(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Sigh...not going to talk much here...modd a bit spoilt by my work issue...having some problems with the MCs...BIG BOSS coming back to hit me hard....sian...feel like telling them to send me a bill I just pay them back the salary...stingy boss!

Annette: I can ask my MIL if she wants to take care...she is quite patient and she is in the west...hee...but which part of west and when?

gal: i also dun know. pd said i listen lor.

tien: i stay opp lakeside mrt, where ur inlaw stay? she has been a nanny all the while?

famela: im so bored at home but whenever i thought of the barang to bring out sian aldy.2days ago 1st try really bad exp haha maybe no aircon he dun like.shall try shopping centre next round

aiyo.. any shack day.
12noon feed, he grumble by 1130am. so fed him 50ml ebm that i just pumped.. then latch. he normally drink 110-150ml. can't be he suckle on 1 boob that was just pumped can get the remaining 100ml right? then 1pm woke up again hungry. gave him FM..he drank only 10ml and now in la la land?? what de...
v lost liew. if he no wake up soon i going to throw away 80ml FM (lucky not EBM).

oo..got nanny contact? any good nanny around queenstown? :p me oso lookin for one.

Loke>> my sentiments exactly.. i had the same notion, to be epidural free.. but after attending pre-natal class, i decided to go for epi, but end up emer c-sect.. wanted to be on tbf, end up now on tfm! going to sell away all my barang barang that i bought for bf-ing..

annette>> i tink Matthias is scared of you bathing him.. probably the way you carry him he doesn't feel secure..

miemie: woah.. seems like we both on the same boat.. hehe.. anyway, dun sell ur barang first.. maybe things will be different for #2! cos now got experience liao.. heart should be stronger for #2 already.. as astro.. ;)

xoxo>> at least you managed to succeed with the bottles a few times right? that is half the battle won, a few times is better than none! i guess you just have to keep trying until Audrey gets the whole message! we're rooting for you here!

Loke>> i tink better to sell them away.. taking up a lot of space in my cupboard and keeps reminding me of my failed mission.. and dunno got pple want to buy or not, i just post first and see how.. :D
AND number 2's not coming so soon, at least i hope so la.. and coz i had a c-sect, my gynae advised me not to conceive so fast, at least for the next 9 months! so when #2 comes, and confirm no issues with milk ss, then i buy..

xoxo>> i forgot to add in, let Isabelle do some communication to Audrey! heehee.. Angel did it, and you succeeded that very night.. maybe Isabelle is more persuasive?

mie: sounds like a great plan too.. ;)

xoxo: haha.. let the bb communication begin! i wonder if they also ahve their own forum like ours.. haha....

hmm previously i asked a question about what is the baby normal temperature range and at what temperature onwards does it means that the baby is running a body temp? If someone knows, can please enlighten me?

also, can i check with u all, if u purchase a thermometer and which kind you are using?

ting: i got answer. it all in the archives! :p
ear temp, 38 above considered fever
armpit: 37.5 and above.

i got both.. ear thermometer is easier with older and more active kids

infant.. use the arm pit easier. coz ear thermometer might be too big for their ears

hi astro,

haha! ya! his actions are more than Badminton! we cant tell who he looks like at all (daddy or mommy) but one thing for sure, his character (fussy, inpatient and hot tempered) and his expressions followed the mommy! haha

i saw u went to kelly for photo shoot, NICE!! but nw my boy very big size liao, no up no down.. cos he still have to lie down but do not look like a newborn! so i intend to wait till he can sit that time then i send him for photoshoot.

hey babes, you all know how much the Combi Disposable breast pad costs? I have one box to sell, but I cant remember how much I bought it for leh..

