(2009/12) December 2009 MTBs

ivy: oh not stronger suction means more effective ah... i set mine only abt mid point, always trying to up it. i used to set it almost max.. hahaha then v sore nipples!

calamari : so my ameda pump also play a part in my blocked ducts lor ? heee....;p

re : stop bf
ivy : so each pump reduce pumping time but do u pump out enough milk until breast soft then stop ?

simplyhellokitty, yah lor. i know. but then, cuz last time my sisters also at this period give dried scallops. so we just try try to see if gt allergic annot. so far so good. *fingers crossed

Bbjosh, not max means more milk. Imagine ur hubby suck ur nipples, super hard is pain, just nice is stimulate. Pump same theory imitate bb suck mah.

Mstan, I have try yet but I read. Stop bf, reduce time of pump, breast will be empty but not totally. Eg. Ur breast pump 15 min 150ml, then u pump 10 mins 100ml, ur brain think the 50ml not needed will absorb it. Next time ur brain will only produce 100ml, then slowly reduce.

Calamari - cuz itz so difficult to pump in office.. Cuz once meeting is scheduled.. N clash wif my pump time then beli jia lat.. Then now got another mummy oso pumpin so hav to coordinate the timing.. Troublesome man!
Dunno y man.. Mi onli use few times n the ss keep dropping.. Dunno y.. So I gave up.. Use back mini plus!

Ivy- cuz my fren did the same n kana mastitis.. Got fever n nid to c doc..

Lileen! haf msg u over fb..!

sigh.. mdm lockiah.. i stare until pa jiao oso cannot see the white dot.. i jim/shower/wu with hot water still no effect.. tom ask mdm rokiah to come clear my rock... =(

re: stop b/f
i was using the drag hours method.. been dragging for a few wks le.. ss still there.. "-_- last time i pump every 3hrs for 15 mins, yield abt 130ml.. then i dragged to 4 hrs for 20 mins, yield abt 160ml.. then i dragged to 6 hrs for 25 mins, yield abt 240ml.. now i dragged to 8-9hrs for 30 mins, yield abt 260ml..

like not reducing much horz.. but i pump to empty my breasts.. else feeling painful lehz.. oh well, now after 8 hrs will oso feel sore n painful.. sighz..

prob i shld learn from ivy's method.. but my first 10 mins mainly foremilk (not very milky looking) lehz.. then express le throw away very wasted yeah?

jeanie : u sure bout adding ikan bilis n scallop to ur bb's congee? the sodium will be too much for his tiny kidney!! they nonid seasoning for first 2 yrs one.. milk oredi got calcium so nonid ikan bilis le.. dried scallop is to make porridge tasty.. last time our mothers dunno bout sodium effect on kidney so they will let us haf it.. though we r lucky to b fine! haa

Jeanie, ya I agree with luwen.. Actually shdnt start conger so early rht? I read tat shd start with cereal 1st then purée veg n fruits then congee.. May nt b v gd for their digestive system..

Cayenne ur method confirm dun work, miu one is drag time from 6hrs to 8hrs but pump time where got increase like yes haha. U drag pump interval but duration increase, ur brain jus think ur bb grow up drink more milk with longer interval only haha.

Mine is interval same pump time slowly reduce, yes firemilk throw away tats because u wanna stop bf mah, satang also got to throw.

Ice.. you die ah.. then I mati liao lor.. wahahaha....

Ya.. jeanie.. agree.. not to be too adverture on bb food hor.. cos they are still too young and digestive system still not quite mature yet..

luwen and ainsley, the ikan billis is washed and dried again. the scallops are soaked to remove its sodium too. the congee is tastless de. i add carrots for sweetness. i got feed water to flush out those sodium.

i dun like cereal cuz its sweet. i came to realise especially those puree stuffs outside are sweet too. and i dun know what's added inside. i dun trust those ingredient list..

i've monitor his poo to see if he's digesting well. so far so good wor..

