(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

re: vaccinations
hey does anyone know what are the necessary vaccinations and how or when do we take them? and where? was given a stack of brochures about different types of combo jabs but not sure where or when they have to be administered.

would appreciate it if someone can shed light on this? thanks a lot!

vin: good luck for your c-sect

so many mommies popping. soon, this thread will be flooded with more cute baby photos

siangjiao,
hmmm... i also a bit sian but because i'm quite sian and bored, i've lifted my "home arrest order" on my own. told my HB since doc says i wun be ready so soon, then i'm gonna resume going out and meeting my friends. cos i've been cooped up the past week or so at home and really getting a bit bored. like driving myself up the wall. he understood lah so am trying to be a bit more "normal" again. haha...

Hippo,
I was laughing at your 5th gear to 1st gear! Hahaha Yeah it certainly feels that way in your case. But good in a way cos most likely you don't need to face your uncle!

I have been going on couple time recently too. Though our couple time are done in wee hours after my son sleep. Once this little one comes, no more couple time for a long time! Unless you can bear to leave your baby with someone and go for a short holiday after your confinement.

PY,
Yalor, now I'm hoping that I will be the 1st to start. If not, I will start panicking if I see you gals having a show and I'm here wondering/waiting for my!

Mrs L,
All the best to you too! Keep us update ok?!

ddnikz: you too!! got 'show' already.. wah.. good luck!! tonight rest well first

hippo: depends on where you want to go for the jabs. i myself am not too sure about the schedule. last time worried abt forgetting it. but once i decided to bring my son to the polyclinic for his jabs, they will just give you one date to remember at a time and will write in your child's health booklet. then just have to follow the schedule. i took the 5-in-1 last time. now got 6-in-1 so will prob take that one up.

dono abt pte pds/gps but i'm guessing it'd be the same..?

what alot of posts and exciting ones at that!

nomsnosm >> way to go babe! haha, i wish i can still be prata-ing abt when i am where you are now *wink*...hehe, here's wishing u a good, fast and smooth labour!

mrs L >> your scheduled C-section today! how did it go?

tien >> i had my gynae check today. got news that i had high blood pressure too which came as a surprise because i always had low BP and besides my really bad insomnia and nausea..was feeling quite fine.

update from gynae visit >>
In any case, just realised too that my hearing isn't that great and some "varicose veins" have begun developing at my neck. So the gynae wants me to see a vein specialist the earliest possible for an opinion abt my neck veins...to check if the strain from natural delivery would affect anything. rather dulled by all that. i wasn't strapped to any monitoring though the bb's heartbeat was taken. she's weighs 2.75kg now while i have lost weight. guess, i need to say that stress (moi from the lousy MS and inability to sleep) is stacking up.

muahaha, the way the gynae described delivery - "really really bad constipation"; "running an ultra-marathon"..and how long u gonna strain yourself? she estimates abt 6-8 pushes, approx 15-18mins...hmm..so today, i stared at the watch for 15mins..it went really SLOWLY...grrrr..

and i also had a earful from every single nurse in the clinic abt not carrying my admission letter with me...???? Alrighty, i guess newly-minted mummies aren't always on top of everything?

astro >> there's quite alot of sick children at TMC today. guess like you said, it's the tummy flu..you take good care yah? not a great time to get an infection too..

hippo >> whoa..i think with my BP, it will take me much longer to pipe down. hehe, but if isabelle is gd and on time, maybe u can make it w/o uncle?

sotong >> i lost weight! 400g to be exact..and my gynae seems rather convinced that i won't last till the 14th and expects developments soon. I wonder why. But really...we are now 37w so it's really anytime. cold feet..i've got two...but there's no back door now...

re: vaccinations
I am not concern about it as the health book will state the schedule when to have what. For pte pds, they will also let you know on each visit when to come back for the next one. For Ryan, I have only given him the compulsory jabs. We do not have so many vaccinations at our time and yet we grow up fine isn't it?

