(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

I want to join.

Cater food will be easier. We can decide on the place and venue, confirm on attendees and then transfer the $$ to someone's account and that person order food.

I can only make it on 20th dec. 19th i need to attend a wedding dinner.

Date
1) 19 December (Saturday)
2) 20 December (Sunday)

Venues
1) Annette - Lakeside
2) Roxie - Punggol
3) Astro - Woodlands (TBA)

Timing?
Astro (prefers 3-6pm)

Attendees
- Mie
- PY
- Loke
- roxie
- shugar
- gal^
- annette
- siangjiao
-Astro (prefers 20 dec evening)
- jRRt (only can make it on 19 dec)
- dreamygal (prefer 20 dec )

limmil: think its also better to separate out the milk from the normal fridge, i have excess of about 5 days of milk supply as i gave titus alternate formula & ebm feeds when he has breastmilk jaundice.. hence i bot a farfalla deep chest freezer with drawers from carrefour, $299 (before posb everydaycard rebate) it can store up to -20 degrees. since ur supply is so good, how about considering it as an investment and if not planning for another kid, can sell it off ebay thereafter?

mummies, i also store my bottles in a big big lock & lock (bpa free) container, with a water straining rack at the bottom.. and then the caps for glass bottles on another lock lock and breast pump another lock lock.. haha.. i m lock & lock fanatic =P

annette: the agency does not charge us.. just $30 for introduction fees. they take the 50% cut from nanny's first mth salary only.. i have a bad experience engaging a nanny staying upstairs.. hence i prefer of something black and white to indicate that bb's responsibility is clearly hers and no taking care of more then one bb which is mine. at least anything happens, there is agency to fall back on for discussions and helping u find another nanny on standby? i activated liao and sent u the website already :D

sigh, ytd my great grand auntie who has a flu and my young sister who has a throat infection came my house! asking me for mask when they came.. and this morning titus's nose seemed conjested..not sure if it's due to them or caught a cold in the aircon room while sleeping in our room.. i am bringing him to the pd now
(

So many posts no time to go thru. Gathering ah, must depend on the area before can confirm going.

PY,

My PUB bill go up to 490 during my confinement. Just rcd the bill last week almost faint.

gal: i think the baby was about 3 or 6mths. cant remember... dunno how he did it. i think u just need to know ur baby's cues.. then it'll be must easier. dun think u can stimulate let down faster by pumping the whole day leh.. just latch lor. if cannot tbf then just latch as and when u can.. that's what i do lah.. though i'm still hopeful for tbf.. but i think dun stress urself too much over it.. no point. ;) cos u'll still see baby's satisfied look with the fm.. haha..

ginger: hmm... about fashion sense.. angel got a lot of pretty clothes.. but all can only be worn when she's like 3mths??!! so for now she doesn't have a lot of clothes to wear.. i rotate the few everyday.. haha.. but the tummy binder is a good start for her to learn to keep her waist slim.. not like me.. eat too much when i was younger.. hahha...

mie: i'm not pissed lah.. haha. its just for fun.. :p

annette: parc vista lagi better.. haha.. i think its a very nice place.. and yes.. my angel also makes a lot of noise when she sleeps at night...

py: wah.. electricity bills at $400??!! mine was $129 and i freaked out already.. usual bills was less than $50/mth!

ong: 6.3kg for a stroller is a bit heavy wor.. but thanks for informing though.:D

astro: u hoping for engorgement is it? so u know u have more than enough bm for yh? hehe.... i think if that lump is not painful in anyway then its just normal breast muscle tissue..

woah. i think my pub bills is erm.. the lowest.. i feel so paiseh for freaking out at the sight of my bills......

py: haha. that's the good thing about 3rm flats.. the pub rates are lower than 4rm or 5rm. sometimes we sweat when we hit slightly above $50. haha.. but now i really feel paiseh lah. haha...

ong : regarding the ameda valve. yeah..am interested but need to check w u 3 tings :p (1) howmuchi? (2) where to collect (3) can i buy from u two?

hmm i latch at night so if i pump its reli v little. and he drink both boob.

loke : yes i know. occasionally will b v sien..coz' like u..i still trying to increase..lo. okay..can can..cannot cannot.

famela,
well normally block ducts will go off by the nx day or the next few days. Unless it's been blocking there for many days else i would tink is quite a waste of $ to engage mdm rokiah immediately lor. Glad u resolve your block ducts problem.

