(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Tien : hmm at 6.30pm today, my boy oso needed 150ml (he was still rooting after drinking 120ml). dun tell me his clock haywire oledi? after that he slept till 11:30. then 3 hr 3 hr. m latching at night.

:p i am playing lullabies fr the 6pm feed onwards in hope he will sleep longer :p guess not working :p or maybe i should play from 9pm or midnight feed onwards :p

bad dreams :
i been having bad dreams for the past 3 nights. is it part of post-preggie?

Tien,
from what i know, prolly miemie the only other one in the east.

hihi, for those mummies who are taking combination of mother's milk tea, fenugreek, and/or molitium to maintain or up ss, how do u know which one is working for u? or it has to be done in combination?

really envy roxie who can pump in litres! my miserable ss has gone down n taking fernugreek didnt help at all (i started 2 weeks ago, 3 caps a day). i just read roxie's post dat she started taking fernugreek from the day she is discharged. does it mean it is too late for me to salvage my ss?

tien: ur gal drinking 150ml??? my bb also started 150ml recently but he is 8 days older than YX right? at previous dosage of 125ml, my PD already says he is drinking "a little too much" and he weighs 5.6kg when he was at week 5. now starting week 7, i suspect he is more than 6kg already.

Angie: Throwing up milk? Think it is the gas....must try to burp more. I think one of the mummies suggested putting the bb down before burping. I tried that, it works sometimes. Most imptly, I think babies only burp when they are awake. If they are sleepy, you can burp from night to morning and vice versa, nothing will come out.

Gal: He might be rooting to fall asleep. AStro mentioned before. Think my YX is a little like that...she wants to root sometimes even though I have fed her for more than 1 hour. So, now when I see her tugging at my nips after 1 hour of latching and fidgeting, I try patting her and indeed she fell asleep a couple of times.

Ginger: YX's appetite seems to be a little strange. Last few nites she gulped down 150ml. BUt yesterday her 10.30 feed she only managed 130ml, then woke up 2 times again (so much for the training...sigh) and has 140ml each time. Problem is she doesn't finish all 140ml always leaves 5-10ml, yet this amount can't knocked her out more than 3 hours! Wondering if I could be overfeeding or underfeeding her...headache...

Hippo: If that's the case...will be easy for us as distribution centre hee...Once I managed to collect the loot, I just pass to both of you lor! I think both of us quite near each other.

all mommie: anyone can help me.how to make bb zz longer?M like needto be fed every 2-3 hrly which was told tt normal interval if feed BM but then every when i gave him FM(SHD LAST LONGER RITE?)instead it shorten, he crys for milk after just 1.5-2hrs
n at nite wake up twice to be fed n poo once

famela: wa u can bring bb out so long!! yest mum wan go mkt n we bring bb along n he cried like gog to get slaughter ,whole trip only 2 hrswo. today frd ask me bring bb out i also dun dare to.

mie: just to share. for my case when i total latching, milk supply high till when pump it hit 150-180ml fr 1 breast then coz M jaundice n cl said he might not have enough milk ask me pump out instead n feed him fr bottle so at least know the amt, i did tt for 3 days n pump every 3,4 hrs n my milk supply drop tremenously to only 30-40ml fr 2 breasts then i ask my gynae n pd they said if total pumping no latching milk supply will drop when i thought freq pumping shd increase supply. so i change back,5latching,1 EBM
n twice FM a day since 2 wks ago n my supply back n able to pump 80ml fr 1breast after eachlatching if no latching ard180ml fr 2 breasts wo. as for the thickness,mine initially during1st wk very thin, then i just eat watever my cl cooks n my milk thicken=when put in fridge 1/3 be the white n 2/3 the fluid.not sure coz of the thing i eat,cl cooked tt fish papaya soup, bai min jiu meat soup,xue yu(a type of fish they said super gd for milk supply but ex),vegie(usually brocolli n a type of leafy vegg when cook its purplish in colour the fluid, vegie itself is green ith abit of purplish colour), ginseng chicken soup(this i only drink twice)

mie/py/angie:is no poo normal? mine abit oily totally opp case wo.i asked my pd then coz M poo4times aday every day n watery type when i TBM, i thought M having diarrhoea but pd said normal wo coz TBM then when i supplement w tWIce FM 2wks ago coz of his jaundice, poo drop to 2-3 times a day n as usual pd said as long as BM poo alot wo, which theory is right?so confused.

