(2009/12) December 2009 MTBs

ivy, do take care. i know the stress of rushing here and there to IFC and then to doctor and endless worries. it's v taxing on the body. i rmbr my hubby and i having dinner at 1 am after we got back from NUH with my boy...we really couldnt tahan the stress.. so we rather have less money for now.. but everyone got different circumstances. by the way i also no family to help.

mayb u could consider a nanny? sometimes if ur lucky and find a good one, she can take care of your kid like her own

ivy i think most babies get sick easily and hav senstive airways.. not jus your girl. my hub and i recover from flu v fast (my hubby within few days, mine on off on off symptioms overnite disappeared) but my boy can have symptoms for a week.. its normal tt babies are weaker.

Ivy, I can understand cos few weeks ago I n my hb took turns to b sick, my hb got high fever, we mc for many days within few weeks n had to stay away fr our bb. Then bb became sick n refused milk only took abt 300+ ml of milk everyday, feed medication is like going thru labour, he got nitemare everyday! Took him c doc twice n he only finally recovered ytd. He lost so much weight high rompers became so loose. Maybe like suggested can get a nanny, more economical n lesser chance of cross infection. Can slowly find a suitable de. But go ifc oso got pros cos bb can learn . Dun take it so hard on urself. Take care n slp early k.

no la ivy.. i think liling jus meant it as a consideration for u to be sahm to yuyu till her immunity is built up since ifc babies more prone to cross infection.. somemore yuyu sick quite often recently rite? ur back better oredi? jia you! eat more vit c.. go ntuc chiong diapers that time go chiong OJ n gold kiwis hor.. for urself that is..

shea, lil shay ho mia leh! milk bath! haha.. i only used bm to moisturise my boy's arms when i noticed some tiny bumps.. i even tried some on my face. hahaha!

Ivy, no no no, I never never think u r bad mother, cos can see very clearly u put in LOTS of effort in ur bb. U r a very good mother. Of course everyone has their own concern which other ppl will not know only they know best themselves. It is only merely a suggestion to consider and my 2 cents worth nia.

Skinneybeenie, it is also my reason to do so after thinking for a long time.

Baby_shea, same feeling, i also feel like a moomoo cow whenever i express like that. lol

Wow shay's milk bath sounds good, i feel like expressing some milk to do a facial, wonder how the result will be... tmr can try

Ainsley, if hand express then don't need to bring bottle of ebm when go out, can hv fresh bm when want to make cereal, seems like very convenient.

Luwen, i am very exhausted, my slip disc will need 6 mths of rest & physio therapy but putting it on hold. Im just very emo now to see comment "Money can be earn back next time, but health is something money can't buy. Maybe got to lower standard of living for a while". Cos its not nice to assume that becos of $, we sacrifice the health of a baby, or we living a high standard of living or we are high salaried worker. Its not fair to make this judgement. I think we shld be sensitive to what we say on this forum esp when we do not really know each other in real life. Its not easy to be FTWM/breast pumping mom too.

Yuyu always seems to fall sick 1 week after her jabs, i also dunno why. Before this 6 in 1, she had a month of no jab and she was fine! Anyway im too mentally & physically tired now, going to sleep and probably wont appear in this forum for awhile.

liling,
im fine if you suggesting me to be sahm to look after yuyu. But the sentence u make, makes me feel that its my own selfish reason that i send her to IFC and let her be unhealthy.

Anyway im too tired, not thinking very well now, and dun wish to further explain why ur words is upsetting me. Only if u were me, then maybe you will understand.

Just my 2 cents worth on sometimes what we comment about each other. Everyone is different and born differently in different environment in different situations. Next time our children will say the same things to us when we tell them shld be doing this, doing that.. they will say "mom im not you"

Good night all.

Ivy, apologise for any word that upset u. No intention to cause any misunderstanding or hurt anyone. I don't mean the way u r interpreting. It's what i went through myself, the things that was in my thinking process last time, so i just write out. Never thought u will take it so hard. I will be more sensitive when putting any words in the forum again.

Pls do not be upset and stay strong. good nite.

hey all. the fat kid is now 8.4kg at 7 mths 18 days. shes on bm and formula. eats twice a day. drinks like 4 times a day. stopped feeding her at night since she was a mth old cos we are lazy parents. hahaha. yet she is so chubby. :D

our arms and backs are breaking from carrying her already. lol.