hippo,
i juz called up KP northpt to check and they told me model is 112551. u cant find it on taising website or anywhere else on internet cos i did a google search earlier on but no info at all. It is aro 1kg heavier than the standard lightweight version of 4.9kg as it have a wider seat. tink slightly similar to the model as shown in below link.

http://www.taising.com/Combi/CombiCS439DX.jpg

loke,
I have the 4.9kg one and if u hv a chubby baby then it will be a bit squeezy. I find it quite squeezy by aro 15-18mths.

limmil,
It's tiring to wake up at midnite but i been trying for the past few days cos i need the additional bottle to froze up just in case my ss went low when i back to work on 4 Jan. I only left with a mth to store up the frozen milk !

gal,
Will sell u the exact price i paid for plus postage. i would tink item too small to meet up. Sure can sell u two cos i got aro 10 pcs if i am nt wrong. will pm u shortly on the price etc.

Btw, i oso latch at nite but i find tat my boobs fill up faster at nite so tat's y i must pump in order to froze up tat extra bottle.

Me interested oso. Added my name below.

Date
1) 19 December (Saturday)
2) 20 December (Sunday)

Venues
1) Annette - Lakeside
2) Roxie - Punggol
3) Astro - Woodlands (TBA)

Timing?
Astro (prefers 3-6pm)

Attendees
- Mie
- PY
- Loke
- roxie
- shugar
- gal^
- annette
- siangjiao
-Astro (prefers 20 dec evening)
- jRRt (only can make it on 19 dec)
- dreamygal (prefer 20 dec )
- Ong

Couldn't really post much cos my cl is gone n baby yx was cranky the whole day! nv seen her cry soooooooo much. Same prob ! Resisting sleep. Her daddy is now furiously patting her to sleep cos she is really tired.

First nite of taking care was not too bad. Brought her out for dinner n she started to sleep in the car all the way through dinner n at my mums place. Fed at 12am n she only woke up once at 3.30am to latch on One side for 15 mins n zonked out till 7am! Think she cried too much too tired. Dun know it's going to be the same every nite.

Annette: will ask my mil when I see her. When do u need?

Re: Xmas gathering
I can't make it on 19th. Also having a Xmas gathering.

hippo,
ya, the one u interested in is definitely nicer cos is more x. combi have strict price control so $40 voucher is better than none unless u can wait for taka sales.

tien : play lullaby?

sorry i can't remember who mention after drinking the tea increase from 30ml to 120ml? which tea was that? the traditional medicine tea or the earthmama tea?

For the xmas gathering, adults and siblings are of coz welcome, right? And I think to be fair to everyone, the cost should be per adult and per kid.

Anymore volunteers for the house?

Famela>> i think we all dun mind ordering halal food.. pls join in la!

re: EBM storage

wont be getting a freezer just for that lah.. unless i can get a v cheap one.. factory close liao since i got a gal and boy.

my ss not as much as u think..**blush** hee.. its the consolidation. coz i super hardworking in latching and pumping mah.. thats why got surplus now, also i think my boy not drinking as much, so got to pump out after his feeds.

i realised dual pump has one advantage over single pump.it can help stimulate both breast and we can have let-down faster. my daytime ss only ard 100ml nia..sometimes worse.. i am relying on my midnight pump to store the excess in freezer.if one day can store 1 pack, then 2mths can have 60packs leh..

ong, i am tired too.but since already woke up to feed, then might as well pump out the milk. ah bo, breast hard hard, very uncomfortable.

re:ameda pump
who using that? what do u think of the pump? i feel the pump can nvr empty my breast efficiently unless i pump for like 1hr.

plus the suction sometimes 'sort sort' de. but overall still better than single pump lah

i tried using avent manual once when i was at my mum's pl. lazy to bring the dual pump out. then no matter how i pump i can only pump out 50ml for both breast.hands sore from pressing but less painful for breast.. hee

re: baby poo

famela, thanks for consoling me.. hee.. its my hubby who is more anxious than me coz he is the one changing diapers. to me i only concern bb got wee wee anot.to him, he is not used to bb not poo-ing. since day 1, bb will poo more than 4 times per day (big and small qty).

btw, i have not been taking any milk tea, fenugreek etc to increase ss.. i only try to pump as often as i can .. little bit also better than dun have.