Astro: M borned 3.3kg when full mth he hit 4.2kg. not sure coz he drink more but then was 100-120ml during his 4th wk till now 6th wk i fed him 120ml

gal: mine the cream no steriod,just a normal cream for bb n kids. if u still need let me know la,need be patient like mine every feed i clean him w warm water his face area n apply tt cream twice a day for a wk then totally gone now just abit if heat rash here n there.

annette: i latched all the time.. yet pumped out combined onli 90ml? ok.. maybe rayan dun need that much yet.. he is yet one month old. okok. patience.. and he is a small bb when borned.. so dun need so much milk.. i think.. haiz. ok. one day. one day. i will drown under my milk supply

ginger: ha.. i wun know which works! hahaha.. some like roxie.. only needs fenugreek.. others needs a combination.. it ishighly varied.. all these lactogouges (forgot how to spell).. in simpler words, milk enhancers

re thin vs thick
eh.. what is this ah? u mean the consistency of the milk? thin is because of the foremilk.. but when transitional milk.. meaning before u see the 'thiness'.. it is quite thick overall. mine was super thick.. then it turns into mature milk with thin foremilk and thick (but very little) hind milk.. so
mie: ur milk is normal. probably u already having mature milk and u seeing only the foremilk.. hence u think it is thin. actually it is not..

annette: i rememberd it iwas the many feeds. u have M on nine feeds? 'normally'..8 feeds.. so maybe that's why he put on quite a bit..

re: how much to feed bb
i find this highly subjective.. it is difficult to gauge.. what is a lot to a bb is considered very little for a bb even if they are the same age.. can only be a guide.. many other reasons.. weight?, appettite and even frequency of feeds..

weight, though there is the formula to calculate the feed. but think about this. even tha tis subjective.. coz supposed u have been overfeeding the child all along. then he puts on a lot of weight.. then u take this blown up weight to calculate.. he gets blown up amount again.. which makes him more blown up!

so.. i think.. as long bb pee and poo fine.. happy and dun fuss excessively.. minimum spitting.. then the amount fed shd be fine.. i think lah..

haiz.. pls look at my new nick? :S

Forum finally up.

Annette,

You need to make sure that baby drink enough in the day time so they can sleep longer in the night. My boy still 120ml now at every 3 hours

my baby used to do cluster feeding from 9pm onwards till 12am plus since he is week 3, and then he will slp throughout the night and wake up in the morning... but starting last week, it all went haywire!! he has been waking up at 12am, and was fussing till 2am, den 3am, den 4am... this week, he doesn't slp and will be fussing all the way from 11pm till 5am plus!!! then when he finally sleep in peace, he will sleep for about 5 hrs straight!!! OMG! i think my baby's biological clock went "Dom-Ba-Lek"! How ah?? i wanted to try not to let him sleep in the day, but it's very difficult to wake him up, anyone can teach me? My baby is 6 weeks and 3 days old now.

also, yesterday night his body felt hot, so i took his temperature with a thermometer tuck at his armpit, the readings i got were 32.19, 32.23, 32.37, 32.38, can i check if he is having a fever? and he will also want to latch on every 30 mins or so, it felt as if he is like dehydrated, very thirsty...

then today i kept taking his body temp the same way, the temp is highest at 36.2 only!!! how come ah? i tot normal body temp is 36.9?

how should we take the body temp of a baby? and what range is normal and wat range is considered fever liao?

