(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

OK, I went to check out the breast pumps. The instructions say to boil it for 3 min, but my steriliser takes 9min for steaming. Is it ok to use my steriliser?

sunnyling, looks like so many people I know go into labour once their leave starts. I've been home for 2 and half weeks already!! Not that I'm complaining, just that my leave is wasted, although I really needed the break.

mie,

dun wori abt bm ss. keep pumping, latching n supplements with FM lor. tt's wat i have been doing since ss is low. but i din latch cos my nipples are bleeding from feeding ... so currently resting them.

Roger Hippo! Din manage to sterilise hahah...turned out I slept!! So, maybe I will do it tomorrow!

Sunnyling: Congrats! Wah I wish my little one is as kancheong as yours..apparently my MC is making her more and more comfy. She is certainly more happy in there then coming out..maybe I should bluff her that mummy no more MC...going to start ML then she will come out...her mummy and daddy also wait until the neck super LONG!

Hippo: Hahah can understand the part where ppl keep asking. For me, I have been receiving sms asking if I have popped...I mean if I have I will sure be smsing the whole world!! My hubby super poor thing. Everyday got ppl ask, hey your wife pop already? Are you a daddy already? Etc...

Anyway can't believe that my hubby's over-zealous colleagues went to visit his other colleague's wife, meaning they dun really know the wife and they went to visit her at the hospital!!! I already told my hubby, they better dun come and visit me cos that's when I am most NOT glam and I dun even know them well. Feel sorry for the other wife esp when hubby told me that they told him that the wife was having rashes and puffy eyes etc etc....thought it was insensitive of them to just visit...I mean I don't mind presents, tonics and flowers but giving birth is quite a personal thing, to me. Think after I said this, my hubby like a little unhappy...hahah

hippo >> even if you sterilise now, you'd need to re-sterilise these b4 use...good for 24hrs in the unopened sterilising container. hehe, parts of the birth i remembered very clearly like the "where's dr sim's crocs" and i rem saying..."whoa..got personalised preferences!"..other parts, my hb was recording the birth progression on his iphone. guess his orbits ard the bed were spent doing a lab report on the human mouse xoxo. and of course, there are snaps of things happening that i dont rem, i dont rem. my hb took a shot of me standing on e bed< hanging on e lamp, now i really dont recall that.

glass >> my CL used Avent..says 200ml, go on auto timer, it'll re-sterilise automatically after 7 hrs..when I heard that i went AWWWW with my pigeon..it uses up 350ml...and as for the auto function, that's not available, sorry.

jRRt >> hehe, i dun rem cos i think it was too traumatic...so short term memory is good for stuff like that..makes u forget, and then before u know it, second bb's on the way acc to the ward sisters...and it'd be "why on earth am i doing this??". i took just one whiff of the gas, it wasn't my cup of tea, so i didn't use it after that.

PY>> are u next? frankly, feel like i really need my insomnia now. so sleepy but can't rest all thks to my topsy turvy schedule.

sorry side track.
er.. is it normal..that now wk39. i hardly go pee. i mean last time i visit the loo v often. nowadays i seem to be able to hold my bladder. like last night, i slept all the way through from 11pm to 7am?

xoxo: according to my avent express steriliser, it only requires 90ml, so saves even more water. It takes 8 min for the entire cycle.
I've already tried sterilising the steriliser itself, the pumps, and going to sterilise the rest of the bottles. Yup, will have to sterilise them again before use.

My question is, if we bring our pumps out, wouldn't the sterilised pumps no longer be steriliser if left in the bag? It goes the same for the bottles.

gal: I also don't go toilet that much. It's not that I intentionally don't go. But it depends on the type of drink I take. Once I took chrysanthemum, just one week ago, I peed like every 15 min for the entire night, even though it lasted less than 2 seconds.

oo thanks glass. that's a relieve. guess i m a bit uptight coz w39 n bb not growing. :p and no symptom of labour... :p... thanks!

hee..so excited. :p hippo, i know what u mean. got pple counting down for me everyday. :p

Omg juz done with my check up. Bb Charlotte still v comfy inside .. And still 0cm dilation. Doc did membrane sweeping for me to help to stretch abit. Hopefully she can come out this weekend as her weight now is 3.4kg man! Doc is hoping her estimation is -20% and try not to induce yet as she afraid it might fail and it's more painful. She still ask me to walk more and have intercourse everyday hahaha !!

wah..so many mummies popped within these few days.. congrats..

and yes, mummies, u are the best and most 'wei da'..

