(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

gal: me too.. the last pump i have is miserable 30ml..haha..nt sure is it bcoz i been latching on and off prior to the previous pump..

hand express not suitable for me leh.. i try to squeeze but only van see droplets..not those that will 'squirt' out de..

mrs neo: dunno if excessive pumping helps. but i have been doing that for days and yet my supply doesnt seem to go up..

py: charlotte is so chubby.. and she look energetic too.. unlike my bb boy, always look so sleepy esp he got small eyes.. gee..

mrs neo, i think i haf the same problem as you, my supply seems to be dropping as well. I'm going to start taking papaya soup after hearing PY's successful story. Maybe you can try it out too?

PY, your bb foto is soooo preety! she's so cute!
i like the last one, she look so contented n sweet.

Ladies, can you pls add me in your FB as well??
my email is [email protected]

gal^,
Hand Express:
yeah. aim and press... for BM to shoot into bottle. hahaa.
I'm using the glass bottles I took from the nursery when I was in TMC.

Cos the BM is like water (i.e. flows down), I bend quite low to collect the BM. But my friend says she didn't need to bend that loh... so I guess it depends on individual bah.

I express 20 to 30 min. I keep to 30 min max.
Last year, I express 60min until breast hurt. When I called the breastfeeding helpline, they told me keep to 30min max whatever method used (pump or hand).

PY: Charlotte is so lovely!

limmil,
I hand express also by drops one leh. hahaa. Mine is miserable... only squirts sometimes when breasts are happy. LOLL.

Hi mummies! Just had dinner and I must say that my CL lady cooks really well and healthy. Feeling confident that my weight could actually go down!

As for bf, right now my game plan is to pump and pump! My right nipple has become too painful to latch on. As mentioned, my bb yuxi has chewed it away cos of her 'smacking' lips. But have followed you mummies' advice to pump and latch. And combining with my earlier pumps my CL lady says it's enough for one feed. Going to let bb sleep with CL tonight. Have given her permission to use teats to feed. If she wakes up for more than 1 feed, have also allowed her to supplement with formula. Decided to take it at my own pace and let my nipples heal. Hopefully with pumping and partial latchng milk ss will go up. Still waiting for the lactation counsellor to let back to me as today is Saturday. But will try to latch in the day still. Also introduce FM to bb using spoon today. Poor thing.. So hungry but luckily the feed after that she still took my left breast.

Xoxo: thanks for the hugs! Still waiting for my old self back.
For some reason I'm glad that I made the above decision.
Relieve a lot of stress from me.

Btw my girl is also a 'chia za bo' her screams can be quite scary!

ewe/PY : what do u use to cover the glass bottles from TMC?
PY : think wash and sterilise should be fine.

Tien : hee hee..amazing how strong the vocals are for our babies ya

massage :
can i ask those who did engage jamu massage lady, ur tummy got flatten or not?

the nurse in Mount A told us to use soap water to soak the bottles until the labels come off
then use boiling water once
then sterilise

the pharmacy in Mount A sells the bottle caps.. not sure abt TMC though..

PY,
Those were beautiful shots! I love the one with the daddy.

I had another breakdown yesterday night
thought I'm handling well but guess there's still some way to go. I even wonder if I had PND.
*Shake head*

I must say my Reagan is another gentle baby. His cries are soft! Even when he's hungry, he will only cry to let you know. After I pick him up and told him to wait for a while, he will be kwai and wait for me to warm up the ebm.

Excessive pumping: I gotta say this work. But provided you know the correct way to do it. I have been doing excessive pumping for my elder son without latch on. He's on total breastmilk for a year. Now I'm doing excessive pumping as well.

what you should do is to pump 2 hourly even in the middle of the night. It should be 2x 15mins on each side of the breast. In total, you will spend an hour to pump. Even when there's no milk coming out, Do keep to the timing so that you will simulate the breast. This time round, I only need 2-3 days on this excessive pumping and my supply comes in. Now, I'm on 3 hourly pumping session and 4 hourly at night. Those who are doing excessive pumping may try this method but I can say it's really not easy! Latching is still the way to go if possible!

gal,
I did 4 sessions with the jamu massage lady but only loss 0.5 inch. At first I thought of doing a 10 session. But decide against it as my tummy doesn't seem to go down at all! To be fair, my tummy is not very big to begin with... 33 inches.

