(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

boi
its normal for babies to make plenty of noises when they sleep. it took me a while to get used to for my #1. now its my #2's turn. they make grunting, light snoring and sometimes cries in their sleep. all perfectly normal.

py : i agree w loke. pass some milk ducts over. haha

jrrt : thx.
actually i find my evening n night time e worst. i.e. i m not well rested. maybe also due to him v hungry n his wails v loud. so v strung up to keep him quiet as fast as possible at nite.

i was trying to latch/pump 1 side and pumpout after most latch during e day. then was hoping at night i just latch n sleep. bad idea?

Hello all, my baby's 7 mth old and I am no longer breastfeeding. Have a Kadeka Chest Freezer to let go, excellent for storage of EBM.

Please see specs below.

http://www.kadeka.com.sg/cfreezers.html

Model: KCF 1H
Capacity
100 litres
Dimentions (mm)
W615 X D505 X H828
Energy Consumption
1.16 kWh/24h
Weight
31 kg

Bought on 26 April 2009
Warranty Valid till April 2010.

Bought for SGD348 including Delivery

Willing to let go at SGD170 Cash and Carry.

Condition : 9.5/10

Please PM me. Thanks.

Annette>> Today my L breast back to being the loser again. Haha...

Ewe>> My boy also poo-ed and fart shortly after feed. Think it's probably common?

Re : Best time to pump
I agree mornings are best esp if you didnt pump at night. For me, I yielded 200ml this morning when my previous expression of BM was 12 midnight. My boobs were so badly engorged that they leaked. Otherwise, the pumping session after a hot bath is also very productive for me.

Ewe: urs only choke during bottle feed, mine even breast feed he got choked twice lor, alwyas tell him he has plenty of time to suck but maybe coz i always limit him to30mins suckling not sure if coz of tt he kinda suck very fast.

Loke: have u tried drinking those papayafish soup n reddate drink etc? now my bb start to drink more n more im like generating not enough for him too

chnyle: my boi coming 2wks+, taking in 120ml now

Tien: ya my cl also cooking tt, hope it helps in generate more.so scare now i cant give enough to my bb liao

Bluesea: waaaaaaaa u can yeild 200ml.if last BM for me 12midnite, at 5-6am i can only pump ard 160ml

Annette>> 160ml also very good leh! Maybe as time passes, we will produce more milk.

By the way, your boy is drinking very well leh! Mine is coming 2 weeks old and he's drinking 90ml. If I increase, he didnt finish it, but if I dont, sometimes, he ma chiam like wanted more. Haiz... hard to gauge.

Ewe>> Dont mention. By the way, I also heard my boy's stomach growling at times. :p Mine really pooed and fart a lot at times. Imagine me bringing him to Polyclinic for jaundice check-up... when the nurse check him, he farted so loudly that everyone in the room could hear it. So paiseh lor. Then when I brought him into the doctor's room, he farted and pooed again, biangz... even the dr commented that it was a loud one. Haha... :p

Hello Mummies, how has your sunday been?
For me,i've reached a state sometimes which day of the week i also blur.. only can differentiate day and night.. life just revolves feeding, burping and changing diapers now

envy those mummy that can pump a lot. I agree morning is the best. Come evening, sometimes, i think my breast is so soft that i don't think baby is getting anything when he suckles. Maybe i should pump more during the day to stimulate more supply during this time? nowadays, whenever my breasts engorged (though not that often), i'll feel very thrilled

Oh, i tried tasting my BM once.. *Blech* so fishy lor...

gal^
somehow the mornings will yield better coz of a night's rest.

i think ur arrangement is perfectly fine!!!
To juz empty ur breasts in the day shld suffice to build up ur ss. Night time juz rest... its too tiring to feed & pump. I can hardly keep awake to latch as well. but during the days tt i hv engorgement, no choice but gotta endure latch & pump to relieve. i can lie down & nurse but my girl dun like this position! argh

chnyle
each baby takes in diff amt, so cant advise on tt. as long as baby can last 2-3 hrs aft the feed, guess the amt is a gd gauge?

siangjiao
hahaha, so funny! sometimes i oso lost track which day of the week issit... wkends can tell easily coz hb & son is ard. Heee...
the days juz revolve ard baby, expressing, sleep & eat. Haiz...
Eh i drank my own BM wif milo powder! taste better! heee...

RE: Vaccination costs at Polyclinic
can someone advise me the link to check out the costs of vaccinations at polyclinics? I searched but cant seem to get the correct page. wanna do a comparison b4 i decide to hv it done at polyclinics or PD. Thks!

