(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

hippo,
ya, i lost 9kg in 1wk + or 10days. But after tat, its been stagnant all the way until now
So if u put on less than 15kg, shedding off shld be slightly easier as compared to me!

astro,
your miser is pretty similar to my hus too. Ask him take leave he always say busy, cannot anyhow take leave. But he have 21 days of annual leave this year tat he yet to use and he still have aro 7 days of AL leftover fm last year !! And he like your miser everything oso not kancheong one. I got to keep pushing him constantly. Can vomit blood sometimes. Your miser seems to be very humorous fm the way u mention he talking abt searching for the pcychiatric's contact. So funni man

PY,
My fren was like u whereby no dilation at all but she is worst than u as her EDD is past due by 1 day. Her gynae propose c section as he told her induction likely to fail if no dilation at all so tell her dun waste $ as will end up as emer c-section. So your gynae is right in her statement whereby if the bb is not ready, no use pushing for it as likely will fail.

Mie,
Agreed with hippo on supplementing a bit with FM if reali had to. For my case, i supplement with FM during the first few days as reali no milk and i dun wanna see my bb crying despite knowing it's ok to let bb go w/o milk for few days. However, i am still able to bf successfully. I have trained keith to both latch on and bottlefeed despite there will be some nipple confusion initially. It took me a few tries only to get keith to accept bottle. To me, training him early is better than training at the later stage as the older they r, the harder to train. Same logic as training them to sleep alone right fm born instead of training when they r older. These r my thoughts lor. Cheer up

Dried area on nipple & aroela
those dried area will be gone once u start on bf. Cos bb will get rid for u as it happen to me. Now my nipple and aroela is moisturised. haha !!

HI mummies! I am back from my dinner!

PY: My EDD is actually next Sat 16th Oct. As for weight of BB, I really have no idea. cos for the past 2 appts, my doctor doesnt seem to be too concerned about the weight of the BB more on my BP. When I asked her she just said that she will need to know too so she will let me know when she needs to know...So, I was silenced...I am quite worried that she is going to tell me this Friday that BB is too big and need to c-sec...I will surely faint! Anyway, my mum pour this huge bucket of cold water over my head saying that I was an overdue baby of 2 days! So, if it's genetic, it's going to happen to me too!!!!! OH NO!

Astro: I guess it is the teaching sector lah. Holiday is our leave...but yet they want to 'eat' mine...just becos I chose the wrong timing to conceive! You just hang in there till Tues I guess...come in and spend the days away since you mentioned that you have more or less finished your work.

Loke: Another mummy waiting for the little one to make grand entrance..JIA YOU!!!!

Mie: Don't be too disheartened ok. Believe that you can do it. Can understand the part on parting with the little one for 2 days. It's not easy. But just to let you know my friend who gave birth 2 weeks back also had to send her girl for phototherapy for 2 days. She took the chance to really rest and try to pump the milk. She did a lot of massages on her breast to prepare for her girl when she is back. So, look at it positively, it's a good chance for you to rest well these 2 days to prepare yourself to better take care of Isabelle. Also it's a good chance to speak to your parents and sister on what you want and appeal for their support. Hang in there ok!!

Speaking of FM, I better remember to hide the sample FM I have cos' my mum just found out yesterday I have those and are already thinking of using them in case her daughter has no milk.

Mummies delivering tomorrow JIA YOU!

miemie>> i understand how u feeling .. remember i told u abt my cousin? that day i went to visit the baby too... her milk hasnt come yet and the baby was crying for milk...

The nurse in KKH told her to be on total BF then alot of comments from the uncles and aunties saying that abit of FM wont die one ma... dun let baby keep on crying and crying.. etc etc it's very frustrating lor!

How they raised the kids last time compared to now is totally different.. hai.. sometimes we just have to this ear come in the other one goes out haha. take care ok!
dont worry naughty bell will be in the good hands of the nurses and doc.. pls use this 2 days to rest well too!

Gal>> haha my friend's gynae is same as urs too.. she told me that jw is very detailed in all my visit (she watched my video that i took during my routine check ups) u can change to jw for ur #2

oh ya and more info regarding induction that i've learn from jw today.. she told me that the pill that is inserted into the V is only to help to have contractions and NOT dilation... and she say most girls will need 2 tablets.. especially like me when i have 0cm dilation.. =\ so one will be inserted in the morning immediately during the check up.. then another one at night 11pm in the hosp.. hai,

So i ask her what abt the oxytoxinc drip.. she told me that will only help if the waterbag has burst. so if our water bag has not burst, the drip wont help at all.

