(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Hi mummies, have not been browsing this thread for few days.. dunno how to join the topics coz some of you have started talking abt full mth celebration alrdy. Me still waiting... the stubborn bb is alrdy overdue.

Astro, you are still around rite? Today is your EDD. R you seeing you gynae today? What's ur plan?

Babyturn, have not seen your post (or I have missed out). Hope you have delivered by now since your EDD same as mine.

Loke, congrats! You are not the last.. haha...

happy hippo,
I read about Fenugreek. Mummies have feedback that can get diabetes with taking it. Not sure if babies will get it as well? Else it is really a good supplement to take for milk supply surge.

Hippo: I went to guardian pharmacy and they gave me a blur face. Btw u have a pic how it looks like? ha yeah it's great to see our babes keep smiling to herself ha..

good morning mummies,
this morning when CL was out for bfast, I tired to latch my boy. He sucked gently (not latch), and licked then cried. FAINT. Another failed attempt. Tears almost rolled, but I tell myself it's alright. :)

I am a Nov mum but delivered my boy in Oct, just 3 days ago. Can I ask how do I know if my boy is sucking well from my breast? He can latch on well and keep sucking but my breast is still full after that.
I saw some mummies recommending Mdm Rokiah for breastfeeding prob. May I know how long will it take for her to come over if I call her for help as my breast seems to be reaching engrogement soon. Its nw so hard and I tried to pump, but only a few ml come out.

Ewe
U tried squeezing out some milk 1st b4 he latches to entice him?

Astro
expecting some action tdy? i juz realised my girl has one of the lowest birth weight, thou she is not the lowest. my target is to fatten her up by 1kg when we are 1 mth.

i'm still here..

miser took my suggestion.. he will help me manage the world war. my sis (she very funny.. actualy took leave coz today is my EDD. but got recalled back by boss to work :p) though cannot help me exceute my plan.. spoke and educate my mother on the phone last night when my mum called her..and concidentally my gynae appt is at 2pm.. miser himself say. a half day leave , for the afternoon and also leaing at 11am to fetch teng, is more worthy if the gyane appt is at 2pm.. so u see.. all in the stars liao. planned that he must intervene.. i asked if he needs me to remind him to call my mother later.. coz he wants to pre-empt her that teng might cry till chiam chiam.. he says dun need. ok. i will leave it to the man..

this prevention of world war is more impt to me. than induction or not. ha.:p

asked miser if he wants ellie to cook his lunch.. then he said why not go out for lunch. i told him teng needs his lunch lah.. he replied with an sms..'just U and Me'.. i was touched and happy to receive the sms.. ok.. forgive him :p
(he said maybe today dun even need to induce.. natural birth he feels coz he feels my emotions been haywired yesterday.. wah liew.. )

jrrt/envelope: panty slightly moist. experiencing a bit of cramps.. maybe indeed dun need induce? we shall see lah.. later..

evelope: what's ur plan then? ur edd one day behind me right? skali Rayan shares same bday as ur kid

jrrt: i think that is possible.. u are an experienced moo moo liao

hippo: i mentioned fenugreek before lah.. so many times liao :p

ddnikz: fenugeek is a natural herb. as u might have already read.. if dun over doze.. it wun harm

ewe: u are steady.. i admire ur tenacity

re bb smiling.
they not actually smiling yet :p.. the real social smile (meaning smiling coz really smiling at someone/something) happens at 6 weeks or so. meanwhlie.. at best.. these bbs are only grimacing :p

Astro,
thank you for your kind words. Healed my almost broken heart (- cos darling boy doesn't latch).

U take care ahr! Have a smooth delivery!

ewe: aiya. i didn't say it to make u happy
i truly feel so ..

dunno . skali yu he wants to share same bday as envelope's kid.. hahahah

Astro, my EDD was yest... bb overdue liao... I am going to induce by Wed if nothg happens today or tomorrow. If you induce today or tomorrow, then high chance we will bump into each other la. Told you ur Rayan is waiting for my princess la.. u dun nd to chope so many bb gals liao... wahaha...

hippo: dun make me choke! i am drinking my cup of vit c!.. hahaha. BD? no time! too rushed.. today's schedule!