im very very very skeptical about feeding sweet stuffs cuz my BIL's daughter was diagnosed with diabetics at 3yo. she feeds on rather sweet stuffs like cereal, puree, FM, dislike plain water, likes glucose water since baby.. she's now 6yo. needs 3 insulin jabs daily since she was diagnosed. im not sure if its type 1 or type 2. and there's none running in the family line.

yoyo gals...

stop bfing..
last time for no1, i use the dragging hrs but same pumping time to empty breast mtd.

jeanie - wow.. ur congee so good liao huh? ikan bills/scallop/carrot. why cant just give "PLAIN WHITE porridge"? For no1 - I started with plain white porridge... nothing in it at all. Baby still eats till shiok shiok. then after that then i slowly add "liao"... mainly fresh stuff like carrots, pumkim etc. never add any dried stuff.

Sorry to hear abt ur BIL's gal... aiyo.. so sad!
sweet stuff is not gd, but think dried stuff also not v gd. Think best is fresh stuff... for puree - can always DIY from fresh food items.

ainsley: no worries
Kayla used it last time...hheheehe, glad to pass it to a pretty girl. The float too girlie for Noah lah...flower one haha, so I actually bought a blue one for him. Saw your swim pics, am sure bb and nn enjoyed themselves! Remember to use sunblock oh!

Jeanie how does she diagnosed with diabetics..

My kids also loves sweet stuff...

Hehehe.. I just uploaded your bb's photo with the clothes in my blog le..

Feel free to share with me huh.. will upload if got more..

Jeanie, self made purée!! Hehe.. Boil/steam carrots, potatoes, pumpkins, etc.. Easy n nutritious..

Calamari, nn was nt uses to it at 1st.. Then after tat she ok Liao.. Nxt week gg again... Heehee

Geez! so many postings!! hmmm... how do i add myself to this Dec 09 mummies group on FB? =)

Been a difficult weekend for me.... My baby has been only taking cat naps (30 mins), 2-3 times per day and sleeps from 10pm to ard 7am with a feeding at around 4am. These few days, he becomes very kaypoh and refuses to sleep or drink milk. He only wants to play! Even if he drinks, it's half hearted or if I pump out, he only took 60-100ml! arrgghh... any mummies any idea why? ;p

I'm also bf'g and hope to feed for at least 6 months... Gambate, mummies!

Calamari, thank u very much for hosting the gathering

Lileen, i won't be able to go for the gathering tmr cos need to go mother-in-law house for lunch. Hope can attend next time round.

jeanie : i agree w mtdt.. dried stuff too much preservatives.. there's bound to b traces of sodium no matter how much u wash off.. baby's kidneys r still immature.. and his kidneys haf to work hard to flush out e sodium oredi then somemore u gif water.. kidneys haf to then again work to flush out excess water to prevent water intoxication.. even fm babies can only take 3oz of water max a day.. isnt that too much work gor his lil body? n there aint nutrition in the dried products cept for calcium which he has fm/bm rite? ainsley is right! self puree those roots n fruits! nonid to buy bottled ones.. i got kop my sis' cereal to eat b4.. bland one de lo! cereal might b sweet cos sometimes ppl add honey or even condensed milk (!!) thinkin bb will like..

ains : nn looks so cute w the duckies ard here... she in water still grabbing toes... u sure ur factory close? i think nn is hinting.. haha!

calamari : i saw u fitting into e tub! haha! i tot of gettin one n goin into it w my son but i scared i go in liao no more water inside.. or worse tio tak!!

hello... wah, so many posts liao... i jus PM lileen, i see if i can make it tomolo...

luwen: i bought the mambo tub also, haven try yet, gonna ask my hubby to fix and let bb try on wed! cos my bb is only 3.5mths nw, duno if he wil like it... wahahha... i hvent see if the neck float is suitable also! i bought from wts thread.. u can go browse , quite alot of ppl sellin, i bought is at $25!!

ainsley; ur nn so cute! the float look so pretty with the duckies! i also got buy duckies to let him play when he bath... wahha...

so tomolo gatherin, who is onz?

talkin abt cereal and puree... think its best to start at 6mths ba.. my pd strongly advise too.. cos their kidneys is nt strong enuff too....
erm, by then , we can start to share puree n congee receipe liao... wahhaah...

