(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

xoxo: ya.. thinking of the confinement period when emotions run haywired --> VERY blue.. post partum recovery--> DARK Blue.. not sure if can establish bfing---MURKY blue..

ha..

alamak.. 'she's cute'? what a reason to take care of grandchildren! but then again. my mum likes teng.. coz he is 'SUPER cute'..
oh ya. tell me about pple turning up unannnouced.. haiz.. my FIL will be doing that very soon.. then when i tell miser.. miser tells his father to call before coming so that i can prepare myself.... his father will say 'what's there to prepare?'.. ya.. right..haiz..

Mr SF staying at home with u these few days? seems like he is feeling the drain?

tien: more of.. having to go back to work.. and not sure if the habits/routines can be enforced when i am out at work. that is making me blue.. went on a date with miser once to tell him these concerns.. he said.. 'dun think so far.. everything will be alright'.. haiz.

teng was borned 2 days short of his EDD.. so according to gynae is week 39?..
oh ya.. she said i'm week 38 and a half? :S.. i thuoght i just turned 38? ok.. then chances are.. anytime soon if bb #2 wants to come earlier? :S.. haiz..

oh. jrrt? u recommended natal essentials to ur frens? their food tast good? better be.. called up.. was told they didn't receive my emails.. THREE emails alsonever receive.. hmmm. so told miser to fax over. that chap faxed late.. haiz.. cannot complete all transactions by today.. sian. tomorrow must follow up.. argh. ok.. i shd stop whining..

miser just offered me a handful of those cof fish strips.. aiyoh.. his mouth stuffed of those! one BIG mouthful.. this man ah.. ha..

astro >> yeah i know my emotions are not the best at this time..for whatever reason. Mr SF is actually good help...he can work from home so that helps. just that all the bawling from a lack of sleep that afternoon (intruders!) made him blue. you tell me, grandfather wanting to bring his neighbour to my plc...i was wth..i don't even know this person..*shakes head*

xoxo: aiyoh.. whose side? eh.. Mr SF's father ah? i wld have pester Mr SF to tell him off!

glass: ahh. good move! seeing bb photos here can liven pple up!

alamak.. cute leh..

i got many photos of eng.. when he was younger.. in my mum's hp. was surfing thru them just now. wah liew.. i can only say one word.. 'FAT'! :p

xoxo: thanks. i think the kimono top is one of the very few pieces that we bought for him.

astro: ya, finally got off my butt to upload the pictures.

photos still in hp? better download them.

today i brought him to paedetrician. so many shots lined up for him. plus i let him take a test for metabolic dunno what.

even gynae consultation super ex. spent nearly $400 today in total.

glass: ha.. what metabolic test?
got.. his father gotprint.. but recent photos.. last time younger.. digitally archived lor.. hahaha.. 'no physical photo' age.. so cham. our era got photos.. their era.. 'no' photos. heh..

me too.surfing net in the living room, husband doing work on his netbook near me. baby and cl sleeping in aircon room.

i check the brochure tomorrow on what the metabolic thing is about.
something about whether the body can break down things easily.

hi mummies need some advice here

My nips are bleeding and sore
think my hb didnt help me to push in the nips correctly during breastfeed when the nurses were away.

So she drank my blood and vomited too
heart pain .. anyway my milk hasnt come in too.. so she's just stimulate them... so am i suppose to continue to let her suck (but i'm in pain la .. so sore) should i let my nips rest?

she looks hungry.. crying and keep moving her mouth.. so i told the nurse to give him FM but cup feed...
i dun want her to go hungry leh.. mummy no milk sigh

ginger: i brought the medela purlan 100. just started applying.. not sure if that helps anot.

btw ur is normal single room or premium? hehe if we both at 3rd level v easy to walk to room to room leh..

i hate the waiting game.. EDD 21 oct no contractions no dilation...

still hanging on... so dread.. my rite hand is numb 24 hr since last week.. Tis is the worst preg i had, i tink my bb come to claim debts for me.. Tis is my most suffering preg...

If not for wanting my bb to have same bday as the sister i wont hang on till 21 oct i will go induce now already..

