(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

astro,
no specific timing leh but i make sure at least 2hrs apart then i pump. But today i lazy yet to pump so no excess yet. tink i gg to pump at least once or twice else no excess to froze for the day. tink pump work best if u r engorge and not after latch. at least this is true for my case. Not sure abt others.

ddnikz,
my boi do hv preference over the brand and he oni accept nuk and avent so far. Other brand reject.

Hippo: huh fifi is in her last days ?
she's v old Liao right?

astro
no, i am nowhere near my previous experience in bfg where i can yield more (again i am not tryg to stress u hor)... but i will continue to pump... even in the wee hrs...
u latch YH & pump oso rite?> jia you! did u mention he's lazy at the breast? so mayb tts y ur ss nvr increase? 4 me, RN built up a gd ss but stupid me went 2 decrease the ss & now i am tryg to build up again. ARGH! I shld hv seen it coming. terrible terrible mistake. else i can enjoy the extra ss w/o making much effort now. but lets jia you together!

of coz i wun say RN is drinkg every single sec... she suckles, goes off a while, then continue later... so i considered it suckling. I rem the deep & light sleep... but if i dun pick her up, her cries will not only wake my son & hb, but as well as the neighbours! i am so tired i end up latching her.

did i mention i intro the pacifier to her alrdy? since then she is less fussy & now i can tell better if she is really hungry or juz tired. If i hadnt seen wif my own eyes how she fell asleep wif the pacifier within 2 mins, i wun cave in. but since pacifier calms her down & she is more settled, i juz let her be lah. else i lose my sanity. sigh... its all coz of her latchings thus she roots all the time & is unsettled!

gd to hear tt YH feels heavy! to me, seems like only RN's head is heavier... imagine she's so lightweight & my arms r getting tird fr carryg her while latching. i hope she gains weight soon fr the feedings we r giving her now... haiz...

astro,
yup, the whole family already cry one round already. now she cant really even eat very well so we just feed whatever she wanna eat.

yah will power does wonders to supply. dun forget rest and fluids too. we tend to overlook that...

PY,
hahaha... u know we are excited when they poop. and its funny how we investigate the colour of their poop as well... we are so wei da as mothers bwahahahaha...

siangjiao,
great news at least you dun have diabetes already. but must watch diet still hor? should be ok one lah. just dont go overboard with the sweet stuff ok already right?

jrrt: glad the paci working for u.. ya. i am like u lah. cannot tolerate bb crying! and i dun want to keep latching.. so while weaning off paci is an issue.. just KIV that first lah.. haiz.

hmm. got increase.. but just matching to what he has.. no excess.. prbably because i cannot figure out a good time to pump.. co i scared bb nothing to suckle then routine haywired.. okok.. i think must slot in a time or two.. now pumping if i never latch abot 90ml.. which is just what yh needs as at 3.8kg if for 7 feeds..

hippo: yalor.. haiz.. very sad but it is part of life. sometimes i find myself thinking of it happening on me when latching yh. then i snapped myself out of it. and tell myself. that affect the ss! ha..

fluids.. have been drowning myself with so many litres of water.. rest. hmm. maybe i rest more. as in actually sleep..i try lah..

astro
the pix r sooooooo nice! love the one wif the cap! he got lovely eyes!

actually i can tahan the cries... my mum & hb cant! in the end i caved in coz i wan her to enjoy better quality sleep which will help her gain weight too. and indeed, i no longer latch on demand. at least its every 2 hrly now... more regular and at least i know wat i can expect.

true, i oso tell myself KIV weaning off paci 1st.. at least tide over this stage... else its v difficult 4 my mum... imagine i am at my mum's plc wif 4 kids... 3 adults... wah liew... v chaotic liao... when i go back to work, WORSE! so i wanna make things easier 4 her.

u r like me.. worried she got nothing to suckle.. u gotta find ur own schedule. 4 me, i decided to latch RN on 1 boob per latching, regardless of how long she latches since she can nvr even empty 1 boob. Then i empty the boob aft she is done... the other boob remains unused till the next latching. this is how i got extra.

hippo
i'm like u... at times can go 40ml, at times 80ml... but then RN can nvr empty my boob... i dunno wats wif this girl. but give her ebm, she can wallop 90-100ml easily... compartively when she latch on only 1 boob, means she getting lesser wat... but she can suvive for 1.5-2 hrs if she latch for 40 mins.

