candy_white: i wld love to! haiz.. but that time.. teng just finished his little gym at orchard forum..by the time, i rush back to woodlands bring bally out to tanglin mall.. to make it for that time = can die! :S
any other time slots.. sunday late afternoons, after 330pm.. got?
wah. what a long post. it's lunch time for me. hahaha..
hippo: ha! teng last time also like that. his legs were unusually strong for a 2 mths old. he could stand up..(with our support) and has his feet planted squarely on our laps.. legs all straight. no quivering at all.. bally.. he likes to jump about when standing up. i think he is going to take a longer time before he would walk since he is so proficient getting round on crawling.. think it is the urge to move around.. these imps are smart.. if they could get around adequately (to get wha they want quick).. they would just rely on that.. for teng, it was 'cry and he gets to be carried around'.. bally was left to figure out how to move around all by himself.. and hence such sharp contrast in my case. ..u see .. next time.. hippo #2.. i anticipate such contrast too
xoxo: u need sleep.. shoo.. to ur bed!
ginger: forgot answer you.. the photos of bally @ Little Gym is in my FB.. the second album for bally
cat: ha.. my bally looks cuter when he is.. crying! hmm i am thinking ur captions could work the other way too...
*puzzled K looking at crying bally*
Helper: dun look at aunty, look at baby
cat: ok ok, aunty not looking at you...
Bally: still, i can't help but cry! K is so pretty!
funzee: i totally agree.. short pain is better than long pain.. (heh).. i did sleep training with teng.. Cry it out. (twice in fact) and he sleeps soundly from there on.. piece of cake getting him to sleep.. used to be from 7 till 7.. now is from 8am to 7.. bally. we hesitate.. coz we are shacked .. working.. no determinatin and just waited.. end up. he relies on the pacifier.. and before he goes into deep sleep from 12 midnight he will cry out. afternoon naps.. still. once he ehs. and not quick enough to stuff paci in mouth. hewakes and play! haiz.. his brother can still be snoring away.. :S
so ya.. i concur with u...dunno when can do sleep training with bally.. coz i dun have the strength now to hear him cry. coz i also need mysleep :S.. hmm. maybe nov would be good.. ask miser to do the sleep training with bally (since bally's crying dun wake him up either!).. when i am away on my conference! hahahaha.. now.. that's an idea.. *ponders...*
ha
A is so cute.. aiya. i shd have brought along my spare singapore flag and tattoo for A.. then she can go striaght to padang to watch the parade.. heh..
nlimm: i understand what you mean. i was a band member and chinese orchestra member.. in school, i was the band teacher in charge. heh. so ya. i know what u are getting at with regards to the 'finer' instrumental part.. there are quite a few of musically keen mummies and parents here.. you are not alone lah.... but honestly.. the best there is.. for music introduction.. as this age.. is kindermusik.. i feel lah.. the bbs can't really associate the pitch or for the matter 'appreciate' finer instrumental at his age.. their aural sense has not really developed yet. though they can of course hear.. check out this from yamaha music school.. and you get what i mean liao..
http://www.yamaha.sg/images/YJC%20chart%20for%20web.jpg
so perhaps it is really not age appropriate to send 10 mths old bbs to such classes..given it is likely to be exp and something we can do ourselves at hone if really need be..
share with u.. teng has MIM (offered by seimpi) in his childcare.. and i have just started him on Yamaha's music wonderland for 3 and above..
all these.. i feel. 'are a waste of money'

coz it is just to oriente him for the yamaha junior school, the playing of the electrotone, which starts proper at 4.
I looked through the 'workbook for semipi and yamaha.. for teng. and ther's nothing icannot 'teach' him for myself.. andthere is really nothing to be taught. stickers pasting while listening to CDs..
just that i am lazy. ha.. so i wld pay others to handle/orientate him for these 6 mths before i go on the stuff that i like as well. kekekeke.. actual playing with teng..
i attached the little notes programme for you to get a sense of what i am saying..
http://www.yamaha.sg/Little_Notes.html
(this is for 3 years old. teng is not in this. he is at music wonderland)
the programme concur with what Kindermusik is offering.. and that's a reason for this.. at this age.. the bbs can associate different timbres. loud and soft.. hence percussion is often used..and it helps them with their fine motor when they strike at tsomething.. at kindermusik.. sometimes the teacher uses the pipe.. for the intro of woodwinds..but never the strings.. coz it is not age appropriate.. and.. cannot compare gymboree with kindermusik.. the former is seriously more gross motor. the latter specialised in music and movement.. older classes at kindermusik plays the xylophones..so have to compare apple to apple
as for little gym, gymboree and mygym..
heh. i used to write a review of the different trial classes i attended with teng.. for GUG.. Little Neuro Tree.. i should have saved those reviews for prosperity! ha..
but like i said. gymboree.. it stalls after a while. bascially all three offer the same basic elements.. gross motor.. maybe i try to summarise in this manner with regards to their strengths
progression: mygym & little Gym
obstacles course: Gymboree
gymnastics fitness & developmet: little gym
interesting elements and gadgets: mygyn
Make Belief & play and language: Little Gym
Parent involvement: Little Gym and mygym
little gym is relatively simple. because it aims to tone the bb up. and involve the parents more.. so there is no fancy obstacles course like gymboree. but more of some tricks and techiques to help the parents know how to strength the bbs' muscle tone safely
their obstacles are standard gym set up.. high beam.. monkey bar. rubber ramps etc.. low bars. but i really like how the instrcutor can string al these elements up to come up with different permutations with different themes. sometimes it is pirate play. sometimes it is safari.. sometimes they come up with different setup (quite ingenious i must say).. to let teng have a ride! i shd upload the photos.. it says a thousand words
hoops. parachuts.. balls bubbles.. all have.. and there's endless room and exploration for bally, to crawl at little gym.. while of course they can;t do so many exciting things as with teng's age .. cartwheels and such.. but they can do wheel barrows and such .. hang on monkey bars.. etc.. backward rolls.. etc.. the teachers are really nice..there are some bbs who are slightly behind in terms of gross motor accomplishment.. so they teach the parents some excercise to speed up their part of the gross motor devt. and they ave special needs class for the special children. i have seen a few.. so these pple know what they are talking..
but again. i am loking at progression more than anything else
i went for a mygym trial because of the fanciful setup with the swings etc.. ha. but it was a horrid session for bally.. then i decided to revert back to the safetey of my little gym.. with better english speaking instrcutors..
you could check out bally's photos of his free trial at little gym.. he had a good time
in my fb. his second photo album..