(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

brought yh back to dr ong.. his nose so badly stuffed up.. that he cannot drink properly! haiz.. miser went with me this time.. well he had to.. because when he leave the house his bb was screaming coz cannot feed properly nose all stuffed, eyelids swollen and red.. i was glaring at him.. so no choice he went with me just now..

got to neubilise yh! wah.. then rent the machine lor. i wa spaying careful attnetion coz seemed like major thing to me! dr ong asked me never use before. i said no.. coz no matter how bad teng's cold was. never had the neuabliser!..
and come back.. ellie looked at it and said she knows how to use! wah! everything she also know?! :p.. coz she said the kid she took care in philipines used this before.. exactly the same.. wah. good lah. coz i also blur.. ha. later tonight we all expriment together :p

yh now cooing outside.. much better after one neub.. now got to fetch teng who also has abadly blocked nose.. haiz..

my left b so incompetent.. took the same time to pronuce only halfthe amt of what my right b can pronounce. wah liew..

ttyl!

astro: wah.. nebulizer! yh so poor thing.. go through so much ordeal at such young age.. i hope he and teng and the rest of your household get well VERY SOON!

loke: ha. indeed he has come a long way. my fren from the other thread gave me an encouragement.. 'yh seen the world liao.. nothing can scare him in future!'ha! indeed 'eat the bitterest of the bitter, be the highest of all high pple'.. hahahaha. can understand? :p

precisely becoz yh is so young.. hence he is given the nebuliser leh.. coz at his age he cannot take oral nasel decongestant. and his nose is badly stuffed up.

the neubiliser is not a long term thingy. in fact.. i think PD wld normally give this first before they prescribed oral medication to a bb of yh's age lei? i am not sure. but RN gana the flu. .for her case.. the PD straight away prescribe the neub.. later i think we look at ellie do instead of us teaching her. coz miser and I, we each know half half.. ha!

i asked the clinic assistant what happens with this prescribtion of ventolin, yh still trembles? coz with the oral ventolin, he did tremble.. she said the ventolin used in the neub. wun cause tremor.. coz unlike the oral one.. the liquids dun go into the bloodstream and just inhaled.. seemed like the neub soounds safer.. though it look scarier. .. becoz it doesn't go into the bloodstream..

Jrrt: u have answered my qn
.. i see.. then maybe indeed have to wait for RN to improve her suckling skills..

loke: actually hor.. i wld like bally to drink less.. then i can tell myself i have excess! ha.. denial.. but i think he is no longer drinking 180.. v rarely now.. most of the time 150 - 170..

gal/loke: thanks.. YES.. must get well soon. haiz

tien: cause he has a stuffy nose.. and inevitably. with kids. coz the muscous of from the nose back flow.. it irritates the throat.. and then cause a cough with phelgm.. if left untreated. it can lead to a fever.. teng always genna this.. always start from a stuff nose.. argh. then i always have to arrest it before it leads to the fever.. EXPENSIVE
bb tend to be fussier.. scream scream scream.. cannot feed properly. coz it hurts to swallow.. and the letdown causes pain to them.. normally the stupid symptoms come in a package one lah..

astro
i was v worried tt RN cant drink/latch properly when she got flu. as it turns out, it wasnt really bothering her and she was fine & cheery except 4 the occasional cough in the morning. i guess my BM still gave her the protection since she is the last in the family (and being the youngest) to kena and as compared to the rest of us, hers is a mild case. both me & my hb r still recovering fr the virus despite being on antibiotics for 5 days. so RN is lucky in this sense.

and yes, i wld v much prefer the neub rather than oral med which PD avoided prescribing coz she is still so young. thankfully aft 3 days on it, she is now cleared of it & is off the neub alrdy. so hopefully it works for YH as well.

actually quite easy to use the neub. the most impt thing is to ensure they breathe in as much as possible. i keep telling RN to breath... and dun cry.... not asking her to do anything extra mah. heee...
anyway aft the review tdy, PD prescribed RN oral ventolin for the next 5 days. hopefully she gets well in time for her vaccination next wk.
u hv probably seen this in FB liao but still i wanna say i almost cldnt believe it when the clinic asst weighed RN and told me she weighed 5.11kg tdy! I was literally flying in the air! woohoo!!! she was 4.9kg on wed and tdy its 5.11kg? there muz b some magic wif my BM! hahaha... anyway i was so happy, i "celebrated" by buyg another pack of M sized diapers.
sot sot mommy yeah, but i was really euphoric! she's finally over 5kg!