Managed to come in here for a while, but no time to catch up on posts. Very sleep deprived ever since my mum gone back after my confinement. Becoming a zombie now...

Astro, noticed you change your nick?? You must be sleep deprived too. :p btw, nice pics of your boy!

Dreamygal, same here. My hubby cant seem to be able to pacify our boy. But when I take over, baby stops crying. Hubby claims it's not that his style of carrying is wrong, but rather baby prefers my "milk" smell. haha...

astro : nice pics of yu he :D

tien : er.i not sure le.
my boy is @ week 6/7. may b growth spurt + low supply?
tis what i observed from the 3-6am but duno my guess is right or not.
3am - latch both sides. go la la land.
5am - latch one side. he go la la land..kenot wake him up.
6am - latch both sides. he will be awake but that is fine. :p

er..is it he somehow know that after some time the boob will have juice then claim at different intervals :p
hmm..but will that help to boost my supply?

the PM one..er..i think my supply went down. coz' i know i feel very very drained/tired.
is it odd that the 11:30pm feed he can only drink 120ml and go lala land?
whereas 6pm feed he drink 150 ml to go lala land?

i just started drinking the mother's milk tea. hope it works for me though my latching/pumping timing v off :S

see la.. once his poo is back to normal (looks yellow green seedy..but just a bit mucusy today), will bottle feeding during 3pm and 6pm feed.

sleeping through night:
wat time e lasr feed??

annette : have PM-ed u ;) thx!
abt FM, er..what FM u using? i currently use karihome goat's milk. he last 3 hours.
i read
Foremilk/Hindmilk:
out of curiousity, u know the foremilk and hindmilk thing.
if we pump after we latch and store as EBM. won't the accumulated milk be hindmilk only? does it matter?

Astro,

Nice picture. Thk this is a standard posture for kelly cos seem like all baby got the same posture.

Seem like all mummies is deprive on sleep. Was telling my hb how we survive the last time when Ziv was awake every 2-3 hours for night feed. Hope this phrase can faster past and we all can again enjoy our beauty sleep.

have not been following up the thread closely cos bz...

is the calendula cream still available for order? how much for 1 with postage?

shugar/boi190/sunnyling/gal/jrrt: thanks.. heh. my frens fromthe other thread are telling me yh is more handsome then teng?! duh. i dun think so coz i am jealous i can't find anything me in yh yet! ha!

boi910: bp over liao leh. nvm. titu likes to hold sprees alot..when she has drugstore again. i let u know

shugar: cute hor the cap. i think coz the cap round round. so make him look rounder.. plus that pose is his best pose.. :p

sunnyling: yet.. quite standard liao. but bbs are charming when they lie that way! :p

bluesea: deprived is an understatement.. but offhand my pea brain cannot find a better adjuective.. :p

gal: good question. i asked a similar question at doris. but i reverse it.. i asked about accumulated foremilk instead.. hindmilk helps the bb to grow.. so accumulated hindmilk is ok. in fact more hindmilk in the milk helps the bb to grow more and last longer between feeds.. so def no problem..

the reason why i asked about foremilk is because foremilk is thirst quenching and can be explosive if too much of it.. meaning a lot of wind.. coz got lactose.. and i accumulate my letdown in breast shells then i accumulate.. and hence i got 'worried'.
doris's reply.. this thing about hind and foremilk is at best a famous theory. yet to be 'proven' per se.. eventually it is still the mother's milk but consumed over many parts nia lah.
i ponder on this. quite true.. as in. there are n gantries or barriers which release foremilk milk first.. then hind milk.. right? they all got realeased atthesame time...
interesting hor ? :p

wah liew.. getting fed up with my low milk ssfor the evening feed.. think going to replace these two feeds with ebm.. arh...

astro! your YH so handsome!!!
such a mature looking face the one with his eyes open. he's got the smart look lar. aww.. shooooOOO cute!

hippo>> hahaha yah mummy so wei da .. eh yah lor v ke xi that min dun get a chance to know fifi and play with her.. but you can tell her abt fifi when she grows up :D my dog is 11 years.. but still as active i hope he can long live!~!

