(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

angelina: wow. that high chair report sounds v dangerous! but looks gd the high chair!

alexis: if rotarix shd be two ..

if rotateq, shd be three doses
http://www.rotateq.com/

now i wonder if bally took the rotateq or the rotarix,, opsy! but it seems a runny nose is the common side effect of taking the rotateq! aiya. he got cold or runny nose? shucks..

more info on the potential contamination
http://www.fda.gov/NewsEvents/PublicHealthFocus/ucm205585.htm#about

just want to rant here
im so frustrated with my hubby working schedule. why am i always have to sacrifice with his super busy job?
already super busy n now must go overseas for 4 days
i know i sounds selfish but he must understand that i have nobody here. my IL speaks only mandarin, i cant communicate with them
its tiring to look after baby by myself with no support n plus with a super busy hubby
how i wish i could just find a job n work instead, or just live in jakarta. i need my family n friends. i only have my hubby, but he's super busy
very often we didnt get to enjoy weekend caus he needs to do duty
i cant do any activity cause my hubby ddnt have the time, to cover me taking care of josh
lucky i still managed to do pilates once or twice a week
but now with my driving lesson seems impossible to manage, where got time ??
frustrated

Re: Low Milk Supply

Please dun be alarm that the pumping is getting longer but the output is low. Becos THIS IS THE NORM... on the six month our body hormo changes... the quality and the quantity chages too to suit our little one... Try to relax... once your body is adjusted, the milk supply will be establish again.... But remember the qty may drop because the baby should be starting on semi-solid after 6 month. Thus the drop in supply will still be enough for our baby....

I have just crossed that milestone.... now my supply is able to match my boy again... just relax okay....

Joyce,

is that true? Then how low is it till?? If I can only pump out 40 ml per breast take 45 min but breast still feels full?? That is enough for my bb ma? I always only feed one side per feeding only.

Angelina,
hugs. I guess all mothers need support regardless of working or stay at home. We neeed a break to maintain the sanity. Did u talk to your hubby? Learn abit of mandarin? Too bad I am starting Wk. Else u know we could have meet up daily to care for our babies together! Why didn't we know we stayed so near earlier??

About my rant earlier. I know it's a transition. My bb so brave can accept child care, I should be happy an even braver to be a working mum that can pump out loads of milk for bb!! Thanks for encoruagement! That's what oct mums are for!

Hi mummies!!

Gosh read about the rotarix thinghy. I also forgot supposed to be 2/3 doses. YX is taking rotarix. Now dunno what to do. Nothing is reported on side effects etc. Very worrying.

Anyway, mummies, any one of you want to get more baby stuffs? My friend imports from Korea and willing to give us discount for 30/50 pcs and above. Think not for a single item. As long as its group purchase of the stated number of items, there will be discount. The boy stuffs are quite cute.

I post the link and prices here ok. Let me know by Sunday, I can do the coordination.

attachment_icon.gif

Korea_Pre-Order_Bulk_Purchase_Price_List_(March_2010).xls (23.0 k)</td></tr></table></center>

hmm.. abt this rotarix/rotavirus thingy.. i opted out leh. didnt let megan took this as i felt that i'm still breastfeeding her exclusively so she shouldn't have problem.

angelina> actually my hubby also have erratic working schedules. he always have to work on weekends too, and on most weekdays he would need to cover duty 24 hrs. though he is at home during the days he is on standby duty, we dont get to go out and spend time too. sometimes it's just so frustrated. but i always tell myself that i could go out w/o him too. in fact he had been on this kind of working schedule long since megan's arrival. it's either i live with it.. or i walk out of it. that's why i always go out alone with megan hahaha. didn't want to leave her at home cos my time spent with her is already very little. but i guess for you, you only have your ILs. maybe just make do with what you have? understand that you also need some alone time to pamper yourself

re: separation anxiety &amp; BM supply
i went through this too. just have to know that you are not alone.. dont let that feeling get to you else it will lead to depression later on.

ting : i sent u pm for my fb

nat : ya i guess ur right. this is just one moment when im just frustrated. but usually im okay (accept) with his schedule

btw, i saw the jumperoo from PY's video. charlotte look so enjoyable in it. any review about this jumperoo ?