astro, PY, miemie, loke, tien, dreamygal,
thanks. but when the day comes its still devastating and painful one lah. afterall she's been with me 1/3 of my life already. oh well... we are mentally prepared for it tho'

re: less time to empty breast
i wanna ask everyone this. Min used to spend like as long as 40-60 mins on 1 boob in the past. but lately, after the 6th week growth spurt, she takes an amazingly short time on each boob. like as short as 10mins and most of the time at most 20mins then she will unlatch already and i've pumped that same boob after and there's nothing left. so obviously she's taken a much shorter time to empty that boob right? but am just wondering why this is so. wondering if its cos my let down comes faster.

only need to spend 10mins to empty both boobs and i've been monitoring her poop - its the correct mustard yellow poo. so she's reaching the hindmilk...

astro
wah the calculation so zhun?! let me go and read the archives and dig out how to calculate... only rem its 2.5 multiplied by sthg sthg & divide by sthg.

I agree tt the pump cant empty breasts! sometimes i feel its not emptied. no matter how much i massage, still cant b totally soft. then got a few times RN still wanna latch aft i pumped. I told her tt my boobs empty liao leh, nothing much left. still she can suckle... perhaps she can draw out the balance. but she is not gd at emptying my breasts, so far she still cant. i am waiting 4 her to master this skill.

xoxolight
huh? exercise is gd for bfg moms? rats... i hate to exercise... does running aft my 3 yr old tod count?!

hippo
as baby grows older, they learn how to empty breasts faster. its gd news tt Min is able to do tt now. I am still waiting for RN to "downgrade" fr the min 40 mins... but i dun see any growth spurt in her yet... obviously not since her weight gain is so little. dun worry, Min is doing fine!

Astro
Eh i calculated RN's feeds based on 3.34kg... its oso 70ml!!! how come same as YH? anyway i am giving her 80-90ml now. hope she fattens up! sometimes she needs every 2 hrly, at times 3 hrly... as long as she wants, i give! and now at my mum's, she's sleeping more in the aftn. so hopefully wif a few ebm a day + better sleep, she can pass wif flying colours 4 the review.

hippo : Min experienced already.

My lele is also able to empty my boobs quite efficiently. My mil always ask me to latch somemore saying that he sure wouldn't have enough. But i don't care. He is not asking for milk more frequently, i guess he is doing fine then.

Don't worry.

ting: u are welcomed.. no lah i not pro in parenting. i pro in astrology.. hahaha

tien/mie: ha.. with a lot of grit (with the pain) and determination. i am trying to d0 it this time.. personal pride issue here.. hahahhhaa

wah liew i itchy fingers.. go and pull out his paci when he is still suckling.. ends up he wakes! aiyoh this nap always reltaively difficult to settle.. coz 230pm feed.. 4 he sleeps.. 5 he wakes to feed aain...paci dun work :S so latching him.. he suclkling!:S

jrrt: i said 70+.. ha..yh takin..78.5mlbut juz round down 70 lor..my pumps are 70mlone.. erm.. pump cannnot draw out 8.5ml? cuse after pump i hand express still got mik one

now stop suclking.. just fiddling with the nip.with eyes closed. :S
he prefers my boobs over paci but prefer bottle over my boobs!this boy!

Annette: My MIL lives Jurong West...really the end one...St 90 something. She is currently a nanny to girls 6 and 8 years old. But from what I know, my hubby and all his cousins were all brought up by her. She is really good with babies and kids. But hor need to check if she is really stop taking care these 2 girls first.

ting> ur bb so cute...haha..love the expressions

haii..to ease my mind (man...c 4 doc in 6 weeks...:p) i went to see a gp.

gp tink he has slight infection. gave wind drops, n sachet things that contain good bacteria. also ask mi to lay off dairy n my boy to chg tp soy-based milk. hmm...i agree for first 3 i.e. wind drops, good bacteria n mi to lay off dairy. but chg to soy milk? all tis while using goats milk no prob le? n gotta monitor for 1 whole week to c if it clears!! so long!!

