(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Mie Mie: Actually walking helps in reducing the swelling. But my job needs me to stand a lot or sit (giving one on one or small group remediations). By the time I can finally walk, it would be too late. The feet would have expanded so much that I could feel numbness and my slippers will start rejecting my feet. Think my doc very concerned that it could be a sign of hypertension, that's why to be on the safe side, she gave me the MC.

fei fei: The tightening could be braxton hicks (false contractions). I usually have it at night or after long day after work. But better check with your doctor. Speaking about red dots, I have been spotting them on the top of my thighs since last couple of weeks. Forgot to ask my doctor. My hubby suspect it's due to the stummy stretching and so vessels broke. Will ask my doc tomorrow too.

Tien,
I walk alot leh. really ALOT. in fact, during lunch time made myself go out and walk around but my feet still kept swelling. sigh...

Annette: My face and hands also swell up actually. But feet were the worst. I basically prop my feet up every single min. When watching TV, I will sit on sofa and prop my feet up on 2 pillows. I will do my work on laptop on my bed and prop up my feet too. That's why the swelling went down. Rest is very important. Apparently salt and stress can add to swelling. Now attempting to cut down on salt. Yesterday also did a but of walking, washing laundry, dry clothes...do a bit of cooking...basically was trying to sweat.

ddnikz: You actully took so many photos? Hee mine were something like that lor...swell then gone then swell...how you post pictures? I want to share my before and after pictures!! Hahah

I have recently ordered an extra set of this Avent breastpump conversion kit from the States as the local Avent doesn't carry this product.

http://www.amazon.com/Avent-Naturally-Breast-Pump-Conversion/dp/B001CWGXE2

Anyone interested? I just checked my Vpost account, it should reach me today. This conversion kit is good for use to pump directly into Avent milk bottles from Medela / Ameda pumps.

The pack includes:
* 2 each Breast Pump Converters for Avent Natural Feeding Bottles
* 2 each Breast Pump Converters for Avent VIA Disposable Bases
* 4 Disposable Breast Pads

ddnikz: Then do you sit a lot too? Then you better ask your gynae. Do you also have a sudden weight gain? My gynae was really worried that it could be a prelude to high blood pressure which would mean I might go into c-sec if I develop that. Apparently it is called preeclampsia. So I am now trying to rest and relaz and do things my pace to ensure my blood pressure stay low.

Tien,
hahaha. is not everyday that I get feet like that. Somemore when I sit there feeling miserable, I take the pics loh. You just post the msg as per norm then choose the "upload attachment" button beside the "preview/post msg" button. A window will appear. upload your img as per instruction and a link will appear in your "post window". then just post the msg as per norm.

My swelling only goes down once as you can see from 1 Sept (that one is slight swelling). after that never go down liao.

I think I sit and walk moderate leh. Sit awhile, I walk abit if not pelvic bone area will hurt. I don have sudden weight gain. Gradual one... blood pressure and everything also ok.

ddnikz: Maybe you want to check with your gynae then. Otherwise it will be the salt in take. Too much salt can lead to water retention and not enough sleep and rest. Also dun drink too much watch b4 sleep.

Ok will try to upload my pictures in a while thanks...

tien: i did tt but doesnt work ,haiz.Weird, i was told mine swell coz walked too much haha.What is ur blood pressure, mine still normal but higher also at 75/125 i think usually ard60+/110 so i nvr ask my gynae if im developing preeclampsia

ddnikz: urs worse then mine now. but how come suddenly ur foot swellness subside on 1st sept then swell again?
did u ask dr choo if tts normal? Mine is swell thruout only get bigger not smaller.
U start your ML aldy or get HL fr Dr choo? most likely i will start my HL on 5th oct instead after i clear my work.hopefully i clear by then haha.

<font color="aa00aa">miemie, yes ( they bought a toy for #1, i didn't bcause i gave AP)

PY, i got mine at those old store at the hood, they sell household stuff, like chapalang stores)</font>

nomsnosm>> ohhh ok.. coz i've yet to settle the thermal flask too.. keep shopping ard and end up didnt buy any haha! think gotta settle everything by this weekend!

<font color="aa00aa">I think I need to get a drying rack and disposable panties at giant by this week too....

wah, my tummy now suddenly feel soooo 酸, very hard!!</font>

PY : haha. nice video. v funny. trad thermal flask, i got same red one from chinatown - pearl centre (those permanent shop that sell pots, pans, etc). $8

<font color="aa00aa"> yup yup, buy at those old store cheaper...gal, i went pearl centre last 2 weeks, toooooo tired to look around, was very hot that day..then i got it at my hood</font>

wow you ladies really chat alot, I was so tired and working so really no mood to do anything just hope that I can start my ML soon which I had just apply and going to start from 5th Oct.

Here's my feet before (taken last Friday) and after (taken just now...actually they were starting to swelling as I was not propping my feet up...have to start again)

3021991.jpg

3021992.jpg

Finally could see a bit of my ankles.