Angie>> yup! but now i need to go read up abt the poop colour lol

re: pacifier

nuk is the best?? hai i also v tired of keep latching her esp when she want to sleep.. but i think i read from someone that her girl dun like nuk pacifier...

gal: yalor. milk = milk. it didn't dawn on me till she told me.. ha.. sometimes we read without questioning.. kekeke. at least fo rme. i really thought all the foremilk will come out firt then follow by hind milk. like u know.. sheeps being let out! hahaha. silly me!

famela: ya.. i think he looks mature leh.. but close the eyes become chubby cute bb. ha.. ah teng not as old looking. he quite boyish.. could be the reason why my other thread frens keep telling me this YH more 'handsome' and manly.. aiyoh. poor YH. he dun have bb face.. me and teng both have bb face. features old never but he also got the old look from miser.. wahliew.. hahahahha

ok i pumped out the millk.. eh. 70ml only. but since pump cannot clear 100%.. i ASSUME there is at least 20ml insie coz not jelly soft yet.. wah. so accurate meh? i calculate for 8 feeds. for a 3.8kg. abt 72ml.. if want reduce one feed is about 90ml! wah. freaking accurate?!

annette

my bb oso same

latch on bm can onli last 1.5 hr, sometimes longer, depend on his mood, bt nt more than 3 hr
even if gif fm at nite, sometimes wake up at 2 hr, sometime 3 hr interval wor...

nvr once can slp through the nite de

btw

can i ask mummies...

is bb at 5 wk old still afraid of cold and not afraid of hot? my mom n hubby is still telling me bb is not afraid of hot, but cold,,,

annette: my kiddos all love being outside. like their mommy lar. they're better behaved and less cranky when out jalan-jalan. my #1 was liddat last time too. so i rem almost every day i'd bring him and walk to an fro causeway pt just to get out of the house. i was also feeling blue after the birth of my #1 and going out helped. i did this the minute i completed the 1 month of 'confinement' which was self-imposed.

you just practise? am sure soon you'll be zipping everywhere with baby.

need to check regarding <font color="0000ff">NEPIA</font> diapers again. those who have ordered, i rem some said that their cutting is big. Is their S as big as Pampers S? Or isit as big as Drypers S? anyone can advise? need to order my carton soon.

Hi mummies!! Shiok ah! Came bk from tampines one!

Astro: yh is handsome what! He is the small eye handsome type! 'ge xin' type! Tomorrow I show yx ok! Haha maybe she like! Just that my colleague came n say also want to chop yx for her 5 yr old son haha...

Gal: hmm can't really ans your question cos I haven't latched in middle of the nite before. It could be growth spurt though. Also dont forget growth spurt babies are sleepy too. Just curious long do you latch per feed?

famela: i was using NB pampers.. now using NB nepia.. and yes i find nepia nb bigger.. i think generally the cutting for nepia is bigger.. so i think nepia S will also be bigger than pamper S lor..

boi: eh. i actually forgot what comes together.. a CD will all the shots in low resoution.. and she has three different packages. maybe u could go over to the professional business thread. her thread is there.. her company is kelleysjy photography

tien: hahaha. ge xin huh? u sound so happy .. machiam liberated from imprisonment like that.. :p YX sure like YH one.. they match made in utero liao! ask ur fren dun sobatage lah. shoo!

Astro,
Know BF is best for GERD. Even will kick off the colic thing. Trust me when I said that I have tried it. That time when Kelly is here taking photos, I try to BF to let Jo sleep. To my delight, she is willing to take the breast despite of my short nipples. Then after this incident, I have hope on BF again. However, the next attempt is a scary one. Jo is a damn impatient baby. She got hungry and then immediately angry liao. When I offer the breast to her, she bite down on the nipple real hard. Haha.. no more offer already!

Ya, just got the formula. Super thick leh.. took a while for Jo to finish it. but so far so good, no screaming and crying after drinking it and she got sooooooo drowsy from the digestion. haha.

