(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

PY - am interested in buying the thermos jar. let me know if u r gonna order. i'll combine my order with urs.

Joanne - ur girl is so cute :) Riona has same hairband as ur girl. but she just pulls it off whenever i put it on her.

Solid foods - Riona was aking the organix rice cereal pretty well. once it was over, i changed her rice cereal to Nestle one. she's not liking it so much. its a task feeding her that.
I tried giving her carrot puree. she disliked it.
pear juice also she doesn't like. makes such cute faces on tasting the new foods :)
i'm still gng to persist her on the carrot puree and hope she likes it soon!!

one question - when i made carrot puree, it was not very smooth in texture. i was thinking that cud be the reason that my girl is not taking it very well. How to make smooth carrot puree?

bday party>> some little inputs from Mie

i tink maybe we should make the budget $50 per family of 3 -> 1 Oct baby + 2 adults

then per extra adult about $10 or $15 more?
but additional adult, i tink we try to limit la, dun end up all the ah gongs ah mas ah gu ah yi ah zek ah jim also come.. hahahahaha

per additional sibling / kid about $5 or $7?

coz still need to factor in the goodie bags, catering, decorations etc..

wad about chalet? i tink aloha chalet is pretty big, but not very 1YO frenly hor.. and i tink its kinda warm there..

those blow up toys - ball pits etc..
http://www.toyrentalclub.com/bdays_rentals.html
of coz, not neccessary if we gg to hold it at gymboree, little gym etc..

vin>> my fren advised me that if our babies dun like that particular puree, hold on to it.. dun insist and make them eat it all up.. give it at a later stage, or mix with other food that they are ok with..

for carrot, she suggests to me to add some milk.. so that there is the 'milk taste'
you are aware right, belle hates carrot puree too, so i told my mum to add some milk to the puree but my mum exclaimed "carrot with milk is so yucky!" gross meh?

Oh yah.. I think Watsons is having a sale for Kodomo baby wipes.. 1 for $1.95.. buy 10 get 1 free.. I am not sure whether all watsons have this promotion.. but i got it on sat at Junction 8. Kiasu mummy grabbed 2 cartons back.. LOL. I heard tat the quality of the baby wipes are a bit drier but if u are gng to use it soon, i think it shld be no issue.

Vin: did you steam / boil them till it's soft before you puree it? soft until when you literally cant lift a piece up with your fork haha.. my first batch of carrot i boiled them till super soft and the texture was very nice. 2nd batch.. i tried steaming but maybe not long enough, ended up the texture not as smooth and to my horror.. megan rejected them!

dreamygal: yeah.. megan will have new playmates in the neighbourhood soon! when are you guys moving huh?

xoxo: i had been bathing megan in the toilet since day-1 leh.. no problem so far. the tub would be sitting nicely on the floor, while i sit on a super low stool and i just bathe her with my back bended abit. initially it was hard cos she was so soft back then! but now that she is stronger i find it easier, or maybe i got used to it hahaha..

Mie: even i was thinking of adding milk of EBM to the carrot puree and then give to ehr but my MIL was shocked at my idea!! :) then i just fed her carrot puree.

Natalie: yeah...i guess i didn't boil it enough, that why little coarse. next time when i try, will boil it very nicely first and then try to make a smoother puree.

xoxo: we also bathe Riona in the bathroom since day 1. once she was arnd 3 months old, i put her on the rubber mat (place od the bathroom floor) and bathe her as she moves a lot and likes playing in water. i make her sit in her bath tub for a while to let her play, then down on the rubber mat to bathe her. and since she has started flipping, she is on her stomach when i bathe her. she likes it that way :)

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">PY (sweetzinc)</font>
hey hey.. i'm keen in getting a thermos flask instead of the food jar. Can join ur spree? let me know where u ordering from k

<font color="ff0000">Gathering on Weekends</font>
I'm keen on meeting up on weekends for a play date as well. So bored staying at home with 2 kids every Sat and having to crack my head what to engage them in or where to bring them to

But i'm staying in the west tho...

<font color="ff0000">Cereals</font>
Does anyone know when Heinz cereals will be on the shelf again? Heard it was recalled last yr Dec till now still not up?

I'm oso having difficulties finding for Bellamy Cereals. My son can't take the Healthy Times one.. so trying to find rice cereals instead</font>

Vin>> I think its okie to add EBM to the carrot puree.. I am a lazy mum, so I bought all my puree at Petit Bowl at United Square. The pple there told me to add some EBM to the puree.. to create a familiar taste for the bb if they reject the puree.. Just a bit will do.. Dun have to add until it becomes like carrot milkshake.