Diana
Cool! Dilated alrdy! I agree, dun get admitted unless u hv regular cotractions yet. u'll end up being strapped in bed wif all the monitoring etc. makes u more sian. juz let baby decide when he wanna come out.
Keep us updated!

Astro
Poor teng! its no fun cleaning soiled bedsheets. Hv numerous experience wif tt... and at times a few merlion sessions within a span of a few hrs. aiyoh... \clipart[sad}

U muz oso avoid sharing food wif Teng yah? In case u kena... *choy*

Rooster & Moo
I wun suggest tt u only freeze any chilled BM only AFTER 24 hrs. Coz rem tt our BM does not contain any preservatives. So if u wanna freeze, store it in the freezer instead of chiller. dun wait till 24 hrs later. the milk is not "fresh" anymore and bacteria wld hv multiplied.
If ur supply is abundant now, prob coz u started expressing arly and thus ur brain receives the signal to produce more. mayb u wanna go slow and go according to baby's schedule so u wun end up producing more & more.
if u end up wif alot of FBM, search for donor in the forum. there will b pple who needs it.
FBM when kept in our normal freezer only last max 6 wks. not recommended to store too long.

Have been lying in bed since just now... Hope can tahan till tomorrow. Think my case mayb false alarm... Will update tomorrow after seeing gynae. Gd nite, mummies!

xoxo,
I remember reading somewhere that weight lose is a sign of labour starting. Ahh.. I think I read it in that mag that I have given to you. So maybe that's one of the reason your gynae is expecting something soon?

That vein thingy doesn't sound good and it sound dangerous for a natual birth. You better have it checked soon and fast! But hoping that the way you deal with pain (sleep) is ture and come in useful!

I had a earful from the nurse about the admission letter too. Cos I left it at home in my hospital bag. See? 2nd time mum can be blur too!

ddnikz >> think it's the show
pinkish was the term my doc used as well....it's gonna be an F1 babe if it's this weekend for you!

hippo, famela - thanks for the wishes!! really need it.. :)

Diana, ddnikz - Best wishes to both of you and hoping to hear good news soon !! :)

Vin,
Guess I miss your post? You are having c-sect soon? Wishing you a fast recovery!

ddnikz,
Try to relax and have a good rest. I know it's easier said then done. But your contraction might start coming soon and you won't be able to have a poper sleep then. All the best and keep us update!

sotong >> really? haha..u sort it with hippo abt taking yr bets on me or not, if ever...i didn't know that. though i thought my usually unflappable gynae was like on a super alert..."you better put your hospital bag in the car"; "get the admission letter in your purse!" and "get yourself to hospital straight - don't go home ok..." and i was like...huh..i had all these nice wonderful idea of waiting it out at home instead of rushing to the hospital at the first sign mainly because i don't wanna be asked to go home (paiseh) and be confined to the bed for hrs.

haha, actually in my "birth" plan, i was thinking of having a nice good meal first before taking a nice warm bath with this geranium bath gel i've prepared already (really calms me!)..then slowly take my time to get to the hospital or whatever..definitely not this rush to the hospital thing my gynae had in her mind.

ooh..i hope this vein thing doesn't get in the way. i am also quite surprised at this development and can't quite make sense of it. gynae refuses to go further into it (cos she's not a vein doc)...says, if natural, she might choose to use forceps on me to shorten the delivery process..ok, yet another "stressful" detail for me.

gee..i think i need to knock myself out with a bat tonight. can feel the throbbing in my head...haha, kept picturing "green green fields" in my mind at the clinic to get my BP down to a reasonable 130. only then did they allow me to go back home....

thanks Tien/hippo/famela/xoxo for the concern.. appreciative...

jrrt:i was so grumpy at work. because i fear ellie cldn't follow my instructions.. but she managed to..when i came back, played make belief with him.. at least he got more alert and was smiling..... think it was the fever which made him quite listeless in the morning..

then he ate some macoroni with corn soup. ellie told me.. shdn't give the corn on the cob.. drink the soup can. coz 'heavy on the stomach'.. ok.. then i am assured .. she does know what she is doing..

now i hope at 2am, she can wake up to take teng's temp and give him panadol..