Envelope: oh. i see.. :p hahahah. it is ok one.. ur princess can chope all the prince also. i am pretty sure my yu he is good stuff.. whhahahahha..

ddnikz: what are u lost abuot?

Astro,
yno time? Can b quickie wat. Its the qualitynot the quantity that counts... Hehehe... Eh come to think of it, our thread long time no yellow jokes already hor?!

astro,
my questions on full month...

1) I intend to give out cakes to people whom I am not inviting to the full month celebration. For people who comes visit me during my hospital stay but also invited to the full month prep, should I give cakes too?

2) When should I give out the cakes? Before actual full month day or is it ok to give after full month?

ddnikz: are u someone who is comfortable with traiditons? coz then i am not a good person to ask
for me.. i do it my own style

1. wun give to pple who i am not inviting to full mth celebration.. coz i will give cakes etc to pple who cannot turn up for my celebration instead.. coz these are the pple who i truly wish to be there..

2. it depends on ur style. i think it is inevitable to sometimes drag after full mth.. coz of logistics

eh. i dun seemed to be of much help :p

fenugreek : oh dear.. overdose can cause diabetic? but it taste like camomile tea! how much is overdose? once a day is okay? i drinking the fenugreek seed boiled with water but not daily. haven seem improvements yet. but could be due to panda.

i getting reli tired.
yest i just wished the bb will sleep. felt like he keep crying to drink though based on my record its about 1.5 - 2 hrs gap. my boob never felt full.

tried pumping when i felt a bit engorged at 4am. pump out only 20ml each boob. v depressing. tot morning will get more milk?

if by the 1mth hep jab bb din increase weight when we go c doc, i think i going to breakdown liew.

PY : after u feed charlotte with EBM during night feed does she sleep longer? i thinking tonight's last feed i will feed EBM. hopefully i can catch the much needed zzzz.

ddnikz :
i not experienced. i din even think about whether to give before or after. i going to give when i have the time that would be after. how to give before when u in confinement?

me in dilemma whether to order how many ang ku kueh and make how many red eggs (knowing pple nowadays hardly eat).

Re: baby cough out milk | cough/choke while drinking :
any way to prevent? past 3 days during feed, he seem to choke a lot. and hiccup at least twice in a day.

Think my bb fingernail still a bit sharp. there is a scratch on his head. look like cut..got a bit of blood
i can't help tinking is it last night i 'bon chong' v tired knock him on something or not

Feel like crying but holding back tears least my mum start asking/nagging.

Hippo and PY: Oh no, during my pregnancy i was very stressed out lor. Got this irritating ah nei colleague i was dealing with, and he pissed me off throughout the year. And i was dealing with this dumbest idiot all the time. Only when i left for maternity leave, then i realized he quitted. KNS, why didn't he quit earlier. Well, what to do, i think i better smile at my baby more nowadays .... haha..

ddnikz: It's really up to you on how you want to handle the full month celebration.
For me, if small ang pow, either give bengawan solo voucher or invite for buffet. If big ang pow, then i'll give elaborate cakes (will distribute a few days before actual buffet, parents will handle their friends and relatives and i'll handle my side) and ask them down for buffet as well. On the actual day, i'll distribute red eggs as well.
As for when to give cakes, some folks say can give anytime before 28 days (i dunno pantang or what), but for me, it doesn't really matter. My full month celebration is 6th Nov (ADD is 6th Oct). Its more than 28 days. Again, up to you also.

Ewe: Don't give up yah. See if you squeeze a little milk on your nips will entice baby. My baby does not latch on immediately. He'll start licking and sucking the nipple first (I don't pull him away). He'll then think for a while before taking more of the aerola and convert the suck to a full suckle.

Astro: enjoy your lunch with miser
I'm starting to wonder here when will be the next time i can have a one to one meal with my hubby.

gal: it is heartpain to see the bb's face with scratches.. but must learn to let go.. there are bigger things in life awaiting elias..

fenugeek , follow the daily prescibition.. it is ok..