Also, thanks for updating the birth stories, it's kind of getting us prepared for ours when time comes.

mie: think u r having a bad time thru this period. take care and be positive ok..

Queen RA / pigsy and chynle / siangjiao / sunnyling : CONGRATS! Our hubbies shared the same birth date!!

Queen RA : Our hubbies shared the same birth date!!

jrrt : My Glynnis is a milk monster too... She normally takes more than 600ml of milk daily. But when she was still a baby, she took very long to finish even 120ml.

astro ; Teng is tall!! But tall is good. Glynnis is 14.2kg and about 92cm at 30 mths.

hippo : You will never have the neck sore problem when you talk to me...

mie : A lot of older folks are not supportive of breastfeeding. They are afraid that the baby will not have enough. You know what you want and keep up with it. Drink a lot of fluid and rest more. Massage your breast and keep trying to latch and pump. Your milk supply will come in. Remember demand = supply. And don't ever get too depressed over it.

glass : Pumping do help. I breastfeed my #1 through exclusive pumping. But latching on direct is still the best.

<font color="ff0000">Pupsik Pouch></font>
still need a few more orders as some enquiries did not eventually place orders... anyone still interested??

PM me for price list..please don post here as i dun belong to this thread and i do not read here.. thanks..

Expect to receive the pouch by next Fri latest if we can order by tonite.

CONGRATS TO Queen/pigsy/xoxo/chynle/siangjiao/sunnyling/mylvera. So many of u popping on mid autuum festival.

Mie,
My milk came in aro the 5th day and it is not a lot. I just supplement with FM when my supply was low in the first few days.Dun get too depress over supplementing with FM and u will enjoy the process more. i am still supplementing FM once/twice a day cos i am lazy to pump every 3hrs at nite. u can try MIM nursing tea as i find it do increase my supply.

glass,
Only sterilise when u are gg to use. No point to sterilise it one or 2 days before. I just make sure i wash all the bottles and pump beforehand &amp; put aside. So once back fm hospital, i just put them all in to sterilise b4 use. I just arga arga on the water to put in. normally i use half a cup of water so it is aro 100ml. That depends on hw many bottles etc that u put in. I have 8 bottles(4 for bm storage), 2 pumps &amp; 2 breast shells to sterilise. However, i am using tollyjoy steriliser.

Xoxolight &amp; astro: Thanks for ur advice regarding glass bottles.. maybe i shld just a few of those specially made for storing BM. Now thinking if I shld let my sis in law know. After all, she used those recycled glass bottles for her 1st gal alr... and she's the frugal type.. Hee.. not that I m a spendthrift la.. but rather be safe than sorry lor..

Congrats to the many mommies who have popped.. I enjoyed reading your birth stories.

I m going to visit my gynae now.. Still bearing the little hope that my gal will turn.. Otherwise, Dr's going to cut mummy's stomach!! Haha..

glass,
I am using breast shell to collect leaking bm cos it is so precious when we do not have alot of supply. I only have aro 100ml for both side so it can leak aro 10-20ml per session during pumping if i drag 4 more than 3hrs.

I have disposable breast pads but nt using them now since i have CL. I am using washable breast pads when not pumping. I have aro 8 pairs of them and reali saves alot of $ cos i can chg aro 3 pairs daily. Btw, i bot the farlin breast pads at $7.90 for 3pairs and they r cheap n gd. I bot them at KP. I have pigeon one as well but they discontinue the washable breast pad liao.

dreamygal: how come u dont look pale at all after giving birth?? u put on makeup before taking photos ah?? haha.. your boy looks really peaceful leh.. hehe..

babies are so not fun.. they just sleep and sleep... hahahaa...

glass >> once you bring anything out of the sterilising unit, even placing it in a ziploc bag, will expose them to the environment = not sterile. all parts of the breast pump, bottles that i place in the steriliser, i can't even use a cloth to wipe them dry after they are done..all i could do is to give it a hard shake to dislodge as much moisture as possible and use immediately. really gotta plan, always sterilise right after use, keep the lids on and anyway, bb will need feeding within 2-3hrs which means, the window of 24hrs will be fine. don't sterilise only when u need the items cos it'll take 8min~11mins and that's way too long...bb's wailing today was enuf to drive me up the wall. that story, another day

gal>> just now in the clinic i saw one jw's patient is inducing today.. jw told me the baby is 5 days overdue liao and she was tearing from the painful contractions i think. Tsk... pls pls baby come out this week.. i dun want to induce

xoxo: ok, i googled a bit, and they said it's not necessary for the breast pumps to be super sterilised before you pump. Breast milk is supposed to not be easily contaminated. One way is to run the pump through hot water.

