(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

good morning all.

sharing some photos of my Ana. was about to leave the house to go to my mom's for Raya visiting but she fell asleep so come in and waste time here first lar

3301452.jpg

3301453.jpg

hippo: sorry to hear abt your sick dog. it's a lucky dog to have found such good owners in you and family.

PY: my adil last time don't like paci. neither did i. he did suck on his thumb/fingers/fist for a while. but stopped very early on his own. so don't worry lar. whether paci or thumb they sure will wean off it as long as you get them too. it's a diff story if you just let them be lar. my 2 cents worth..

ok i go have a quick bite now first. tummy growling. tot can skip breakfast and have the feast prepared by my mom straight away when i get there.. skali this baby gal go and sleep while waiting for me to get dressed. aiyoh.. hungweeee!

laterz~

Famela
I've always wanna say this - Ana always hv so many pretty outfits to wear lah!
I visit ur blog frequently n seems like she's always in a pretty fashion parade! RN is not so fortunate. Still too scrawny to fit in most outfits and this greedy mommy of hers bot a lot of outfits meant for her when she's older, thinking she can wear them soon. looks like it'll b a long while more.

Think i can borrow Ana's clothes 4 RN once she outgrows! *juz kidding*

Tien
Cheer up! RN used to b like tt as well. Only CL can pacify her to sleep. When i take over, she roots and juz wanna suckle. I was a bit affected coz i know i am in for a hard time once CL leaves. But eventually things will work out. My mum was a super great help!

Siangjiao
my nephew takes the pacifier and oso loves to stuff his fingers into his mouth as well. RN is oso taking the pacifier and now her thumb is oso slowly finding its way to her mouth.

hippo
i'd love to hv Min giving RN a tip or two on how to empty my boobs so i dun hv to pump even in the middle of the night!

Ddnikz: thanks for sharing. I think that's the way my CL holds yx. But I realise she can differentiate the smell. But I will press on n give her more cuddles.

Famela: thanks dear.. It will be better I hope. Btw selamat hari raya haji.

Jrrt: my D-day is on Sunday! CL leaving. Actually kind of regretted extending cos it allowed me to procrastinated on a lot of things. Goodness bathing will be a nightmare!

Oops I hear her highness crying... Ciao ladies!

It's quiet in here today yah...

Famela: Selamat Hari Raya Haji... Ana looks so pretty in the dress and leggings. Girls always have cute cute dress.. boys clothing are always so limited

Andre went on a growth spurt yesterday. He was feeding from 1.30pm all the way till 9pm, in between only taking a few 15 mins power naps. Last night, he was so knocked out till he slept till 4:30am. I realized when he's on a spurt, i go on one too. Was eating non-stop and constantly feeling hungry. Brought him to vivo today. Had dim sum lunch. Life seems to resume a little normality *keeping fingers crossed*

Tien
Its juz a passing phrase. u will get over it. for me, i was ok the next morning. But i was lucky coz aft tt, my mum & MIL took turns to come over daily to cook my BF & lunch. Then aft which I will go over to my mum's plc. Its truly a blessing to hv helping hands. My mum still dun allowed me to bath RN. she baths her everyday...

Dear mummies:

Sorry to disrupt.

1 Medela Freestyle pump (US set) + freebies for sale

Used less than 3 mths. 26 Aug - to date
In good condition!

Will let go the pump with these freebies
- 1 bottle of GNC Fenugreek (150+ caps)
- lLansinoh/Medela Milk Bag (15+)
- Pigeon Breast Pads (20+)

- w/o breastshield at $380
- with Preloved Medela Personal Fit Breastshield Size L 27mm - $390

Collection at Sengkang/Tampines
Pls PM me if you r interested.

Just started using my Nepia diapers yesterday night. Not too bad. One question though, for the wetness indicator, how we know is already full? The original is Orange, then when got pee, the indicator turns blue but I saw small parts of the indicator actually faded away. Any advice?

Jrrt: well I hope my hubby will be able to help cos he will be hm. Might also go over to my mums place to solve food issues.

Actually got a dumb question to ask n it cld be up to indiv habits. Do you all strip your babies naked first n wrap in towel before bringing her to bath tub n wipe her eyes etc? Or u all wipe the eyes etc at changing station then bring to bath tub for the 'swim'? Or bring baby to bath tub then do all the stripping etc there? I realise I dunno how to undress her without a changing station or the bed. Haha... Kinda nervous haha cos so far my CL said my girl likes to bath a lot always happy. But scared later I take over change pattern she starts to hate it. My CL sits on a low stool to bath which I can't cos of csec so in terms of style cfm different. Haha see how the issue of bathing can get me all uptight?

