(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Shugar: try drink more warm water,red date drink n hot milk lor. im damn streesed too yest for past few days bb keep crying int he evening time usually fr 6toard9or10, read up tt tts symptoms of Colic,have to monitor for a few more days then bring him to pd.for tt few hrs he keep wanting to be feed every hrly then cry after which n dun zz
then my cl said must be hes HUNGRY!!!!i feed him hrly fr 6pm n she told me hes hungry maybe i not enough milk n ask my hubby to ask me to pump out then i pump out only ard20ml pre side BUTTTT then tts after consecutive 4 tiems hrly feed leh of coz not much milk left rite
ZZZZZzzzz

Ewe:thxthx.i had booked an appt with him
u opt for 6in1 jab or 5in1 jab?his assistant persue me to get 6in1 wo, so 1st jab be during 2nd mth,shd be safe for bb to wait tt long hor?

boi:u used tt manual pump!!! i used avent auto pump aldy find it slow n neck ache wo

All mommies: is it normal for 2 wks bb to be feed 100ml milk?!!! yest hes very cranky fr 6to10pm with hrly breastfeeding by me yet he dun zz, cl said he still hunggry n fed him the milk tt i pumped out earlier on n bb finsihed the whole 100ml!!! so scare hes been overfed
any advice?

PY: wah, ur milk ss really alot leh.. how u managed to do that?

Re: Milk Supply
mummies, can check with u all how long do u pump per breast? and each pump will have how much qty for each or combined breast?

annette: wah, ur bb drinking so much milk le.. i rmb he same bday as my boy, right? i think my boy is only drinking less than 60ml per feed ah.. maybe only 40ml..

but he seems contented leh.. he will fall asleep after latching. then will ask for milk every 1-1.5hr.

annette: but i dunno how much he drinking coz i full latching while pump out the other breast (only abt 40ml per 10-15 min nia)

ya, its a gift.. i oso dun wish to spend few hundreds on pump lei, so xxx...

btw, u say u ops at 7 am? guess im reali 1 of those waiting to go in when u r push out

u stay in how many bedded?

hi py

i never mix BPA and non BPA bottles lei, mb the cap is mix, shall go have a look

bt ytd nite i tried tightening it, it was ok le

i oso agree tt they wont be so stupid to invent it tt way..

Thanks all for the reply.

Gal,

How come use cotton wool cos it might have some of it inside the mouth after cleaning. I buy those super soft hankie for using the tongue. Wash every time during bath time and night during wiping time.

Annett.

My boy drink up to 100mk in week 3 also and now he can drink up to 120ml.

Gal: hah close two eyes.. Understood lol

Annette: I dunno lehh not sure if it's bcos of my diet or jus pure coincidence ha.. I pump 3-4 hourly sometimes if good can have 200ml within 20 mins. I squeeze the boobs while I'm pumping.. Hope to empty the breast..

Too much also headache I dunno when she can finish lol

annette: my baby only 1wk and she's drinking 90ml already.. she doesnt get enough from me at all.. i got to SLOWLY accumulate my milk meanwhile feed her fm.. bm not enough then fm usually about 50-60ml.

limmil: 40ml/10-15min is fantastic. haha.. maybe its only 1wk for me. i'm only getting a total of 10ml for both sides.

py: donate to me ur extra milk lah. hahhahaa...

aiyo.. so envy those mummies who have so much milk ss..

suddenly i realised my boy might not be getting enuff from me.. haha.. Direct latching, dunno how much he drink.

seems like all bbs are already drinking 80-120ml per feed le..

limmil: mine differ wo,,right breast 15min give me 80-100ml left breast 15min give me40ml only. usually i latch him fro 30mins n he will zz for2-3hrs after each feed fr morning to late afternn then 6-10pm he be very cranky dun know y then fr 10+11 to next morning each feed now cl give him 100ml n he finishes all n zz abt 3hr+after each feed.n so sad ppl said i din give bb enough milk tts y hes cranky 6-10pm

sunnyling: thxthx my bb is starting his 3rd wk so maybe like urs he need 100ml now.u able to pump 120ml now?do u find tt life is so stagnant n routined now,feed him n pump milk,then we need eat bf,lunch n dinner n so large portion lor then red date drink every day 1.2litre n my cl said i drink n eat so little!!!start to find myself like a COWWW MOWWWWWWWWW so routined but tiring dun know y.when cl gone worse, need bathe n change bb sob.

boi910:r u refering to me?i wnated single bedded but full house n been threw to double bedded at rm 354B n gotta this rmmate tt snore so loud lor.