JRRT>> I hv enquired about vaccinations at the polyclinic when I was there. According to the nurse, they do not hv 6-in-1 if you're looking for this. They hv 5-in-1 which costs about $80+ if I'm not wrong. My PD quoted me $470 for 6-in-1 inclusive of all consultations. Price difference is quite huge lor.

I may just go with polyclinic as my 2 elder kids also had 5-in-1 with no problems. I was told the difference between the 2 kinds of jab is that bb has one extra jab to take for 5-in-1. I'm going to enquire from KKH about 6-in-1 charges before making the final decision.

bluesea and jrrt, me also going to do vaccination at poly. enquired wat's the diff with the nurse at poly, she said the 5-in-1 is 2 more visits only. the jab is performed by a nurse instead of a PD

jrrt

btw, do u noe abt bb making actions when they r asleep? my boi sudden lifts out his hands or moves his body when sleeping, is this is a ntural reaction?

also, seem tt bb do breath faster, rite? mine seem to be breathing faster and sometimes like grasping for air..

Thanks for the advice, the reason why i was asking bcos some of my friends were saying that i overfed my baby and is not good for her. however, when i try to control her diet she keep crying bcos she didnt have enough. It took me alot of effort to calm her down and pad her sleep.

Re: Vaccination at Polyclinic
I am not sure which polyclinic bluesea went to but the one i asked was Jurong East branch. They provide both 5-in-1 and 6-in-1. Both cost about 200++ (cannot remember the actual amount). I am also advice to made appt for the jab, those w/o appt will not be entertained. Hope this help.

Siangjiao>> Yeah, if cost savings is so substantial, will probably go for polyclinic too.

Chnyle and JRRT>> I went to Sengkang Polyclinic. As for the cost, unless I see wrongly. They put up this small chart on vaccination/immunisation cost at the registration counter. But was quite rush that day... will be going again this Thurs for my bb's jaundice checkup, will check with the nurse/dr. :p

By the way, Chnyle, my PD told me before that babies hv growth spurts. Your bb may be having hers now, that's why drinking more milk. Was told to give what the bb demands. For some bbs, they may not take a lot of milk now, but maybe in another mth or 2, they will catch up on milk intake. So I think you need not worry as long as your bb is happy after the milk feed.

I have finally popped on 29 Oct (according to my wishes to have an Oct baby!!!

Paige birth weight was 2.93kg and was 48cm in length. I just got home yesterday. Last nite was our first nite of taking care of her and was quite an experience!

Now I'm struggling with engorgement...my nipples are too short so she can't suckle so had to have her go on FM. THis evening, managed to express a few drops and fed her, I was so happy!!! Will have to keep doing it for the whole nite to ease off the engorgement...sigh.

Will give you details of my birth story soon!!!

hi angie! congrats! you've got your wish! u might want to use hand express for engorgement. can massage and express at the same time.

py: she really dun have enough to drink, not even if i express by hand or pump.. so i had to intro bottle.

annette: i think the reddate drink everyday leh. papaya not yet though..

Just had a scary experience just now. My baby after drinking milk, burped and sneezed then stiffen up her neck and keep opening her mouth like something stuck in her throat... hubby and I quickly changed and wanted to rushed to Mt A Emergency. She just looked at us and open her mouth and give us the impression that she cannot breathe...luckily after a few minutes, she loosened up....So now we are observing her...very worrying....

Sorry to interupt...Anyone interested in Drypers S size diapers at low prices?

Collection is at Yew Tee/CCK.

Interested pls PM me.
Many tks "-)

Hi angie,
congrats... just relax during BF and bb will enjoy their BF sessions. This is what Mdm Rokiah teach when she came to help release my engorggement last wk and teach the correct latching. My bb refuse to latch my right and seem like now she enjoy both breast. Mdm Rokiah advise not to latch when bb is hungry or angry. Compress with hot towel b4 latching so that will have better flow. Mayb you could call her for help.hp 92716091

angie : congrats!

annetay: er..how not to latch when bb is hungry or angry? when he start making noise..few seconds later start wailing already.

Finally managed to come in here. Today is the official day i have to start handling 2 kids alone. Wish me luck.

Congrats Angie. I've got short nipples as well and i use the nipple shield. My boy managed to suckle well when i put the nipple shield on. Earlier when i was in the hospital, i bleed after he latched on.

Buesea: im not sure if cl overfed him leh, she told me fed him 80ml he still dun wan zz, still wanna suck more then she fed him another few ml n so far for 2 days he took in 120ml wo per feed. but then daytime i only feed him30mins at 1 breast leh, n 1 breast even i pump dun give me 120ml ma tts y im so puzzle.then 1 day i can only pump enough fro tt nite nvr have excess to store in freezer.