PY, if really really u feel like continuing breast feeding, u might wan to call ParentLink. They can offer you some suggestion and go to you and guide u. My sister went to them. www.parentlink.org I think or with .sg. You might want find out about more over the phone and ask for advice before u decide u want their help anot.

hello mummies!

wah its been a crazy 3 days. today is day 4. isabel has to stay for phototherapy so we're staying for another day. i dun dare to wonder how much more it'll cost me to stay 1 more night. but i just established feeding her properly so rather pay $$$ than to pump and give her bottle.

i dun have much of a birth story to share since elective c-sections are straight forward and non-drama packed. but i did write down some stuff as i was waiting for my op.

5.40am reached Mt E. taxi driver thought he was flying an aeroplane. Took us only 10 mins from Bedok to Mt E. u can imagine how fast he was FLYING. Went to admission counter, only 1 counter open. The lady asked “Madam, are you in pain?” Shook my head. Should’ve said yes, then maybe I get wheeled up straight away.

6am admission done. Went up to my ward. Took my weight. Nurse asked if I had passed motion today. I told her constipated. Not even yesterday. “no worry, we give u enema later”

6-7am nurse came to take temperature, bloody pressure, questions about medical history. Then came back with a pouch “I need to shave you.” I had a smug reply for her “no need, got nothing to shave”. She goes “I still need to check”. Ok, later check already she ok “yah ok. Pass”. Hahahaha…

7-8am nothing happening. Got today’s newspaper and read it already. Started to feel hungry. Decided that its better to sleep off the hunger.

8.45am nurse came to administer enema. Almost ran to toilet immediately after. What a damn shiok relief lah. Tried to go back to bed but realised got drilling sound. WHAT THE HELL? Opened the blinds then realised one of the terrace houses right opposite my room is undergoing renovations. Asked for room change. Then one fo the nurses came in to inform me all the single bedded rooms are full. Anyways all the rooms on this side can hear the drilling. And the other side of rooms are worse cos hospital also got internal renovations. HS went to buy earplugs promptly…

10am raining cats and dogs outside now. At least the drilling stopped!!! ☺ 15 mins more and they coming to bring me down… getting a bit gan chiong now… … …

10.30am was wheeled into waiting room and HB couldn't come in.

11am into the OT we went. very cold and getting a bit nervous. my gynae was LATE. didn't show up til 1125. bb was out at 1138. thats how little time it took.

the rest of the day was a blur to me cos i was extremely drowsy and only woke up when they brought bb to me to feed or had mediciation for me.

Angie: thxthx.Kinda regret opting for cs, so scare now dun know y

Astro: hwos ur checkup today? BB lower? Y ur FIL need go over ur plc?

xoxo: thxthx.aiyo gotta go find full piece PJs liao.din manage to find any info abt the card u mentioned, shall check it out when down.

glass: congratz

Re:Feeling blue

Astro/tien: me too ,feeling super blue n dun know y just broke down for no reason earlier on n my hubby panic,keep asking me y but i also dun know y..feeling so down suddenly n scare scare

PY:aiyo ur nipple sore till bleed! too dry b4 u start BFing her or?
Saw bb pics at ur facebook,so sweet

Hippo: u r awake like me!!!!!!u cant discharge n go back for bb the following day?Im gog for cs like u ,so scare now

PY: my nips are bleeding and sore too but he didnt even latch on. i pumped out the colostrum and nips alr cant tahan after 2 rounds of electric pumping (15 mins on each side per round)... sadz
lansinoh not helping v much, so instead of pumping every 3 hrs, decided to do so every 4 hrs. me on level 6, single room... hee

PD came in this morning n say bb alr lost 10% of his weight le so i caved in.... agreed to give him FM from now onwards to supplement. the most heart-breaking thing is he could have jaundice too... now queuing up for blood test. poor chap, ytd injection, today blood test

Babyturn: I was induced becos the cord is around bb's neck. When she was out, the cord was still round her neck. Thank God my gynae advised me to induce her.