PY: u pump 3-4 times hrly!!!n each time can get 200ml!!!wahhhhhhhhh so envy

Loke: my pd said 1st wk bb drink abt 60ml wo ur bb appetite bigbig then u better store more 2nd wk end up 140ml wo.mine 1st wk only 40ml n 2nd wk 80-100ml wo

Bluesea:eek:urs seems abt the same,2nd wk ard 80ml

annette: wah.. when i express out for abt 10-15min using dual pump, both my breast can max give me 30-50ml per side depending on time of day.

but currently, as i am doing latching and expressing at same time, each pump can only collect abt 40ml for one breast. i tried latching him on both breast, but my boy cannot stay awake.will fall asleep in less than 10min of latching.

then he will wake up or cry for milk in 1hr time..

annette>> depends lah. i just finish milking.. only have 120ml haha.. i'm starting to let her drink the ebm that i stored in the freezer.. dun wanna keep too long.. scare quality drop haa!

loke>> they say if the baby drink the milk, will look like them leh haa u want Angel to look like me? wahaha....

limmil: 30-50ml per side is v good liao combine can get 100ml :D

i have the same problem as u.. she cant stay awake for more than 15 mins too.. tt why i'm going for bottle feed after my cl leave. if not i really bo eng leh .. imagine every hour gotta feed.. i no need to do other things liao haha.. i'm taking care of her alone after confinement.. =\

gal^,
I think CL too tired. cos if my boy drink EBM, he will poo more and she will have to keep changing diapers more. (faint).
So I'm giving most of the EBM to my 15+ month elder gal.
My boy only take 1 at most 2 feeds of my EBM a day since last week.
(upset but must tahan... next week CL leaving already... but if she leaves then I take care of baby and maybe no time to express).

Milk tea? heard before. But I can't go out leh cos doing confinement... and even if can go out... so far for me wor... I staying in Jurong (mountain top LOLL). Unless they have delivery service.

boi910,
Thanks. Good that you have a mix and match method. For me hor, (sniff sniff), boy boy doesn't latch anymore after we gave him teats. I think it's prob cos my nipples are short so after he used teats, he lazy to latch. So I only can Express leh... tho I wish upon a star (haha) that he can latch again.

annette,
I took 6in1. cos I don't want baby to take jab at 1 month... heartpain hahaa... with 6in1, first jab is 1.5 to 2.5 months. At least baby bigger then take jab I not so heartpain.

i have a question. If I don't have time to steralize pump, can I just use warm / hot water to rinse?

ann,

No I cant pump that much and I thk my supply is dropping. I need to give FM to my boy very soon which I am very sad. Been trying to full breastfeed him. I will sub him with FM and keep pumping until my milk supply come back.

limmil:not too sure.so far i only pump abt 2-3bottles using early morning fro nite use,dun really like the idea of keeping milk more then 2 days but guess have to start storing up. U try pump early morning n see if u get more

PY:120ml also very gd liao wo.ya shd get fr freezer 1st

Ewe:Yalor tts wat i thought also.so far he aldy draw blood 4times coz the pd wan make sure his jaundice is below 300
.better to sterilize wo,moreover u gog to store the milk.

Loke: u fed bb fm ah?my pd said try avoid fm fro 1st few wks at least wo unless those formulated by the hospital coz of the proportion.

sunnyling:im scare my milk supply will drop too if i dun breastfeed him at nite,will it?1just started yest tt fr 11pm-6am totally use those pumped out.

boi910,

precisely! even if want to see bb can wait till the bb shower or come in small groups right? anyway, i also damn fed up and stress up. can i just rattle off here to distress!