Tien, good to hear that you have made your decision. think the impt thing is that we shldnt stress ourselves out, cos that will affect our supply as well!

gal, i did a 7sessions massage, and i feel that my tummy 'looks' like its back to before. of cos, in terms of the width of the waist and all, its definitely still not back to before yet!!

sotong_mum : wah 33". v good. mine nearly 36", can't wear any of my bottoms.

whats ur strategy with reagan? u just tell him nicely u will take x minutes and he wait?

mine will still cry nevertheless. :S until he gets what he wants.

breakdown? what happened?

cjdg : so when u breathe in your tummy got move?

tien >> uh...dunno if u wanna follow this advice...i had the same issue with you - bb sucking or basically, biting down on the nips till it bled and cracked..and while "waiting" for it to heal, i relented and gave her NUK teats! by the 2nd day, she preferred the teats to my nips and refused to latch directly and properly. LC's advice was to introduce teats/bottles preferably only from the 5th week. not earlier as some babies would find the milk flow is so much easier in the teats and become lazy ~ therefore, preferring the teats to our nips. if you are giving feeds (EBM or FM), you can try spoon feeding instead of introducing teats...i'd to struggle with her and battle her wills for abt another 3 days' worth before she'd settle for good with direct latching...nevertheless, the decision is still yours to make k? no absolute right or wrong i feel since our bbs have different personalities..glad you're feeling better and finding comfort in yr food

miemie >> my facebk is not active except when i post comments...cos there are actual clients in my list...and i don't wanna share too much personal parts there. i sized it smaller to fit the size restriction on the board..then realised it's way too small..nvm, another time lah
do you have anymore PD appointments? i am a little confused whether we have to bring the babe back at 6 weeks or we don't have to see our PD unless she's ill or something?

sotong_mum >> maybe we need our walks in the park soon. we are days away from our first month so..it can be really soon yah? i agree with you - the disciplined pumping works.

just to share..

apparently breastfed babies' weight gain is different from formula-fed babes..

http://www.kellymom.com/babyconcerns/growth/growthcharts.html

hence, if yr babe is a girl and like mine..weighed at 2.95kg at birth, she would be expected to weigh 3.5kg at the end of the first month +/- .

another thought was, i realised that if i gaze at my baby even when i am not feeding her, i risk getting leaky breasts..such that even the lilypadz won't work and i'd to resort to good ol' breastpads and uncomfy bras..gee..how do we cope with such "incontinence"?

gal/hippo: the combi rocker cum highchair that u all bought hor.. what's the exact name for it huh?
wanna ask Charlotte's gugu to buy for her hehehe :D

xoxo>> no wonder you never put pictures on Facebook!
i got no more PD appointments le.. now only waiting to bring baby Belle for her injections liao lo.. but i wun be gg back to Kinder Clinic coz their queues are crazy! or are all these clinics so packed?

will be bringing her to Raffles Hospital PD coz my hubby's company subsidises baby's immunisation..

PY,
I bought caps from TMC pharmacy. The caps fits all brands of glass bottles at hospital nursery. $1 for 1 cap.

gal^ / PY,
I wash and sterlise the same way as milk bottles.

Gal, when I breathe in, tummy will move ar.. Is it nt supposed to?? Hai, I believe can't fit into my jeans already!

Ewe, try not to be upset. I tell myself take it easy, e milk shld come... *hopeful*

cjdg,
it takes some months to size down.

thanks... trying not to be upset. It's a bit too soon for milk to dry up leh.... for my elder gal, it didn't dry up so soon... but then I wasn't expressing that regularly last year.

Sotong,
what happened? Is it upset cos cant direct latch? U wanna try calling breastfeeding.org? They have help/support line. Maybe someone can talk u thru on the phone? Actually like what xoxo n tien said theres no right or wrong. If u have chosen exclusive pumping then so be it. Its still bm to bb. Dun let it get to u k? *hug*

xoxo,
audrey has nice big eyes!!!
u shud post her pics somewhere, like flckr or shutterfly.

havent' been checkin the forum for days...jus browsed thru and a lot of updates!

anyway just to share a bit

--leaky breasts
xoxolight: for leaky breasts, i realised that it helps to "train" your breasts not to leak by applyin pressure against ur nipples (like squeeze it or use your palm to apply pressure - according to La Leche)whenever it starts leaking...mine are leaking less these days (i was also experiencing the same problem - and not that my milk supply is high)

-- baby studio photos
funzee/PY: yr bb photos are so pretty and cute! it's amazing how yr bbs are willing to stay awake or stay naked. i attempted to take some photos of my boy naked (upper half) and he was already squirming and grimacing. so i never get pretty photos like urs

--breastfeeding
see a lot of pple are havin problems with bfeeding too. but we shld ALL PERSEVERE!! there were also days that i was feeling very down.. esp when baby boy cries all day/night that i am so tired i want to stop.
just to share, i think we shld try to pump whatever we can before/after latching and we can combine that 10-20ml in day to make a small bottle (for spoonfeed or bottle feed) for emergency uses whenever we feel down and dun feel like havin baby to latch on. i find that it takes the pressure away from breastfeeding.

but then again, i am experiencing low milk supply in the afternoons..wondering hard on how to increase supply too
and i also realise the supply is dwindling over the weeks...
i really hope i can continue to persevere!