jrrt: was RN prescibed with Pulmicort Respules as one of the med for the neubliser? yh is.. and one mother told me it is a inhaled steriod lei.. not recommended for kids below 1 years old.. wah.. now i am 'panicking'.. think first thing tomorrow is to call up my pd.. to get an explanation..

the clinich assistant told me the reverse.. best if the bb cry.. coz that way the mouth is open wide.. and most medicine goes in???.. wah.. confused..

ventolin. if rn experiences tremor or gets hyper active.. then must reduce dosage..

good that she is over 5kg..

having read about the pulmicort respules thingy.. i wld rather oral medication :S

dun think tonight i can sleep well liao..:S

called up dr ong.. dr ong knew that i was asking about the pulmicort.heh.. she said yes it is a very mild form of steriods but it is very safe.. in fact she has prescribed it to infants below three months before! i went o ask about the side effects coz i noticed that after the nueb session, yh's is teary and got a bit of redness on the mask area and on the eyelid..his face looks a bit puffy from the first session.. but dr assured me all those side effects wun happen so fast one.. dun freak myself out.. well...

then i asked about decreased appetite coz yh onli drinking 120 (he used to average 150 and the highest was a period when he drank 180!).. she replied that's because he's sick.. i said he still spit up evne when onli 120.. dr replied coz that's because he has a lot of phelgm.. nuebuliser onli off when his cough is at least 90% better and he needs to be brought back for review.. think dr ong not taking yh's case lightly..
well.. think i can onli trust the good old doctor knows what she is doing..

astro
RN was prescribed berodual solution to be mixed wif saline water (i think). not pulmicort respules. but now tt u mentioned the side effects, yes i think RN had watery eyes too. as for puffiness, i din notice.

nw tt u mentioned steroid, my pd prescribed a mild steroid cream for RN's face coz her eczema patches was quite bad. i used fot 2 nites and stopped when they eased off.

well u r right too. crying will help them breath in as well. juz tt when she cries, the mask cannot b place properly & she kept turning her head away. so i rather she dun cry. and her face is so tiny, the mask can almost cover 3/4 of her face!

so far RN had 2 doses of the ventolin - 1ml each time, din notice any tremor. or i din notice??!!

yah u dun get too paranoia. am sure yh is in gd hands under pd's watchful eyes. eh this dr ong is not E K Ong huh? u used "she"...

so did yh's blocked nose ease off a bhit by now?

jrrt:steriod cream is ok.. my pd (dr dorothy ong) seemed v confident that the mild steriod as one of the inhaler ingredients is v safe.. well.. ok.. i shd trust the pd i chose. i think coz yh has bad cough with phelgm.. that mild steriod is prescribed as a preventive medicine lest his air ways get infected..

yh also had 1ml..got termors leh.. the legs.. hmm. think must monitor...

yes.. eased off.. much better after the neubs ession again this morning.. one days he needs to be neub four times.. only first and last has the pulmicort.. in between 2.. dun have..
he cldn't feed prperly from the breasts.. think he is too tired.. then topped up bottle another 30ml.. he didn't finish and doze off.. i think later he will wake again. might as well coz at 1pm. he needs to be nueb.. haiz.. poor boy. intake dropped sharply.. can't be one breast of mine which he suckled half heartedly can give him 90ml??? then topped up 30ml = 120 zun zun?? haiz..

after each neub session.. the thick mucus all flowed out.. which is quite a lot for his small nosestills!! those mucous when backflowed causes the phelgm in the airways.. good also lah. else v difficult to recover...

i found this..
<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Nebuliser's medications has to be better prescribe by doctors cos these mediaction are strong...Most of the time this is used only when child has lots of phlegm caught in their lungs.. Don't use it unless necessary cos the medications contains steroids n are very harmful to the little kidneys. My boy do need nebuliser at least twice a year when he gets into serious chest infection. Infact he is on it now again for 1 week liao. High fever for a whole week. I will not use nebuliser till he really need it badly.

For milder cases, Berodual and saline is good enough. Pulmicort is usually added when phlegm gets worse.
<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

i get it now liao lah.. Jrrt. rn's case is mild.. yh's case is more serious coz of the phelgm.. which is consistent. coz first visit.. he was only prescirbed ventolin and a cough syrup.. when i brought him back the next day.. coz his onse was sooo stuffed up.. doc listened and said 'phelgm in chest. no choice has to be nuebulised..' haiz..
repeated infections lah.. my poor yh.. *Depressed*

Does any of your babies love watching TV? Haha. My boy loves doing that. When I put him on my Lap in front of the TV, he will stare at it. No crying ... nothing. Loves it.

astro
i din realised it was steroid cream until we went back for review yest. luckily her skin cleared off aft 2 times so i stopped it nw.