1) At the hospital, my mil rush down to see the grandchild, (new born dun look exactly very cute yet ba, the face stil a lil squash up) den she claim it look like me cos the nose is flat, round and fat... when i bring him home 3 days later, he look so adorable and handsome, she went around declaring that the baby look exactly like her son. (no more mentioning of the mommy at all)

2) My mother & sister came over to visit me 2 weeks later, and naturally they will want to carry the baby cos so long nv see him. My Mil said to my mother "cannot keep on carry the baby one, we do not carry the baby except for bathing and feeding" THEN, that night onwards, i spot her keep on carryin my baby and rocking him!! so i said to her, "eh, i tot you said cannot keep on carrying the baby?" and she replied for a whlie only.. NOW.. my baby keeps on crying for people to carry him! and i am the one who is facing him 24 hours!

3) in laws kept asking if i have enuff breastmilk for the bb.. actually i dun understand, everyone already know that breastmilk is better for the bb, but why still wanna keep suggesting formula? if u have something good, why wanna settle for lesser ah?! and wat makes me damn fed up is bcos the one who keep askin is my FIL!

4) for total breast feeding, actually not suppose to feed other liquids at all de. cos the bb stomach is the size of his fist. if u fed him water, he will be too full to take ur BM, which then will slowly decrease ur BM supply... but MIL so many patterns one, she wanna bottle fed him water, winter melon water and ginseng water! i stress to her if she wanna feed, must feed only after he has his milk cos milk is his main food..

5) the MIL and the maid, when i wanna breastfeed, will come into the room and stare at my bb suckling at my breast and aclaimed oooh so cute etc. den i will ask the maid to please go out and she will said i also have what you have ma... i feel like screaming at her "then you take off now and show me la!" super no privacy one leh.. even if i close the door, the MIL will open and come in to do this and that.. i am that kinda person that i do not like people to enter my room one. so piss!

6) does anyone experience this? my mil will speak to my baby.. and she will say in front of me that "your mommy so bad.. very bad hoh.. feed u such yucky stuffs... blah blah blah" she will do this whenever we have a disagreement like i wanna feed him a DHA supplement while she wanna feed the gripe water, or i ask her not to carry the bb too much etc.. SUPER FED UP LEH. i never tell my bb that his granny is bad ma.. i mean, why say such things to the young? BUT that doesn;t mean she can say such things to MY son lo!

annette,

Usually I give him EBM at night also but I still pump at least twice at night. Duno what is the cause of droping of Milk Supply.

Hi blessedcyn,

3 of my kids were all induced.. Wat do u wana know exactly?

Hi soh, its really up to individual.. I started pacifier on my 1st boy before he reached 1st month as for e second kid, tried giving him, he spitted out.. Lol.. The 3rd one, hv not try giving him yet cos i'm e human pacifier..

Hi Glad, im in dilemma whether to give my bb pacifier because my bb keep wanting ppl to carry even when he is sleeping. When we put bb in the cot, he will start to cry again. My CL is leaving next monday and i will be on my own. Thought by giving pacifier can calm down my bb. My CL was worried that i cant handle and even suggest me to give a "yao lan" for my bb after my confinment period end.

annette >> whoa..you 354B? i was at 354A..for 3hrs when i delivered. later managed to move to 352..taking over roxie apparently.

loke >> saw angel's pics
and another case of serendipity...her hospital cot with the piglet and pooh bear (they have themes but dif combi of stickers yah?) is the same as audrey's!

Soh, i guess tat's no right or wrong giving our kiddos pacifier.. If u r comfortable with it, jus go ahead.. Like wat most of my frens n i did, once bb is soundly asleep.. Gently pull e pacifier out. When they r abt 1 yr plus, try weaning them out of it..

Blessedcyn, 1st n 2nd kid was due to low ammiotic fluid n i was abt 39 wks as for my 3rd kid, i was induced cos bb was not gaining much weight, i was at my 38 weeks. I was already 2cm dilated n my gynae jus burst my water bag n put me on drip to speed up my dilation.

Blessedcyn, as for my 1st kid.. Dr inserted tablets cos i was not dilate yet.. She inserted twice instead. Y do u want to induced? Bb too big?