-- sterilising
agree that washing and sterilising pumps is stressful!! it's so tiring. sigh...
oh..anyway knows how to remove the scales at the metal pan inside pigeon steriliser?

--introducing bottle when TBF:
have also been thinkin of when to introduce the bottle. for the past 4 weeks (my boy is 4 wks old), i have been usin spoon feed for the occasional days when i cant latch him on. yesterday, i tried to bottle feed using Avent bottle/teat, he did take on the bottle quite easily. however, in the evenin, he started farting a lot. i wonder if he was gettin a tummy upset from the wind frm bottle feeding. not to mention he was kickin a huge fuss from 1pm - 9pm refusing to nap properly.. poor boy. (but then again, he has been havin problems takin afternoon naps in the past 2-3 days ..and i can't figure out why
anyone here on Total BF who is plannin to intro bottle anytime soon? my concern is if i introduce it much later, he may resist it? Eventually i hav to return to work and need to feed him on bottle right?
am now thinkin whether to continue to let him try bottle feed for 1-2 feeds today since there will be a lot of guests around..

--full mth celebration
saw some pics on baby full mth cakes. since am havin my full mth celebration today, just to share with you where i ordered my cakes from. as i needed a "halal" option, i asked my colleague to make these homemade cupcakes sets similar to the ones on the website. in case you guys are interested, you may want to check these out

then i printed my baby photo on 4R and attached a short thank you message - i find that my cake sets are then "personalised" with my own effort :p

--baby hyperstores/hypermart
just sharing, i realised that the shops at kaki bukit are gd only for bulky items like strollers/cots. for essentials like diapers/liners/clothes/soap/small items, we are better off getting these from dept stores like BHG (20% sale :p)

-- post natal massage
i lost maybe around 1-2 inch arnd my waist. but i highly suspect that it's due weight loss from breastfeeding or loss of water retention. cos beyond the massage period, after i stop binding my tummy (and i drink loads of water to keep milk supply up), the inches came back!!
moral of story - shld continue to bind our tummies! but i cannot tahan under this hot weather even though i am hidin in aircon room most of the time.

paiseh for ranting so much.. jus to share some of my views :p

vodkarib : what are the prices like for the cupcakes?

tummy :
sigh.. okay looks like i'm going to face the fact and live with my 36" tummy.
cjdg > hee..yes suppose to move. mine move a bit nia. lol.

yoo hoo....astro... ??!! no see posting lately ;P

Vodkarib,
can u PM me the contact for cupcakes? Tks!

I just introduced the bottle for the first time on day 15 last night. She took to the bottle well. But after that latching on, we needed a few more tries. Now 2nd feed latch on still ok.

gal/angie/loke/hippo/mylvera: still here lah. feeling under the weather hencenot posting.. now going out for lunch with miser and teng.. post later in the evening la

hippo : long story.. (availability of massuuse, mum's disbelief, etc) its complicated. i asking whether tummy will reduce if yes then i'll get a slot though will be v late slot. if not much diff, i'll just live w it.

who was saying no rain? Think God heard you. So heavy rain now.

Hi gal,

Good morning.

Seem like breastfeeding is still the hot topic.

Me also struggling with BF. In the day usually I will latch my boy and bottle feed him with my EBM once cos he seem to drink more in bottle than latching. At night my hubby will feed him with my EBM in bottle so far he got no confusion. I am trying to give him pacifier also as sometime he like to latch for so long and for comfort only to make himself sleep.

But hor the pump out I have still 10o-120 ml max and in the day time worst only 50-80 nia. If this continue might not have enought milk for my boy. Now he can take up to 120ml sometime.

astro,
wah. REST REST & REST. hope u feel better soon.

PY,
yes, its a high chair. isabel sleeping on it everyday in the day now. its $ worth it. next time can be high chair. somemore the height is adjustable one. very good investment. can use long time.

just finiahed hand expressing 40 ml of BM from my sore nipple right breast. But for some strange reason milk is not coming out from the left breast that I have been latching my girl on and at the same time I have having this lump under my arm pit. Spoke to a lactation counsellor from Milk is definitely coming in but my girl is simply not latching well so, now my left nipple is bye bye too! Today have rotate FM and EBM to cope using spoon

Xoxo: Actually your advice is good. The thing is yesterday I have already let CL to give her teats. Went to check on her last nite and apparently, she is also having probably sucking from teat. CL says is takes time. This morning did manage to latch her on for a while but I am pretty sure is a wrong latch. Also woke up 2 times to express BM, not a lor but at least for the next feed, I can use it instead of going for FM.