Angelina>> From ur photos in FB.. i think I am working in the same organisation as ur hubby..

Working in tat organisation is like tat de.. irregular working hours.. Sighzz.. Sometimes sats and suns also burnt by work.. Tats how sad it is.. BUT the gd news is..its bonus time soon.. Ask him to use the bonus and bring u out somewhere to relax and enjoy... and of cse to pamper u, ya?

If u are feeling bored, or need to rant.. u can rant here or in FB.. Its gd tat u have met up wif some of the mummies here.. and from here, u can get more support, then u wont feel so lonely! We are all behind u, Angelina! Cheer up!!!

ting>> Dun be too upset due to the fact ur bb is gng to infant care! Like wat PY said in ur fb.. He will enjoy his time and he will make a lot of friends there!

re: Reducing breast milk
Me me me!!! Sighz.. no matter how much fluid i take or wat i take, be it fenurgreek or watever, its not increasing.. damn frustating! But i am not giving up!

mrs.neo : ya, this coming april is bonus time :D
thinking to buy bigger car, now the car is too small for pram, car seat, etc
i have to understand with his working schedule, but sometime just cant take it. n let out my frustration. its not my hubby fault also, its his job

bm : come on mommies we can still produce milk, keep in faith that its for our babies. relax n dont be so stress about it
jia yo jia yo !!!

Hiyo just saw the conversation on rotavirus? Check check is rotavirus= rotarix? 2 days ago news said the rotarix dose consist of some harmful chemical, anyone saw tt news?my bb finished both doses aldy, hb mentioned it's not yet to check w pd,anyone know abt it?

Astro: bally is really very ballish:p he dun look like teng hor?

All mommies: I saw another thread organize a mass 1yr old birthday party for all babies, maybe we can consider tt too hehe but still have quite long way another7mths.

Alexis: ya most likly jealousy?

Bfing: jiayou jiayou
I'm gradually stoing aldy:p

Talking abt working...I was working the whole day today and missed Dre very much! Came back to find not only did I miss the physical her, I missed seeing q a few of her "firsts"! Sigh..the price to pay for taking on projects...makes me so wanna want to give them up rightaway!

I empathise with some of the wives here who have have to bear with the never-present hubby syndrome. Though most of you would think that it seems great that SF is at home all the time - the truth was, we had our share of the workaholic days. He used to work like there was no night and day...and there were stretches when deadlines were tight, he stayed over in office for days! I rem bringing supper and waiting hours for him to knock off and he never did which was a source of much resentment - thus, sometime in 2008, we reflected and felt if we wanted a family, we have to sacrifice our careers and definitely, the wonderful vitamin M that came with it. SF has paid a huge price for stepping away from the career scene at the height of his career and he knows the return would prove difficult. But he wants so badly to be a really good Dad and feels the only way to do that is to be there for his child who is now, Dre. No handing over to Mum, MIL, or the maid. It's DIY or don't have a kid for us. He has determined that this sacrifice was worth it - but not everyone would think that way of his decision.

Thus, our income levels have fallen by more than 50% as I have also made a decision not to work full time anymore. This decision by both of us to be there, 100% for our firstborn for at least the first three years, at the height of our income earning years...I suppose, it is really something we have thought so hard about and still doubting every now and then. We don't come from very well-to-do households, just average, abv average kinda where both mums were working...and we were both brought up by maids or some outsider...there is certainly a sense of detachment there which we hope Dre would not experience. This is just a personal viewpoint.