According to the manual, just need to sterilise once a day.

I guess for the bottles, it's more important esp for formula milk.

PY : membrane sweep increases the likelihood that labour will start within 48 hours. so er.. 9 oct? :p

me oso no wanna induce. told my friend maybe this friday can consider take half day leave from work and walk until my leg drop
whatever that may possibly help :p

gal &amp; PY,
Maybe u can do more squatting exercises. Read fm somewhere that squatting may helps. In the old days, they r no such thing as C-section and all mummies go thru natural delivery. They r only squatting toilets last time and maybe tat's part of the reason

Had my massage with bodyworks clinic ytd and seems not bad as the duration is 75mins instead of the usual 45mins offered by freelance ML. I paid $560 for 7 sessions. Cant c any results yet but they say cfm will see result by 5th day. Hopes so!

ong, yes, and in the old days, people die from childbirth.

PY: maybe my gynae never do hard enough. I never get any bleeding after VE, even though she said I might and I should not be alarmed.

hi all..
back at work from half day leave in morning for gynae visit..

bb's fine. approximate 2.9 kg at week 37.. aiya. thought he can hit 3 kg.. left a bit disappointed.. anyway.. i am feeling blue..

go and get my lunch and continue to while my time away at work today. talk to u girls later..

PY,
hahahaha... is your HB happy to hear that???
intercourse everyday... hmmm... that's something all the hubbies not gonna get a lot of in the next few months (or weeks?)...

talk about over zealous frens, my fren just called me and said "eh, walker or seat booster?" i'm like "wah, i haven't pop yet". she goes "yeah evidently, but since i'm shopping, i might as well ask u first and then buy now"

xoxo,
yah, i was just being KS sterilise one round for fun first. make sure i know how to work the steriliser, pumps, etc. what bottles did u eventually get? NUK? how's the CL doing? hope she aint a problematic one...

PY,
if i remember correctly, diana went into labour pretty soon after her gynae did membrane sweep for her. ...
good luck...

gal^,
your EDD actually is 10th hor? shud be these couple of days already hor?

finally felt stronger pains in my lower ab last night, accompanied with backpain. wonder if those are contractions? but they werent regular and tummy didn't harden up.

anyhow, i lied. havent gone to the pool yet. having coffee with my fren in town first. hehe... HB was like "pls pls pls be careful, you can pop anytime". was thinking i wish it was that easy. isabel's not budging and she seems pretty adamant about it! stubborn cow! :p

ong,
so massage session is good huh? sure can slim down one lah. you're quite slim for your height what...

dreamygal,
hehe... next time if we have gathering i stick to you k?

astro,
how come blue today leh? about the leave thingy? dun fret over it lah. not worth it. ...

hippo,
Ya cos the ML seems to be quite knowledeable &amp; professional lor. She is fm china and is bonded to the co. for 2yrs. She apply strength when massaging &amp; i like it but i am aching everywhere this am. She say i did not exercise when pregnant so hv blockage in many places and she need to unblock the area. Talk like a chinese physician. Haha! In fact, i loses 9kg in abt 1wk +. i din do anything at all. Jus shed off 9kg automatically cos we have alot of wind in the body and i fart many times a day. But still have aro 15kg to shed off!! Seems like stagnant liao *panic*

hippo,
in fact, i am wondering if i had called a ML on the 2nd or 3rd day, i might have tot that the 9kg losses was due to the massage done which in actual fact was not.

Ong,
wah u give me hope. 9kg in 1st week?! Shiok man... *big wide grin* i still trying to confirm another massage lady. Gonna fire the original one. Sigh...

hello there all,
been MIA for a while...
Congrats to all mummies who've popped.

hello miemie,
pls help update the table when you have time.
I've given birth on 29/09/09 under emergency c-section with epidural. Original EDD was 15/10/09.
Baby's weight at birth is 3.24kg, length 49cm and name have been finalise to be Kaelyn Seow Kai Lin.
Here's a pic of 9days old baby Kaelyn...