Jrrt: well I hope my hubby will be able to help cos he will be hm. Might also go over to my mums place to solve food issues.

Actually got a dumb question to ask n it cld be up to indiv habits. Do you all strip your babies naked first n wrap in towel before bringing her to bath tub n wipe her eyes etc? Or u all wipe the eyes etc at changing station then bring to bath tub for the 'swim'? Or bring baby to bath tub then do all the stripping etc there? I realise I dunno how to undress her without a changing station or the bed. Haha... Kinda nervous haha cos so far my CL said my girl likes to bath a lot always happy. But scared later I take over change pattern she starts to hate it. My CL sits on a low stool to bath which I can't cos of csec so in terms of style cfm different. Haha see how the issue of bathing can get me all uptight?

tien: For me i bring the bath tub to the bed (changing station)and sit it on round chair. Then perform all the stuff at the same place. Wash hair, wipe face first before i put him down to strip. I guess no standard SOP for these, you'll find your favourite process after you hands on. It was nerve-breaking (back breaking as well) the 1st time, but after a few times, it just gets better.

Maybe you can find a platform of a comfortable height to place the bathtub so you need not bend or squat? Or get your hubby to assist the first time?

My boi also enjoys bath time, got him some rubber duckies today

just read back, and realized you c-sect, if the bath-tub is too heavy for you, can bring changing table to toilet instead? Like that, no need to wrap and unwrap

Tien,
For me, I stripped Jo at the cot first, then wrap her halfway (bottom) with the cloth diaper and bring her to the bathroom. Didnt sit on stool but on the doorway kerb and bathe her there. With the cloth still intact, I wash her face first then her hair. Then smack some water on her chest and back to let her get use to the water temperature before letting her down into the tub. Let her feet touch the water for 2 seconds before putting her slowly down. Then wash the rest of the body before wrapping back with towel and go back to the cot. I also C-sect, but I managed ok without much pain. Maybe cos' I still have the binder on at that time (right after my CL left, I still have binder on for few more days).

Tien
I also had a c-sect.. for me, I put the bathtub on 2 round stools. the water i would use a small pail to fetch to the bathtub, a bit troublesome la, but better than carrying the bathtub of water to and fro.
then i would wipe her face etc, then put the bath foam into the bathtub
then i would undress my baby totally on my bed (i dun have a changing table), and carry her over to the bathtub without wrapping her at all.
i dun squat or bend, i kneel at the bathtub so that my back wun break...

am backkk~

so quiet today? everyone went out jalan2 with family since public hol isit?

mommies, thanks for all the hari raya wishes!

jRRt: she's got lotsa nice clothes not because i bought it for her, you know? I bought only some. see this blog entry here: http://famelasworld.wordpress.com/2009/06/05/shopping-for-roszas-reference-and-mine-too/

these were the stuff i bought for in preparation for her arrival + ~5 of those plain white vests that u tie with ribbon at the sides. E rest my frens bought. They went sydney for hol last june, i gave them 100 Aussie dollars and they went crazy at e pumpkin patch factory outlet there. It's so cheap the $100 got them MANY sets of clothes! they even got her a fleece poncho for use in cold weather (?!!??) and a pretty denim overalls with red polka dot trimmings. they also bought many 0-3m sizes so i better quickly use before she outgrows them. if not wasted right? not to mention all the gifts in the form of more clothes from other frens and relatives when they came to visit. Lol.

aiyah i buy all cheap2 ones. $3, $4, $5 each kind. recently bought some carter's sets. all online. the brown dress she's wearing today is the most ex. BUT i didn't buy that for her hokay?? my fren did. i went to GAP to look/see and wanted to get online cos def cheaper with the spree discounts etc. skali she surprised me with the dress. i think you read abt that on my blog too? ok lorrr... she give i take. haha!

RN want to borrow? can can! later i do a sign /sign out system. who else wants to borrow ana's clothes? any other takers? hee hee

shugar: thanks!

siangjiao: yah! agree that boys have limited clothes. with adil it's pretty standard lar. berms and tee. jeans and tee. if wanna dress up a bit then polo tee or shirt. baby rompers oso not many different designs for boys. i used to envy those mommies with girls cos they can put on the bows and clips and all those accessories. now i guess finally my turn..? wahaha! errr.. just that i am a bit clueless. bought a beanie with flower for her, she oso doesn't like to wear for long. i think hot and itchy lar. SG weather not so suitable..? gah! aiyah.. speaking of which i just bought 7 leg warmers from a bp yest. 7!!? come to think of it, when will i ever get a chance to wear so often here in SG rite? so hot! think i got carried away. faintz!! i hope i'll find the chance to use them lar. maybe when i go overseas or sthg.....

