema always occure first on the face, neck, back of knee cap and all other folds area. At the mean time mosturize the area 2-3times a day to see if it gets better.

Sorry all mummies.. My photo will be the last to be uploaded. Batt died on me, will have to get it replaced before i can upload them..

may: bbmallonline clothes are soft, quite comfy to wear at home.. i got loads of it .. i started to buy when i was pregg lor..lolz..

angleo: yeap! tks..

einnoc: ya, i also got buy the washcloth! i like! i got almost 20pcs of it lor... lolz.. erm, ya, i agree bakin more heaty but alittle portion nt so bad, moreover, it take less than 20mins to bake the pumpkin(small portion), so i guess its ok, cos the main thing is, i wana preserve more nutrients by bakin instead of steaming..
wahhaha...

shokel, sorry ar.. have to ask a stupid qns here. But why steaming cannot keep the nutrients leh? Is it the high temperature of steaming tat causes nutrients lost mar?

einnoc: no questions is silly! we all learn from each other..
wahahah... i think so ba..
i extract from online:

<font color="0000ff">How do I cook a Pumpkin?

Pumpkins may be poached, boiled, steamed or baked. Please be aware that Pumpkins tend to loose their nutritive value with prolonged cooking. Baking pumpkins for homemade baby food will ensure the most nutrients are retained for your baby. A Pumpkin must be cooked immediately after you have cut it open or you will find a brownish-blackish mold begin to immediately set into the flesh.

Once cooked, Pumpkin should be used and/or chilled immediately. If you will not be using the cooked pumpkin immediately, store it either pureed or in the cooked chunks, in the freezer. it does freeze well. The cooked pumpkin will turn a brownish orange so don't be alarmed when you peak into the bowl and find that color.

Baking pumpkins, like many other fruits/squashes may be the best choice of cooking for optimal flavor and nutrient retention

When scooping out the "meat" of many winter squash types, you may encounter some very hard "strings". These strings are actually the veins of the shell.

Look at the acorn squash or sugar pumpkin and notice it's ridges. Between these ridges are the "veins" or strings that you may find once you have cut and then baked the squash or pumpkin.

To avoid getting these hard little strings in your puree, scoop the insides out gently and not too closely to the shell. If you have baked your squash or pumpkin enough, these strings or veins will easily fall away from the shell as the meat is separated from it.

http://wholesomebabyfood.com/pumpkin-babyfood-recipes.htm

yoyo... wow seems like a great gathering over the wkend!
too bad i miss it
soooo bored at home!

pumpkin - I steamed it. not "watery" leh. my baby loves it too!

einnoc,
steaming is one of the best way to retain nutrients. But sometimes some food tends to be watery after steaming, eg. pumpkin. And due to that, nutrients will get lost becos it went into the water. So boiling is even worst, alot of nutrients get into the water. Baking is dry heat, so some recipe will need to pour bit of water into the baking tray and all water will dry off moisturize the oven and ur food will not have any nutrients wastage. Though most chinese old folks say will be heaty. I bake sweet potato recently but i think sweet potato bit dry so can steam lah. Heaty or not, got to see my girl's poo, if she constipate then next time i will steam. So soup hor, most pple say drink the soup, the things inside no nutrients liao.

For now i think pumpkin, peas or sometimes sweet potato, you may like to be press through a sieve if u wan a smoother puree.

MTDT,
I read that any water from steaming, use it to thin the puree instead of using plain water so dun waste the nutrients, sometimes i tot aiya drink it myself haha. Tat time i steam apple, so the plate got apple liquid, i use to blend the apple, to make it thinner. If thin like water can serve as juice.
U feeling better liao bo??? U having fever is it?

thanks ivy &amp; shokel. actually i steamed the pumpkin too. not watery leh. Oni a bit of gravy which can be poured in the bb porridge

btw, are peas tasteless?