Btw, nice pix! Guess not easy to catch the expression of the 2nd pic!

sunnyling,
Pigeon one will change colour after wash? My NUK teats and pacifier has a diff colour after sometime (like a week?)

ong,
you offer silicon or latex teat pacifer?

siangjiao>> great news that you've been cleared of the glucose test ya! i took my OGTT yesterday and today my gynae called and told me i passed! heehee.. hooray.. we are just GD, not diabetic!

hippo>> oh.. im so sorry about fifi's illness.. but im sure if minmin had a chance to get to know fifi, she would have loved fifi as much as you did.. you can always show her all the lovely photos of fifi ya!

siangjiao >> phew! i was worried when i read yr earlier 444 post...glad to hear that you're in the clear now

cammie >> all roads lead to rome and i really respect you for being able to deal with the snag so matter-of-factly. kudos and while the grass always seem greener, trust u have read my post that bfg is not all that sparkling either. fyi, my bottle battles are back. i gotta put up with her yo-yo mood swings. grrr...

loke >> u got a pretty good analysis there and being sandwiched when trying to make a decision is indeed tough. what can i say...if u really believe in breastfeeding, for the cause and to that end, do persevere...

famela >> cuteness aside, i am now trying to snap her in one of her terrors...hehe, that would really be more representative of audrey in her entire mood spectrum....aren't we glad for digital storage cards..not those film roll cameras..?

bfg + exercise >> apparently this is pretty important as bfg mums are giving up quite a fair bit of our calcium stores to the bbs...and exercise has been proven to be more effective in preventing bone density loss than supplements..rats, i am so sleep deprived and not quite high on energy..now let me think, jogging i am not keen, swimming...with this bottle battler - does it mean both my hb and her have to wait for me by the poolside...ok, so this option is out....gym..hmmm..i did not renew my membership and i really don't enjoy working out in a/c places...alrighty, i can now look fwd to osteoporosis at 50.

Astro : Ya. A good news out of the many bad ones.

I like YH's pictures. Handsome boy.

hippo : My dog also just passed away. My lele have yet to take a picture with him. Do take care of yourself.

astro > er me too. i always tot that once he latches ..foremilk come first then hind ("fore"=front milk :p) then hind milk ("hind" = at the back/behind milk :p). lol. which is why the question.

why u wanna reduce one feed? the night feed? but will yu he drink more through out the day?

Tien > normally i latch 10-15 mins each boob. he will unlatch himself. er. but night time i oso blurr blurr one..if got longer or shorter....i may not have noticed. :p half asleep half awake. i dun even bother to coax him.

siangjiao / miemie : that's great news that its GD and not diabetic :D

xoxo : eh? i tot bfg will 'reduce' osteoporosis?
if need to exercise...jialat..

gal >> no leh...bfg take 200mcg of calcium from our own bodies' store everyday..we need to replace that. for me, i gotta stay off dairy otherwise the bb poo will be all bloody..so no choice, taking supplements. but that is still not as effective as EXERCISE... :p how's your babe's mucus-in-the-poo? hope it has cleared up!

Gal: try latching each breast longer. Think have to latch at least 20-25 mins on first breast to reach the hind milk unless your let down is good. If baby is sleepy let baby take a break
n stretch unswaddled. What I always do is to change diaper, my girl will wake up. Usually by then diaper is full then continue with 2nd breast for 10-15 min. Another way is to try feeding ebm instead of latching.

Astro: haha match made in utero?? Taught you made many
matches in utero!? Anyway I told my colleague yx got choped
by someone then she say she offer big big pin li
hahahahaha.....I was like wah! My cho lo za bo can worth so much meh??? Wah Liew...

xoxo : poo thingy.. still monitoring. sometimes it looked greenish yellow seedy but a but mucusy...sometimes its watery green :S but no fever. still eating well but er..dun seem to be sleeping well during the day. he lately oso seem to be having bad dreams. sleep then scream.
i had to run out from shower in a towel... thinking what happened. or maybe its the sound of lion dance passing by. what special day is today huh? i heard at least 2 of those lion dance lorry pass by.

its obvious this morning he is tired (after trying to burp him and pat him :S) . saw him yawn several times . now playing lullaby and rocking using rashule . (and typing here) hahahah... hope he zzz soon ....

any tips on how to pacify crying baby who is tired n has bawled?