Parenting is a tough journey. Even with SF around, I still feel very lonely at times (esp with the bfg issues...) and just last week, I was quite sure I was slipping into depression. Depressed because I was just utterly exhausted running after my hyper bunny who doesn't nap and can stay awake for more than 12hrs straight. Plus I think I must be crazed because I kept having thoughts that Dre must be autistic or something is wrong with her. Not-so-good-thoughts, some too dark to share at all. See..quite loony right? But I recognised that I was beginning to fray at the ends because I was trying to do too much - cleaning, cooking, caring, working..so I made up my mind to hire help and have felt so much better since. The stress and loneliness can really get at you..thus, it is vital to make friends, joke, humour, know that you are not alone...try also, to look beyond these issues because before you know it, that babe in your arms is growing so fast..for you to spend it moping about or griping or worse, squabbling with the significant other..

I am still struggling with my odd contracts and my feelings of guilt everytime I needed to run for an engagement. Trying to concentrate on my work when at the back of my mind, I am thinking of Dre and whether she needs a feed, cuddle etc..toughie! But like some others here, my industry is very unforgiving and too much time away from it, would mean that I would have lost the contacts I have built for almost a decade now.

So..whether you have 1hr or 10hrs with your baby, just try to fill it with pure love. I am sure you will find peace in that. As for that significant other who is busy creating a financially-free future, give him the support without complaints and I hope he will truly appreciate the sacrifices you have made and not let the household down in any way. Ganbate mummies...

Xoxo : wow !!! Ur words really open my eyes. Talking bout making sacrifice. I forgot my own commitment,to be a full time sahm. The beauty n privilege to witness all the "first" of the baby
Its true that lack of hubby's present is not their fault,that's also sacrifice that they made to meets the need in the household.
N again,agree with the part that we need friends to keep sane. Don't try to do everything by ourself,sometime asking for help is a better way to do.I'm also using a part time helper so can focus on raising/taking care of josh

Thanks for ur post here xoxo, I'm so lookinf forward to meet u,SF,baby dre n all other moms with their babies. I admit that I need friends,better yet the moms friends

angelina: i saw the report when I went to ikea last week to buy the high chair. I guess with baby products, they have to be very careful. But seriously speaking, some babies are so tough with handling the equipment, even the best ones may have problems.

For example, I just bought a graco playpen. Elgin had been pulling the wings of the butterfly / bee extremely hard. Even if the stitches were extremely strong, with wear and tear, it would spoil. So I guess we still have to watch them.

Cheap Huggies for Sale. Drop me a PM if interested,

Huggies ultra - $14.50 per pkt
Huggies pullups - $14.50 per pkt
Huggies comfort (red) - $15 per pkt
Huggies dry (blue) - $15 per pkt

Collection at Punggol/ Toa payoh (fri evenings &amp; sun mornings) / Amk (prearranged) / Pasir Ris ( prearranged) / Science Centre (prearranged)

Xoxo : Wah! Really admire and respect you. I'm sure the decisions were not easy to made because of the trade-off but hey! You made it and look where you are now! I'm sure you will look back in years to come definitely remembering these days lovingly. I'm a full time working mum and I felt darn guilty when I have to rush to work or work late. Sometimes I will suddenly stare into my computer and think of my bubba, what he is doing and is he happy. I tell you, I am so frightened of the emotions I will feel when I realised I miss his "firsts". Anger maybe, depression - yep, guilt and sadness - most definitely.

I feel that women these days trade off more things to be a mother, do you agree? I know my darling hubby roll up his sleeves to be with bubba, but the next day, he happily trods off on a business trip or to work. Men seemed to be able to compartmentalize better at these things. I constantly struggle every day to find an internal balance between bubba, work, and myself. Some days, I felt I'm walking a very tight rope. And inevitably bubba decides to be a terror on those days...hahaha. Sometimes I look at those very successful women holding top jobs, having three kids and seemed to be able to have it all. Can we really have it all? I pray that I will not look back many years from now and regret not doing things in a different way. But my family needs the money and I need time away from home, so.

My girl has outgrow the M diaper so selling off whatever i had on hand at a cheap price.

1 x Brand new unopen Dry Comfort M size for sale at $14.00

53pcs of Dry Comfort M size for sale at $11.00

Buy all at $23.00

Self-collect at Khatib MRT.