Elias is over tired.. time to set him in a more predictable routine. go and read up on bbs' required naps and durations. i have a suspicion. elias didn't nap enough. so that makes him a bit hard to settle

ga;: Cheer up!. My baby choke on my milk until it flows out of his nose. Super heart pain. LC advised to hold baby's head up above the throat, so that milk will flow down. Try to imagine lying down and drink, quite difficult rite .. so must position baby at a slight angle. And wait till he completely swallow before tilting him up to burp.

Gal: one more thing, if your milk flow is fast, can cause choking too. Try to pinch your breast hard before latching on (not during, cos cos that will encourage faster flow). This will limit the initial fast flow, and slowly release as baby's suckle grow stronger. Me not expert here, just sharing what the LC advise when i called them for help

siangjiao : hmm. how do u do that with cradle hold? will it work if i hold him the manner of him sitting on my lap (sitting position for him)?

siangjiao, thamks.
will keep trying. most of the time he will burst out crying after he licks. I will then get stressed to stop cos the family will be curious as to why he keeps crying... and wants to come in... so I will give up after like 5 mins or so.

Hey I think Charlotte wants my smell or juz want ppl to carry and talk to her. Cl feed her 80ml at 1030am then she dun wanna sleep... So I was talking and playing with her for awhile.. Ltr at 1135am she became cranky. But she's definately not hungry lo! Her 80ml can tahan for at least 2 hrs in the day. So to settle her I gave her my boobs. She did suckle for ard 20 mins in total but still dun wanna sleep. I doze off while she's lying on my bed playing with herself.. Then she cry again, now cl carry and talk to her she is calm again.. Hw sia?! If cl leave I think I'll become orbaka Liao as I'm alone taking care of her :/

Is she really want pple to carry and attention? But we nv carry her often. Ytd think she got a shock. Suddenly cry v loudly frm her sleep.. Then we gave her eat the Jin feng san..

Ewe: Jia you! Even that 5 mins is bonding time, better than not trying. Maybe you can try again when baby is not that hungry, like that they won't be frustrated so fast.

Gal: so far, i haven't tried cradle hold. I always have one hadn supporting his neck. So far i haven't seen any breastfeeding positions with baby sitting up, but maybe you can try propping his head up using a small pillow?

Pumping my milk now so got a bit of time.
Yes, my girl arrived on Monday 19th Oct Natural wo epidural. 3.325kg, 50cm someone help me update.
Here's the birth story:
Start to feel contraction every half hour on Sunday morning and got a bit of show. Went to check the instruction from doc. cannot call him yet. so i gathered my mom and in laws to my place to play mahjong.
Had pizza hut for dinner then start to feel contraction every 5 mins. So showered and whole gang went to glenneagles with me.
Reached glenneagles at 8 plus but both mums say after 11pm then nicer timing so drink coffee at the cafe. hahhahaha.
Then 10 plus, everyone tired liao, i also getting more pain so check in.
Gynea came to check and scolded me because it is not excruciating pain then i come in. check me and said most prob only in the morning liao...
Wah piang. tot i was delivering already cos painful already.
Nurse at delivery suite quite nice, told me they will charge me outpatient from 10 plus to 12. then considered me checked in after 12am.
At 3am, very painful already. talked to hubby whether to consider epidural not. cos i cant sleep and very painful scared no strength to push later on. Nurse came in to check and almost sign the form alredy. but we held back since already 5cm dilated. so took laughing gas instead. Managed to catch some sleep till 5 am with breathing the laughing gas every 5 mins when pain comes in.

to be continued... so long winded....

Gal: ya she sleep longer in the night. Ard 3 hrs intervals. Normally she will wake up at 3/4 then later 6/7
but morning quite stressful for me. I dunno wat she want when she cry.. Sigh
I think I have a high tendency to just give my boobs when she cry omg...

Sianjiao: wah! Come out frm nose lol! Ur flow is so smooth ha
so far mine only kena choke and cough haha. I think partly
bcos I squeeze my boobs while she suckle.. Cos she's a gan
cheong spider cannot wait one.. So gotta help her a bit by
squeezing. Btw tmc lc told me the position is a straight line.. Nv mention abt the slight angle :/

Btw my ebm is growing and I think I'm gg to store some in the freezer as I'm afraid she can't finish within the 48 hrs ha. For freezer how long can I keep for? 3 mths?