Natalie,

I feeding nestle cereal, Rhys like it. Past 3 days been feeding him apple pureen he enjoy also. Just bot some pear will give him pear pureen for this 3 days.

I'm new to this forum. Tried to post a message just now but dunno how to do it on this thread.
Anyways hope this one works

morning mummies! how r ur tots growing?!! =D i see some pics! *drools*

heh. just popping in again to share some lobang. do u have insect problems at home? esp ants and mosquitoes! but fear that the insecticides u use may harm ur kid? i'm currently doing a bp for a child-safe insecticide. tried and tested liao! very effective. my ant problem is gone and has stayed away for abt 5 months since! pls check out my bp thread if u r interested.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3790778.html?1269920599

Oh ya! okie I just realised...I didnt click on 'Post Message'! haha anyways HI to all

I'm not familiar with lots of terms you use here so hope to get know more of you and the terms you use ard here

<font color="aa00aa">natalie, nice or not? I want to feed Asher this too but i have too many others not opened yet.

HELLO baby Aaden !!!! Asher says HELLO to you !!</font>

3791417.jpg

diana> i only have this one type of cereal at home lol so i cant comment. it was freebie from the last yr's motherhood fair which i subscribe for 3yrs wahaha. gonna expire i think in another 2 mths time and i have 2 cans! so i'm not going to buy any till i finish them or until they expire.. i'm cheapskate, i know.. lol

and hi to the new members!

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">*MieMie* (pinkiemie)</font>
Thanks dear.... u r my saviour! I couldn't find it at NTUC and Giant

Spam the thread with my lil' one too
He's 9kg at the moment... :p</font>

Little Malcolm says 'Hi'
3791551.jpg

eh.. you all meeting for the gogobambini on the 6th or 7th har? what time liao.. i am *again* contemplating to take leave to join you all.. *sheepish grin*

aiyoh all the boys are so cute. seeing these photos make me miss my lil one more! *checks on iphone for my lil one's photo too*

alright, i wanna spam you all with my pumpkin puree photos hahaha!

3791638.jpg

3791639.jpg

and one more.. of megan swimming at home

3791640.jpg

<font color="aa00aa"> nat, not cheapskate la, if got free one i also will take. too bad la, no free, all must buy from my own money. :p

Hello Malcolm !! got teeth eh...hehe</font>

dreamy: later our MIL start their own forum over the MJ table :p

Angelina n sunnyling: next time when am bak in sg, we organise some MJ session then. n leave our lil one roll on the floor for their own time too :p

bout weaning progress, am so lazy... I tried the mash banana n my ger like it. then gerber rice cereal+EBM for this week, keep telling the helper i will buy potatoes, carrots, etc etc... but nvr

natalie: I give my ger nestle rice last week and this week on nestle brown rice. The former has no milk content.

Btw, anyone interested in similac stage 2 (6 mths onwards) formula? I have a free can (400g). Mine not drinking this brand but the abbott service personnel insisted on giving me a small can to try. I won't be using but throwing it away is a waste. If anyone wants it, pls PM me to get it.

i see mummies here r excited over the weaning process. just a gentle note, please do not buy those cute looking baby carrots for ur baby. it was reported that those baby carrots are in fact old carrots shaped smaller to sell better. and a few babies fr my thread had rashes after taking them last time. =)

<font color="aa00aa"> yup, looks yummy! Asher had healthy times potato puree and BNO for 4 days. Got a suppository and he screamed his lung out..! resting his guts for these 2 days, will start with porridge again.

Any idea if we can mix the puree into the porridge?

Thanks.</font>

MASS Party: Count me in!
interested participants:
1) Ting
2) Astro
3) Angelina
4) Mie Mie
5) bbseed
6) natalieL
7) Joyce
8) limmil (pls pm details to me incase i have no time to follow up with the thread) :)
9) Candy White
10) Dreamygal
11) xoxolight
12) Mrs Neo
13) PY

re: weaning

I'm still trying out the different vegetables, fruits one by one.. (abt 2-3 days) just in case got any allergy..

but so far i only gave her a cube.. to taste only. didnt really replace it with a milk feed.

haha anyway i'm quite loss also.. dunno when should i feed her puree + cereals etc. hai so now i just let her have a taste of the different purees hehe!

By the way, you gals feed the baby one day once or one day twice? Now I am only feeding one day once not sure when shall increase to one day twice.

Hi mummies!! So happening!! Sigh nowadays my attention seeker really been keeping me away from the forum!! Can only post like once a day!! Finally coax her to nap!!!