DEPRESSED! Today just seems to be a bad day! Started the morning with toppling of my drink and wet my bed area in the room when bb was crying was milk. Then the stupid works behind me...due to stupid enbloc they are tearing down the old place...so noisy..couldn't rest...then the BIG BOSS issue. Now even more depressed when after feeding my YX doesn't want me to cuddle. Once CL takes over she quieten down. Happened earlier in the day too when she was resisting sleep...hubby carried she also kept quiet and can go to sleep while he pat... I think she hates me...........I can't pacify her except with my boobs...I try to imitate what my CL and hubby do but can't seem to work...I think I really cannot baby talk...I must be THE boring mum to her...She seems to be resisting sleep too...DEPRESSED!!!! So much for the epi and the painful nips...

Astro
i cant do manual express... dunno how to do it! but its said to b more efficient than breast pumps.

u all gave him too much bottle thus he prefers btls than ur boobs issit?

jrrt: he is impatient with the slow flow towards the end.. he doesn't reject the boobs..but when it comes to comfort sucking.. he prefers me.. horigible this boy.

Tien,
Don't worry. Things will get better. My bb used to "love" the CL more than me during the confinement period. However once the CL left and she has no choice but to stick with me, the situation gets better. She sticks to me alot now. FYI, I never really baby talk. Just speak to her often in gentler and softer tone

re: manual expressing,
Ya, realised too late that manual expressing is better than pump. Now want to sell away my pump also difficult. Sooooooo ex leh... and I use it twice only for testing... loogi liao.

Mie: tmc selling for $8.90 that's the cheapest I saw so far. I've switched to washable breast pads liao.. Damn exp if I keep on using disaposable man!

Btw we cut bb fingernails ytd but there's still sharp edges so we still put on her mittens.. Are there nail file for bb? Haha

Thanks gals for cheering me on for the diabetes issue. Well, results are not in the normal range, but not considered diabetic yet. I'll call it "Warning" zone. Life can still be normal if i watch my diet and exercise.. so i'm not going to let it bother me too much for now. Most imptly is Andre must be healthy (he passed the glucose test at birth

Hey, keep the pictures coming ... I Love pictures..
Astro: I like the 2nd pic. YH has a very bright and "dong shi" xpression. Next time sure charm many girls one...
Ting: Your boi also very cute. Must tell my Andre there is fierce competition around. Btw, may i check which software you use to put those pictures in the pretty frames?

Hippo: Sad to hear about fifi.. I'm always at a lost of words on how to comfort people in such situations. Our family dog, Hercules, is 14 years old now and has more or less retreated to his own world in recent years. I can't imagine the loss when he's gone... so try to stay strong ok?

Exercise: Exercise been at the back of my head. But i always have tons of excuses. The main one is i need to get a good support bra first. I think my 2 big boobs are going to jiggle, hurt and droop if i start running now

Hippo: Don't worry if latching time decreases... Andre also dropped from 40 mins to about 10 mins nowadays. Babies just become more efficient over time, and our letdown also comes faster. If your boobs seems lighter after feed, and baby still pooping and peeing well, looks active and contented, then no worries at all.

Tien: You are not alone. My baby is more comfy in daddy's arms than mine. Maybe becos my forearm is boney, so he doesn't find it comfy. Initially, i was quite jealous that he falls asleep instanteously in other's arm... but nowadays i just let my husband go pat pat him to sleep during the night feeds while i go sleep first... haha. Realized babies go in phases, today he prefers papa, next day its mummy. Don't fret too much yah

tien : dun stress.. mi oso same. my boy smile more at daddy n more comfy burping in daddy arm too. bb can feel our emotion... relax ya.

pacifier: Its still an open issue for me. Andre's fine at the moment (keeping my fingers crossed) But noticed that recently, he has been stuffing his fist into his mouth... very soon it'll be the thumb. So i guess i need to decide which one, thumb or pacifier.

Do you think thumb sucking is related to nail biting?

hehe, i think i must be a little mad here, but somehow i can't stand the idea of baby prefering another nipple instead of mine. (Sigh, another issue for me to get over)

siangjiao: omg.. so that means if baby dun like pacifier, then there's a high chance that they'll go for thumb sucking?? sigh.. my baby dun like pacifier.. i have not tried nuk yet.. but the tommy one she dun like it as well.