I actually feeling quite guilty coz the cot has been reset to the highest level.. and i cannot quite possibly bring teng into bed with me because it is gastric flu this time round.. end up have to rely on ellie to look after teng in the night. i hope she does wake up.. else fever might climb..

this time round.. as compared to the gastric flu he got when he was younger is much more manageable.. till now only vomitted three times over 2 days.. *touchwood*.. i hope for NO action tonight for teng.. then tomorrow he will be on the road to recovery...

miser.. STILL not back from work.. he returned my sms said maybe 9pm plus.. i replied 'i dunno what to say'...till now still not back.. i also dun want to nag at him.. he is sick yet he chooses to go to work and still stay at work.. let him be.. *sigh*

xoxo: what veins? varicose veins on the neck???

ddnikz: i dun think that is a false alarm.. tomorrow ur gynae will probably do a VE on u?.. then we will know
sleep tight and rest well..

hippo: 5th gear to 1st gear.. ha...
i was bored towards the last few weeks when preggy with teng last time.. i was at home most of the time.. and i literally 环岛追追追... i can go all the way to tampines for lunch when i stay in woodlands, ALONE! steady right?

wooo!! how exciting! All the best Diana!

ddnikz: That's probably the show! I had that for about 2 days b4 the contractions got regular. Anytime soon yah!

xoxo: ur BP escalating?
mine dropped!

Vin: best of luck!

Mrs L, u leh? tomorrow right? or today?!

happyface?

eh.. am getting quite lost at the fast speed of popping..

astro the grumpy // xoxo the moody >> i am not sure too. just know that there's this huge vein that bulges from the neck, changes in size when i lie down, sneeze stuff like that...and there's a little hardened nodule that my gynae's sure is no lymph node. so she wants this checked out. i had previously thought only legs have varicose veins..well, made an appt to see a specialist on Tues..see what he says..meanwhile, gotta get out of my sultry pothole and feel more positive abt things. easier said than done.

wah liew, u mummies v active at night still!!!

sotong mum
juz realised i 4got to reply ur post.
Wah ur son is alrdy 6 lah, no wonder u can juz leave him in there to play by himself. mine is only 3, so still need to watch over him. my hb lagi more protective. i am a bit boh chup liao.
i am alrdy feeling uncomfy down there since many wks ago. wun even bother to try to find relief coz i guess its like tt all the way till delivery day. so hoping she wun get engaged so soon coz it means more sore!

xoxolight
everyone's delivery is diff. some will take longer to push while some super fast. for me, it took only 3 pushes and baby was out! i was shocked when gynae handed me the baby! hahaha

so relax... even if its gg to take 30 mins, i doubt u will realise it when its ur turn! No time to think!

xoxo: varicose veins can be on legs, butt, thighs, breasts etc,, and in my case.. in the V-area too! and that makes the V area so SORE. haiz..

hmmm . that vein sounds quite mean..

hi mummies, sometimes my leg will like suddenly no strength to walk.. it's not sng or numb or cramp.. but i just cant describe the feeling.. is there any link between this and the signs of labour? lol!

astro >> my bp went up to 150...quite scary. then came down to 130..and i went home. can't be bothered to monitor much. think it's just because i am not sleeping well....so

jRRt >> hehe, i was expecting the single push from joyce to be part of the doc's promises! we shall see lah..just that "minutes" can feel quite long eh?

Hi, so many posts to read!!!

Diana: way to go, u r so steady

Everyone is delivering early and it's so exciting but I'm kinda nervous too!!!

Xoxo,
errr.... don't drive anymore ok? don't want your BP to get any higher! You seem to get all the package for this pregnency. For your sake, I wish Audrey will come out faster!

Astro,
Ellie sounds like she knows what she's doing. So don't worry too much ya? I used to give Ryan the soup of porriage when he's down with stomach flu. But I guess Teng's case is mild since he can stomach macoroni without throwing up. Take care!

sorry if missed any posts

nomsnosm:waiting for ur gd news.its like mostly b due like 2 wks b4 EDD

Astro: teng better?