Ong>> yah.. that's why we're still hoping that baby will come out naturally w/o inducing.. as gynae also told me that the pain level for inducing compared to "natural" is more painful. let's say if we induce.. and it's only 1cm dilation.. but when we let it dilate naturally w/o inducing it'll be the same pain level as 5cm dilation. so she say most inducing cases will definitely need epidural haha.

so what happened to ur friend eventually? she went for c sect or natural?

hippo>> yes i just ate the rojak at my uncle's stall! wahaha... yeah show my post to ur hb see what he say.. alot of hb also have the same mindset as ours .. scare will hurt the baby lol.. my hb lagi funny.. he say later when the nurse VE me.. they can feel the semen how WAHAHAHAHA wtf. then say he help baby "wash" the head. =.="

Tien>> wah one day after me!! .. why ur gynae didnt update u on the weight.. as what u said lor hopefully she dun throw u a bomb suddenly telling u that baby is too big or what.. sigh..

if that really happen hor.. she should have told u earlier if the baby is on the bigger side or what ma... so we can control our diet .. imagine that day she nv measure the bb weight i think bb now wont be only 3.4kg lol!

ong: humour.. or rather.. what ME define as humour (others dun see him as funny) is his only saving grace!
horrible lah men.. dunno how to plan leave.. dunno how to eb more zi dong.. no wonder the world needs women!!!

Hippo: ha.. i like ur story.. i dunno how i wld react leh.. but i like ur email.. VERY expressive.. whahahahhaha.. and guess what. i think MIser will do the same things as ur Heli leh.. haiz.. i also give up lah. miser not back yet wor.. FYI.. :S

PY,
My fren both #1 & #2 are c-section cos both r past due by 1 days or 2 days. She can chose to wait lor but her gynae will not encourage lor.

PY: My gynae is the super woman type. 60 plus years old...has this reallly scary air around her hahah...but she is very assuring so far she is still very pro-natural. Like when she found out I have infections etc she will quickly put me on antibiotics so that I can prepare for natural. As for the weight, I think she has this idea that I am a big girl..so natural to have a big baby...pengz

Astro

Ddnikz,
good luck to u too. Tomorrow I got to be at hospital by 8am. And yes, every morning there baby bath demo. Think around 11 am if i didn't remember wrongly. The lactation consultant usually the one doing the demo. I'm going to offer my girl as the model. Ha ha

ong>> i see.. we (including my gynae) still HOPE miracle will happen haha. i already ask mrs neo on her TMC bill size liao.. hers is also emer c sect.. so at least we're prepared to pay that amt.. if really kena fail induction

Astro>> wahaha yes he full of rubbish hahaha!

Tien>> wah i dun like this kinda yi lao mai lao one leh.. my gynae before this was at gleneagles (lisa chin) she is a no nonsense doc.. but i find her very straight forward and will lecture pple one.. i dun like haha heng i only did a pap smear with her nia.

btw big girls doesnt necessary to have big babies leh! there's no linkage haha.

tien/py: yes yes.. astro got hypothesis to support.. 'collecting' evidence. in fact. big girls will have smaller bbs at birth. but these bbs will grow at faster rate than the biggers bbs borned to smaller frames mamas.. kekeke. it was true for teng's case.. yuhe.. seemed to be heading that way.. true for roxie's case.. i think it is generally true. coz natural selection of mother nature! heh..

I think my mother is getting very impossible these few days. I know she means good, but she's super sensitive. I told her the nurse told me to wear skirt, so that my doc can check V easily. Today, she went all the way down to Robinsons, just to buy pyjamas that are longer, without requiring pants. When I said I don't really need those, because I toss and turn a lot in bed, the one piece pj will ride up, (didn't have the chance to explain to her in the phone call), she got very upset and said she spent so much effort to go down and ask around.

And then, my hubby just told me he managed to find cheap sarong for me to wear by asking his colleagues. What am I going to do? If I don't wear what my mum bought, she will get upset even further. Actually, I only like to wear shorts!!

I can't believe this stupid thing is making me feel frustrated. I still have to pack my table so that my family members can help me arrange the room while I'm in the hospital.

Then my mum tell me not to wash my hair. When I said I want to wash, just use hair dryer, she started mumbling stuff. Ahhh! What happened to her, man?

Plus these few days she kept nagging about us getting our own place, cannot be resale, should be new.. blah blah blah, and whether I can actually tahan living with my in-laws. She's being active passive. I need to learn to tune her out.

Sorry for rambling. I can definitely emphathise with miemie. Yeah, our generation brought up on FM, so they seriously think our BM not enough. They had been brainwashed, so can't blame them. I think we really need to learn to tune out our parents. Ahhh!! How I wish I have my own place now.