Email me at [email protected]

xoxo: i saw ur post. and i have so much thoughts on that.. but haiz.. staring blankly at the laptop.. too drained to type all that. out..

has a rough start to the day with Bao REFUSING to go to school. He wept buckets. Sat at the door, when it was already closed, refusing to budge. Neighbours went past and giggled at the sight of the petulant, crying, boy (they think it's funny?! I don't think so!). One of the stupid uncles tried to coax teng 'come on, stand up.. stand up'.. !@#@$#$!#! just f***ing go! he doesn't even listen to me, you think he will listen to you?! (note to self, never stand and look at pple disciplining their kids! Irritating and insultive!)

Fed up, i smacked teng's face (again?! yes! and twice! *sigh*). The boy cried but still won't budge. He got up and RAN towards the other side of the flat towards the lift. He ran and ran and ran.. i followed. in my mind, i was thinking, 'The boy has already learned to run away from me..' *sigh*

Finally he calmed down slightly , enough for me to hold his hand and get into a cab..
In the cab, he took his cloth and sucked on his thumb for comfort while askign to hold my hand.

He said he's sick..he took his temp and he has a fever.(not true) he wants to see the doc.. he likes the doc. he doesn't like LV.. (true.. haiz)yada yada.. haiz..

then refused to get down from the cab.. but eventually did..
again when he reached the centre. i cld sensed that he looked relieved ??? then he calmed down, again requested to hold on to the cloth..

then with another request to hugh me.. he uttered a simple phrase, which shattered the tough disciplinarian and send doubts to her mind if it was worth all the drama mama going to school..

teng hugged and said to me ' Mama I always like u'...

despite my smacks.. despite my scoldin.. despite my insistances and forcing done to him..

i feel so bad.. haiz..

Astro : oh my God, what a horrible way to start the day. Do u have any idea why he doesn't like to go to the centre?
I know how u feel about other people try to discipline our own kid,its super insulting!!
be strong astro,u know u love ur kids n ur kids love u..

Astro,

They will have some resistant when they have a brother/sister. I also have to face my elder reject going to school daily. Every morning he will cry and refuse to go in the school. Sometime he will lie on the floor in the school refuse to go in. Every morning the teacher will need to come to the door and force and drag him in. The routine is keep repeat daily since the first day the school open this year. He got no problem to go school the whole last year and was so happy to go last year.

Hi Astro : Oh dear. One of those tantrum days... He is such a darling isn't he when he hug and say those magic words? Feel like almost tape record these events for future...My friend had the same experience. Her son Sean refused to enter the kindergarden and cried and yelled at the door. The teacher had no control over the situation. My friend takes out her ipod, pluck the earphones in, and waited. He was snaking up and down on the corridor floor, full commandoe style and every time he neared the staircase, my friend went over, carried him and plonked him at the classroom door again. Finally, he calmed down (like nearly 20 mins), wiped his tears off, went to my friend, says bye bye mummy, I will be a good boy, and guai guai enter the classroom. My friend was nearly in tears...

Sunnyling n babymax : omg,now I feel so sad to hear the stories. Is it possible that they jealous to the sibling? Just want to get more attention?

xoxo: as long as its for our little one all sacrifices are worth it just to see thm grow day by day..

astro: cheer up.. don't have the thought of teng running away from you, he knows you loves him and he loves u too.. teng is really sweet, especially the last sentence.. he has grown up..

ok post a pic of my boy. cheer up k..