Roger, cute michellin baby gal! Definitely made me happy.
Mine born on 2 Dec, quite close to yours but not even 8kg yet. Love your camera too. I still haven't gotten around to buy a DSLR cos of the weight and the price. :p

Ivy, long time never check forum. You have a slipped disc? Must be so painful. Poor gal! Do have a good rest tonight.

We are all wonderful mummies who make the best of our situations cos we want the best for our babies ya? Tomorrow will be better. Jia you! Jia you! Jia you! Good night.

pauline: she's a handful at times and im not referring to her love handles. :D

her weight gain has tapered off since she hit 6mths. i use the camera for work mainly otherwise i am happy with using my handphone to shoot her. hehe.

Oh haha, no wonder your photography skills so good lar. Professional wor... I use the iphone, the camera sucks, worse than my old nokia phone.
But you can't beat iphone's apps. My no. 1 wakes up in the morning everyday and say 'I want Mummy handphone'. Faint! :p

My baby also the same. Keep screaming and refusing to nap even though she is rubbing her eyes and sucking her thumb. Sigh, teething bo bian. Her bottom left incisor finally cut through the gum today. :p

haha. just as a passion that became a career. iphone has a pretty decent camera in my opinion. of cos not as sharp as proper cameras but it does render pics nicely. the saying goes the best camera is the one that you got when the moment comes.

teething woes ... .. i am more worried she becomes a chatterbox ... :D

Roger, ur gal really lighten up the mood! So cute! My boy jus turned 7 mths old few days bk but he ald 8.5kg just few days b4 he is 7 mths old.... He got suck n din drink much, lost some weight. We always call him mashmellow boy haha, got uncles call him Lotus root thighs. But ur gal really "fluff" up very nicely!!! I really want a daughter lo till I go dress him in the girly beanie with wig... Haha

Pauline, long time no see! Ur gal got teeth coming le... My boy's got 3rd one coming.... His grew so fast at 4 mths plus. Ppl say earlier have teeth earlier rot leh. I dunno how to brush his teeth regularly somemore. We use the soft brush for gums one. Always crying when we clean mouth n tongue!!! K gonna zzz. Have a great weekend everyone!

hmmm since i started working not much time to pop in here liao...

on the topic of ifc, though i don send mine but older son ivan is now in childcare so can empathise those who send to ifc. ivan is 27 mth supposed to have better immunity as compared to bb but i think the outside env is really more polluted as compared to the one at home. ivan falls sick couple of times since he enter cc. i guess coz cc offers him a buffet of virus and his immunity is not strong enough to battle them. but wif each sickness, he is growing stronger too. and his body will develop more antibodies. most of my frenz who send to cc will tell me be prepared for them to fall sick frequently esp when they enter young. but as they grow older, they have stronger immunity

as for isaac, will be going for his 7th mth jab later... cant rem wat jab to take liao but hopefully he don develop fever. now he is not really crawling yet but he is pushing himself higher and higher especially when he is in the cot to see what we are doing outside his cot
i hope he will hit the 7kg mark.

Ivy, dun get upset. I guess liling just happen to give her suggestion at the wrong time, coz u are too tired and stress now. I believe she dun mean that way.. We know that its tough for wat u are going thru now. Just dun think of other things and focus on taking care of ur family for now. Takecare and jia you!

Luwen, eee.. Do facial ah? Very smelly ley. U can pump extra to bath reyes and at the same time keep up supply! 1 stone kill 2 bird! ;p

Roger, hi5! My lil shay is 8.4kg at 7mths, 7days today.
But she dun look as chubby.

