(2009/12) December 2009 MTBs

lynn, ya still rem. Me take 3 mths only. Bb born on 9 dec. Induce as he is big n i strongly want natural. Lucky i induce also. Cos the cord is ard his neck when he was delivered. So when is ur bb born? Dr khi stitching skill n overall not bad hor.

Hi Jean,
Ya I heard that baby's hair and eyebrow had to shave away.....why is it so I am not sure but I shave off my baby's hair and eyebrow during her 1st mth. As for the eyelashes, once cut already will grow longer, regarding this i actually wanted to cut my baby eyelashes but my mum and hubby strongly against the idea cos too dangerous liao...... I do heard that baby 4th mth have to let them lick chicken drumstick, which my mum already inform me to remember to do so...hmm guess no harm thus I will follow lor. As for the biscuit, luckily my mum didn't ask me to do that, sound funny lei.

Lileen, my bb born on 6 Dec also induce as he's big. est 3.5kg so induce. Birth weight 3.35kg. Ya Dr Khi stitching not bad n heal quite fast. Ur bb how heavy? U give birth 1 day after i left TMC

any baby must have pacifier to suckle to sleep? if not, will cry non stop?

My gal recently suckle to sleep with pacifier and she will cry again once the pacifier dropped off. Guess it is my fault to start the pacifier thingy. sigh.....i didnt realise that giving pacifier might have ear infection in future and also she might slow down in learning of talking...

ainsley, yahz.. scouting for a place.. been house hunting every wkend! yah lohz.. hdb resale prices oso rocketing.. my mom was advicing me to slowly look for a place, since i'm intending my mil to look after bb till 18 mths n pty prices so high now.. but i just cant wait to get out of here..

yeah lynn, all mommies here must jiayou!

btw sharon, i may not be able to make it for the bash as well.. cos intending to bring my bb for the rotavirus and pneumococcal jab on 13th mar.. scared later he develop fever too..

keep u informed again.. cos till now i cant seem to call thro to make an appt with Dr Koh!

Hi, wat is the rational for licking chicken drumstick at 4th mth? I think the rational for hanging biscuits round the bb's neck is to curb the drooling of saliva...

Mstan- ok

Jeanie- my pd said fever will last for at most 2 days, if u believe then feed your boy some porridge water ( an experienced nanny teach me) one day before the jab will prevent fever... anyway i tried n maybe bcos Daphne took 5in1 hence everything is fine, jia you!! u c how la, if is ok then do join us ya

RE:licking chicken drumstick

i heard before but i nv try... anyway they believe that by doing that baby will not grow up to be picky eater...

Terence, ya lor. Tats y I nv encourage pacifier de.. Will hinder speech development etc. N I m sure one of the topic will b difficulty in weaning pacifier off in the future. Heehee., hmm.. Nw she just started pacifier only., mayb u can try other ways to soothe her? Carry? Sing? Etc?

Lynn, lileen, both ur babies r gd weight. Mine ah only petite little girl with 2.56kg. N ne with 6kg at 3mths..

Hi gals..

Finally Monday... wkend was so Hot and with my no1 ard... v tiring. :p

All the MIL stories so horrible. Well, guess just hv to be firm and makes sure hubby stand by urside.

Pacifier - I also heard tat later u wld be more busy.. becos hv to keep putting back the pacifier in baby mouth and of cos all the speech development/ear infection etc.

But hor I heard that if don't give pacifier....babies will start to use hand...it's worse then cos will be even harder to wean off and they won't ask you to wash their hand everytime they wanna suckle thus it's harder to make sure their hand is clean when they wanna suck... Imagine the stage when they are learning to crawl, hands on the floor then if nobody notice, they suck their hand thus will easily cause stomach upset etc....

bluegal, my #1 never use pacifier from birth.. never suck her thumb or hand also..
But I think every baby is different also. Mummies and daddies just have to act accordingly lor.

whatever i do will also affect ivy too...if i carry her or rock her to sleep meaning ivy has to do the same so ivy will be tired too when i am not around...best is put her on cot n pat her to sleep....i hope this day will come

hi ivy, u received the diapers sample? i realise my pureen tat i gave u is the oder version cos ydae i go giant and buy the pureen, dun hve my that one liao.. i bought pureen dry red packaging at $14+ for 84pcs.. cheap lei.. somemore nt tape one anymore, its velcro ones... for day use shd be ok... nvr leak on me before.... i nvr buy sealer cos pureen more cheap so i only buy pureen.. night/outing stil using MP..

terence, ya.. Discuss with Ivy lor. Everyone has different parenting style. As long as both of you are comfortable with one, then stick to it lor.

any idea if those mosquito patches used by children contains harmful ingredients?

my mil told me not to stick those patches at bb's chest level.. said contains harmful ingredients.. asked me stick at pants.. i tot stick at pants then wrapped up their bottoms will lose effectiveness.. moreover i dun believe it contains harmful ingredients.. else too dangerous for bbs n kids le right...

sighz.. i think i am just bias against my mil.. watever she seems like i noe nothing, and she's always right.. really hate it..

long time since I posted, been a silent reader all these while. I m going back to work on 22 mar, and thinking of not being to be wif my gal throughout the day is making me upset. Seriously considering being a sahm until my gal is 1 yr old or at least 6 mths old. My boss refuses to let me take additional 2 mths of no pay leave.