3771693.jpg

I think is a phrase he need to go thru. He had been behave like this since the first day the school re-open this year. My hubby have gave up to bring him to the class so I have to do it daily now. I need to force, drag and carry him and now every day the teacher see him one of them will auto come to the door and drag or carry him in.

sunnyling : i have never met rhys before, he looks so cute

any moms know where to buy soft mat? i want the thick one 15mm if im not wrong. PY said can try at united square, but YL (hubby) is there right now but couldnt find one

so far im still letting josh plays on tempur yoga mattress , n very small for him

astro,

my #1 did that last time. we found out that he doesn't like the teacher and the way the "classes" are conducted. he mentioned to us that the teacher ever beat him b4. n when he got close to 1 gal in the class, the teacher would separate them. we changed him to another school and he is ok with the new school. find out y teng doesn't like the school n find alternatives. dun b like my dear hb's mother, who kept saying my #1 was very happy in the class n refuse to change school.

loke thanks for the website, but YL wants to try to touch the material of the soft mat -.-" so must buy from a store, not by ol

so difficult leh

angelina,

not difficult
go to anyone hse who has the mat n feel the material den order fr same "supplier"? :p *siamz* tink yr hb going to kill me for suggesting that haha

Thanks Angelina &amp; Vod

haha all babies is cute. I see all the babies is so cuteeee.

Angelina,

I post alot of the pictures in my Facebook for both my boys. Both are my darling, my families member alway cant stand me because I keep say both my darling is cute and handsome wahahahahaha

hi mummies, just a quick check - for those babies who are on FM, may I know how many oz is he/she drinking now? Mine, also Oct'09 baby girl, is now 8.5kg, 68cm long and drinks 5.5oz every 3-4hours.

I am a full time working mum with two kids and am contemplating now if i should quit my job and spend more time with them... just got back to work after almost 6months break (ML) and felt so guilty that i couldnt spend enough time with them.

My son is now in N1 and goes to school for 3hours everyday. In a dilema now... to quit or not to quit.. hmm....

xoxo>> your post about parents making sacrifices touched my heart dearly. and i really salute you and SF, for making such big sacrifices for Dre. It aint easy, and not everyone can do it, but you did it, and both you and SF are doing very very well (dun take into consideration those days when you just felt super down, it is just a very natural part of being human). And yes, Im sure years down the road, when you look back at these days, you can tell yourself that you have no regrets coz you gave Dre the best that you could and she has ALL the love from you and SF!

To be honest, I doubt I would be able to do it, though many a times I do dream about being a SAHM, to be there for my baby and to be there to witness all her firsts, I know that deep down, I would not be able to be a very good or competent SAHM.

xoxo/astro: that was a very emotional post. can you believe it? i teared while reading it.. very emotional day for me today.. i hope it'll pass very soon... thanks for the posts which so helped me to "let out"....

hello mommies,

cant remember who ask about book for recipe for bb food. Just bought anothe one from popular today, pretty good with 396 recipe n tables n charts to count how much should bb consume. but all in mandarin tho...

xoxo, well said! n i guess all the sacrifices are worth it!!

n yes to babymax, juggling btw work, BF n bb isnt dat easy. I missed lotsa "first" as well, feel guilty but we gotta do wat is the best for the bb too. I salute to those full time mommy here, 24hrs watch n care for the little one is a bit too much for me... I went thru the depression period during the ML. a little break for me after am start working i feel better, I treasure every moment wif my bb now rather than stressing myself out. Consider lucky, as i only go to office at 11am+, going bak home 2pm till 3pm, 6pm off work. Occasionally will just declare time off, n just stay at home wif the little one.

ASHM: mine on FM currently drinking 150ml 4hrs.

Alex: i'm the one.. can i have the title of the book so can go check the book out.. thanx..

bbseed - thanks for sharing... little bella is drinking 180ml each time.... she sleeps through at night though... like last night, her last feeding was at 730pm till this morning 830am....

angelina >> if you need to see the playmat..go to great world city - mothers @ work. they take the same supplies from small small world. price is controlled. so u shouldn't have to pay more for the mat at gwc..

ASHM>> wow, your bella's last feed is at 730pm and her next feed is 830am? no dream feed required at all?

my belle is drinking 150 to 180ml per 4 hours.. her last feed is ard 10 to 11pm, and her morning feed is about 7am..

ASHM: your bella drinking 180ml and can last for more than 12hrs.. but i will still give him 1 more bottle before his slp no matter whether has it reached 4hrs.

mie: mine quite similar to yours, as for his morning feed will be ard 9am.