PY: Me too. My nipples r sore. and i've short nipples as well. Nurses at TMC recommended me the avent nipple protector on the day i discharged cos the 1st 2 days, they wanted bb to have direct contact with the breasts to stimulate. The nipple protector does help. I tried pumping out yesterday but i've problem feeding baby through the bottle. She either sucks too fast n choke herself, causing her to cough. The most colustrum i can pump out is 10ml each side. Pumping is not as painful as baby sucking.

ipeh,
congrats, lovelle has such BIG eyes. very lovely indeed!

ipeh, ginger, PY,
you guys have access to lactation consultant in TMC or not? try and seek their help since you're still there. i'm lucky here @ Mt E cos in the single bedded ward, the nurse-to-patient ratio quite high and they are all quite good at helping to latch on the bbs. or maybe my bb is a naturally good sucker, i dunno. but was able to latch on since the 1st time. today is day 5 i can latch her on my own. milk came in on 3rd day so been working hard to feed her.

annette,
no lah, we din wanna leave her behind cos then i cant feed her and we prolly have to bring bottled EBM to her and that introduces more problems. just established milk supply and some normality. ... *pant* been a frantic first few days. and yes, i was up feeding her when i last posted.

all other MTBs who are still waiting to pop,
xoxolight gave me the best advice to rest and get a lot of sleep b4 i popped. she was damn right man! now i wish i had more. but lucky for me, i try and sleep right after we feed her and bring her back to nursery. ... ok, i'm going off to zzzzz some more...

PD came this morning. will prolly be able to go home today. her jaundice has come down considerably. just waiting for test results to confirm and we can be on our way home.

ipheh
Lovelle is v cute! Lovely eyes!
Btw how do u pronounce her name? Love-elle?

astro
i was told by all the frens tt tried natal esst tt their fd is nice & comes in generous servings. so hope u get thru to them!

ur mood swings caused by preg?
realised my ankles suddenly swelling when i din hv this problem all along. but its not alot of swelling lah. quite minor and my coll cldnt tell. my ankles always look v scrawny and can see the obvious veins marks usually. then yest i realisd it looked a bit puffy. my hb agreed. so if swelling/unswelling 3 times means i am gg to b due aft tt rite?

glass
ur baby is v cute too.... ohhh i love to see baby pix! they r so adorable!

gal^
u r welcome!

u muz not let baby get used to using ur nipple as pacifier and suck for comfort, else its v hard to break the habit when they r used to it. w/o ur boobs, they cant get to zzz. u'll cry for help when it becomes a habit.
if baby falls asleep at the breast, we r supposed to chg their diaper, stroke their face, tickle the bottom of their feet (i always do tt to my son!) in a bid to wake them up... there r some other ways oso. the idea is to wake them up and let them learn to fall asleep on their own; not at the breast.

loke
ur EDD pushed back coz of the baby size? wat was it based on?

PY
if u r bleeding, then dun let baby suckle tt breast liao. u pump out to keep up the supply and discard the milk if its wif blood. rest tt boob for a few days. use nipple cream or breastmilk to smear over the nipple and allow it to air dry b4 wearing bra.
if u need to give FM to supplement meanwhile, juz do it. and yes, cup feed is a great idea until ur boob has "recovered".

happy hippo
seems like u hv done well at bfg! gd to hear!
wow, the bill at MT E muz b a killer!

PY,
drink and eat a lot. keep drinking. dun stop. even if plain water also just drink. if i just rely on red dates tea i think not enough. cos my parents only manage to bring like say 1.5litres every day mah. LC said best if u can drink at least 2litres a day hor. dun worry and must get enough rest then body can produce milk.

chey i talk like macham i expert like that. i'm only heng only lah.

happyhippo: Yes. TMC has LC gg round as well to help. I was given help too!

PY: my colustrum came in only on 2nd day. and its miserable few drops. Its only yesterday (4th day) that i have slightly more. Tat's oso becos bb suckles almost every 2 to 3 hrs. Sometimes only 1 hr. Prob that helps to stimulate the supply.

jRRt: Lovelle is pronounced as "Le-velle".

hippo>> heeh ok! i think i haven been drinking alot of water scare too must pee as my wound is still v sore.. my mom nv bring any red date tea for me too.. sigh... i v sad
why i dun have a single drop of colostrum..