Einnoc, aiyo. Dub remind me of my hair! I jus trim last week lor. The person go n trim till so short n thin..

I oso steam pumpkin. Btw, wat is the diff btw butternut squash n normal pumpkin ah? I only know the price diff is alot!

Thks..mayb I try to apply aloe Vera cream. I applying california cream. But we dunhv eczema so Dino if the rashes is eczema anot.

i also steam pumpkin to make into puree but i think it's really dry cos zach's poo is very solid-looking.

as for steaming/puree-ing food, i am using the avent steamer/blender and it's pretty handy. once u steam finish, just invert it and the water from the steaming will be used to thin the puree during blending. it saves a lot of time and can be used for meat/fish in future.

hiya mummies

May
I use the same blender too. It's quite expensive but I think it's quite worth it coz it's almost hassle-free.

manu
Oh no, i hope yr little one gets well soon.
Is he still on BM?

Ainsley
Think butternut squash is the ang moh version of pumpkin. I don't think I should buy that. Since I don't see my girl eating butternut squash when she's older - it's just one food we don't eat in day-2-day diet. :p

Ivy-thanks. I was feverish on thurs/friday.. Tot I also kenna hfmd. Lucky not...

Everyonr v fun with diy food hor! Hehe....
Think maybe after tis can of cereal-will intro porridge to bb liao. :p

Ling lee, this is nt the style I wan. Too short, too thin. Bt hor, I miss my looong hair. Duno hw many yrs it's gonna take to grow bk le.

Manu, yup.. U can try applying cb calendula cream. I use it on my gal too..

May &amp; Smalldreams, can I know how much u gals got the avent steam and blend for? Tot of getting a blender but couldnt decide which type to get.

mtdt, take care. The weather has been very bad lately.

Ains, nice leh. Looks very sporty &amp; u look really young.

*Whine here a bit....Very tired today, eyes closing. No mood to work. When will the teething phase be over?

Shea, the avent one looks nt bad. Just steam, turn over n blend. I wad tempted to buy oso. Bt end up, I just use my handheld blender instead. Lol.. Expensive. Somemore I m introducing porridge also.

Btw, hw much bm n cereal are u all giving bb nw?

hello mummies, havent log in for few days.. the gathering seems so fun but had to miss it... =(

i also bought the steamer/blender from avent but no chance to use it yet..

Ains, ya lor.. The avent one really tempting ley, but compared to normal blender like super ex orh? Wonder if its worth since i'm using it for awhile only.. But plan to have #2 so can use it again.

Shay's taking 2 scoops of cereal in the noon and veg / fruit puree in the evening. Sometimes she dun finish it coz she still prefer to go for milk.

my gal is finally back at ifc, everytime she falls sick, I will also fall sick...duno y my immmune sys so weak now. Maybe all give to breastfeeding le.

oh ya, my gal attended shichida class last sat. Its so fast paced! I got a shock at the speed. Teach so many things in that 1hr 15mins. sing songs, activity, read story etc..they flash the cards SO fast...duno how to do it at home sia.

Wow.... The gathering looks happenin.... So many handsome n pretty babes n mum!

Avent steamer cum blender
me using tat find it ez n simple to use. Will make it a point to do purée n bring to IFC for my boy

Ains, I saw the pic your hairstyle look very good on you like some stylo hot mama.... Haha.... Unlike mine bushy hair nw still no time to go salon to do somethin....

Haizzz.... Nowadays like totally no time for myself.... Any mummies feelin the same? Or any mummies can share how they find time for themselves once their little one is out?

Alicia : Oh you let your gal attend Shichida??
I plan to enrol my #1 &amp; #2 but is so ex lor for the 1st timer right?? YOu waited for how long ah?

Shea, u plan for #2 hor, then can buy! It's easy to use everything at 1 station I think. Jus steam, turn, blend. Save time save effort.

Genesis, I oso no time for myself. No more dating, No more prawning, no more MAHJONG!!!