(2009/11) November 2009 MTB

Hi everyone, Im new here! im currently at around 8-9 week of pregnancy. Still having bad ms, cant drink plain water..so lately have been drinking alot of 7-up.. hope i wont get diabetes soon

Jolene
actually normal scan is possible to see also, whenever ur baby position is correct, laps open big big then can see liao....if like that no need to wait for wk 20.... i just read from some mag saying about 3 mths fetus will grow their sex organ liao...

actually confinement food other than vinegar pig trotters got wat else ah? hahaha...

ehhh... so 16weeks will knw bb gender?

joyce

oh.. dun drink too much cabron drinks, later get diabetes or gain a lot of weight both also having bad impact to baby....

agata: heehee.. yaya! my hb loves salty and fried food.. if he doesnt eat min 1 of such dish, he rather just has his rice and go back to his room..aiyohhh so spoilt.. then my younger SIL is very weight conscious coz she is a stewardess so she only eat steam and water boiled food 0__0 ended up my MIL has to cook two diff types of food... haha nw my bb loves salty and fried food wor.. i thk gg to be like my hb.. coz i usually ok with plainer food but nw i like salty and fried food more...

hihi joyce! Welcome! Which gynae do u go to? And wats ur EDD?

lemontea: ooooooo.. hope my bb will open leg big big for me to see soon :p

Welcome Joyce..

I am also in my 8-9weeks. Will be seeing my gynae this coming Sat, it's my 2nd scan, hopefully can see more this time!! Try drinking warm water, it makes me feel better whenever I take something hot...

Hi Jolene, thanks! My Gynae is Dr Don Wong from Gynae Link Clinic in admiralty. He does delivery in Mt E, Mt A and TMC.

shannonbaby, my MIL said will do confinement for me. Not sure how I'll feel about it. Cause got language prob, she speaks most fluently in Hainanese. MIL is superstitious, different style of cooking, etc.

Thinking of getting a maid/nanny, but haven't found one. Cause MIL couldn't stay long in Singapore, bored...cause her friends are in Tg. Balai island. My mom don't like to take care of kids. For my older sis, got nanny...n when my mom helped out with my sis' son, ends up her son grew closer to his grandma (my mom) rather than to his mom (my sis), so my sis became jealous. Anyways, my parents live in Jakarta, Indonesia. So I have no parents or MIL to help take care of my kid, after gave birth. *cross fingers..hope to find the good solution in time.

yes, Bluerain, i realise i feels better whenever i drink extreme hot or extreme cold water..but it cant be in the middle.. or i will burp and eventually puke after that.. so strange:p

Agata,

I faced with the same prob when i had my #1 too. MIL only do confinement for me, but refuse to take care of my gal. Imgaine first grandchild she also refuses even though i say i will get a maid for her. she prefers to go out for her own activities, dont want to stay at home for long. then my own mum is still working. End up i got no choice but to send my gal to infant care centre.

My mum is going to do confinement for me. Yesterday, we were talking about it and my mum suggested that the baby and I moved to my mum's place during confinement so that it is less troublesome for her to travel to my house. She needs to cook for the rest of the family and she can only sleep on her own bed. I'm just worried that my mum's house has no space...actually if we all squeeze a bit should be ok and it's only for a month. I'm only worried about my sis's cat....dunno if cat's fur will affect baby or not.

I intend to give my mum at least $2k for confinement....think $2k is the standard rate for good confinement lady.

ashley: wahhh $2K is a lot wor.. confinement lady thk $1K+ right?

sighhh actually i havent let my ahma inlaw knws tt my mum doing my confinement but i told my MIL liao coz she is a nice lady so i thought tell her first then later she can help me to convince ah ma.. But my hb has decided to let my mum takes care oso coz my MIL is working and my mum isnt and my MIL not familiar with caretaking,coz all caretaking was by ah ma last time...

we havent come out with a solution as to who to caretake my bb next time...worse come to worse.. daytime i do then nite time and wkend by my hb and MIL lor if i got viewing or meeting... see how later on lor.. but i m sure my ahma inlaw sure protest if i said let my mum caretake my bb since i m staying with inlaws nw...

Halo mummies,
Wow, very active thread today. Was busy catching up with the thread.
Just came back from my 3rd checkup. Saw the bb kicking
. BB's is 4.97cm long, gynae said it's a healthy length, phew!! Decided to go for OSCAR test tomorrow instead. Am afraid of the pain from amnio test and the low risk of miscarriage that may happen. Realised that my EDD reflected on the pic was 6th instead of 12th. Didnt get the chance to ask the gynae cos was alrwady out of the clinic.

Hi Joyce,
Welcome!

Talking about confinement nanny, my mum used to do it for me on my #1 but my hubby prefers to engage another cos my mum's getting old and it would be very tiring to handle both #1 and the new born plus cooking for us.

hmz .. actually i also dunno where i'll do my confinement .. i have no idea how my parents in law will react if i stay at my parents place after i deliver .. im hoping there will be no issues ..

chenmama
I havent start my blog yet. Will update u when I do have one ya.

My mum offered to do confinement for me too. So did my SILs. But Hub & me are still considering the options. We don't wish to trouble anybody lor.

Help to spread the word around to create awareness.