Annette: My blood pressure still normal. But to be on the safe side, doc says better rest already. I have 2 colleagues who delievred earlier this year had a sudden blood pressure surge both had to be induced earlier. And the blood pressure just increased over a matter of 3 days only. But if your blood pressure is still normal...dun worry...MUST REST AND RELAX!!! Dun make yourself so worried ok...that will add to the stress...take 1 or 2 days of MC and rest at home..I was too stubborn...had to be frightened by my doc and hubby before I gave in to the needs of my body.

ginger >> oh.. emerg c-section meaning its not planned. if u decide to opt for elective c-section meaning u select a date and arrange for the surgery.. but if last min need to opt for c-section and its not planned... means emergency c-section and its more costly loh..

the 8.7kg baby i heard on the radio this morning.. both my hubby and my jaws dropped when we heard it was 8.7kg!!! omg.. hahahahahaa

wa seh, you all still go take photos of your legs ah.. i try not to take unflattering photos, anyway the swell is not really bothering me too much, when it swells too much, i just reduce my salt intake and drink more water, and at night prop up my legs, next day will be slightly better..

tien>> but face swelling i tink needs to take extra care.. better rest properly and let's hope that its not preeclampsia.. my fingers occassionally swell and get numb too, but i tink my swelling is due to my salt intake..

Tien,
I didnt really snack leh and my food intake doesnt really consist much of salt. Those experience mothers all say this is norm. Esp shortly before birth, will swell up alot one. Already tried propping up feet and walking around and drink less water at night. Still like that. So I gave up. Hope these 15 days will pass soon and once bb out, swelling will go down :D

nomsnosm,
yah... is abit painful when I walk. whole feet rounded mah. even the bottom. but not as painful as the little kicks the small one inflicted in my tummy ;)

You scaring me leh. All the items you list in your blog I don't have... esp those thermal flask and stuff, I discarded them while moving house :eek:

feifei>> i haven started my leave yet.. this is my last working week! woohoo.. next monday will clear 5 days of AL then 5th oct officially will start my ML.. you seeing Dr Chen tonight? i saw her on Tuesday, next appt is next Tuesday..

sweet>> me at work, but using my colleague's pc.. the stupid inefficient IT still working on my email lo.. since yesterday!!!!!! ROAR!

ddnikz: Maybe drinking warm water helps. Avoid cold drinks. Warm milk may helps a night. Cold drinks may attribute to water retention. Try not to stay in same position for too long.

Hi Sweetzinc &amp; Roxie,

Actually this is the only pregnancy that I have contraction but without much pain. Then when Dr Woo mentioned that it is no necessary to feel pain I was surprise as well..... But anyway just take care and Roxie since Dr Woo going to examine you next week, just see how much have you dilated.
Take care and rest well...

astro
yes i am def getting. hv been talking abt it to him for the past few wks liao. he's quite receptive to the idea of hvg a bed to himself coz we made it sound so wonderful. hahaha

i dun like it when my hb is sick coz he takes a few days to recover and i try to take over the usual chores tt he does at home. frankly in my state now, i'd rather not. so heavy &amp; bulky, juz wanna rest all the time.

dreamygal
i hv been preparing my son for mei mei's arrival like u do oso. thou he seems to understd and can repeat wat i've said to him, still we cant predict how they'll ultimately react when baby arrives. hopefully i'll b patient enuff not to blow up at him then. try thinkg in their shoes: suddenly a new baby comes along and now he has to cope wif hvg divided attn fr his parents. its not easy 4 them to comprehend and get used to overnight. so i tell myself hv to b patient and shower lotsa of love. juz hope tt the transition will b smooth.

annette
i thot its natural for baby to b engaged eventually so nvr really bother when it actually happens. yah i think if baby still cant b engaged, mayb the mother's pelvic bone is too small for baby.

Tien
Juz go along wif wat u plan and play by the ear when baby arrives. I am sure things will work out. anyway the CL is only here for 1 mth only.
Bored???? I will b super happy to enjoy the free time. enjoy it while it lasts!

ww
haha i oso refer my tummy as "the big watermelon"!!!

ha. it's hard.. i am also falling asleep. though i am attending Microsoft Access class now.. :p

jRRt: ya.. i think eventually they will be ok..
the men hor.. once they fall sick. they fall very sick.. quite lethargic him..

today went gynae.. told to put on mask. coz dry/sore throat/runny nose.. end up go gynae.. gynae also wearing mask! coz she's back from overseas.. end up not feeling well.. ha..

bb's 2.6+ kg (norm is 2.7kg. , me yet hit 35 weeks, one or two days short).. so around there.. good..
engaged (surprisingly.. i felt it is still high).. took strep B swap..put on 1. 8kg.. 0.8kg went to bb.. END OF UPDATE ..heh..

wah.. this speaker.. his voice.. 'out of tune'.. and very hoarse.. he didn't take care of his voice.. and dun know how to speak from diaphragmn. :p

tien: but very bored staying home, most impt no decent lunch to eat, last wk 4days ate porridge n maggie mee for lunch n no one to talk to.dun wan hubby buy n rush home for me n rush back to work again also.tts y gynae din get fr gynae yest also

ddnikz: u try wearing those crocs shoe lor. though my boss ban me, i also dun bother.its so painful when wear normal sandal wo

mie: im taking photo to show bb next time how much suffering he had made me went thru haha. No work gd leg better then me trying to clear the last paper, i hate writing journal

jRRt: ya guess so,see how ba

<font color="aa00aa">Hippo,

cannot be leh...anyone here yet to receive them?did you opt for registered mail? I call my sister now to ask for tracking number.