Sigh...I am really getting desperate on the latching bit. My hospital nurses seems to be teaching me the wrong latch. Saw videos online it seems so easy. But my girl neck is so strong that it is so hard to tuck her chin. And her 'smacking' tongur issue...trying hard to get a lactation consultant to come and check.

Getting quite demoralised...but not going to give up...

I want my sot-ness back!

Btw where's Astro?? Give birth already??!

vodkarib : think the pigeon steriliser got mention. lemon?

sunnyling : wah.. u can pump so much!
hmm.. i dun reli dare to pump out and feed EBM to find out the volume he drinking. i worry i see then will keep thinking whether i got enuff milk. not sure whether being oblivious is a wise decision.

hand express :
Ewe/Limmil: OMG..how u all do it. i express get 5ml hand tired liew.

Ewe i didn't bend down v low (my head bend down to see where i am aiming though). i sorta squeeze the nipple down so the droplet will drop inside the bottle.

ohoh..little siren making fuss. brb.

im back.super tiring.sob bb has jaundice n tt pd keep asking us bring bb for blood test,thur248,sat278 then mon need bring him down again
hope dun hit 300

PY: saw ur bb pic at ur facebk, so nice. how much is the package n fr which studio?hubby decoded to take after seeing ur bb pic hehe.

Loke:comgrat
ya ,mount a food is nice. n theres this nurse call joan, shes gd in helping the bb to latch.

Tien: dun be discourage, me too only 40 ml fr 2 breasts during 1st 2 puump but 3rd try i managed to get 80m; fr 1 breast

Re: buffet caterer for full mth
anyone know gd food caterer n reasonable pricing?

Re: fulll month pastry.
Other then sweetestmoment, anyone knows other supplier with nice packaging like sweetestmoment? melrose cheap but box ugly wo. ecreative soso also

gal^,
Yeah.. hand tired... but will get used to it.
Oh... I can't aim well if I don't bend low leh. LOLL I got poor aiming.

Time flies... in two weeks, my CL will be leaving and I'll need to take care of my boy... and that means less time to express BM. Sniff sniff.

Gal,

I don't have the courage to try on my jeans yet! Suspect that my weight will go down futher due to my mil undesirable cooking.

I just carry Reagan when he cried and show him the bottle which I will put in the warmer. He seem to understand and will wait a while for his milk.
hahaha or maybe he's just too sleepy to cry for long?

Gal/xoxo/hippo,
Emotion is at a high low, small things will make me cry non stop. Then I will get a headache and that make it worse. Wonder when I will snap out of this.

Xoxo,
Agreed! That walk is overdue. or even, don't need that walk, to have a nice chat over a normal meal will make me jump for joy! Nowadays my craving is just a simple maggie mee.

Hippo,
Nothing to do with latching. I still don't have the courage to take it up again because of my roller coster ride of my emotions. hazi, I also dunno what happen to me, this isn't like me at all!!!

Sotong_Mum,
Hey, I was very emotional too when I had my elder gal. I was quite sure I had PND then. So I totally understand your emotions right now.

Believe in yourself, that you will snap out of it, just need an outlet for your feelings. Take Care!

sotong_mum> i tried my jeans.. still stuck at the hip area
my mil cooking sucks too.. hope i will lose weight because of this ahahaha!

Sotong,
just try n relax n take it easy ok? Its the hormones acting up. Everyone is under the hormonal siege from time to time. I had my share from the time i decided to go for c-section to the time we delivered. Just try n think happy thots n stay positive k?

I need to RANT. Does everyone else get this?

Just had some unannounced visits from relatives. U mean these pple dun understand the meaning of "confinement"??? We are not running a f**king zoo or museum where u can happy happy go n see the exhibit or monkey leh!!! M super pissed w all these inconsiderate pple. They can take their smelly ang paos n make like a tree n LEAVE!!! Argh!!!

I just fed n settled my bb then they talk n laugh so loud now shes sleepy n cranky!!! \~>^*¥€~{}~?!£^<.}#<<>

hippo,

cool down. more of such ppl during full mth celebration too! imagine my #1 was being passed round to each individual relatives of my MIL's like nobody's biz! he was not a toy hor! den when my relatives came, she showed black face to any of my relatives or friends who attempt to carry my #1. i was like "WTF? who is the mother?" so when my #2 was born, i specifically told hb no more such nonsense n told him to tell his mother off. 1 more time n i m not going to give face n will shout at her!