Siangjiao: i tried mine,its so bland leh no smell no taste leh.

Bluesea: Re : Jabs
If u opt fro 5in1.1st mth bb need TB 2nd dose jab, then 3 5in1 jab then 1 more TB 3rd dose total 5 jabs from what i understand but din enquire price yet. if 6in1, start 1st jab after6th wk n total 3 jabs.

ALl mommies:
Re: Massage lady
anyone heard of thsiu massage lady named Sadiah?

Re: White heads/pimples on bb 's afce
Any of ur bb has those white heads/pimples like popping on the face n neck? My bb face full of it now so scare, cl said tts normal all bb will have n mine consider not alot aldy, some bb worse. then she told me to get a cream thingy for him to apply, shd i?If not she said thsi type will spread?

Congrats Angie! Finally ah. Are you the last Oct mummy to pop?

Annette, that's normal. Your baby has baby acne. Actually if u don't do anything it will go away by itself. Some babies has this, some don't.

Dreamgal, wa, you solid la. Taking care 2 kids on your own? How old is ur elder? I don't think i can do that without losing my limited sleeping time (I'm already surviving on a less than 8 hours of sleep per day) and w/o ignoring one of them. Do share with me how you do it. Currently relying on mil and maid.

Re: low milk ss

hey my cl told me dried oysters help to increase ss. She said she cook for the mum to eat 9/10 eat all got alot of milk.. U all may wish to try? Can cook mee sua or soup. But she say dun tell the seller that it will increase ss if nt next time the price sure increase, just like the fish bone lol

Angie>> Congrats!

Annette>> I like to feed my boy ebm as I know how much exactly he is taking. However, I will still latch him on at times to stimulate supply. Also, I'm the human pacifier, find that he will doze off faster with latching.

As for jabs... yeah, was told 6-in-1 come with less jabs for the baby but if price is so much different, then I may just go for 5-in-1 instead.

My boy also had a white head on his face. PD had seen him and said it's normal. I hv bought a cream from PD to apply. Alternatively, PD said nappy rash cream could also be applied but so far, I hvt try that.

Dreamygal: next week I'm gg to handle her alone Liao dunno if I can manage not.. Hmmm u Jia you I believe glynnis will help u de

Bluesea: ya my bb doze off faster with latching too. She can't really latch well when she's really hungry lol.. Suckle awhile then will get frustrated

Anne, we can just call mdm rokiah for advise w/o engaging her service? I desperately need advise as my girl still refuse to latch. I really hate expressing ah. I tot I succeeded in bf my elder girl and for sure no problem with no. 2. I was so wrong. My girl is clearly having nipple confusion! It's so ironic, I can't latch this time round but blessed with so much milk! For my 1st pregnancy can latch but supply took so long to establish.

Hi mummies!!
Congrats Angie!

Dreamygal: Hmmm good luck! Hee...but stay cool, calm and zen...one bb I already pulling my hair out even with CL around...2? Hmm waiting for you share experience!

Aria_Jo: You can call up breastfeeding.org for phone consulation. They are very helpful If you are directed to a voicemail just leave a message they will call you back.

Re: Latch when bb is hungry or angry
So, far I find it easier to latch my girl when she is angry or hungry hahah...cos that's when she opens her tiny mouth big. But when I coax her, I soften my voice to make it less scary for her...realise that she is the demand feed kind..but so far timing quite regular...if she feed well for about 15-20 mins..it shld last her 2-3 hours.

Hmmm...this morning latch bb in left side of breast and tried pumping my right which I thought is quite full but turned out I only managed 40 ml?! When will I hit more than 100 ml per breast hahah...

Hi mummies!!
Congrats Angie!

Dreamygal: Hmmm good luck! Hee...but stay cool, calm and zen...one bb I already pulling my hair out even with CL around...2? Hmm waiting for you share experience!

Aria_Jo: You can call up breastfeeding.org for phone consulation. They are very helpful If you are directed to a voicemail just leave a message they will call you back.

Re: Latch when bb is hungry or angry
So, far I find it easier to latch my girl when she is angry or hungry hahah...cos that's when she opens her tiny mouth big. But when I coax her, I soften my voice to make it less scary for her...realise that she is the demand feed kind..but so far timing quite regular...if she feed well for about 15-20 mins..it shld last her 2-3 hours.