yeah shld trust the pd tt u chose. is she the pd tt tien mentioned?

wow i am impressed tt u went to dig out tt piece of info.
yep, pd did mention tt RN's case is mild n he wanted her to be on neub to prevent it fr worsening which can happen in infants. he listened to her chest n said got slight wheezing, thus needed to b on neub.

oh btw she is on zyrtec oso. other than tt, no cough mixture or flu med coz her symptoms r mild.

its gd to hear tt he's better aft the neub sessions. i know how depressing u feel nw tt yh is sick. i was v worried aft wed's pd's visit too. when r u gg back 4 review again?

mummy143
my girl likes TV, i supposed. coz it was used to distract her during her neub sessions n it worked! but other times, i wun pruposely put her to the TV thou.

Mummy143>same for baby. I guess it's colorful to them??

Jrrt> what's the name of ur mild steroid cream? My pd also gave me a cream but it is the exact same cream my hubby us e for his ezcema (hydrocortisone) so I m very reluctant to use it on my BB cos I think it's for adult?! His face n scalp had quite bad patches appearing on n off. I tried California BB cream n it helps a bit but it comes back again after few days..

jrrt: no.. have nvr seen tien's pd before.. I have been stickign to this pd since 2 years back.. anyway.. steriod cream is often prescribed for ezcema.. was it desowen which u are prescribed with? anyway. many different kind of steriod creams on the market for ezcema.. desowen is v mild.. safe for infants.

dun need to be impressed.. easy to find.. coz i was wondering what med were prescribed for rn.. given that u said her case is very mild.. and since u told me is bersodual (forgot how to spell), i just did a quick google..

think if i have brought yh there earlier..maybe wun become phelgm that fast.. his symptoms were mild also .. then dunno why think i haven
t recover then cross infection , (i wasn't on antibiotics.. recovered 'naturally.. med also seldom take for fear of drowiness.. silly me lah. )then become prolonged for yh liao.. more serious liao lor..anyway.. let it be.. i dun want to think about all this liao. i will just assume that pulmicort is apricot!

PD needs his cough to be 90% better before going back for review for her to determine if he can be off neub.. the way i see it.. i think at least another 4 more days? coz we rent the neub machine for 5 days.. then the clnic assistant said.. after two cycles of pulmicort (2 dosages a day) normally 30 - 50% better.. so i think about there lah..

bad nose he has.. he is prescibed nose drops and saline wash for nose as well on top of the neub.. aiyo..

well. i am glad i got it all 'figured out'.. got to trust my good old pd that she has her reasons for whatever she so chooses to do.. *sigh*

aiyoh.. just now dunno how come he whallop 120ml fm.. 3.75 hours later. only drink 90ml ebm?? totally blur , any kind of schedule all gone haywired..

Mummy143,
I noticed my baby love watching the tv too. He will jus stare and ignore whatever you do or say to him. But the difference is I dun like him to watch the tv or get used to it cos he is very young. My mil us the one who every night sit him on lap to watch tv at same time.

Btw why No good to use steroid cream ah?

Wow py! That is like very long leh! My boy can only go so long wo milk at night! Is Charlotte ok? Could she be feeling unwell?

Hi Ting,

Yeh. I'm uncomfortable with the fact that babies watch TV at such a young age. I guess abit of it is ok as the lights could be good. Just feel abit worried as he really stares on the screen. You should see his face. Super cute. Like deep in thought.

Just wondering, what is the age before we can introduce some TV to our oct kids?

BTW, does your babies sleep through the night now? My boy sleeps at 8.30pm then wakes up at about 3am then 6am. Im going to work next week. Hope I can tahan. He is now bottle fed ;)

Mummy143,

yeah super cute! So engross lo. Wahaha. I think by about 9 months onward bah as there are those educational vcds for babies.

Hi, am from March 09 thread. Am still breastfeeding so doesn't need so many milk bags. Any mummies interested to buy my 7 boxes of Blue Egg breastmilk storage bags. 25pcs/box.

Self collection at Jurong West area between 4th - 16th Feb. Selling at $8/box.

If interested, pls email me at [email protected]

Agnes

RE TV, think can watch once they are able to hold their heads a bit steady. If you look at the Baby Einstein DVDs, they start from 3 months.

I also dislike letting baby watching TV. If I am at home, I limit to 30 mins (one "educational" DVD) per day or sometimes none, but if my MIL is here to look after, I don't know how much TV baby sees! Not too happy about that but no choice.

does any mummy here hv brown n dark spots in the neck n breast areas? since pregnant, i hv been hvg quite a lot, went to gynae, said not becoz of pregnancy, n they wont go away one...sad

Funzee: Yeh. I agree with you. Went to the National Library the other day and I saw many educational dVds for kids. Will borrow them when my darling is older.