Ivy-m fren did the method of reducing the pumping time... That meAns same interval like 6 hourly but pump
time reduce from like 20 mins to 15 mins without emptying.. N she kana mastitis cuz still got milk left in her breasts! Jia lat man n she mc one week wif high fever..

Jia lat! Mi down wif sore throat n flu today.. Cham!

Miu I also not feeling well, my girl keep waking up. My breast 8hrs no pump now hard as rock can't pump out I think blocked..

Miu, take care ya not well take mc la.

Ivy, y didn't pump middle of nite? Sleep like a log eh...slowly pump out... No choice liao massage n pump bah...

Mi juz sent my boy to IFC he seems quite happy, I said bye bye to him he simply Bo chup lor....hai yo!

Miu, ivy, drink more water n take care.. Take mc n rest if necessary.

Miu, nn slp till 3am last nite.. Bt hor, ask Tristan to play with her for even longer in lala land.. Keke..

hmmz.. if pump interval drags, but pump time dun extend, then cannot empty breasts lehz.. will cause blockage?

i dunno lehz.. i tot it's ok to empty breasts, so long as u drag the interval....

tks all mummies... mi feel a little better... ya.. will wear mask when near bb.. dun wan to pass to him since he juz recovered from cough and phelgm...

sandy and jeanie - itz Type 1 diabetes as insulin jabs are needed.. beli cham one.. and not cuz the kid like sweet stuff.. itz the body that cannot convert the sugar in the body... sigh.. so nid the insulin injected to help convert the sugar.

ainsley - wahaha.. oki.. but ydae tristan woke up 2x cuz his pacifier dropped.. mayb that's y nn thot he left lala land... ask her to be patient.. wait a while and he will be back when i put his pacifier back into his mouth.. hee!!

ivy - alamak..tink u better massage hard liao.. push the lump towards the nipple.. cham.. i hate blocked ducts!!

jeanie, miu is rht. i think kids getting diabetes at so young age shdnt b bcos of food.. cereal, even fm r blend de.. even phoebe's fm not much taste.. lol

cayenne.. will update you by end of the week.. as the response is not what I expect.. can't cover the listing fee.. so I might have to cancel.. as quantity not substainable for me to bring in

So sorry about it..

MTDT, cuz brown rice is way more nutrition then white rice. white rice is actually high in sugar.. but i did mix a bit of white rice inside the brown rice for better texture.

we 4 girls feed on this when we're babies.. only diff is now my brown rice and ikan billis n scallops is not what you see from local markets kind. the brown rice n ikan billis is bought from hatyai village market. over there, each household got their own plot of land. so they'll grow for own consumption and sell the extras. no preservatives n pesticides added. its not mass production from wad we get here. the ikan billis is unprocessed kind. its just their rear it and sun it. that's why its not salty. and its very clean too. looks thin, shiny and silvery. my grandpa travels there every few months. so i got on-going supply.

the scallops are bought at china from direct distributor and quality is there. there's only a hint of sweetness.

even his si shen powder mix is not those from tin type. its we go chi med hall and they grind right in front of me.

for puree, i dun give jars kind. i steam the carrots or feed those inside the congee. i've actually feed few mouthfuls of apples by scraping the flesh. i've never fed any container stuffs except FM.

and my congee is not those where u still see whole grains. i use slow cooker and cook for 6hrs till its texture is like cereal. needs constant stirring and water added. anyway i only add a small small amt of ikan billis and scallops to it. dun worry k!

i've got a rather bland taste bud. so i wont feed those rich in sweet or savoury flavour.. i grew up in less oil, less salt, less sugar environment. when young, no sweets and chocs, only gets it if got ppl give. macdonalds are rare trips. i only get to know what's maggie mee when im in pri sch.. potato chips are no no.. its only in sec sch then i start to indulge in such stuffs..