Hmmm...this morning latch bb in left side of breast and tried pumping my right which I thought is quite full but turned out I only managed 40 ml?! When will I hit more than 100 ml per breast hahah...

can call the NHG polyclinic hotline to enquire on the vaccination cost. i tried before. they have 6in1 jab too. i think it was $300+ for the entire course.

my boy also have whiteheads/rashes like. but my mum say its common for babies and it will go away. actually they do, after a few days. but will grow some at other areas of the face. i think it's normal? just rem to clean baby's face?
i also suspected whether my bath soap was too strong.

boi
when u mean ur boy lifts his hands, they r unswaddled rite? My girl makes all sorts of sudden jerking movements eg lifting her hands, startled etc when we unswaddle her in her daytime naps. its normal.
and my mum always say when they keep stretching, they will grow up faster. old wives tales lah.

siangkiao & bluesea
yeah i know its quite substantial difference... still deciding...

angie
CONGRATS!!!

wat a scary experience wif a NB... muz keep a close look on baby...

Angie: Congrats! Hope baby is well now.

Dreamygal: Good luck to you! Wish me luck too, today is the 1st day at home with baby

Gal:same here, normally when my baby wakes up, he will make a little noise. Before you know it, he'll be bawling. Need to stuff my nipple in his mouth otherwise the whole neighbourhood can hear.

py and bluesea: my baby also falls asleep faster when he's latched on. Sometimes he refuses to sleep, but clearly not hungry, i'll still let him suckle suckle until he nod off (not recommended though cos it might become habitual)

Anyone feel it's harder to make baby sleep after 1st month? Sometimes i rock him in my arms until i fall asleep myself

Morning mummies...
Long time never come in liao. Was busy learning from my CL how to take care of bb since she leaving soon >.<

Tien,
Good information. Thanks alot... Was wondering if I should keep pumping every 2 hours. Think I just keep to my own schedule. The red date tea, I ask my CL to omit the longan. Else drink liao too heaty will sure get constipation man!!

For the fish soup, my CL makes nice steam Ngor Her leh.. have been eating it every day too. So far not sick of it yet.

re: massage
Aiyo. Talk about this massage thing I super gek sim. Was looking forward to it. But one day before my massage day, the lady called me say got severe eye infection. Already 5 days passed and she still havt recover. Now got to wait for 1 more week cos baby's full month coming and will be busy with the cake distribution. Sigh... No hope for my fat body liao...

SJ
mine is only 2 wks old n we're alrdy rockg her 2 zzz. sigh!

and yes, its harder 2 make them zzz aft they turn 1 mth old.... and i'm dreadg it!

ddnikz
u expressing at 2 hrly? then ur ss might b v gd now!

I have a tin of newly opened Similac 1 for sale. Opened for 1 week cos bb not suitable. Selling at $30. Self collect at CCK crescent. PM me if u are interested.

jRRt,
Nope... not 2 hrly. I express once in the morning, then afternoon around 1pm... then later 7pm and last round is 10pm. kekeke, my ss not very high leh. only morning time ok... minimum should have 170 (both sides). Then the rest is 60 to 70 each round. Will wait for like 1+ hour before I express again for the tiny bit to make up for the outstanding amount to 90 ml.

ddnikz: Wah you very hardworking lor...pump every 2 hr? I personallu prefer not to pump in the day. Prefers to feed her when the breasts are alittle more full and engorged so that she will use lesser effort to suck and feeding time will be shorter.

Also I pump as I need to supply for the night feeds by my CL. Honestly, if your breasts are not engorged and if you are latching BB on at night, there's no need to pump...

Btw mummies! I am now swearing by black bean, red date drink instead! Drank that the whole day (cos I a bit heaty due to the longan in red date dirnk) and for the first time I know how engorged breasts feel like! Hahah...and lotsa fluids ok...drink something warm before feeding and after feeding...

Tien,
Not hardworking lah. I am not breastfeeding my bb. So pumping is the source of breastmilk for her. She everyday take around 3 bottles of 90ml each. Hope is enough loh... Rest of the feed are FM supplement.

The tea got use meh? but I secretly drank plain water but milk ss doesnt seem to increase. Once or twice my milk supply suddenly surge but I cant seem to see what went "right". haha, maybe need to make a list of food I eat. Btw, I read that caffeine will give a boost to your milk ss but have slight side effect. However, if bb don mind, can still go ahead. Anyone try that?

siangjiao> yah when in the middle of the night my CL got difficulty putting her to sleep, then at the same time i woke up to pump haha then she will ask me to latch her.. then she really sleep liao. hai

Wow you gal can so long dun pump ah me cant leh. Usually I pump at 12 or 1am and next one at 4-5am all depend on what time my bb up for his feed. The most I dun pump is 5 hours and it will got super super hard.