Janjan: I actually spotted one dark spot under my breast during preganancy. And its still there. Asked my gyne about it and he said its okie. No need to go for further scans. Perhaps you can check this out when you go for your pap smear or visits to doc.

I just had my period after 3.5 mths. Is that usual ah?

vodkarib
the cream tt RN was prescribed is Elomet Cream. Oh RN was prescribed hydrocortisone for her ear infection a few wks back by the GP as well. i guess its a v normal cream and RN's condition did improve aft tt.

Astro
nope, it was Elomet cream.

I thot RN's condition improved. wat turns out to b a usual morning-cough-only now became all-day-cough. SIGH! she has been coughing at regular intervals (esp when sleeping) since 4am tdy. i was so worried abt her choking tt she's nw sleeping next to me. and when she nurse, it gets worse. so when i lie down to nurse her, we both turn to our sides i.e. tummy facing each other so she dun choke. i think my letdown quite fast. can hear her swallowing quickly and sometimes i v scared she choke.

dun blame urself abt not bringing him to the pd earlier. sometimes we like to wait it out to see if it gets better by itself. for RN's case, i oso wasnt sure if she was indeed down wif the bug coz her cough &amp; slightly blocked nose syndrome only exist in the mornings. it was only when i heard her cough repeatedly on wed morning then i decided to bring her to pd.

RN was prescribed nose drops oso. this RN hor, v gd at spitting out the med! she dun spit out suddenly but let it drool fr the sides of her mouth! ARGH! i am not sure how much went in given tt its only 2 drops of zyrtec and 1ml of ventolin!!!

when they r sick, my mum say dun follow any schedule. give less milk but at frequent intervals. esp wif a stuffy nose, its hard 4 him to breath and drink at the same time; so aft a while he gets frustrated and not wanna drink? u juz give him milk at a shorter interval so he still gets enuff bah.

PY
u tried latching &amp; she oso dun wan?

mummy143
depends on which sch of thots u subscribe to. some experts say no TV till child is at least 2 yrs old. for me, i wait till aft 6 mths old.

would like to get some feedback on the Shichida method classes for toddlers. Anyone sending their kids for the Shichida method? The fees are quite high so I am wondering if its worthwhile or are there other enrichment classes for toddlers (18 months and above) to recommend? Thanks so much

Thks jrrt. Will try hydrocort then

baby goin for his jab again next week.. Kind of dread it cos he had fever last time n he was very lethargic for 2 days. Mum advises not to take medicine for his mild fever n wait out so basically I m pretty anxious for that two days. Jus wondering do u all give the medicine to baby if fever is mild? I rem that fever is above 37.5 for babies rite?

my baby also likes to watch tv! will purposely turn her head towards the tv to watch! i will turn her away from tv if i see her watching tv or i'll switch off the tv.. maybe don't start her watching tv so early.. not sure if it will be bad for her eyes..

how do u all know when to upgrade baby's diapers to M size? My baby still can wear S but recently she seems to urinate more at 1 go and sometimes leak but the diaper is still not fully soaked up yet.. use to be ok leh.. does changing it to M size help to prevent the leaking?

my baby takes short naps during the day.. about 1 hour will wake up in her sarong then i continue to rock her.. sometimes she will fall back to sleep for another hour.. if cannot then bring her out to play for 15 to 30 mins before or after milk time. at nite she can sleep for about 5 hours after her last feed and wake for in 3 hours after her first feed the next day..

flipping
about flipping.. i only saw her once lying on her side by her own.. not sure is she learning to flip.. she hasn't hold her head up yet only can lift up momentarily then pop back down..

latching
she also latches abt 30 to 40 mins sometimes.. but sometimes only 10 mins.. i'm confused oso

Hi, I am new here. I'm still breastfeeding. Wondering if u all know where I can get cheap strapless nursing bras? Pls advise. Hee, getting ready for CNY.

yo im back

Astro/jrrt:yh also on neub like RN?its prescribe coz of phlegm, M's has alot phlegm but pd nvr prescribe anything.

RE:TV
funzee/jadebelle:M super like tv starting last wk weird, last time he cnat even stand lying there for 5 mins now can watch for abt 10-15mins b4 fussing,not sure if he really 'watching' la coz now n then he turn away.But i let him watch channelnewasia wo haha, Eng in the morning then Chinese news in the evening:p

hippo: So ur #2 maid still with u?Jialat,did she asked u y u sending her away?