PY: ur gynae is Jocelyn wong ah.. her clinic is ACJ? then it is just beside my gynae's clinic! heh.. TLC (tender loving care).. this one very lame. but the three gynae's surnames put together really form this! hahahah..

glass>> i'm bringing those long PJ dresses (front button) to the hospital leh. i'm used to wear that since young hehe.

btw mummies are like that one lah.. mine also.. but she allow me to wash my hair provided i use boiled water and blow dry.

astro!! Don't make me feel sad leh, I want my baby to grow tall. I wanted to marry a tall man last time, but turned out I dated more shorties than tallies. In fact, only my first bf was tall. The rest are all 1.65 to 1.68 there about.

ong: you are making me feel happy with your lose weight quickly theory. I think I put on 15kg. Hope to lose them soon. Been watching THe Biggest Loser everyday. Want to lose weight super quickly. But my house still has 8 mooncakes left!!!! WHenever I take one bite, I'll end up eating half a mooncake at one go.

astro> hahahaha tender loving care lol!!!! yah my gynae is joycelyn wong at acj (the 3 doc's english name) adrian, caroline, joycelyn

glass: alamak. ur mother got 'pre-grandchild anxiety' :p.. my mother can't be bothered! :p. eh.. sarongs can wear out.. but pyjamas cannot leh..

glass>> from my observation, most of the children will grow taller than their parents eventually (when they reached puberty) i'm taller than my mom and dad...

so if that's the case then Charlotte will be taller than me! wahaha ok can be model

PY: Haha what to do. She is the 2nd change of gynae for me. Too lazy to find another one. But ok lah...she is quite sweet lah...she saw me very stressed over work causing the water retention and gave me this super long MC. Meaning I do not need to waste my ML

Astro: I hope your thesis is correct hahaha...then the possibility of matriach telling me "your bb is too big and I need to schedule you for C-sec" is lower!!

ddnikz: me will be at Mt A ler.. you're going RH right?

counting down.. 2 more hours before i set off to hospital! woohoo anxious...

Sooooo busy today until wanna pengsan already... I can open a document and wanna start reviewing it but end up only progress 1 page at the end of the day. Not very productive right? Haiz... Reasons? Phone calls, discussions, other more urgent stuff cropping up etc.

Astro>> Hugs Hugs... Nvm, I support you to take 4 days MC to rest! Your gynae is nice to offer you MC. For mine, I hv to ask although she never reject lah.

Mie>> Dont be upset okie? Hugs Hugs to you too. Just to share with you, when I had my first baby, she was warded for a week for jaundice. I was initially very upset but the nursery's nurse called me daily to provide updates on bb's progress + me going to hospital daily to visit, sorta eliminated those sad feelings. Hubby also tried to cheer me up by saying baby was receving the best care under the professionals, so I just learnt to let go. After 1 week, I had my healthy baby back with me.
So dont be upset okie? Your precious will be home with you soon!

Clumsybabe>> All the best! Wishing you a smooth delivery! Pls share your story with us after you deliver okie? I'll be delivering at Mt A too and chances are, I'll be induced as well, so I think I can learn from your experience! Excited for you, can see your little bundle of joy soon!

Astro & Dreamygal : Thanks! Will wait for gynae to advise then. I better be prepared to stay in the hospital after induction.

Clumsybabe>> Not sure yet, shd be within a week or 2 as gynae mentioned my baby measured slightly above average, so may not want me to wait till 40 weeks if baby doesnt come out by then. Will see my gynae again on friday, so see what she says. I'm quite ready for induction as my previous 2 pregnancies were induced too (at govt hospitals though).

You jiayou okie!! We will be here rooting for you!

ya ya.. i also want to know. my last checkup on last Friday i have not dilated yet. i hoping for natural delivery after induce, really hope it will be this way.

For both pregnancies, both not dilated yet but cervix was softended and thinned prior to induction. Both inductions were successful but the first one took much longer before I was fully dilated. I dont know if it's because I tried to tahan the pain without epi as gynae said I'm too tensed up each time the contraction came which slowed down the process. So the 2nd one, I took epi when I felt the pain got more intense and everything was fast and smooth thereafter.

Tien/Bluesea: i hope to the mgt.. it is not too 'deliberate!

hippo: wah liew. i spent close to 40 minutes figuring out the medela! wah liew.. fixing the pump, tubing etc are simple enough. it is the handsfree thingy.. needs adjustment.. aiyoh. they says take minutes.. ya. right, took me thirty minutes! :S.. still aga aga leh. dangling.. dunno good or not. haiz. anyway..

the stupid breastshield.. i know the default provided is not the right size. but i can't gauge if i needed a bigger/smaller size! haiz..
the current default given is 24mm.. right?

Astro
Yes my niece is heavyweight @ 34 mths. Both my sis & BIL r trying to cut down her diet. But frankly, most times her diet & my son r almost the same (thou my son is fussier), so we think my niece is more big-boned like my sis.
Hmmm, can tell u r in a foul mood tdy… Has ur hb always been like tt? As in his usual way of showing concern to u? I’ll snap too!