PY: umm.. i'm not sure if every baby will go for thumb sucking. But for Andre, he has starting sucking his fist, so i am thinking whether to use the pacifier to prevent.

siangjiao >> the software i used is Google's Picasa. u can download it from Google.

lydiagal >> thanks!

by the way, can i check with those who natural birth, how long does the wound (epi) takes to heal? i dunno why, but every few days i have a abrasion down there... so painful lo.. hmm, also, just a random tot, since our cervix dilated to 10cm, is it immediately after delivery it will shrink back already? haha!

Hi Ting, for my epi.. It took abt 3 wks to fully recover meaning i dun feel e stitches, pain or e tightness at all.

jrrt, dreamygal, siangjiao,
yeah my gut feel is she's more efficient. cos everything else is fine. and boob goes all soft after she's done. i'm just kinda worried my milk supply went down. cos after 10mins on 1 boob she fusses and cries. so i suppose i should offer the other boob. quite scared to pump too often now cos normally i feed 1 boob and pump the other right away. ...

PY, siangjiao,
yah lor what to do. fifi was still very active and healthy just b4 i delivered. like all of a sudden took a sudden turn for the worse. i mean we already knew he kidneys were doing so great few years back. surprised it didn't give her any problems. anyhow, she's been a precious part of the family and we've all had a great time with her. 13 yrs is already a bonus in itself so just gotta take it as it comes lor. cant do anything about it.

tien,
eh, dun beat yourself up over it. i also cant pacify Min. only managed to pacify her maybe twice WITHOUT using my boobs. i.e. feed her. my maid and mum can pacify her once they carry. but for me, no such luck leh. i just try to enjoy the time when i'm latching her lor... *shrugs*

Thanks mummies for your encouragement. Sigh I just resign to my fate lah.. Really hv to use boobs to put her to bed n paci her. Irony is I know she's tired but yet she doesn't let me pat her to bed neither can she fall asleep on her own. WHY? Initially she could but think now she has become too reliant on cuddling. Hope she will grow out of it...think I might be too impatient hoping that yx will be independent n strong n yet forgot that she is just a baby.

Tien: my situation is the same as urs.. Only my boobs can pacify her and put her to sleep.. I'm afraid she will start on thumb sucking think gotta force her with pacifier Liao

PY: YX is showing signs of licking her mittens already! Can really hear her licking away when she is hungry..quite funny actually.

Ting>> I'm using the Cadi thermometer. Can be used as a ear thermo and also to scan forehead for temp. Been using this for a few years.

As for wound, mine is ok after a week. Gynae told me it's just a small cut so perhaps recovery was faster.

hippo>> I think your let down is also faster with time. Just to share, my case is in terms of expressing BM. I used to take about 30mins to empty both breasts, but now I can finish expressing in 15-20mins.

Siangjiao>> Although it's a "warning" now, maybe another test a few weeks down the road and it's all clear? Wish you all the best. Btw, are you the one with an elder child going to P1 next year? My elder girl is and we just attended the orientation. What an eventful day buying uniforms, books etc...

chnyle,
my gal sucks and lick mitten when she is hungry also. Hence I don't think is accurate to say she wants pacifier. However, I learn that if I carry her and she start opening her mouth and looks like "sucking" my arm, she wants the pacifer.

Tien,
maybe you can try another way of carrying her? I learn a method from my jamu lady. Tried that and Jo simply loves it. Everytime carry her that way she will doze off soon - carry her upright, let her head lean on either your shoulder, chest or arm. As for cuddling, I read the below article and it seems that cuddling is ok to do it frequently ->
http://www.babycenter.com/404_should-i-worry-about-spoiling-my-baby_3446.bc?scid=momsbaby_20091117:4&pe=2UwRtda