Siangjiao:Congratz^-^

Astro: y ur hubby so bad one.shd get him to be pregnant himself then he knows haha.When my hubby did tt at my initial stage of preggy,i just asked him to go talk to his frds whom have kids n he will know im not the only one complaining of tiredness/pain n more rest

xoxo: congratz too^-^ wa ur labor took 12 hrs+!!!

mie: did u try 'sunning' her under the sun? tts wat my frds did to their babies when bb ahve jaundice and it works

Astro: tts a nice wt wo ,not big not small just nice.too big difficult to deliver naturally

gal^>> haha but it only works well when the cervix has soften leh.. i dun think mine has soften ... aiyoh v jialat.. i told my hb to bring me go walk also.. he suggested hort park wah piang... hahahaha..

ong>> hmm squatting. haha ok i will try maybe i shall scrub the toilet floor later. but baby's head is still rather high up.. not much difference compared to my last visit..

hippo>> her case coz she's already 3cm dilated ma.. i'm still 0cm.. doc say v unlikely will start labour within 48 hours.. she just hope it will lah. then when she told me abt intercourse, i point to my hb saying "he dun dare leh!" hahaha then she said it's perfectly harmless to the baby and wont bang the head hahahahaah nobody is such long that can reach the baby's head.

she said this is not enjoyment for u all ah it's a doc's prescription wahaha!!! but after she did the sweep for me, she touched my tummy and said there u have contraction now haha ..

Glass>> last week she did VE for me and i had brownish discharge.. today she did the sweep for me and i got dark red .. she told me not to be alarmed coz that's because she did the sweep for me.. v sian lah i'm like stuck here and baby dun wanan come out..

ok i shall BD more WAHAHA! she say sperm also has the hormones prostaglandins, which may kick-start your labour. hahaha..

Anette: yes.. he is a MEANIE.. in fact my blues today is triggered by him! following what he said last night lor.. then luckily.. Astro's nice person.. got FRIENDS one (working in the same company).. who 'came to her rescue'.. advised her how she should take her leave such that everything is 'cordial and nice'. Not like him, not on my side nvm still never propose a solution in the end! hmpf!
then i momentarily happy happy for a while coz my issue was 'solved'.. then i asked how we should spend the morning together since i took the morning off liao.. he said he need to rush back to work coz he has a lot of things to clear.. my appt was at 915am.. then til 1pm.. what am i supposed to do, ALONE?
that got me real blue again! then i told him.. 'u win liao lor.. shouldn't u show me a little more concern???'.. he said 'i am trying my best to finish up my work so that i can try take a few days off before oct 26 lah..'.. ok then i cooled down a little.. he went to bed.. i stayed up.. watched a little tv. then decided to sleep coz foul mood..

then hor. in the dark.. the more i think of it.. the more pissed off i get.. stupid man. then i purposely use my handphone backlight and SHINE on him.. and shook him real hard to wake him up. i told him 'dun be too much ah.. pls show me more concern ah.. i am angry liao ah...' he said 'why so bright one? then said ok lah.. i will try'.. then go off to sleep .. *sigh*

then the night continued lor (as what Bluesea experienced.. keep waking up to pee).. end up this morning. i had a bad headache. coz didn't sleep well.. he saw me still sleeping.. then must wake up else late for appt liao.. i told him i have a headache lah.. then he said 'wah like that u can take MC liao lor!'.. then i snapped at him liao.. 'u think i very hung up over those MCs iszit?i got headache lah!'.. he said.. 'no.. i meant becoz u have a headache u have legitamate reason to take the day off liao!'..

then black face him all the way to clinic.. Gynae on hearing that i have a headache. and i didn't sleep well.. asked me if i need mc.. without me requesting.. i told her no pt lah. today i half day leave. maybe next week.. gynae asked me .. 'take care ah.. let me know if u need the mc next week'...