Hee...so many cutie pies' picture. Shall spam one of yx too!

3791996.jpg

Anyway, this little girl of mine is getting harder to please. Really! I am convinced that she only behaves when she is out. At home she is a terror. Already started her on bellamy rice cereal but these few days she is showing disinterest. Usually give her about 5 teaspoon after a half feed. She will start to kick a big fuss and attempt to squirm out of her rashule about 3/4 through and then insist on being latched on!!! Counting down...3.5 weeks more to work. She is still rejecting bottle and now, cereal. (xoxo...sounds familiar?)

Then in the mornings, she can just latched for 3 mins and decided that enough is enough and start to kick a fuss when it's cereal time. Sigh....been so tired these days. Thanks to her weird tantrums. Anyway can really see her temper these days...really got it from me.

XOxo: Wow! Dre is feasting!! Hahah...I think maybe she has played too much in the day and that's why decided to replenish her energy at night. HAhah looks like she wants to be out of the Ikan Bilis club!

Re: Weaning
Well I tried carrots with yx yesterday. She hates it! Mixed it with cereal and after 3 mouthfuls she gave the spoon a big flip over the chair! Now dun even dare to try it again.

Any other wonderful ingredients to use? Other than sweet potato, pumpkin and avocado?? Something tells me that I might as well start her on porridge. I think she very much prefers adult foods!

PY: Your MIL classic! One of the best jokes so far!! I was guessing who would make such a remark and piss you off and BINGO!!

MASS Party: Of course must count me in!! (Terms and condition applies hahahahhah!)
interested participants:
1) Ting
2) Astro
3) Angelina
4) Mie Mie
5) bbseed
6) natalieL
7) Joyce
8) limmil (pls pm details to me incase i have no time to follow up with the thread) :)
9) Candy White
10) Dreamygal
11) xoxolight
12) Mrs Neo
13) PY
14) Tien (Provided hubby ok again...yes I am that submissive! Venue too! Too far out think he will flip!)

Btw I like Mie's pricing suggestion! Erm...yes maybe shld limit the attendees. I can imagine if i get my mum to go, MIL also want to go...then she want to come, FIL also...then sculli her Batu Pahat clan all want to come....NOOOOOOO!!!

Hi mommies! Wow...all the babies look super adorable!! Felt like holding their chubby little hands!!!

Want to ask...now that Max is on rice cereals for 3.5 weeks now, and the frequency is 2x a day...should I start something else for him now? If so, what would you suggest? A fruit puree?

Nat>> Can i ask.. Wat is tat u are using to store ur puree? Is tat ice cube tray? Was thinking of doing my own puree but dunno how to store them.

So nice to see all the baby pix!

natalieL, that is a cute pix of megan swimming! I think I have the same float, but I find that more and more water is getting onto the float leh. Think I have to buy another size, otherwise I have to keep picking her up and tilting her over to drain the water. I also tried to make pumpkin puree, but find that there is some green parts. Helper cut away the skin but the part near the skin is a bit green - does this mean that the pumpkin is not ripe? How to tell if pumpkin is ripe or not?

For those starting on weaning, can follow the Gina Ford book. I decided after a while that ignorant me shld just follow a schedule. First time to introduce solids is after 11am milk feed. Thereafter, to introduce dinner. Amelie is now taking lunch and dinner. Lunch is usually veg and dinner is rice cereal with fruit.

I wish I could join in the gogobambini outing and meet all the babes. Would love for Amelie to socialise with all the babies but too bad, have to work. Have fun you guys and post some pix!

MASS Party interested participants:
1) Ting
2) Astro
3) Angelina
4) Mie Mie
5) bbseed
6) natalieL
7) Joyce
9) Candy White
10) Dreamygal
11) xoxolight
12) Mrs Neo
13) PY
14) Tien (Provided hubby ok again...yes I am that submissive! Venue too! Too far out think he will flip!)
15) Lokey

mrs neo> yeah i bought new ice cube trays to freeze my puree. mine didn't come with covers, so i'll just wrap those cling wraps over &amp; around the whole tray &amp; dump them into the freezer to freeze overnight. subsequently will pop them out &amp; store in freezer-safe containers.

re: introducing solids
i also didnt replace solids with milk intake. so far had managed to slot in a small 'cube' of puree or sometimes 30ml of EBM mix with a spoonful of rice cereal in between normal feedings. megan would still want her milk as per the usual 3-hr interval. perhaps will introduce another cereal meal in the mid-morning or afternoon for her but have to 'teach' my maid abt it.