Bathing baby: so coincidental... Just uploaded a video of me giving ana a shower on my blog yest. i'm a bit 'posessive' with my kids in this area. when newborn, i don't allow anyone else to bathe them. adil only got a bath from someone other than myself when he started going over to my mom's after i went back to work. hewas already 7 mths then. it's always me giving them their baths from the day they come back from hospital. dono why i'm 'possessive' abt this. i get jealous a little maybe at the thought of this special time cos both me kids lurveeeee bath time. always an enjoyable experience so i wanna keep it all to myself i guess. hee hee.. terokz man.

tien, you're right abt it being up to one's habits. and preference oso actually. I used to do the wash eye, clean face, un-clothe and swaddle in nappy cloth at change station, den bring to toilet (my tub is placed on top of my sink which flat and wide and long), wash hair, dry hair and finally into the bath with feet slowly in first so that baby gets adjusted to the warm water.

Now i do everything in the bathtub straight.. place on inner cradle, remove clothes and diapers. and i don't do baths anymore. just shower in tub with the plug unplugged so water can flow out. And the whole process is reversed. i wash and soap baby's body up then wash again. Wash hair and clean face last cos dowan baby to haf wet hair/face too long. i managed to video tape me giving ana her shower yest. if really nothing to do then can go see on my blog la. haha! but i warn u first, damn boring to just see me going through the motions with baby lar.

<font size="-2">oh, and in case anyone wondering, i don't normally use that big towel to wrap baby in. yest i forgot to bring baby's towel to toilet. then once she's in there and clothes removed i can't leave her so bo pian just use my towel first. (i am sure this is oversharing and completely uninteresting to y'all, sorry)</font>

See what works best for you, tien..? No right or wrong.

blurmummy: i'm using quinny. i bought mine from baby avenue at balestier. :D

mothercare also sell it. alot of places also have leh. Tangs, Taka etc even OG has it too! haha

haha lydia, still not sleeping? i just got back home from 2012 with hubby! hehee.. our last movie before confinement aunty goes back next friday.. sob sobz! my turn to go fix my 'gun' for shooting session now..

Gal: hehehe.... Moomoo duties eh? :p

Roxie: wow, went for midnight movie ah? Next time still can go for dates with hb ah... Just get yr mom or ILs to help you watch him for a few hours

roxie : so shiok. what movie u watch?

siangjiao : wah..growth spurt u latch so long? pei fu pei fu.

shugar : hehe.. ya..Moooo.. (to a certain extend) :p oh btw, e cream is fantastic. he looked reli a lot better.
face settled..now am targeting neck :p

Q on pumping :
eh ladies those who consistently pump like every 2 hr or 3 hr. do u get the same amount each time throughout the day?

n do u tink it is true that 1 hr after latch the boob will be filled up?

Hi mummies, something simple for you to try in case you run out of ideas how to entertain your darlings--> Baby Massage
http://www.babycenter.com/slideshow-baby-massage#1259315542116_0

Only 12 slides of photos. I used Johnson baby lotion (one of the free samples i got). And you don't have to spend $$ to get some weird stranger to massage your baby. My son seems quite shiok when i tried... so Happy Bonding! (Hopefully one day my son will learn how to massage the mummy back)

Tien
Hubby will hv to help. In my case, coz we alrdy got #1, so hb was v hands on. For RN, he was initially not used to it coz he cant "catch" her pattern. Now he can make her sleep liao. I am v pleased.
Ur hb will hv to practise, practise! He'll get so gd at wat he is doing if he puts his heart to it.

Tdy is coincidentally the 1st day i bathed RN as my mum wasnt able to pop by. Thks goodness Her Highness had a good night sleep (she still woke up 4 her feeds and i am panda-ed lah) and when i bathed her, she was all quiet. At times when my mum bathed her, she wld b crying at the top of her voice and we wld all disturb and say she is a dirty girl, dun like bath time! hahaha.

So wat i did was to remove all her clothes except diaper at changing table, wrap her in a towel then we proceed to bathroom where i bathed her sitting on a stool. But since u mentioned u had c-sec, so i guess u need to elevate the bathtub so u dun strain ur wound.

I clean her face &amp; bath her in the bathroom at the same time. I guess there is no hard &amp; fast rule as long as u r comfy.
Gd luck!

Famela
OIC!!! No wonder ana had so many lovely clothes and she always fill in so well! I am so envious lah.

Haha, u better start a system so we can borrow ana's clothings!
Heee...

RN does not like bath &amp; wiping down at all. Am hoping she will eventually like it. I've been telling her she will love it one day.