then i arranged the next gynae visit on a tuesday in the afternoon.. at the counter. he looked at me puzzled.. then on the way back before get into the cab.. asked me.. how come tuesday then see gynae? then i said.. so that i can take my 4 days of mc.. then start ML.. he said 'i see. but u wun be sick next week mah. how to take mc?'.. wah lau! i want to slap that man leh. he has a Masters leh. where did his brains go to all of a sudden?! i snapped at him 'then i shall LIE that i have a headache lor'.. that man can still reply 'but headache can get u 4 days of mc meh???'.. arghhh.. haiz. i give up..

plus put on 1.1kg over 2 weeks.. but bb only 300g.. so blue liao lor :S

hippo/jrrt/bluesea: there u go.. a continuation of yesterday. leading to my blues today.. come to think of it.. quite funny huh?.. haiz...

ok. let me read the archives..in an attempt to cheer myself up.. stupid miser..

PY: BD? i think ur hb should be happy to hear that. my gynae didn't suggest that coz for Yu He he can still afford to grow more.. EVEN if she suggests BD to get yu he out now.. i will reply ...'intercourse? now? him (miser).. i will castrate him if he dares to touch me NOW!' ..

!@##$%#^#@$R@$!#$!#%$

yes astro ur baby weight's just nice man!!! i'm stuck with 3.4kg at 39W hopefully the estimation is +20% so she's only abt 3.1kg if not i think i will have a difficult time in the labour suite =\

astro>> yah lah coz urs still can grow more .. better dun go disturb him hehe... for mine we are thinking of ways to let her come out ASAP! lol...

oh yah and she also specifically instruct my hb to eject INSIDE wahaha so funny lah today my check up .. all laughing away

Cat: ur girl is very cute. congrats
i will chope her for my boyS hor.. thanks in advance :p

re the tubing of medela pumps
so eh.. must sterilise or not ah?
my frens on the other thread. just dump their PIS into avent steriliser to sterilise one leh..

think it is difficult to maintain a sterile condition for the bb .. even in our own body. the womb.. it is not sterile.. and they drink their own amionitic fluid leh. how clean can that be? :p

Sotong: but Ryan is 6 years old?! omg.. ok.. haiz.. *going home later starve teng*

xoxo: congrats.. very glad that in the end, all went well for u..

I like ur gynae.. i find her (?) decisive and yet abiding to ur concerns and preference. the way she said 'she will intervene beyond 10 pushes'.. i like that.. it shows she is responsible and daring enough to tell ur hb what she think is the safest for u.. and at the same time. she didn't just take the easist way out -the c-section.. ok. cld be that she is trying to protect herself too. but i think she did it very nicely.. who is ur gynae btw?

and (hmm. could be my foul mood with miser now).. Mr Smart Fella.. if i were u.. and when i am feeling more adjusted.. i would be interested to ask him why he withheld my consent to use the epidural and such.. was it to save costs (which i dun think shd be his main priority given his wife is in pain).. or that allows him to be 'as natural as possible'.. either way. it doesn't sit well coz he is not the one in pain..

sorry if i sound curt hor.
do rememeber. i have a meanie as my hb.. and i am still pissed off with him! think all men better stay 10 miles away from me now!

Sunnyling: congrats!

Dreamygal: congrats
glynnis is of good weight.. dun be like teng lah. he is a fattie..

jrrt: which reminds me.. 34 mths. ur niece? 17 kg.. for a female, quite heavyweight hor? :p

PY: y u do so many time Ve test,last wk n this wk,isnt tt painful
n abit lost of ur last post with astro dun understand:p

Astro:ger sorry but i was laughing away when i read ur post halfway.if my hubby like urs, i will be like....err....ahh....vomit blood i guess.

annette: that man. pretending to be blur and STUPID! i blackfaced him all the way lah. sent him to work in the cab before i go home to sleep. he smiled and waved at me when the cab moved off.. i just GLARED at him.. stupid man..

annette>> haa yah i had 3 VEs so far liao 37,38 and 39 today all had VE.. i think my case coz baby on the bigger size.. doc wanna see if there's any dilation as we all hope that she come out faster ma.. but so far all 0cm! so disappointed lah. hai hmmm i think my threshold for VE quite high leh..

before she did the sweep for me.. i ask her is it painful.. she say if pain can stop her.. but i was enduring it, holding on to the cushion haha.. ok lah not that bad afterall. but i came back with a soaked pad (dark red somemore) lol which she said it's normal.