i dislike taking pills.but think i will start taking calcium pills soon, to replenish the lost calcium from bfeeding.

mie / loke: what brand breast pump u using? dual or single? maybe u wan to try dual? its definitely better than single.

limmil: mine's a dual. no diff. i'll spend more time pumping using just one side.. cos each boob now only 20ml.. its definitely increasing after all the tea. but VERY SLOWLY....

baby is in her 6th week.. i'm seeing growth spurt. 4oz of fm can't last her more than 2hrs... but i'm trying not to increase the fm.. take this chance to get her to latch as much as possible..

famela >> the reality can't be further from what i'd hoped for. the last two days have been a reversal of night and day. plus, she has once again dropped bottles out of the pic and has screamed non-stop for e direct latch. very trying indeed. last night, things began unravelling at 10pm and didn't stop till today - 11am! she refuses to drink from the bottle, refuses to sleep, kept howling whenever we switched off the lights and tucked her into her cot. a true terror. i have come to a pt where i am taking this baby completely off the breast. no more turning back on this, as i don't see how blending the approaches would ever work given her stubborn nature. it is very hard to toughen yr heart against her screaming and yelling for hours and hours...plus she "pleaded" with my hb by smiling, doing false crying etc..utterly incorrigible...being completely evil with me by whacking the bottle out of my hands, covering her mouth with her hands and refusing to be fed etc...haiz, just being completely naughty. i've not had much sleep, if any, for the past two days and that's taking a toll again. wished i had better stuff to yak abt here but really, i am still dealing with an extremely basic and fundamental function of eating and sleeping properly. tough to probably say goodbye to all that i've managed to do with direct latching but i got to accept that this course of action is the best for her and for the rest of my household. to compound issues, and really, a direct link to the stress i'm having, my ss has dipped to. first time i am garnering only 50ml/breast and that's definitely not sufficient for her, even if she takes the bottle. meanwhile, the grand total of EBM she has wasted is at 700ml. so that's alot that has already gone down the drain

xoxo: oh dear.. sounds really bad... so its going to start from zero now? no breasts, only bottles? plus many crying sessions... this is tough... hope that with this decision u have made, audrey would understand your pain and be better today onwards...

xoxo>> it really sounds very bad.. and i think you and your hb must be drained of all energy having to cope with her non-sleeping behaviour. and i simply cannot link Audrey's behaviour to her angelic and innocent cutie pie face!

have you tried to put her to sleep with the lights on? im not sure if you have tried asking someone other than your hubby and you to feed Audrey the bottle?

does anyone know wat to expect in our 6 weeks postnatal gynae visit? will gynae do a pap smear? how to check if our womb has shrinked to original size, by ultrascan or internal vaginal exam?

i still hv some stains after 6 weeks after delivery. if got stain how to go for chkup??

xoxo : oh dear... dun worry abt ur SS now. can build up slowly. main thing is that she eats. its a difficult decision.. wish u luck n will keep u in prayers.

aiyo.. past few days have been too shiok for angel... so many people carried and cuddled her to sleep... now she's so unsettled.. can't sleep without being carried. gonna just leave her on the bouncer to sleep...

xoxo: Oh dear...please take care! Since you have made the decision just take it slowly with Audrey and yourself, alright.

Loke: Tell me about sleep! My girl refuses to sleep in the afternoon!!!!! When she has been yawning away...think too used to CL's rocking and patting...the my mum tried to imitate to coax her to nap but without success. So result!! If she doesnt want to sleep she will keep asking to be carried...and this is AFTERNOON! Sigh...feeding also haywire..cos she will fall asleep without completing her feed then kick a fuss when we want to put her in bed...then want to latch again etc...headache lor...hopefully that tml's visit to PD will break the habit cos she always sleeps in the car.

tien, loke,
sigh... everything that GF said about bad sleep associations i.e. patting, rocking, has been done to Min thanks to my maid. a bit upset now but kinda helpless since i couldn't supervise her 24/7. so since she's the one doing the night shifts and every other time i'm not around to put min to sleep, i leave her to do her thing. and so now she's like the only person in the household that can successfully pacify the princess and put her to sleep.
i've given up. so long as my bb can sleep, i dun care how.

just concentrating on getting the sleep hours and feeding hours like xoxolight. going back to basics. double sigh. ...