RE:flipping
Err...not sure how to judge this.M just flip during tummy time wo

any1 of u experienced babies' rejection of bottles? My baby is on total bf but we've exposed her to bottlefeeding since 6 weeks. Until recently, she rejected the bottle. Now is coming to 3 months old

hi silver_bellzz,

i'm from nov mum, my bb also the same like yrs, rejected the bottles totally, we had tried everyday, diff bottles &amp; teats, feed by my hubby, she still shout &amp; cry loudly when she see the bottles...i'm so stress .. she only want my breast !

I will be return to work early March, wondering how my MIL will handle this nasty girl...haiz..

i'll do anything to exchange for breastfeeding! haha. angel LOVES the bottles.. i'm hoping she'll start to reject it!

and i wonder if that's going to be possible since she's almost 3mths old now.

MIA for a long long time. I have just started working too! Today my 1st day. Miss my girls so much

By the way, just want to share something abt EBM. I’ve been exclusively expressing for my girl cos till now (3 mths) she doesn’t want to latch. I more or less give up liao. Anyway, did anyone just ask abt EBM storage at home. I’m not sure any of you are practicing this but I’m actually giving fresh EBM to my girl since born. I will leave my milk at room temperature for 6-7 hours before moving them to fridge. The longest I hv tested is 7 hours and my milk did not go sour. At most hv the oily smell. I have asked Doris and she said it’s fine as long as the milk does not smell. She said you will know if the milk has turn bad because it smell really awful! So, I hardly need to warm the milk for my younger girl
And if I want to go out with her, I will expressed and bring 2 feed out. That will last me abt 6 hours outside before the need to pump again. Just to share 

Read that some of oct babies are able to flip. Mine just start to flip but she can lift her head very high already. Still not strong enough to flip on her tummy and I think she has not much patience. Will make noise after 1-2 minutes attempting that. Haha..

Astro,
Ph, poor RN. Kena flu? My girl got a mild flu (cough) from her sister when she’s barely 2 weeks old! So so poor thing. We couldn’t do anything except feeding her with my EBM and luckily it went away after 1 week. Shoo shoo away the virus for RN..

aria: just to check with u.. how often are u expressing? u have been giving ebm since she was born right? how many times do u express a day and in what interval? how much are u expressing each time? which pump are u using?

ahhhh i can kill people now!

Charlotte's drinking schedule between her night and day feeding is now mix up! she drink a 2 hour interval at night.. and during the day she can go up to 4-5 hours w/o milk!!

I tried expressing so i can bottle feed her at night.. but the yield is so pathetic leh!! I think my boobs are used to direct feeding liao.

I also tried to feed her every 2 hour in the day but she just refuse to suckle.

I dunno what to do. Shall i just go with her pattern or ??? cant be possible starve her when she really want to drink lor.

my HB is not helping especially when charlotte wants to sleep and he was watching his damn cat woman trying to rock her to sleep in her rashule.

I just say him lah. "u want to watch ur show or u want to spend time with her?" I dun think u can do both things at the same time. then i just carry her into my room, latched her and she fell asleep.

ARGHHHH! any solutions pls??

silver bellz >> welcome to the strikers' club. my babe is a veteran at it. u can try parentcraft and pls share what they tell you. i've tried all the tricks in the trade and nothing has worked. worse, she lost weight. so in the end, i caved in and surrender. she gets her b. but the b doesn't stand for bottles...

ariajo >> u left the milk at room temp for 6-7hrs? i understand that at our tropical temp, it's 4hrs. even if the milk does not smell bad, deterioration would have set in...yah..take a big broom and shoo the virus away!!

Loke >> we are opposites. i want her to take the bottles, u want yours to take e B. life is very funny indeed.

PY >> ((((HUGS)))) don't get so stressed. sleep whenever she sleeps..unless u wanna take a deep bite and correct her schedule the cold-blooded way. in the day, don't allow her to sleep more than 5hrs (assuming she is waking at 7 and sleeping at 7pm). everytime she falls asleep..give her power naps of 30-45mins, then take a wet towel and wake her up and latch her immediately, play with her etc and try to keep her waking moments long...wish u luck..day night reversal is very stressful..i went thru' that phase and the earlier u nip it, the more sanity u preserve.

Ya I suspect my supply is decreasing..That's why she not full? But I gave bottle top up her intake, she dun want. But few days ago I had engorgement!

I really gg kuku soon. I think I just let her be Liao the more I think of solutions I really gg crazy! I told my hb I wanna buy formula tml lol

PY >> classic bottle strike lah..she doesn't want the bottle. or she has associated feeding with sleeping? keeps suckling so she can go to/get back to sleep? ss decreasing? but she has been suckling so often..cannot be right?