Hi glad,
because i did not experience any contractions, there is no show, water bag yet to burst and tomorrow is the EDD. So doc said induced.

Last week n this week, baby did not gain weight.
When u were being induced, they will monitor the baby's heartbeat right?

Hi limmil,

For each breast I only expressed 10 mins. The combined qty is between 60 to ~ 125 ml.
I dun wanna to continue to express longer as my baby intake is only abt 90ml

Soh,

I have start giving my boy pacifier but he still dun really like. So I am keep trying till he take it. For my first boy he also reject initially but keep trying and he finally take it after 1-2 weeks time. For me I find easy to handle for kid with pacifier and is much better then they suck they finger which is so much harder to wean off. I will give when they want to sleep and will take out once they are deep in sleep.

Blessed,

I have induce for my first boy and experience told me that if can let it natural lesser pain. I got no choise as my ammiotic fluid is dropping alot so got to go induce. I was insert twice for the tablets and it was damn painful.

blessedcyn, yup they will need to strap u on ctg to monitor bb's heartbeat. Ur first child ya? Bb is already engaged? Be sure to monitor ur bb's movements too..
All e best to you!!

Notice that some mummies in this forum is having problem in breastfeeding.

Please note you can pump exclusively for your baby if he/she do not want to direct latch. And the supply should maintain if you have regular expressing.

BUT... if you are too stress, too tired or not drinking enough water..... how are you going to breastfeed your baby....

Therefore, please rest as much as possible and drink lots of warm water/drink.

And one more thing, mind power is very powerful stuff.... if you think positive, you should have enough milk for your baby.... so STAY POSITIVE and HAPPY!!!!

Hi blessedcyn,

I was induced. Cervix dilated 1cm. Inserted pill at 9am Actual labour starts at 3pm (4cm dilated)

baby pop at 8pm the same day.
Induced coz baby estimated weight to be 3.5kg and i was 3 days before EDD.

Can i know wat do u do during baby's waking hrs? Other than talking to her? I am at a loss how to "entertain" my girl. She has sort of gotten her day & night mixed up and I am tryg to tune it back. Tryg to keep her awake in the late aftn so tt she can sleep better at nite. But i think she's getting sick of my face lah... and my smell juz reminds her of milk... she keeps rooting...

Its harder to get her to nap as well. she needs to b carried/swing/pat to zzz. wat a nightmare! the post natal blues nvr ends...

Hi jRRt,

I just played radio or music for my baby... sometimes I will show him flash card or reading the newspaper to him....

At time I will just leave him alone and will only carry him if he make noise...
Hope its helps!

xoxo: i was at 354A wor! haha...

soh: pacifier thing really depends on baby.. on the second day i already know my bb needs the pacifier. some babies dun like pacifiers. u can try giving pacifier. if still dowan, then should be some other problems.. hungry or diaper dirty etc.

jrrt

same as me, when awake, i dunoe how to entertain him, just try leave him alone lo and he has also sort of gotten his day & night mixed up like urs too
, bt i am not adjusting it back cos i find it hard to wake him up in the morning when he is sleepy and he needs to b carried/swing/pat to zzz.

and like what joyce do, I will just leave him alone and will only carry him if he make noise

Hello mummy

For those who are breastfeeding exclusively.
Do your empty your breast (with pump) after each session of direct breastfeeding?

I simply do not have the time to pump as baby need to be carried and swing most of the time.

Am afraid if I do not express out those remaining milk, my supply will drop.

Hi blessed,

I had induced my first pregnancy in Week 39 due to medical reasons. I had high blood pressure and was on medication for almost a month. But the pressure keep going up so for the safety for both mum and baby, the doc decided to induce.

At that point in time, I was already 2cm dilated and thus my gynae said that the chances of natural birth is very high. So I managed to deliver my girl natural with epidural. The whole labour process took 9 hours...

Hi Rooster & Moo,

For me I dun empty my breast after feeding. I actually schedule my expressing session.... one in the morning 11:30am and the other in the night 10:30pm.

I will not say the supply will drop but I will phased it as my supply will be able to meet my baby's need.... but if my other breast engorged after feeding, then I will expressed to relieve the pressure....