limmil,
me using ameda pump too. Find that it is lousy in clearing the excess after latching. However, quite gd in clearing my engorge breast if i did not latch at all. There's a thread mentioning that the pump is oni gd for ppl with good supply and i find it VERY TRUE cos it clears well when i hv badly engorge breast but NOT when my breast is deflated(after latching to pump out the excess). Nowsaday i pump more instead of latching since i need to have more excess bottle to freeze them.

xoxo,
Situation seems bad . Maybe u can put her at your mum's place(could be due to environment) for a day and make sure u and your hus r out of her sight for tat day. Sometimes different environment and different ppl may works??

tien,
Guess she could be too used to your cl. Anyway i believe situation shld improve aft she has settle down. Dun worry.

loke,
bb will get unsettle when they have a busy day. Tink after few days shld be fine bah.U seems to belongs to the firm parent type hor.

ong: yaya.. true, after latching, when i try to pump, nothing comes out from the latched breast. at first i thot wah seh, my bb so good in emptying my breast. but i realised how come my breast still feel heavy.

no wonder middle of night when i pump, i can get as much as 180ml above for both breast.. haha..and daytime is pathetic less than 100ml.

i do read the thread abt medela user sometimes to learn more abt the pump.

u also started storing excess EBM already? how u managed to store in ur fridge? me running out of space liao coz got to share with frozen food..

Looks like many mummies are facing same problem and unwanted externalities! For me it doesn't help that my wound is still oozing some blood or some yellowish discharge...feeling very helpless and quite down that I am not 100% fit to care for the baby.

I guess for me I can count myself lucky that baby YX's sleep association at nite is still in tact...it is the day one...cos her nursery is not dark enough in the day...and she is too distracted by noise..she knows in the day many ppl will be there to hold her...

roxie: thxthx i gotta ur pm.M's nose also congested since day 1 n only till this 3rd pd then she prescribe us with something for his nose.the previous 2 din even mentioned abt it,glad tt we change to this current one though

loke: hehe ya coz its a investor project,most of the residents here all foreigners n building structure not bad.ur bill super low leh

PY;i just gotten mine, its 399 this month my god ,usually ard 90 pre mth only.

tien: asap lor, then i dun need continue hunting.y ur wound oozing out blood,u over strain urself isit? check by ur gynae aldy?

janjan: 6th wk ynae will do pap smear test n scan to see if womb ok any cyst etc

Ong: yes! I'm using Ameda too and sometimes the suction is not strong enough.. But when my breasts are harden abit, the suction became better.. And managed to get the milk out.. Of it'd flatten or it won't really works. :/

hippo: i think sleep association is important somehow.. so that baby can sleep better.. and yah. u r right. as long as baby can sleep.. hehe..my aim is to train her to be on the car seat, stroller and any mattresses.. so i can go anywhere without worrying that i must carry her when she's asleep.

ong: yah lor.. last night cl put her to sleep on her tummy.. it worked! i think she's a little over stimulated.. she didn't sleep much the whole day yesterday.. i think if today she can't sleep properly then i got to put her on her tummy again.. it helped to calm her down.. at least she slept from 1130 to 4plus am this morning..

annette: oh.. i didnt know that about the condo. my friend stays there... and u r right.. the building structure is good.. design of the whole area is good. location is fantastic too..

xoxo,
its always a struggle somehow, and everyone has their own set of challenges. hope yours will improve really soon... erm... still adamant about the "no help" stance? i need my sanity and rest so if i cant handle it, i just take a deep breath, turn on the baby monitor, and call for the help to come and soothe her. dont feel very good about not being to pacify her, but hey i'm not a saint, so i try not to beat myself up over it. ...

Morning mommies!

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">Ah Goo Baby The Plush Pad</font></font>
Anyone interested to get these ultra pretty changing mats for your baby? I've been eyeing this for a longgggg time. But put off by the price. Only now find a good deal for it.

3315057.jpg

http://www.ahgoobaby.com/

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">The Diaper Clutch</font></font>
I'm getting one of these as well.
A nifty thing for travelling out with baby. Always good to have one of these and can chuck into whichever bag you're bringing out that day so that don't have to keep unpacking and packing the different bags.

http://www.thediaperclutch.com/

Good price for getting the two as a set!