Wow I am annie here. long time nvr online and see so much posts to catch up. I think alot of mummies are chatting about sending their bb to class and I happened to hear a few of them. such as Julia Gabriel and Happy Train @ Bugis. My bb is 7mth now and going to be 8mths in 2 weeks time and i also wanted to send my bb for class. I saw the one at Harbourfront (beside Mothercare) and just went in to see see look look. After that I put my idea on hold to enrol for class. These classes need to be accompanied by adults and some of the adults are maid and I see some of them coughing and i am a bit of worried that my little one will kanna from them. So I think I will just do my part at home by showing her flashcards. I bgt my flashcard at the babyspa at harbourfront, cheap and good! Also, not sure if you have heard of Leapfrog DVD, I bought them and let my gal watched. One of the series is learning ABC through phonics and my gal (seriously) enjoy watching. We will put her on high chair and we seat and watch together. Personally I find watching tv is good but the selection of programme is impt. I also bought the ni-hao kai lan. My PD always say must let bb listen to Mandarin. In fact all bbies are born with the ability to bilingual. so we must help them.

anyone planning to sign their bb up for shichida? is there trial class for this?

ivy, hope your family and you get well soon. I don't think you are a bad mom for wanting to pursue your business and I send my bb to ifc too. Whether a baby fall sick often ultimately still depends on his/her immune system. My bb started ifc at 10 weeks old and he had only fallen sick twice. The first time is because my hubby passed a minor stomach flu and the 2nd time is the viral infection - roseola. I know most babies (regardless of where they are cared for, be it home or ifc) will contract viral infections at one point or other.

Ultimately, it still boils down to immunity, so cannot blame ifc for everything. Some home-cared babies also got bronchitis, how do you account for that? It's just that for ifc-cared babies, the mommies will go on guilt trip because that is the most likely place where their babies would have gotten the virus from.

Everyone has different ways of how they want to experience motherhood. Be it a SAHM or a working mother, I'm sure all mummies love their babies and would feel very heartpain when their babies fall sick. It's very tiring on all.

Btw, one perk of ifc that I got to say is that the babies do become independent and sticks to routine very easily.

Regarding the falling sick part, mummies can consider giving paosheng to their babies. It will help to boost their immunity. It's also good for us to take. I've been taking paosheng every other day since first trimester and haven't kenna flu/cough since then. It's a good 15mths. Prior to that, I also kenna flu easily.

Hmmz tink this is e season to b sick. My bb had high fever a couple of days ago n she is still coughin rite now. My hubby n me also sick. In fact i am havin fever n cough now. Duno what flu virus, so strong til e whole family is sick.

Ivy take care ya..hope our bb faster recover

Ivy, be strong n stay positive!! We are here for u! Remember u r not alone! For me I also dun have much help from family n Jaylen fall sick too... watever it is we gotta b strong n happy! Things will work out fine! =)

Roger, that's the best, cos you enjoy what u do.

Firipy, good to see u here. u changed nick, I blur leh. But went to read jan10 thread, so know why u did it, your cousin in law really Kay poh man.

Ivy-hope u r feeling better.. Dun take wat Liling say to heart.. I m sure she does not mean it that way.. All mothers r wei da from carrying bb for ten mths to deliver bb to breastfeed to .... The list goes on n on.. Stay strong n I m
sure enyu noes that u r the best mother to her..

Annie: the one u saw at Harbourfront is Gymboree. I personally find that v lousy. Teachers are not v professional n most of them sounds like my filipina maid. Not all schools are like that. A good one will always chk both u n ur child's temp before letting u in. As earlier postings have stated, joining these classes encourage social skills. I can def see my children benefitting from that. And btw usually classes are usually accompanied till 3 years old. I'm lucky n happy to say my girl has never contracted any illness from any of her gym classes and playgroup classes at Julia Gabriel. So it's individual preference. I tried the Glenn Doman flashcards for my elder child from 1 month to 6 months and gave up, cos don't see any interest from her. Hope u can succeed in that method.

Btw I disallow my girl to watch ni hao kai lan as hanyu pinyin in that cartoon is most of the time wrong!

thanks all mummies for their concern... she just finished her bout of antibotics.. hopefully bacteria is gone now.. need to retake her urine test.. another 2 hrs of carrying her n cannot sit down... been so tired the past 1 week as maid went bk... we lost our temper quite often last week with no1.. but its been a good 1 week bonding time...

canopy.. i tink the infection ocurred cause we din clean her poo poo thoroughly... gg bring her for ultrasound 2 wks later to ensure her kidneys are ok

roger.. ur gal is really very cute!!! btw which dslr are u using? we are looking for an easy to use one... tried sony nex5 but didnt really get used to it... we already find it difficult hahahaha...

btw.. got batch 1 of polo loots le.. the 25% sale is still going on n they added alot of new stuff...update on the sizing... for mummies who want to buy gals polo, i bought gals XL and its abit loose for me. L will fit better. I usually wear local S

rer rer: there are always strangers squeezing my bb thighs when we go out. lol.

baby shea: yeah. i have friends who babies are about the same weight but looks thinner. hehe.

roxy: i am using a canon dslr. nex5 looks pretty cool. like a compact camera with good picture quality. can just point n shoot!