Mummies who tag along with the for the Fitti diapes.. I juz called them, the delivery guy will call me this afternoon to arrange for a delivery..

Will update once I received ya..

never heard of licking chic drumstick or hanging biscuit, sounds so funny nei..

me too bb use pacifier since 1m old, coz both mum & MIL keep saying bb cry give pacifier. was upset initially but now 'kan kai' le. now most of e time bb sleep with pacifier but will spit out when asleep. hope dun hv much side effect later on.

still not much success with sleep training. sigh.

Ainsley,
Ya agreed every babies is different. Mine also reject pacifier but she worse, not using thumb but wanna latch on all the time...not for the milk but for the comfort.

oh.. those who shave bb head, where do u do it arh? just any barber? i'm thinking of doing it when he turn 4m, his hair keep dropping look like receding hairline. keke

i shaved my bb's hair & eyebrows when she's 6 weeks old. went the hair salon my hubby patronize.

now the hair is growing, around 5mm long only. eyebrows is growing slower though

lileen19 : so gd, yr bb can sleep thruout the nite until 7.30am ?
How u train wan ?
Me hoping to train my bb to sleep fr 11+pm till 5+/6+am....7am-7.30am even better....;p

Lileen, I see many babies reach 6kg at 2 mths alr. Mine ah 3 mths then reach. n nw abt 62cm. (born only 48cm lor) My hb v tall, 1.83. Hope she can inherit his tall genes though. Lol. Like model. Dun b like me short short small small.

Hi Originbaby,
My baby hair was collected for baby hair brush, so if you engage their service the hair shaving is free, and they'll come to your hse. Hmm but then I did the baby hair brush, umblical cord stamp and purchase a box for keeping, personally feel it's expensive lei, but I don't wanna regret abt it years later so we continue do it lor. Here's the website www.taimaobi.com

cayenne, jeanie, im going back to my regualr hair dresser for treatment... they dun do hair, its a hair treatment salon, went there for no1, didnt help hair still kept dropping n only stopped when i got preggy with no2.. according to hairdresser, the hair die die will drop cause its hormonal changes.. wat they do for us is to prevent the hair pore from closing up, so though it drop, the pore not closed, can grow hair again.. if it gets congested n closes, then hair will not grow back again n end up with thinning hair

shokel : the sample given for pureen is premium range not older version. In fact heard that premium (blue packaging) is better than the red packaging wan.
Think pureen premium is available at carrefour at $12.90.
Yr pureen at $14+ for 84pcs for M size ?
Velro too ?
Maybe I shld consider using it for day time too ?

Bluegal, my girl last time also like to latch to slp. But nw, I wan her to latch longer, she doesn't want!! Even milk ah, she only suckle total for abt 15 mins only..

Ivy, my girl seems normal today liao. Hope the worst is over. Then I try dreamfeed her again. Lol..

Terence my no#1 also use pacifier. But hot speech development ok lek and she kick off the habit quite fast. I guess up to individual bb ba. But again suck pacifier is better than thumb!!!!

Now my no#2 oso on pacifier. But he suck suck and will spit out once he deep sleep. But when he still stirring and pacifier is out, he too will cry and gek till you put bk e pacifier bk to him

Ainsley,
I'll be going back to work lor so cannot afford to let her latch as and when she like.......but she don't wanna pacifier, headache. She's bullying me cos she seems like know I am ard then wanna latch, if I am not ard she won't cry for latching...feedback from mum and sis. Hope this is true lor......

My bb also born at Dec and i have been a silent reader all these while.

Would like to check with mummies here how many feed and how much per feed you give your bb everyday as i'm trying to sleep train my bb for the past 2wks but he'll still wake up at 2-3am everyday. My bb is 11wks now and i feed him 7 feed/day and 110ml/feed.

My mother & MIL all against on sleep train the bb as they think that bb wake up is because of hungry and i should just give him the milk. So i'd like to know for those mummies that successfully sleep training your bb how much intake is your bb per day?

Thanks..

Hi all, I hv been toilet training my girl. Initially, I brg her to her small basin to 'shh shh' everytime when she wakes up.

Then slowly, before bathe, before bedtime and jus as I think she may wana shh shh. (has to b v consistent)

I think she knows what is 'shh shh' alr cos eerytime I brg her, she will pass urine. But There r few times she still wet her diaper when I nv bring her la..

Sahm can try this method if u all can afford the time. My #1 was trained this way and she could do w/o
diaper on the day by 1+ yrs old.