I waiting for mrs wong to come.. think later i gotta ask her

i think i also nv latch on quite often since delivery coz the stitches still v pain.. not v comfortable in moving ard.. hope i can do that more often at home ..

but if my nips are still sore and red still can continue ?

ipeh:wah lovelle's eye veryvery nice n bright
pretty

hippo: u shaved b4 gog hospital?but block by big tummy leh

PY:jiayou

hippo:wa 2 litres!!! then keep visiting toilet? was toldd shdnt drink plain water wo

lonerjas: u are not alone.. got other mummies who are due AFTER u * moi raise my hands..* ha!

hippo: nice to hear from you and that ur bf-ing is going well! great!

i like ur 'there's nothing to shave' incident.. hahahhaha.. which reminds me.. I was never shaved at TMC! :p i think they prefer au naturel.. hahahha :p

annette: ok check up.. gynae always say the same thing lah. bb low.. bb engaged.. etc etc.. so keep waiting lor..
ya.. feeling blue.. hahah.. sot liao. maybe delivery anxiety? :p

ginger: bbs expected to lose their weight initially.. then they will regain the weight with a vegence.. juadince is common and easily managed too.. u rest well ..

and go easy on that breast pump also.. excess pumping might not help with the healing of the nips

ipheh: Lovelle is soo dianty looking.. have i choped her.. hmmm.. *think think* ha.. yes i think i did :p

Jrrt: i hope so man. miser only faxed the form at 7pm last night. think later call NE up.. aiyoh.. this kind i must also chase? i am a 'chaser' ah?? :S
ya.. maybe delivery anxiety.. or simply 'nothing-to-do neess? then see teng regress in confidence.. can't help being worried how he starts his new child care in dec like that.. another marathon crying session again. wah liew.. brought him to play group. now at Macs. he was BRAWLING just now.. sat on the floor refused to go in.. clinged on me.. he has been like that every day.. boy boy used to like going to shcool and his teachers.. now he tells me the opp.. wah liew.. teachers told me.. he will calm down in 5 minutes.. haiz.. ok lor.. what to do right?
eh.. dunno about the swelling.. my swelling is off and on.. not ery noticeable kind..

PY: i think might be good to contact parent craft at TMC before you discharged.. get their lactation consultatnt to show u how to latch.. meanwhile.. a bit of FM wun harm.. but eventually to establish bf-ing.. bb must latch..
have u gotten urself a breast pump?

wah liew.. was alright till received an email from the manager.. 'requesting' me to go for the presentation if i have not started my ML (my ML next week.. this week on mc ).. aiyoh. already settled and prepared all the counter stuff for him liao mah.. still wants me to go back else he views that as incomplete work leh.. wah liew.. can have some confidence or not?! ironically. before the vocal colleague spoke.. he was ok that he does the presentation wthout me leh.. wah liew.. dunno what to say *shake head*
blue over this.. my good reputation for a good worker is going to get smeared!

ladies who have delivered.. pls do us a favour. pls post MORE photos of ur adorable newborns.. so that this forum can be adorned with angelic faces.. and be less blue!!!

Astro> yup i think latching is not much a problem for charlotte. she's a gd sucker and suck v strong also =.= maybe she too hungry?

i think i need them to show me how to massage the breast haha. yeah i've a manual pump.. with stimulation also..

PY: that's positive thinking!

that time my gynae SQUEESED on my nips when she checked on me the 2nd day.. wah. pain seah.. then she said 'good.. u got colostrum'.. but hey.. i looked at it.. it is only a FEW drops.. so .. just latch lah..
she gave me painkillers.. i replied. i am ok.. dun need painkillers.. she said .. it is for the bf-ing. not the wounds! so.. hahah. u get the drift :p

it depends on ur trashhold. some frens i know. continue and bear with it.. some.. stopped but pumped exclusively and supplied with fM so that thenipples can heal for another round of 'barracuda-ness'..heh.. so it is ur call

