(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

miemie,
OMG congratulations!!!!!! u had me worried for awhile! post pics of isabelle when u have time.

congrats mie mie and all the mommies who have popped too! can't wait to see more bb pictures >_<

astro: your gynae said see you next wk in delivery ward? wow, soon yar!

Yes Cammie made me worried too!! U forgot ur hp charger is it! Haha she's v pretty
I'm so happy for u. Happy mooing haha i'll join u soon!

sweet>> no la, i was too tired to reply to any sms-es and calls.. so decided to disappear for a while until im physically and emotionally ok.. was a traumatic experience coz wasnt prepared for c-sect at all...
and im posting from the hospital now lo..

hippo>> i wanted to post pic of Isabelle here, but cant seem to shrink the file size.. i posted one pic of her in FB though.. heehee

Mie: congrats! bb is out.. she.s fine. u are fine?.. that's good.. put the experience behind u

how are u feeling now?
what happened?

Mie: Yeah I understand.. As wat I always tell u too I'm not prepared for c sect too. So hope everything goes smoothly for me too.. Get well soon k! Put the bad experience behind hee

LAdies: i booked Isabelle liao ah.. she is so pretty.. and mie said she has her classic dimples. both sides somemore.. ok. isabelle is reserved for yu he liao.. please 'do not touch'.. whahahahhaha :p

PY: yes.. i will continue to monitor the 'trend'. skali i need to book all the princesses liao! hahaha

Mrs L: i see.. ehh. .like that u still intend to try establish bf-ing?
aiya.. she say say onli nia.. yu he still happily hiccuping inside!
the surname is really unique
but very long name! :p:p

loke: eh. i dunno :p.. u know ah.. at least u all onli now dun wear.. i since teng's birth have not worn my ring :S

ww: enjoy ur bb

xoxo: kekeke.. like that huh? then have another girl!

miemie,
most impt thing is both you and isabelle are fine. saw her pic already, very sweet.

astro,
yah lor. u so fast chope isabelle already lah. not waiting for the rest of the princesses to come out meh? :p

Congrats miemie! Have a good rest.

WW, Congrats to you too!

Astro,
Hey, you are so fast! Save some for me can?!

Backpain,
Don't think there will be much diff for different brands of Yu Jin. For myself, I took it daily during my confinement.

Joanne,
I sluate you! Can still think of the time to get nice numbers when you are in such great pain! Congrats once again!

Mrs L,
Hope that you hand will recover soon! If you are really keen in breastfeeding, maybe you can pump and throw away your milk now to establish your supply. Once your hand has recover and there's no need for the medication, you can try giving James EBM through bottles?

miemie >> mission accomplished! don't dwell too much on the birth experience, do recover soon and i am looking fwd to chatting with u again soon...jia you!

update >> came back from the gynae..hb and gynae nearly came to a really bad disagreement over my birth "plan" so much so she wanted to 'retire' from my care and have my hb sign some waiver of responsibility since it involved the complicated varicose vein in my neck, and a vascular surgeon's comment that it's so rare, he doesn't know if i should even try straining..was quite tense. i am rather moody abt this...anyway, bottomline is, we will see what happens....full-of-ideas me is now emptied of ideas.

overall, the bb's doing fine..placenta is "ageing" and amniotic fluid has dropped slightly. expect action this week..hopefully..so she doesn't get too large and i don't STRAIN too much again. what a word.

things went on rather uneventfully until i was set off by impossible price tags! u know, the silliest kind that cannot be removed whichever method you try..i tried even lighter fluid, soap, warm water, scrub to the pits of my fingers..and they simply won't budge. so upset that i am bringing the purchase back to the store tom..wish these folks luck cos xoxo really needs to take out some fumes on somebody...

ok, vented enough...now back to cleaning. it's the only thing that provides me some therapeutic relief.

astro >> dunno what to think of #2 or not..now gotta get thru' this #1...ask you..when u are delivering and when you are "bearing down"..is it really tough to do?

xoxo>> omg... i think the best is to heed gynae's advice.. hope everything goes well for u
dun think abt it too much first hehe. what did ur gynae suggested for u?

xoxo,
wah??? erm, at this stage, all i can say is that the best PLAN is to have NO PLAN. looks like now's not a good time for me to ask what really transpired at the gynae today. but dun loose sight of the BIG PICTURE. our #1 aim is to deliver our bb safe and sound. at the end of the day, its not THAT important HOW it came out. know what i mean?

my fren who just delivered told me the nurses told her about 25% of deliveries end up in c-section. personally when i ask pple around me, i think that rate is actually higher.

i have yet to discuss any PLAN with my MIA-gynae. but i have already instructed my HB to remember 2 things when i'm going nuts in the delivery suite.