PY:im like pain everywhere as usal n yoday plus calf muscle pain due to the cramp yest+ tt stupid pain i complaning at the bone os my ass came back also with the pain at my pubic area.What a day!

ddnikz: wa ur bb wan out b4 8oct
prepare ur hospital bag wo

xoxo: be careful wo, 150 is high wo

mie: thx for updating. without u guess most of us lost track lliao

Re: can someone explain VE to me?being hearing but wats tt?tt is a test to determine dilation?usually done w strep b test?

Re: tollyjoy detergent powder
is 6.90 for 1 kg consider cheap?or is liquid type better,its at7.90 cheap or?

jRRt,

With all the exciting news/posts going on, it's no wonder you forgot to reply me hahaha

Actually I will play with my son in explorer kids before I'm preggie. Especially the gym area and the long, wide slide. It's a good workout for me! 3 years old is still young so you will have to watch over him. I have start sending my son downstairs himself to his daddy while daddy go down earlier to take the car from multi carpark. His daddy is more protective of him as compared to me! What's with the men?!

PY >> getting weak knees? maybe the bb's lying on some nerve?

astro >> hehe, if my v.v (varicose vein) was in the V area..maybe my doc won't have spotted it and i'd not need to make that vein appt. how did u know u have a v.v. at the V? i can't see that part anymore!

annette >> yep, i would be careful not to get angry..go up in fumes or flames...sigh.

sotong >> hmm..we shall see. i am feeling really OK actually. just thought that i must have been quite hot and flustered earlier this afternoon. plus had not slept the past few days/weeks..i blame this sleep debt for really making me wonky.

xoxo: coz i was really sore at the V.. i suspected it.. coz i read about it before so i told my gynae..and she did a check and verified it.. she said last time with teng.. towards the last weeks.. i got it also coz was very sore.. now i got it the beginning.. now disappear.. or rather. maybe i got used to it liao! :S

blink: no. not excited..miser is just back.. i am black-facing him now!

sotong: i hope so..

annette: he sleeping.. i hope he is chirpier tomorrow.. missing two enrichment classes.. theres goes close to 100 dollars!!!

xoxo,
wah? doesn't sound very good huh? did your doc say if the insomnia is linked to the high BP? or the varicose veins? i dun really know what to say except that i sympathise with your situation... sigh...

(isabel has been doing star jumps since like 1.5hrs ago...)

well, i'm recalibrating my expectations going forward. no, in fact, should i say, i'm getting rid of all expectations. so i dun really wanna second-guess when isabel's gonna arrive anymore. if she comes when gynae is overseas, so be it. i'm in good hands with "uncle". if she comes after gynae gets back, well and good.

just gotta find some things to occupy myself in the next couple of weeks. just finished watching prison break season 4. got another cantonese series today. haha... feeling quite good physically having clocked 3 swim sessions this week. soreness in lower back has alleviated significantly.

btw, i booked the same slot as last sunday. so pls dun show up same time last min to be disappted. hopefully you have some decent sleep tonight. i know i will... zzzzzzzzzz

sotong >> just imagine, in approx a mth's time, this thread will graduate from wondering abt contractions to where to bring yr bbs..and enjoying the maternity leave while it lasts..

py >> just a cranky thought..if the bb know how to "lie" on the correct pt, to make it numb..it would render epi redundant and give us a painless delivery yah? hehehe

hippo >> no worries lah. the fact she didn't ask me to consider medication or anything else, just taking my BP means it's ok i think. just an anomaly of the moment. agree with you..let's not laden ourselves with expectations. bb will come surely in their own time...and we just gotta have as much peace of mind and like you, dates with the hubby, nice romantic moments ha!...stuff like that...i doubt i will be in the area on sun cos of F1...wooh..can feel the bp going down!