PY/Astro:
Paige finally pooed today!!! I gave her some manuka honey waster. I mixed 90ml water with one teaspoon of honey. Dun know if it's the honey tht did the trick or just due to poo???
Alleluia

wow.. astro is now the zombified panda! heehee.. but who isn't? just last night i only managed to fall asleep at 330am..
this baby really makes me go crazy.. at times (especially in the wee hours of the night) i really have this urge to scream back at her to shut up and go to sleep, but as though that will make her sleep.. ROAR!!!!

regarding bm.. the bm that i express out is like water.. and no let down also will have hind milk?

famela>> im not beating myself up.. but i did feel super guilty and upset about not being able to give my baby bm.. true that they wun remember whether it is fm or bm, but rmb that bm is full of antibodies? im just upset that wadever i had planned did not go through.. all the preparation and excitement about breastfeeding came to nothing.

hippo>> yeaps, i guess im the only other eastie.. and i will go and collect my tub from you, and risk having all your neighbours' dogs go barking again!!! heehee

Annette: I have given up on the thought of my girl sleeping longer than 3.5 hr! That's the record so far. Even if I followed Gina Ford, it doesn't seem to work. Think bf babies are like that..my 5 week old girl is also like that each feed can only last her 2-3 hours.

But hor, in my case, suspect cos my CL wakes up at 1.30am to feed her and it becomes a habit...the moment she hear noise from her, she wakes up to warm up the milk. Now I am worried that when Cl leaves it's going to be HELL!!

As for poo, my girl can really POO! Hahah...almost after or in between every feed, she just poo! My diaper usage is phenomenon ok! Lucky got ppl give diapers during full month and nepia is cheaper.

Astro/Panda: So, which nick you prefer???

hello... I'm back again!

Yesterday night slept only 3 hours. Poor Jolie kept crying due to her reflux.

Angie,
Your baby's case sounds like mine leh. Maybe is reflux too? Jo has been throwing up milk everytime after her feed. but this is more frequent for formula milk.

Mummies, will like to ask a question.
For reflux, is it possible that I level up the baby sleeping position like what we will do for adults? Don't suppose that will affect the spinal?

Question 2,
Anyone tried bringing baby out alone? I wanted to do that but my hubb say it is not possible (after thinking through, sounds logical coz the stroller is 6kg, bb is 4kg, then with the big chunky diaper bag and insulator bag... all adds up to inconvenience).

re: poo
Jo has difficulty passing poo for the past 2 days. Finally went to my mum for help. Told me to give Jo so water then hold up her legs and start the "Mmmm...mmm" chant. It works! Jo's poop just blast out and though my shorts and mattress got it, I am so happy!

btw,
I am selling off my Medela Advanced Pump in style. Only used 2 times for tryout and I still cannot make it.

Majority of the items are NEW. (comes with spare valves and membranes)

Interested mummies pm me.

Hi Angie, dun think we can feed bb honey. Think they can only take honey after 1 yrs old. Correct me if i'm wrong..

PY: din do the 90ml in one go...she drank it over 3 servings...ie. she stopped and then slept for a while, got up and continued....

efg:
I also tot so (abt the honey) but coz I was desperate when she din poo for 4 days, today is day 5 so just gave it a shot.....hope it's a once off.

ddnikz:
she seems to be doing less of the throwing up thingy. Is it something normal or should I be concerned??? Trying not to send her to PD until her 1 month jab next week then tell her all the symptoms of babe, poo every few days and this reflux thing etc.

Ddnikz: hey I saw an inclined sleep cushion for babies with reflux a few days ago. Maybe u can try that? Wasn't very ex... I think about $30.

I read somewhere that one of the mums give honey to bb? Pls read the article below:

A baby's gut can't defend itself against the botulism spores, and so they can colonize the intestinal tract, germinate and release botulinum neurotoxin. As a result, honey is not recommended for babies under a year old. It's recommended that you avoid giving baby anything that contains honey, or make sure that the cooking process kills any botulism spores that might be present. To kill botulism spores, the food must be cooked at 240 degrees Fahrenheit (this requires a pressure cooker) for at least 15 minutes. Botulism spores are very heat resistant - it takes more than six hours of boiling at 212 degrees Fahrenheit to kill the spores. The toxin is less resistant - boiling foods (at 212 degrees Fahrenheit) for 10 minutes will destroy the toxin.