For all the mamas with young kids out there .............better be safe than sorry...........

Following is a post by a mum whose kid was nearly kidnapped.
Heard this story came out in newspaper (Wanbao) too.
Better be safe than sorry!

''When things don't happen to you, you won't feel anything.''

Today, my dad and I brought my kids to the Toa Payoh Central. I went to deposit money in the bank and my dad
brought my children to play the "floor stepping game". There were only 2 of them playing there and my dad was standing
about 1 meter away watching them. My dad told me that a aunty hold my girl hand and drag her away, saying "come we
go home liao".

My dad didn't stop her immediately. He wanted to see what she is going to do. When she dragged my girl about 4 steps,
my dad came and stopped her.

This time she showed her true colors - she din know my dad was my girl's grandfather. She told him "sorry I'm in a hurry,
need to go home" & kept ragging my girl. My dad stopped her again and told her she was his grandchild.

Another woman came and pretended to scold the aunty who was dragging my girl away & then went into the NTUC supermarket.

Please be careful as this might happen to any children. Always keep an eye on your children when you bring them out.

fieda.. the thread moves so fast!! hahaha..
Brown spotting means that in your discharge there are some brown streaks... something like tat..

OMG~! U mean this kind acase can happen in SG? I tot it's very common in msia & such but in SG? People dare to commit such thing in public? Shld have called the police coz it can happen to any other kids.

omg omg!!!

maybe the aunty is senile??? scary...

ayukie: i oso worried abt staying at my mum's hse for confinement.. haizz.. my PILs sure will be sian cannot see bb one.. all the more its weird coz nw i staying with inlaws mah...

anyhow :X i let my hb tells them lor...

sometimes we just cannot ascape from this kidnap case to be happened, the other way is to teach ur kids not to follow strangers and do not accept or talk to stranges without mummy or daddy's acknowledgement. Must teach ur kids how to protect themselves coz we cannot every second eyes on the kids...

Mummies - Just want to check if anyone of you will get hungry every 3 - 4hours and always looking for food? I am like that and i cant just stop eating!! I will have the kind of sour feeling rumbling in my stomach even at wee hours....

So is mine! From their precious son somemore leh!! But at least i long long before tell my MIL that my mum will do confinement for me liao...

mine is first grandchild oso.. somemore they only have 1 son (and 2 daughters)...

but not first great grandchild for ah ma though... #1 coz first will be born in july 09.

anyone still nauseous and vomiting?? i am...even though on medication..sigh..

anyone went for scan this week and can see gender? my appt is next week..keke

ayukie: ya lor.. haiz haiz.. i thk my PILs are okay abt it leh.. it's ah ma who stays with us whom i thk will mind..

and my older SIL lah.. sianz..

i got tis feeling my older SIL will suan me and ask me stay hm to take care of my bb.. coz my SIL nw is taking care of her bf's nephews and nieces at her bf's hse together with her bf's mother...

nagsterak, i am feeling very nauseas this week. The vomit pull is worst this week and more freq. =( I nv vomit though so no nd meds. I'm hitting 11 weeks this sat.

Jolene,
I believe your MIL can help explain to your GrandmaIL about it since she will not be able to do confinement for you.

Ayukie,
Are you staying with your PIL? If not, it would be easier to explain cos after all, your mum will also have to cook for the rest of the family members.

hi babes,
i'm just back from my gynae visit and did the NT scan. everything seems fine. had shed a little weight though. baby today is rather active. saw him/her squirm, twist and turn, hiccup, suck thumb. wow...the feeling is great!

Stmama: sighhh.. i thk my MIL will take leave to do confinement for me if she needs to leh... coz she mentioned tt she is willing to quit her job to be my bb caretaker but its my hb doesnt allow her to quit her job.. coz since i m jobless.. there are only 2 pax working in the hse to feed 8 mouths liao...

hence its a bit more complicated but i will just let thgs be first until closer to the date lor.. :X best if tt time is my hb's exams period then i will say my hb needs to study :X

btw, someone ask about confinement lady. i've already booked one. but my mum will assist. in fact my mum offered to help me with my confinement but since she hasn't taken care of babies for more than 30 years, i think it's better to get a professional help since it's my first kid. somemore can learn from her during the one month. but after confinement period, my mum will be taking care of the bb full-time le. but i'm planning to get a maid to help in the household chores as i need the house to be clean everyday with my dog around. my mom didn't ask for money but i've been giving her $1k each month cos she cooked for me and helped me with household chores.

FieDa,
Have link you and upload my bb video in my bb blog

dingdong,
im still looking for confinement lady. Any good recom? Did u get yr thru agent? ive call one from Malaysia and she want me to give a $300 deposit now..im abit worry coz still many month to Nov and what if she didnt turn up on Nov..

sobb... doesnt old ppl have MS last time when they preggy ah?

hw come my ah ma in law and MIL like so indifference to my MS
and keep saying i refuse to eat food
Sob sob...

my mum last time MS was until delivery wor..so she always laffed at me nw and said wat i experiencing is small case.. wah lau...

chen ma ma, i went through agent. initially wanted to get those freelance ones from malaysia and i had the same concerns as you. so i decided to go through the agency which is safer. but they require you to place a $500 deposit when you book and a contract is signed.