astro >> so desu ne! i was wondering how u got that figured! grin..anyway, i just realised my linea nigra has become "dotted"...instead of one straight brown line, it's like "connect the dots"! hope yr soreness ain't a real pain in the ass literally! and that teng will be back to normal tom!

aloevera >> yah, too excited abt the baby bonus and maternity leave..hehe...

abt the bit for self-employed, think you can find what you need at:

1. Information abt the reimbursement for maternity leave:
http://fcd.ecitizen.gov.sg/ProFamilyLeaveScheme/GovernmentPaidMaternityLeave/

2. Submitting your application to be reimbursed for the ML:
Stuff you need to prepare:
· Maternity Leave dates

· Average net monthly income (based on latest available IRAS assessment)

· Child Birth Cert. No. and Date of Birth

· Birth order/Confinement order

· Bank account number

http://fcd.ecitizen.gov.sg/ProFamilyLeaveScheme/Onlinesubmission/Government-Paid+Maternity+Leave.htm

looks like me owling tonight. been waking up since 2plus. to pee, then got hungry, now kenot sleep. :S

wah..sounds like potentially more mummy popping soon.

lol. looks like next time most of us will be moo-ing and updating the forum at wee hours in the morning. hee ... me go try lie down..hopefuly can zz.

xoxo's happier after managing to register abt 5hrs of sleep, pretty sure BP is normal...woke up with a start. think these are practise cramps....? low, moderate pains that come and go, had a big time toilet visit
...the tummy has hardened abt 3x over the last hr (roxie: the table still wins so I don't think it is the real thing); guess it's time for breakfast...hmm..how do one tell anyway? some web info says the pain begins from the back...this feels like it comes from the whole waist.

URGENT: So sorry to interrupt, anyone has a PC/laptop to spare? willing to rent $100 (laptop) $$70 LCD PC $50 (normal monitor PC) Rental from next wk till end Dec.
I found a job to do at home but my PC spoil, i can't use my hb's laptop as he bring to work oftn! it's a rare opportunity that i can work and look after my boy.. Pls help to ask around. thanks! Pls PM me if found.

xoxo,

my gynae says the bp at ard 130-140 is still consider ok range cos i mentioned to him last nite tat mine is constantly at 130-150.

i got 2 days MC to rest at home next week, go back 1 more day den go hospital on the very next morning. getting cold feet liao...

Mrs Lundquisto- I saw the chart that u went for c-sect on 25/9/09, that day morning i also went to Dr Kee clinic for checkup too, heard from Dr kee, got 1 lady this afternoon schedule to go for c-sect, it is you? and u also bought along yr maid rite?

mummies, have the following for sale @ $100, used only for 1 week. bought 5 mths back. free Purelan 100 - gel for dry nipples.

pm me if interested.

3031234.jpg

mylvera >> i think mine's a borderline case anyway. it was only when i first registered 150 that they kept me in the clinic for monitoring. when it went down to 130, i could go back home but told to take it easy. other than that, really feeling quite OK...
could you take off all the way...?

blink blink >> so are you claiming the max $20K?

hippo >> you went for the BW yet? I am kinda leaning in that direction...see how this cramp thing goes for today. had a few this entire morning already...have hurriedly put together other things in my bag plus "power granolas" as sotong have suggested

Just back from gynae. At end of 37 weeks, bb is 3kg!!!

Told gynae about the contractions which is getting more and more frequent since yesterday. Doc checked my cervic. Say not open yet but told me since can see abit of blood and has alot of discharge, it could be anytime liao. Asked me to be prepared. Seems like probably going to be next week :eek:

xoxo: you have to rest. Stress will cause bp to go up. Same as you, I have to lie down at the clinic during my appts from now onwards. Why not ask from your doctor, mc to rest at home?

Famela: indeed can totally understand the relief from school. But u are lucky, u have a boss who understands. My boss is a man and the higher boss is a superwoman. sigh...

Astro: how r u n teng feeling?

Actually i want to ask all mummies. Last nite I could feel tightening of my tummy when I slept. Din really time the interval, but could it be contractions? There was no pain. First time feeling this way...