Angie,
I am not really sure. As far as I know, as long as the baby is not very serious, should be ok. Coz reflux is very common in bb. Mine I get the PD's help coz is affecting her alot - she cries after burping once. Think is the acid came up.

Shugar,
You are life saver. Where did you see the pillow?

Astro and Famela: KKH called me. I'm not diabetic WHOPPEE!!!! just in a pre-diabetic state, so i need to watch my diet going fwd cos its like diabetes in remission, higher risk of developing type 2 diabetes in future.

Guess will consider bf-ing as long as i can, cos that will reduce Andre's chances of getting diabetes in future.

astro
hahaha u become zombified now?

anyway in a bid to catch up on RN's weight gain, we give her 2-3 btls a day. She's funny lah. a btl of 100ml EBM can last her for 6 hrs at nite. in the day, 80ml can only last her 2 hrs?! so tdy i increased to 90ml. still only 2 hrs. then aft 30 mins she started cryg, cant b pacified at all. thus i latched her (thou i juz pumped 30 mins ago), shld hv v little in my boobs only. she latched 1 side for 20 mins & went off to lala land. meanwhile i alrdy got my mum to warm up ebm to feed her.

she's really tam jiak... last nite alrdy fed her quite long on my boob, she cried when i put her in cot, i latched again; 20 mins later put her down, cried... i was so angry i gave her the 50ml i juz pumped (to empty my boob) and asked hb to feed her while i chg into my PJs. 30 mins later, she cried again & i had to latch her. i seriously dunno wat to make out of this!!!! frustrating! she drinks so much but nvr gain weight???? where did it go?

at the PD, he calculated tt RN shld b taking in 2-2.5 oz based on 3.6kg (and she's only 3.3) and still its not enuff 4 her liao... now i think this girl needs 100ml in the day.

btw u weigh YH at home? else how u know his weight? u hvg a bb shower 4 him?

RE: Expressing
My boobs not consistent leh. sometimes i can get 170ml/3 hr (both boobs), sometimes 140ml & sometimes barely 100 ml?????!!!! at the rate tt RN is drinking, i wun hv enuff 4 her!

shugar always have good lobangs

tien: i prefer astro lah.. haiz..for yh. it is me who keeps screwing the gf routine up.. :p he is sleepy so will sleep full duration provided not hungry. but i always overslept.. or wake up late.. with teng last time i was more hardworking :p

angie: glad paige pooed but honey cannot be given to kids 1 year n below for reasons ddnikz n glad mentioned. teng at age 3 also not given honey yet...

ddnikz: jolie has the GERD? reflux is different from the normal spitting. but if it hurts the child.. like what you have mentioned .. i think it is GERD (reflux) liao..

jrrt: RN is not drinking.. coz she's not hungry. instead.. she is having difficulties faling asleep.. this every 30mins- 45 mins intervals.. remember? the light REM sleep to deep sleep cycle.. so to a certain extent.. she is indeed comfort sucking.. erm. i dun see her on the breast.. so i cannot conclude also. but it sounds like that to me..

but hey.. i thikn her endless sucklin does wonders to ur ss! 170ml! or 100ml.. i du nhave that.. and mr kong ah he.. def more than 3.3 lor..:S

i tried to weigh but my lao ya machine cannot make it one.. but somehow i always land myself in areas with bb weighing scale.. hahaha. coz jaunadice checkups ah, visits to pds ah .. etc.. ha. so i always weigh him lor.. :p
ya. having a bb shower for him

siangjiao: hurray! now u are relieved

Have not logged in for quite a while. How's everyone. So long did not log in to chat, don't know what to say le.