sandy, initially the girl was having those common cold. then went to see doc and take med. but, after that she was feeling lethargic for most of the time. then 2 weeks later, she was semi unconscious one day. so sent her to KK to do blood test.

miu n ainsley, the doc at hospital says she's taking alot of sweet stuffs which added the burden to the body. the mum blames my mil.. cuz my mil is those strong taste bud kind.. as its mil take care of her children, she feeds rather rich food to them. her situtation is she's born with not so well working pancreas to produce insulin. so the later part on growing up stage, her intake is too much for the pancreas. and so become diabetics.

type 2 diabetics also need insulin jabs. the difference between these two is type 1 is inborn where the insulin cant work. type 2 is the aftermath where you eat too much sweet stuffs. and unable to produce enough insulin. but normally tye 2 start from med cuz usually its able to be under control. but i can rem whether its type 1 or 2 for her.. i think its a mix..

FM is sweet that's why it causes phlegm. and the sweetness came from milk lactose. talk bout FM, haiz! Becuz my boy starts to get phlegmy when i give total FM. which shows he's rather easily to be phlegmy. i even went to see doc for med. but last sat when he went for jab, i ask the doc say i wanna change cow FM to soy FM type to reduce his phlegm. he replied, 'can. but actually FM doesnt introduce phlegm.' i argue say he only started to get phlegmy after he starts FM, what else can cause his phlegm then? he keeps quiet. i say he'll choke on his milk leh. he replied say 'nvm, its like this de. 4mth cannot take med.' woah.. doctors are contradicting de lor. i ask GP he say must take med cuz too phlegmy, scare brochitis(dunno how to spell). then this polyclinic doc say nvm. they super inconsistent lor.

ivy,
why muz throw away the foremilk huh?
i also planning to stop breastfeeding gradually coz troublesome to pump at work leh

semi-solids food

intends to start next month.
will mix avocado w/bm.
just to share, avocado is 1 of the brainy food

MOTHER's DAY

mummies ever thot of celebrating mother's day tog?

I'm so piss why my girl dun want milk anymore !!!! 160 only take 60 n morning 630Am is latch somemoe, how can 1030am nit hungry ?

Genesis, I having headache so dun wanna wake up to pump, I keep waking up cos my girl keep waking up but I lazy to pump so I drop back to bed

ivy,
YK's milk intake is reducing too.
whenever latching, will keeps wiggile + kicking.
bottle take long time to finish.
another phase of "milk strike"???

ivy, nursing strike? tat time i oso kena.. rem? 6-7 hours dun wan milk means dun wan milk.. you feed her when she's sleepy n drowsy.. or dreamfeed her. shd only last for few days..

jeanie, brown rice is not v suitable for them if you cook congee. it will affect some nutrients absorption. tat time my sis went body checkup tested her hemoglobin level n it dropped becos of this.. if you really wana cook congee, still better stick to plain rice 1st..

ivy : u didnt pump yest nite ? Oh, I also hate hard & engorged breast....difficult & will take long time to pump out....;p
I going to visit mdm rokiah later this aftn....;p
My girl also eee...aahh...fr abt 3+am till 6am althou already fed her at 12am....cant really sleep the whole nite....when I feed her at 6am she took so long to drink & only drink 75ml....

hi mummies.. where to buy those swim suits then.. talking abt brainy food.. think grapes, cheery are brainy food.. but got any food to make baby more gentle.. my girl like when talking is like yelling.. and very stubbon can cry for 20 mins just to make u carry her.. any food to make them less stubborn?

Hi mummies, tat time u were talking abt heidi...what is her contact to buy FM? must get how many tins each time? 10% discount rite?

liling, good job braydon.. =) yes.. just after they wake up, they will def pee de.. if he everytime pee in a few sec you make the "shh" sound, you can try other timing such as before bath, before going out, before bedtime at night.. Then slowly in between btw naps.. see that they learn so fast very fulfilling rht? heehee.. *can save on diaper also.. *lol