MTDT, cuz brown rice is way more nutrition then white rice. white rice is actually high in sugar.. but i did mix a bit of white rice inside the brown rice for better texture.
we 4 girls feed on this when we're babies.. only diff is now my brown rice and ikan billis n scallops is not what you see from local markets kind. the brown rice n ikan billis is bought from hatyai village market. over there, each household got their own plot of land. so they'll grow for own consumption and sell the extras. no preservatives n pesticides added. its not mass production from wad we get here. the ikan billis is unprocessed kind. its just their rear it and sun it. that's why its not salty. and its very clean too. looks thin, shiny and silvery. my grandpa travels there every few months. so i got on-going supply.
the scallops are bought at china from direct distributor and quality is there. there's only a hint of sweetness.
even his si shen powder mix is not those from tin type. its we go chi med hall and they grind right in front of me.
for puree, i dun give jars kind. i steam the carrots or feed those inside the congee. i've actually feed few mouthfuls of apples by scraping the flesh. i've never fed any container stuffs except FM.
and my congee is not those where u still see whole grains. i use slow cooker and cook for 6hrs till its texture is like cereal. needs constant stirring and water added. anyway i only add a small small amt of ikan billis and scallops to it. dun worry k!
i've got a rather bland taste bud. so i wont feed those rich in sweet or savoury flavour.. i grew up in less oil, less salt, less sugar environment. when young, no sweets and chocs, only gets it if got ppl give. macdonalds are rare trips. i only get to know what's maggie mee when im in pri sch.. potato chips are no no.. its only in sec sch then i start to indulge in such stuffs..
sandy, initially the girl was having those common cold. then went to see doc and take med. but, after that she was feeling lethargic for most of the time. then 2 weeks later, she was semi unconscious one day. so sent her to KK to do blood test.
miu n ainsley, the doc at hospital says she's taking alot of sweet stuffs which added the burden to the body. the mum blames my mil.. cuz my mil is those strong taste bud kind.. as its mil take care of her children, she feeds rather rich food to them. her situtation is she's born with not so well working pancreas to produce insulin. so the later part on growing up stage, her intake is too much for the pancreas. and so become diabetics.
type 2 diabetics also need insulin jabs. the difference between these two is type 1 is inborn where the insulin cant work. type 2 is the aftermath where you eat too much sweet stuffs. and unable to produce enough insulin. but normally tye 2 start from med cuz usually its able to be under control. but i can rem whether its type 1 or 2 for her.. i think its a mix..
FM is sweet that's why it causes phlegm. and the sweetness came from milk lactose. talk bout FM, haiz! Becuz my boy starts to get phlegmy when i give total FM. which shows he's rather easily to be phlegmy. i even went to see doc for med. but last sat when he went for jab, i ask the doc say i wanna change cow FM to soy FM type to reduce his phlegm. he replied, 'can. but actually FM doesnt introduce phlegm.' i argue say he only started to get phlegmy after he starts FM, what else can cause his phlegm then? he keeps quiet. i say he'll choke on his milk leh. he replied say 'nvm, its like this de. 4mth cannot take med.' woah.. doctors are contradicting de lor. i ask GP he say must take med cuz too phlegmy, scare brochitis(dunno how to spell). then this polyclinic doc say nvm. they super inconsistent lor.