PM <font color="0000ff">rach</font> from Sept thread for prices ok? or you can PM me also and i'll link you up with her.

limmil,
Me juz started 2 store frozen milk last 2wks n oni abt 1.4litres nia.i hardly cook so stil hv plenty of space n i using those bottle with 250ml storage in order 2 maximise d space. Juz ordered some avent sealing disc as i intend 2 use those 4 storage bottles as i hv plenty of them.

xoxo: oh dear. i tot u meant tt she's sleeping tru wen u mentioned tt she only made those noises after 5am... sounds like a very tough situation to be in there. hang in there girl. will pray hard tt it passes soon. in the meantime do try to get some rest somehow. and rest easy wif your decision. audrey will thrive no matter wat so go easy on yourself. *hugs*

will catch up wif the rest of posts later. baby woke up n me been online window shopping since early morning. hee

ciaoz~

xoxo, my mom tried to feed her with bottle and she dun really like it liao lol.. but i'm fine with it so far lah.. coz that's what i wanted in the very beginning to have direct latch

i'm fine with bringing her everywhere i go haha as long as my hubby is around

previously when my ss was not established and she was on 80% bottle feed and i kinda felt guilty that i'm unable to direct feed her

as what hippo has mentioned, everyone has their own set of challenges and as well as their own preferences and mentality haha.. hope Audrey will accept the fact that mummy is not going to give the boobs anymore! gotta be harsh on her ya

ong:

wah.. i now using milk bags coz not enough storage btles. i do have lots of hosp glass btles but max can only store 90-100ml per btle. then i thot by time my little damien needs them when i return to work in early feb, he shld be drinking at least 120ml le bah (hopefully).

but v exp leh.. each milk bag cost ard $0.40.

anyone knows where i can get cheap training chopsticks? i saw kiddy palace selling one set for $25.. out of my budget.. i only want the training chopsticks..

PY/limmil,
yah, this ameda darn jialek. Mine pump oso a bit "sot sot" one cos the suction button like nt working very well &amp; need my hand to press on sometime. Basically i feel that it is design more for mommies who pump full time instead of full latching. I oso getting miserable output and that y i give up pumping after latching. Now just try to pump at least 2 or 3 times lor and feed my boi with bottles in order for me to collect some decent excess amt. But pumping is a real hard job as compare to latching. Am telling myself daily to press on.....for the benefits of breastmilk.

I realised a problem here 4 full latching bb seems to hv inconsistent drinking amt via bottle.if feeding via bottles. Sometime keith drink 110, 120ml, other time drinking 130ml or 140ml. Seems like the amt always varies. No consistencies at all. When we latching, we have absolutely no idea hw much they drink cos our nip are just like tap. When they suckle, the tap will turn on and when they dun feel like drinking, the tap will stop. So is up to them to suckle whatever amt that they want. Now i am still trying to find out hw much he can drink actually.

sigh, din have time to read thru the posts.. hope all is doing ok.. let's jia you together!

i'm really zombified now..din sleep at all last nite.. poor titus, brought him to the pd ytd evening (ytd afternoon appt all full!), wow when i reached..there is already a long Q! about 17 pax infront of us.. no wonder the nurse asked me to go and queue up at least an hour before they open for registration at 630pm.. hence i reached at 5pm, and only managed to see doctor at 815pm! he has a very bad nose conjestion.. throat was sore too.. pd prescribe nasal conjestant and zyrtec syrup for his nose.. the bill was $76. i m tinking actually we dont have go to pd if they are so packed, can go to kk hor? since they are around same price..

my poor boy, who is always on the ball to his feeding times.. now have to wake him up for his feeds.. and feeling very sleepy now.. when drinking his milk also kept fidgeting... his throat is uncomfortable lah.. i on my humidifier 24hrs now with a few drops of eucalyptus oil (thanks shugar for suggesting this!! his nose at least now can hear the wet mucus sound..) hope he recovers soon! =((

we were carrying worried faces when pd was explaining the stuffs to us till she joked that she nearly tot her weighing scale is faulty.. cos titus gained 700gm in less then 2 weeks.. (he just went for his vaccinations on 16 nov) then we ending up with laughters.. wow.. now he is 6.6kg at 2mths old! sumo sumo~ pd say he is definitely above average weight but doing fine.. also commented his meat is hard hard one.. haha.. but i tink i will take up astro's advice.. wont be getting the rainforest jumperoo liao, really not much mileage.. the max weight it could carry is only 11kg?