Weiting/ Shokel: I did put the plaster everyday till 6mths i stopped.Coz the box says use until 6mths only. After that I went brazillian waxing,n my therapist commented that my scar has keloids already. Its like an additional skin that pop ups on top of the scar, reddish brown in colour. My mum told me she also got it, n ask her gynae to remove it during her 2nd delivery. But I hope that I can still natural birth for my 2nd pregnancy.

May: My gal is in Shichida class already, every sat, class is about 1hr 15mins.

MTDT: My tensai is called Marge, v friendly n encouraging. I like. btw, I attend the class at Springleaf tower. U?

Alicia: your mom is right . I had keloids from Kayla. 2nd birth, my gynae cut the keloid away. And don't think it's advisable to bring bb to ndp. Airplanes n speakers a bit too loud.

Alicia- that is keloids?? Mi oso hav some skin pop out on the scar!! But not painful or anything..Errh.. I tink better dun bring bb to ndp.. Too many things to tink abt.. Loud sounds.. Crowded.. Hot?? If rain??

alicia: erm, oh tat is keloids? extra skin? mine also hve abit but nt reddish brown lei... mine also nt itchy or wat..?

cala: cut away??? sounds scary? so now, the scar is jus a fade thin line??

wah so many mummies got keloids ah? wonder y it will grow even thou i faithfully put the cream n plaster. ok, since u all say dun bring bb to ndp, den I wont bring....

calamari: so now, after ur 2nd delivery did it grow back?

Janiz: u same gynae as me...duno how come Dr Ang nv ask u to put. Maybe becoz I did ask her abt keloid so she advice me on this plaster. This plaster is suppose to paste on top of ur scare to prevent keloids from growing.

Ivy: Hope u r feeling better now...I use combi high chair, it is a 2-in-1 rocker and high chair.

shokel: its not itchy one, its juz something that pop ups from the wound, like a layer of extra skin.

alicia, terence and me still have cough, enyu is much better, and been hopping here and there, her crawl still not that smooth yet, so its leg forward, leap and hit chest -.-.

Alicia, ur combi high chair is got cushion one? or floor type?

Shokel: not scary to cut away lah hehe. 2nd time still have to cut open mah

Alicia: so far so good. No raised skin but red red line still

Ivy: My combi one got cushion but the cushion not v thick, juz something to prevent baby from sitting on the hard surface. If u wana get a proper high chair, dun get mine. I duno which one is gd thou.

alicia n miu, i oso got quite bad keloids from no1 csect... raised n ugly... dis time round for no2, i told gynae im v prone to keloids, so during csect, he cut away the previous scar n gave me additional keloids injection to prevent scar n keloid prevention cream n the plaster.. heng this time round the scar is pretty flat... so dis is 1 more good reason for u all to start ttc for no2 :p

calamari n roger... which canon dslr is good? bt dslr very bulky.....yup nex5 islike compact camera,v small n portable bt we use the manual mode ordy want to vomit blood though its functions are supposed to be simple n end up use the auto mode hahaha tink we too camera idiots already...

calamari..how is ur dad? hope he is better...

alicia, i oso put a plaster... is it transparent in v sticky? bt my gynae told me put for 30days only...

Roxy, Roger, what is nex5?

Ivy, glad enyu is better. I am falling sick myself, throat no good, n got phelgm. Think it's cold symptoms, sian cos I always end up spreading to my gals.

Roxy, is gal's polo shirt cheap?

Hi Pauline, long time no hear. Its very common now, the weather is bad, theres a bug going around. Either spread from our kids to us, or us to our kids. buay tahan hor. U still breast feeding?