Hey same here… baby gained 300g and now at 37 wks she weighs 2.7kg. Gynae says gimme another 10 more days or so and baby shld hit 3kg during delivery. Hey our EDD’s only a day apart!

I told my gynae tt I heard avg weight for baby is 3.5kg and she said, “NO way! 3.5kg is on the heavy side alrdy. 3.2 kg is an avg.” I went “Orh…”

Miemie
*pat pat* I totally can empathise wif u. My son was required to undergo 2 days of phototherapy then and I had the option to b admitted wif him, which I did. However, he was up the entire 1st night and I practically nursed him every hr or so. And when he lie in the hard bed (my heart ached so badly) for the session, either me or my hb held his tiny hands to give him support and telling him we were there for him.
The next day, we were advised to go home and leave the baby behind so he fully go under the therapy and level comes down faster.
Both me and my hb cried so hard. Went home, even worse! Passed by his cot and saw it empty made me cried buckets. I went to the hospital several times a day to nurse him and passed the nurse EBM for the night. Thankfully he cld be discharged the next day.

I agree wif astro… take these 2 days to fully rest. It feels like eternity but it will surely b over. And there are a few other babies beside her to keep her “accompany” too. Cheer up!!!

Aiyoh din manage to finish reading... tired liao... gg to zzz... catch up tmrw, ladies!

astro,
yah that's why i kept stressing must try. when i took out the breastshield and looked at the diagram, i knew it didn't fit as it shud! FYI, one shield is $31.50, so 1 pair = $63 hor. normal price in stores here. i got a pair for like under $20 from overseas BP. but that took a long time to arrive.

yes, default size is 24mm. u must try and turn on the pump and then can see if its the right fit. hehe... eh, handsfree thingy, ask the engineer in your hse to fix lor. tell him its punishment for him. hehe...

jrrt: he is like tha tone lah.. coz he believes that h eneeds to tell me the right things.. not the things that make me feel comfortable.. eventually i will get it.. and SEE THE LIGHT.. haiz..
alamak. now i am confused. is 3.5 the norm?
dunno lah.. anyway. teng was 3.1kg at birth. i find him a bit skinny leh.. now of course balloon liao lah..

this miser.. really hor.. i think 'my husband is useless' syndrome is back for me! he just came out.. with a rather frustrated look on his face.. put his hands on my shoulder and calmly ask me if i have time to call up my maid agency and settle her renewal of work permit/passport issue.. wah liew! i drew up a list of tasks.. asked him to choose for himself which ones that he wanted to do.. else everything also i do. i can die one lor.. so he chose this.. so now. he is trying to tell me because he is so busy.. he needs me to take care of this for him.. i snapped at him man.. told him 'u chose this.. now u want me to do it for u again?'.. he said 'ok lah ok lah' in a frustrated mood! idoit.
yalor i SO eng.. i shd do EVERYTHING.. like that effectively.. he has done nothing out of the tasks he has chosen?? even for the pump i asked if he cld collect from the spreeist at ang mo kio mrt since he worked there.. end up also i go and collect myself!!!

oh.. he did something. he reset the crib to the highest level.. wah.. so steady leh.. *applause applause*.. BOO!

hippo: $63 ?! u are kidding me!
i am charging the pump now.. maybe tomorrow i try to set up again.i PRAY it fits man.. $63 for a pair of rubber.. pls.. how to buy like that? !

dun want to talk about that engineer liao lah..he also in a bad mood because, i feel, apparently he thinks i very eng @ work and yet i am not helping to call up the maid agency.. i dun want leh.. cannot ah?!

Astro,
u have that diagram in front of u? Once the suction starts right, it'll suck ur nipples into the "funnel" bit right? Ya ur nipples shud fit just nice in the funnel. Not too big not too small. Unless our nipples change size when milk supply comes in, mine didnt fit lor. But it did say if in doubt can ask LC to help u to fit.

I have more type B stories for u also. But very tired now will continue tom.

hippo>> i told my hb i look like a hippo now.. then he say "yah i'm going to make love with a hippo" WAH LAO! and we burst out laughing....

Bluesea>> cool. hopefully i'll have natural delivery if i need to induce
yeah i've heard that epi will make us more relax so can dilate more.

Astro>> can sense your frustration from your sentences! Really lah, you so cute! haha ... is it the pregnancy hormones causing you to snap easily?

PY>> Yeah, I think it all boils down to having both mummy and baby being safe and healthy. So induce or not, epi or not, I'm open to all options as long as everthing is fine. Dont worry, you can do it too! Jiayou!

Queen>> hahahaa ur birth story is darn funny and it is giving me BH contractions now lol.. i cant stop laughing at ur 1150 part.. the farting and ur "breakfast" omg..

ur baby is gorgeous :D hehehe congrats once again!