PY: what i meant is.. latching must be comfortable for u. as in u need to know how to latch yourself

manual pump ah? ok.. i cannot use manuel pump. my hands will go sng.. :p

Astro>> If i have sore nips and let bb to continue to suckle, wont she suck out blood? i dun want her to consume my blood leh

haha yah manual coz hopefully i can feed her directly..
ohh ya ya think gotta learn that too.. coz always the nurse help me to push the nipples in haha, my hb watch so many times still dunno how to do it properly =\

PY: that's why only some continued..

it is ok if there's blood in the milk.. it can be drunk.. mine were also cracked last time.. it cld be poor latch .. i dunno.. but the TMC pple (Mrs Wong) said it is ok. 'cracked nipples. bleeding nipples.. no way round the issue...u continue to latch.. it will recover.. just that it takes longer.. it will even out same as u let nipples recover and then get it damaged again ' :p
i know it's gross lah.. u make the call yourself

Looks like forum is having some bluesy moments! Dear mummies must jia you ok!!! Let's cheer each other up!!!

Astro: u bored?? Now u now how I feel for the past 2-3 weeks. Anyway your miser is right don't think too far lah. When the time comes then start worrying!

PY: dun give up ok! Just continue to apply the cream n let nipple heal. I'm sure the LC will be able to help.

Ginger: must jia you too!! I guess first time mum will face such prob. My turn coming soon!!!

Hippo: renovation going on?? Goodness! I hope they stop on weekends cos looking at things now might be induce on Friday. But good to hear that the nurses are good at helping us to latch the bb on.

PY: yalor. that's the same thing i encountered. they do it SO fast. i was like 'do that again?'.. then unlatch teng.. to try myself.. they see i slowly do.. buay tahan.. they forced teng onto my breast again! :p.. wah liew..:p

tien: which is why i tell them to post their newborns photos more regularly lor.. pls do us (the blue blue mtbs) a favour! heh..

ha.. i always bored one lah.. :p
got work or no work.. hahahah..

PY: dun worry, i din have colustrum until mrs wong came n squeezed it ytd.

mrs wong came by again today n brought her class of 5 along as well. told her my nips are sore n bleeding from electric pumping n she laughed @#$%^!?

apparently i m her case study coz bb is too stubborn n refused to latch. she asked wat have i been feeding him n i told her just glucose. she smeared the glucose on the nip n bb started suckling. stopped when nip is dried.... piangz. papa gotta standby n smeared glucose everytime? even though bb suckled, i doubted he is drinking at all since only a few droplets of colustrum nia. after she left, we quickly brought him back to nursery for FM cup feeding n phototherapy. hopefully his borderline jaundice will not worsen.

ipheh: lovelle has really lovely eyes!! My Yu Xi will never hv eyes that big!! Cos mummy n daddy both mini eyes!

Astro: u also another ADHD one like me!!!! No wonder brain sot sot one!

Ok I know the next question is quite RA. It's abt bd-ing. Was googling online that for bd to encourage labour, must hv deepest penetration but with that huge tum tum how to?? Looks like I hv to find other method!!!!! Other than bd-ing

Astro:guess so ba, whole nite cant zz
so u gog back to do the presentation for ur bossah?

Tien: then better start prepare ur hospital bag wo.dun like me so last min hhaha now still trying to find full front button PJ

annette: NO WAY! he can mark me for all i care. i did all i can liao.. talked to him.. tweaked the materials.. prepared his arguments for him.. and just because he is not confident.. i must support him ah? hmm. make me the manager then?!
i told miser all about this. he just laughed.. then i said 'u got see such a lousy man before or not?'.. miser, for once, replied with something BEAUTIFUL.. 'dear. how come u keep saying he is lousy? how come u dun say u are good? too good that he cannot do with out u?'.. wah. ain't i pleased? but i PRETEND.. 'no lah. so now u konw. ur wife is not one to boast. coz i dun think i am that solid.. he is lousy. that's why'.. miser just laughed 'this is an area when u shine lah.. so others pale in comparsion lor'.. wah.. that man. that night.. mouth coated with honey leh..

tien: ya! ADHD is the word man! u got it.!
hahah. i like ur RA quesiton.. deepest.. is missionary liao. unless woman-on top. but very sng lah.. whahahah..