Lele doing quite good now. Still have to wake up once at night for feed but overall is good. He hates it when daddy carry him, will cry all the way. He stops the moment i take over. Poor daddy, he is so sad.

A good news is that i can now feed without the nipple shield (i have short nips on both side and have been using the shield from day 1). Super happy.

So far my boy is ok with night sleep. Usually will sleep around 8-9pm till 10+ to took his last feed and next feed around 2-4 depend what time is his last feed.

Maybe I make sure he have the same night environment every night. Clean up him around 7pm+ and will play with him a while and make him sleep around 8-9pm. Off the light, on air-con and switch on some music for him.

Usually after his milk, will place him at his bed and on music and let him doze off himself. So far try for 1 week plus, quite successful. You gals may want to try the method. Every night same timing let them play and sleep. So they will know that is time for them sleep.

ddkinz: saw it at The First few Years shop at paragon. There's an outlet at KKH also. They also have a memory foam version(same brand)also, but cost more than the normal foam one.

Astro: hahaha, now got bb, go out always see bb stuff n it's amazing the amount of things they have to make mothers spend big time!

hello all,
talking abt bm & ss, it seems that my supply is increasing out of a sudden ever since i increase my frequency of pumping!

I realised when i pump w/o latching i could get better output rather than pump after latching. seems tat my pump is the major problem as it is not very efficient in clearing my boob after latching as i always dun feel jelly like. However, i realise my pump can clear my boobs well if i pump w/o latching. I am using ameda.

I am starting to have excess bm now as i am able to froze 1 or 2 bottle daily so i am happy with it. However, my neck is aching due to the constant pumping.

by the way, i hv been trying out the infant massage for my bb and it seems that he loves it cos he stops being cranky the moment we massage him. Normally i will do it at nite during his cranky hrs oni.

So far me also only pumping nv latch for a month. Supply nv increase nor decrease. Every time around 150-180 and at night is 200ml+. But I still give my boy 1 time FM for his night feed cos I want him to sleep longer so I can sleep longer too haha.

sunnyling: always admire mums like u who cn tolerate bb crying.. i cannot.. find it frustrating to really effectively train yh to sleep by himself.. though i know at this age they dun cry for long.. so he needs apacifier to sleep :S.. miser ays i am inviting trouble.. wait he older need let him cio.. haiz.. hope he finds his thumb soon.. haiz..

jrrt: just weigh yh on my laoyao scale.. 3.8kg? ..but he doesn't look plump lei though he feels heavy certainly now

Astro,

Pacifier is much much better than thumb. More hygience and more easy to wean off when they older. Nv let them suck their thumb cos is very difficult for them to wean off.

astro,
agreed with sunnyling. I oreadi intro pacifier but my boi is not very interested except during nite time. Other time of the day he will suck his mitten. I still prefer he suck the pacifier instead.

dreamygal,
sometimes i oso like u dun know wat to say leh so nv log in to forum. great that your boi finally dun require the nipple shield.

Ong,

Same here I intro pacifier since few weeks ago, my boy not really interested must alway force him then he suckle for a while. Hope he can faster get use of the pacifier.

sunnyling: ha.. i prefer the thumb coz i have had bad experience with the paci.. this thumb vs paci is an age old debate :p. my older boy is sucking his thumb.. now recently weaned off.. told him cannot suck liao. and apply the bitter solution to his nail.. he took it.. and said it is too bitter. dun want to suck liao.. heh..
anyway.. i know it is 'unhygenic'.. and difficult to wean off.. guess a matter of preference here..

hey.. so ur boy uses a pacifier to sleep or just go to sleep by himself? without a pacifier?.. i am confused..

ong: heh..ah He.. hmm. will chomp chomp to sleep.. but if hungry or upset.. pacifier also wun calm him down. jialat..

938 100 789 4

Hi, my baby is 3 + weeks old, but she is drinking 110ml of EBM. My breasts could hardly keep up to date with her drinking. Plus I have to supplement 60ml of FM before she goes lala land.