arggh..exercise? sigh.. i not a exercise person. finger exercise okay la a.k.a. typing :p i think i am going to join u on the 50s osteo liew

shugar : no longer red however bumps still there.am trying to keep him cool at all times and apply the calendula cream

tien : hmm .. i got prob like what i told sunnyling. if my boy sleep horr... tickle feet,ear, chin, finger walk on spine, change diaper, wipe face..all he will still close his eyes :S any other method ? same when i feed bottle. if he zzz...after drinking 50ml eg. he will zzz till he wake up himself like half hour or an hour later to drink the rest :S

p/s: anyone reading baby whisperer (Tracy Hogg) ?

waaaaaaa half day 100+posts sorry if missed out any.Mil came yest n trying to psycho me to be sahm
keep saying bu she de to give to other nanny to take care then i ask her to take care lor n she said" ok la when u all wan go out then bring over n i take care for a few hr lor'!!!faint then said when M 1 yr + easier to take care then bring to her to take care lor n i go back work(She thought tt spinster boss of mine so gd to give me 1 yr leave meh) then hor tell me dun get influence by ppl, ppl said work better then u dun wan be sahm(refering to my mum) then i told her tt my thinking is i wan to work(hence indirectly means u dun come n influence /psycho me haha dun know if she get it:p)but again really hard to find gd nanny, anyone can recommend and nanny in the west?

astro/tien/boi: usually is ard8 feeds a day but sometimes 7 soemtimes 9.have been feeding him 120ml since wk4-now but he doesnt not full n wan more so fed him 100+20+20=140ml so now i think he need 140ml to be full,shall monitor again today,trying not to overfed him.liek yest dun know y at nite he super super cranky try all sort of mtd but he jsut dun quiet down hence 9pm FM(120ml)+BM(a short while coz keep crying ,check poo,apply ru yi you also no pt when latch he immediately stop then remove in 5 mins he cried again then latch him back same breast then he stop.not sure if hes really still hungry but 1ST TIME yest he zz from 10+pm till 530am!!! 1st time i have more then 3 hrs sleep ahha.dun dare let him latch too long also coz M can finish 120ml of milk in 10mins wo super fast lor. As for amt i ask pd, she said 120ml for him ok wo when hes wk 5 n his wt n ht is progressing ok .oh n pd said boi tend to drink more then ger,bb ger ard wk 4-5 shd be only ard 90ml.Wat else...ok hey i find yh mroe handsome then teng also leh, more manly look hehe.

gal: i din receiev ur pm wo. the cream named TOPICREM(Ultra-Hydratant Corps)(other then this few words, other words infront all in french cant read),200ml, in tube form, pink n white in colour,made in france,kidlink charged me 20+ fro tt moisturiser, initially abit heartpain but effective then ok la.not too sure if sell in watson guardian etc.

boi/shugar: acne is those redred with white head type.another type red red patches r heat rashes.Coz M then have both so i asked pd whichh is which.Then theres another type like whitehead type is due to the milk stain which itch n will spread

astro: new term again,hindmilk n foremilk!
M like alot of wind keep farting

Gog to have another bathing war with M again. Dun understadn why he so scare let me bath him

dd,
Me using silicon teat oni.tink latex might hv rubber smell n dun last as long as silicon type .nt 2 sure juz assume.

Set alarm ytd 2 wake up at 2am at nite 2 pump but missed it again cos 2 lazy n sleepy liao.hope i can succeed tonite.pumpg is a real hard job!salute 2 those mums whom can pump solely 4 more than 6mths.dun u all feel tat yr neck is aching?

Astro,
I love d pic tat yr boi with d hat!so nice.like tat pose.

woah.. this thread is really gonig fast..

hippo: i'm sure fifi enjoyed his days with your family as much as u did his company. like waht cammie said, when min grows up, she'll get to know fifi through the photos and your family!

xoxo: well.. abt bfg.. it requires a strong heart. i thought mine was strong enough.. but i was wrong. first, i wanted no epidural.. end up i relented. 2nd, i wanted no fm.. still end up giving it the 2nd day angel was brought home.. haha. i think i need to exercise my heart instead. as for the bottle battles, maybe we need another round of bb communication session. hehe.. is audrey in the diamond babe club?

siangjiao/cammie: congrats on passing the tests! just still need to be more cautious of the amount of sugar u take cos GD makes u more prone to DM too.. ;)