Roxie
i wanna watch tt movie too! But no time 2 do it b4 CL left. Issit nice?

Hey siangjiao, ddnikz, famela &amp; jrrt for your advice. Indeed, there's no hard n fast rule when it comes to bathing the baby. Decided to make full use of the combi rashule as changing station. Hv to sit on talker stool n put bathtub on toilet bowl.

Anyway plans to bath yx is postponed cos for some strange reason,, my wound is oozing a bit of blood suddenly. Seems like there is sone rapture. Quite concerned. Has been ok for past few weeks but last night could see pArt of the wound a little wet n there's blood stain on my panties sigh.. Last few days really haven't been going my way.

Gal: that's great news! My bb also got some reddnes on the neck. Now trying the cream as well.

Re pumping: I get the same amount more or less throughout the day. If got Diff might be abt 10ml like that.

Tien: hmm maybe shb let you gynae know about yr c-sec wound... Maybe get it checked? try to Keep it dry. Take care!

lydia, jrrt > yea i watched the movie 2012 loh.. its not bad, good ending ;D

shugar > i went amk hub! they always hv midnite movies there... good for u!! tink its gonna to be my last movie with him for a long long time.. my mom is busy with work... although she has 5 kids, she is looking so blur now with what to do with titus also.. cannot fang xing.. my mil is already taking care of my sil's two kids.. so wont be troubling her to help taking care of him as well =(

as for pumping, same as shugar.. the amt is +/- 10ml for my 3/4 hrly pumps.

for redness, i'm using gaia's skin smoothing lotion on his face/neck/arms and it works well too..

siangjiao> thanks for the link! its really interesting.. will try on titus when he is in a good mood~

Oh yah! Anyone wanting to get anything from pupsik studio? I got a 5% discount code expiring end of this month. Let me know and I'll pass you the code to key in during checkout!

gal: he was more like taking power naps and power feeds. My boobs never felt more soft and jellified. But i guess it was a spurt cos he was rooting all the time. Seems like both of us were testing each other's patience. In the end, both "Liang bai ju shang", both of us KO at 9pm.

I'm not a consistent pumper, but i know my supply goes low in the evenings. Boobs are more soft and baby latch on longer.

Umm... not too sure if boob fills up after an hour, i would say 50% for myself? Prefer to wait 2-3 hours so that baby can have a better fill

gal: i nv pump for more than 24 hrs liao haha.. very lazy to wash and sterilise the equipments.. have been latching 100% since thurs till now. on and off 1 or 2 bottles here and there haha. but ytd my hb feed bottle she was crying and dun wanna drink.. but previous day i fed her bottle, she was ok.

i hope she's not rejecting the bottle but rejecting the people instead hahaha =x

but v chiam lor. everything also need me to do. Feed, Bathe, even tuck her to sleep also me. sigh! and now it seems that burping also need me. sometimes my hb burp she cry and cry.. i keep telling him the way he carry is not comfy.. :s

Will like to ask 2 questions which may sound quite stupid to some of you.

Dish Rack and steaming:
Just came across a dish rack for bb items today that is without a cover. All along I thought dish rack is for after sterilised items. If without cover, it will defeat the purpose cos expose to air? Question is, after washing items, dish rack for drying then sterilised items whn required or use it after sterilising?

Milk storage bottles and normal milk bottles:
Realised recently that milk storage bottles are BPA free. The cost of the storage bottles are definitely much cheaper than BPA free milk bottles. If that's the case, possible to use those as norm milk bottles??

wah.. the fridge so huge! i wish i need THAT to contain my milk... hahaha...

gal: my pump amount is also about the same throughout the day. just that i dun ahve +/- 10ml differnce.. cos i only have 10ml.. haha... but i do hope its increasing! as for the 1hr.. i think so leh. cos usually i pump every 1.5 to 2 hrs... and sometimes i latch her 1hr after pump.. she still can suckle until shiok shiok wor.. dunno if she's really drinking tho..

SOS. blocked ducts. damn painful. baby can't clear. i pumped til nip sore oso cannot clear. placed hot towel, kneaded the hard lump DAMN HARD while pumping. did't work. i need help. any1 has mdm rokiah's no?? i tried the search fn but cannot find in archives

thanks mie!

i HATE this! i don't even know what cld have caused it. i tot direct latch usually no blockage??

i haven't been pumping. all direct latch. ARGHHHHH! hate this past of BF! sorry. venting.

<font color="ff0000">*ATTENTION*

Anyone keen for a pre-Xmas baby gathering?

We need
1) a place, any volunteers?
2) a date, any suggestions?</font>