My girl also likes to tug n pull at my nipple when i latch her. Thats why I decided to express out the milk instead of latching her on because it is too painful!

How?

astro,
normally when it's time to latch, i will pump instead of latch. so it aro 3-5hrs apart. tink mine supply increase by aro 40-80ml. Dun tink is due to the organic tea bag tat i bot cos the increase happen before i bot the tea bag. I just out of sudden tink of pumping instead then tats hw i realise the sudden increase. Last time i hardly pump out the excess cos amt is miserable . i pump at least 3-4 times a day now. If i contd to latch all day, i would nv realise tat i have the excess!

sunnyling,
me oso use force one else he won't suckle it at all. At least now at nite he will sleep almost immediate after ebm cos he is more willing to suckle. Daytime simply give up trying cos he juz nt interested at all.

Astro,
Didnt recog your nick. Was wondering why the mummies here all say you now zombie. lol...

Yah, Jo has GERD/Reflux. Def not the norm spitting coz the poor gal cries in pain after burping - PD say is acid comes up. Going to change her formula to Enfa AR. Hope it will help.

Shugar,
oh oh... The First few Years... Thinking to go there to get the Inglesina Rocker. Maybe I have a look at the pillow. Saw online on some of such pillows, look like not very comfortable for the poor baby. I try the Enfa AR first for these few days. If still no better, I go down weekend to get the pillow. Thanks!!!

RE: pacifier,
Speaking of this, any good brand to share? So far I have been using the NUK one.. so so only leh. Jolie also don't like it. When she cries, I put on for her but she sometimes angry and spit out the pacifier real hard (can fly real far...) before screaming at me. poor mummy here got to go search for the dropped pacifier and re-sterilised it.

astro,
best time to pump would be at middle of nite bah cos at nite supply is usually at peak. aro 2 or 3 am i guess. I wanted to pump during this hrs but simply cant drag myself up cos too tired so still latching at nite. However, i realised i am leaking badly!

miemie,
hahaha... my house minus one dog already. only left fifi. but she going to die soon
advanced kidney failure. vet told us its her last days...

btw, i think like what the others said, dun beat yourself up over the BF thing. qiqi will still grow up proper with FM. like you said b4, you and your siblings all grew up on FM right? so nothing wrong with it. in fact, maybe BF a bit over-rated? i dunno... actually my supply also not a lot. after reading what everyone has posted here... haha... i still thought my supply ok wor... but i'm not letting that stress me out lah. at least can sustain min on TBF. but i dun have a lot of extra to express out. each time per boob can be as little as 30ml, but can be as much as 80ml. it varies greatly at different times of the day. if i'm very well rested and if the interval is 3hrs then i get more.

astro,
you asked about the pork bones isit? to be honest i kiasu just try everything at one go. so although i do see increase in supply, i'm not entirely sure what caused the increase. so i'm just continuing to take all those that i can... sorry i'm not very helpful with isolating the cause for you. ...

ddnikz: wah.. painful.. the AR formula thick thick kind right? dun need warm water to make hor?
hey. eh. try continue breastfeeding? that is the best way to feed a GERD bb leh
ha. pacifier fly so far.. yh also does that. :S

ong: got timings to follow? :p ya.. direct latch but dun pump out.. wun know one..:p

Ong,

My boy also dun really want the pacifier at day, also force him. And day time he really cant sleep long I am still trying very hard to make him sleep longer at day but usually he just took cat nap sian.

DD,

I am buying Pigeon for him cos my elder use this brand so I buy back the same brand.

Astro,

Ya midnight is the peak, usually is the time I can pump 200ml+

hippo; aiyoh.. i will get very upset if my pet is dying soon

ya.. i know why he is crying..cluster feeing cum growth spurt.. anyway i think my ss is going up.. even if it is not. i will WILL it up!:p

ong: i see.. okok.. roger