Gal: not head above the throat, i just bf and observed and realized this description too extreme liao. It's more like not keeping baby entirely horizontal. so normally, i'll prop baby with a small pillow at the head and neck. Body is still at a straight line, but slightly tilted.

Wow... Can see many topics in this thread and I dun know where to start....

Full month celebration
I have done mine on the 18 Oct. I have given out cakes (relatives & close friends) [from sweetest moment], cake voucher (colleagues)[from beganwan solo & Polar] and held a mini buffet [from Orange Clove]. Comments for sweetest moments is very good... I like the cakes and the packaging... all of my friends like it as it look very presentable. The cake is nice too...
For the buffet, I ordered from Orange clove, the sales personnel - Dorothy, she is very helpful and the quality of the food is very good and tasty.

Confinement
My confinement is 40 days. But I have started to bath daily after 30 days cos really cannot stand the heat and I do smell like sour milk bottle walking around the house... Because of bad smell my MIL allows me to bath twice a day.... but she still dun allow me to wash my hair daily
As for the food, my mother wants me to complete the 40 days to max out the opportunity to pamper my body

Body massage
I did my massage after 1 week of birth. And I do lost a bit of weight after 6 sessions. Currently, I am still losing and now left 3kg to go..... hope can get rid before my sister enagement party so that I can wear my evening gown. Hahaha....

Expressed Milk

I only expressed my milk as and when I feel like it... in fact my supply is more than demand. All the expressed milk that I have expressed in the 1st week, I have throw it away. Reason? I dun like the smell after I heat up the milk... so fishy.... so I think I will start to store one month before I go back to work

Soh: opp tmc has one I think. Btw this mao bi thingy is for memory sake right? Do we need to shave the head botaj in order to make one? I dun intend to shave her.. If only can snip abit I dun mind doing one too

Soh: i found a brochure on the Tai mao Pi. the one Zoe tay is advertising for. I tink not cheap. Rmb my cousin did 1 for her youngest son and made a stamp with his umblical cord or wat ( i not sure ) cost her $300+

Hey, what does your CL do daily? Mine watches TV in the morning and sleep in the afternoon. Watches Yi Nan Wang at 4.30pm and sleeps at 9pm. My baby wakes up once typically at 2 and 5.30 am, and all she has to do is to change the diaper, and pass me the baby. My baby snoozes with me in the room during the day in air-con. Baby cries, bawls and wails, CL also boh hue, never walk in to check. When baby cry, she just push baby to me and say "Nah, feed, er liao" She also doesn't clean up baby poo properly, often leaving remnants. The food she cook, i also feel like i can get from the zup cai berng stall. To think i got her contact after she was highly raved in another motherhood thread (by a user with many posts). Looks like one man's meat is another's poison. I suppose this is the quality you get after you get a CL last min. They know you boh bian, so they come treat your house as chalet. Anyway, It's her last day this coming Wed.... "REN"........... Now i feel a bit depressed thinking my whole confinement is like so messed up like that.

siangjiao : oh. i did that but he still choked. after u hold a bit tilted it stopped happening?

astro : thanks. i'll try to plan. tink can only execute after my confinement.

hi joyce
long time no c(in forum) hee hee

Re: Refreeze EBM

Hey mummies i have a qns to ask.
let's say i warm up the milk bag that i've put in the freezer, and i pour out the qty i want.. am i able to refreeze the remaining qty??

Dreamygal> ok thanks. actually i'm quite lost in handling the EBM. as in when need to freeze them.. etc etc how u all actually handle them? the parentcraft told me if kept in fridge can keep up till 48 hrs.. why do you want to bag them and put in freezer at the end of the day?

astro

me too

once feel the same as what u feel

feel like not talking to them or ignore them at all, nvr help bt make stupid remarks, make mine bz day more bz, make my mood bad
even family members oso lidat...