1) #1 priority is safety of bb (which he promptly corrected me and said #1 priority is safety of mummy)
2) i want the least painful/complicated way to deliver baby. so if episiotomy is necessary, go ahead.

that's all i will tell my gynae as well. sometimes the harder we think and the more we anticipate how it will unfold eventually, the more out of control it can get. so i think just relax and let the professionals do their job and advise us accordingly?

found the "Sleep 101" book which i bought my dad some time ago. wonder if u wanna borrow it? i used to have sleep problems in the past.

try and get some zzzzzz... da hippo is gonna go into hibernation mode.

py >> gynae suggested shortening stage 2...ie she's not gg to wait for bb's head to descend completely and she will use forceps so i don't have to last the bearing down stage. failing which, c-section..that sounds logical. but it also carries risk, i.e. bb's head could get swollen and it's not entirely a procedure that sounds "painless" to the bb from my humble perspective. either way, my "as-natural-as-possible" hb and my doc now can't agree..how to go into the delivery ward with this type of atmosphere?

xoxo: hmm.. so u will be induced this weekend? coz of the aging placenta and dropping water level?.. eh. that V.Vein in ur neck sounds quite bad for ur gynae and ur surgeon to get into this tension... ur gynae wants u to go for an elective c-section to avoid strainin.. right?

that time i was heavily drugged under epidural.. my strain (on the neck) was more of numbness rather than bearing down. i am not a good reference. u need to ask those who delivered naturally. but i thought it was tricky to locate the right way to push.. coz i had no feeling.. so i didn't 'know' how to push :S

are u vexed because u are more interested in a natural vagina birth? dun be .. regardless of which method.. the safety of the bb and u is the ultimate goal..

hippo >> gynae isn't worried abt the bb..says at most, head will swell...gynae was worried abt the mommy. she says this issue, if u don't get it right, irreversible and she dunno what to do abt it. dunno what to think lah. like you, i've no plan. if i feel something's not right, can't take it etc, i guess i will communicate that without hesitation. in births, circumstances are always so fluid and we should just go with the flow and not stress ourselves with "the perfect birth"....with all this impending drama, i am quite tempted to suggest elective c-section to evade all potential issues.

sleep 101? i've got no peace of mind now
hibernate bah...i need to meditate soon also to calm my nerves over veins and stickers..

xoxo: ehh. i hope i dun sound too harsh here.. ur hb must get his priorities right. yes.. of course we want things to be natural.. but if things cannot turn out the way we want.. then the safest method shd be taken.. myself, if i were in this situation.. i wld just opt for elective c-section.. minise any potential harm/stress on myself and the bb.. and if men can give birth.. i am quite sure.. Miser would choose that as well.. remember.. as what hippo's heli mentioned.. mother is impt too

another pt to note is the aging placenta and dropping fluid level.. u need the bb out asap also...

sorry if i sound too harsh hor ..
just thought the happy arrival of a bb.. shdn't be reduced coz of some fixed opinions ... my humble two cents worth. ignore me as noise if i have offended

xoxo: i feel like i am like those rascals stirring up negative sentiments between u and ur hb.. but pls believe i am really not.. go for the c section.. it is ur body.. honestly ..

astro >> my natural hb says no to the induced idea...i didn't veto that simply because i was quite sian at the tension and slight quarrel with the doc..so didn't want to put myself in a position where i've to face this issue so soon. let this weekend past (anyway, super hot dates eh? my gynae delivered 3 bbs today by the time i saw her at 2pm!) and maybe i can get a handle of this shortly and come to terms abt what i should do...this neck vein thing also complicates matters for c-section because it means for both GA and LA, i need really closer than usual monitoring...just occured to me, i didn't ask why..

astro >> not at all..i wanted to tell my hb, relax..i of all persons would know..wanted to tell my gynae..relax..i'd tell u if i cannot make it. in the end..both of them talked so much and came to blows while i just sat there stunned. not stirring anything up...i also don't wanna pick a fight with either of the 2 most impt parties now. no gd solution.

PY >> gynae says at her ideal pt of intervention with forceps, epi will get in the way for me because she needs me to have sensation in order to intro the forceps earlier than usual. as for how GA/LA affects this vein to my head..i don't know..just occured i didn't ask what's the issue tho' i know in my admission letter now, i've got some accompanying greek instructions with highlighter here and there with anaesthetist to avoid using the neck to intro any GA; and for LA(epi) to be switched off early (so in other words, not advisable cos useless).

xoxo: go sleep.. honestly. u need the sleep.. sleep it away.. dun think about it first.. tomorrow when the sun rises.. a new day starts.. u will then know what to do

xoxo,
Sound to me that it will be better for you to take c-section? I do agree with hippo/Astro that the #1 aim is to use the most suitable method to deliver the baby and have BOTH baby and mummy SAFE.

I really don't understand why some mummies(or daddies) would insist on natural and why some mummies(or daddies) would think that only natural birth will make you more like a women. I can only say it's rubbish (no offense to anyone)! Let's not forget that birthing is actually quite a dangerous process and it can result in death if not taken proper care. I have a gf who had a e-c-sect and had to be push to ICU thereafter. It took her 1 week to be discharge from ICU.

Though I always said natural birth is not scary and it can be done without epi. But I won't underestimate the pain at the peak. My hubby had just reminded me(again!) that I told him "No way I'm going though this a 2nd time!" at the peak of my pain. Why put yourselves through something with a small percentage of danger when there's another safer option? That is if c-sect is deem to be safer according to your gynae.

Just my 2 cents worth since I don't really know the whole story. No matter what, you know your body best and I feel that you are rational enough to make the correct decision. Give me a call if you need some venting tonight, there's no need to wait for tomorrow. Try not to think about it at least for tonight and have a good rest.

PY/backpain: tt one tts posted earlier on is 1.3-1.5 per small pack fr 3differ shops,packs of 10 is ard13bucks for all shops. backpain, urs shd be the same as the one i mentioned here to PY then really cheap wo, shall take a look one day there ,tts the only medical shop there?help me get the address if u drop by again can,at least the blk nos?

joanne: tts gd new for ur CL. as 4 wound, me no idea as its my 1st birth. u just started ur massage or?i was told if natural birth will start abt4-5days later

miemie: congratz
no wonder u MIA also.both u n bb discharged?

xoxo: wah y suddenly ur case become so complicated? y not u just go by the way gynae suggest since gynae shd be more expewrience?

xoxolight >>

i tink is better to listen to ur gynae. Even thou i personally tinks is better to delivery the natural way but if ur body don allow den don take the risk. Is ur body ur decision.

I had back prob and epi will kind of make it worst, u know the side effect pain of epi. Thou the side effects don come often. My HB insist no epi i tahan 17hr and i ask my gynae to give epi. Cos i m the 1 in pain not HB. Saying does not help me relieve pain. So i don care i took epi.

2nd time my Hb nv say anything le, once contraction start i ask for epi le. Both my kids are induced birth normal delivery with epi.. I guess my 3rd one will oso be the same

astro, sotong_mum: yup, am doing what sotong_mom has suggested. will see how it goes after 2 weeks of the med taken for CTS. i hope everything will clear up and my right hand will feel normal again. otherwise, need to do a minor hand surgery.

astro regarding bb name: first + middle + last name = long name lah. lucky we have no intention to add chinese name. hehe

Astro>> Thanks..

Tml gonna be a busy day.. celebrating my gal's 1st bday. Doing almost 3week in advance cos newborn may come anytime now

mie mie: plenty of good rest and take care gal. birth journeys can be very tough and unpredictable. but the face of our precious bb makes it all worthwhile and also helps us to get it all out and then move forward.

xoxo: better be safe too and listen to gynae advice or maybe a second gynae opinion?

xoxolight : Better to listen to gynae. I believe she knows what she is doing. The most important thing is to be safe, both mummy and baby. Take care ya.

ww : Congrats!!

Mie : I saw sweetzinc on msn this afternoon. Initially wanna ask her if you have popped since you disappeared for a few days. But just as i wanna do so, my Glynnis woke up from her nap. Congrats!! She's very sweet. No wonder Yu he's mummy wanna book her.

jasmine : Welcome!!

<font color="aa00aa"> dear all,

My baby Asher is in nursery room now!!! Same like mie, was an emerg c section. </font>

Hi Mie and Diana, share your stories soon and post bb's photos! Congrats to all who have popped. So excited for mummies who have babies in their arms already. I can't wait to see mine.

Xoxo: tt sounds really complicated.. But I think no
matter wat we should listen to gynae since we trust them and chosen them to 'take care' of us..

Xoxo: Sorry to hear about your predicament. But really, birth plan or not sometimes we have to trust the professionals to make the decisions. My gynae is one of those who merely said, 'Good that you have a birth plan...but ultimately, the best is to listen to my advice'. IN another words, cannot argue with her.

But really, you have to communicate with your hubby and tell him how you feel. And I really think you are working too hard too. Must rest.