I checked again, yes you opt for registered mail. i confirmed with my sister also, even told me the charges is $3. You wait a while. I am waiting for my sister's reply Re: tracking number</font>

I'm back from my gynae appointment. Everything is going fine for me. Gynae est my baby's birth weight to be 3.2kg and he has been engaged since last week. So it's a confirm natural birth for me. However, baby Reagan is still very comfortable in my tummy so I just gotta wait. Can't imagine how can a baby be comfortable when he's upside down for such a long time?!

Ong,
No problem. I'm only sharing information

Mie mie,
By the way I have also sent the master's contact to you via pm somewhere last week. Hope you got it? It's all right if you don't use him cos like I say, I'm only sharing information

Hippo,
Remember to update after your gynae appointment! I very pei fu you, still go swimming now. I didn't go for the past two weeks cos felt very sore down below after my last swim. Now no swimming no yoga feel like something is missing! Going to become a pig soon cos I only sleep and sleep nowadays!

Regarding sidling
I have got a present for my elder son as well. It will come from didi when he's born. I have also asked Ryan to choose a present to give to his didi when he arrive. Since then, he has been asking me to buy 2 of the same toys but different color for both him and didi whenever he want to buy something. I really hope that he will not feel left out when baby Reagan arrives!

Re: Feet Swelling
ddnikz, now that you mentioned. I rem that my gynae mentioned something (in the midst of getting me all frightened) that when the bb is turning, it will press onto something that could cause water retention. This somewhat matches some old wives tale that say once feet swelling goes away, it means the time for labour has come. I suspect it has got to do with the process of BB getting engaged. So, Mie Mie, your swelling could be becos of that too!

jRRt: I guess...better enjoy while it last. Have already mentally made a note on what I want to do next week haha...quite a long list. In fact most of the things planned got to do with packing, walking, washing haha...which I hope will give me some help in dilation.

annette: yalor. it is boring staying at home :p because last time. preggy with teng.. wah liew.. so bored staying at home.. then lunch got to travel FAR FAR away on purpose to while away time..day in day out.. very sian.. ha.. that's why i say i cannot be SAHM :p

gynae update @ 36w4d

not exactly sure how to describe what i'm feeling right now. i guess i'm feeling quite SIAN right now, in addition to being PISSED with my gynae. but yet an a little relieved.

suppose i'm feeling sian sian / moody now cos have been eagerly anticipating or second guessing when bb would arrive. well, her head is low, but not engaged yet. doc says not a big problem. but he measured her HEAD and then said "erm, your bb IS BIG. her head is the size a 38W bb shud have. so u may still end up with a c-section. but i still encourage you to try natural anyways. If in the end really cannot then we deliver via c-section".

ok, head not engaged. then somemore may end up with c-section. never mind. amniotic fluid level is healthily high so she's comfortably enjoying her time inside and reluctant to come out.

then doc dropped the bomb shell. "um, i'm gonna be AWAY FOR THE NEXT 10 days." me &amp; HB exchanged a look of disbelief. i mean WTF???!!! i wanted to give him my dagger eyes but i didn't. so i gave him my "??? i dun belief you're saying this" eyes. then doc gave me a big fat grin "i gg to australia visit my son lah. his birthday." I MEAN SERIOUSLY THE GUY HOW OLD ALREADY STILL NEED HIS OLD MAN GO AND CELEBRATE HIS BIRTHDAY FOR HIM MEH??? WAH LAU EH!!!!!!!

then doc can some more say "anyways i'm pretty sure you won't be needing me in the next 10 days. but if really emergency happens, i have my 'senior' standing in for me".

the silver lining lies in the backup doctor. as luck would have it, it happens to be the gynae who deliver me, my bro and my whole village of cousins. he's a close family fren lah. in the end still come full circle to him. me and itchy backside. shud have just gone to him in the first place. but i felt uncomfortable lah, to have "uncle" peering between my legs. haha... so i'm somewhat reassured that if bb hippo really comes in the next 10 days, "uncle" gonna deliver my bb lor.

but i just cant feeling a bit sian. so my next appt is when i'm 38w4d. that also means my closet hope of delivering bb on 3 oct is down the drain. cos 3 oct is 八月十五, which is also our wedding aniversary.

Annette: Haha looks like you are another restless one. Maybe you can rent some DVDs or series to catch while resting. As for meals, so far, my mum is the one getting lunch and breakfasts for me. I intend to ask her to get me some meat, vege and fish so that I can cook next week, in fact I started yesterday...cooked salmon porridge and it tasted quite yummy. Going to bake on Sat or Sun, I think.

Astro and Sotong: Good to hear that both of you and BBs doing well. So good...bbs engaged already! I wish gynae will say the same tomorrow. I am still hoping next Sat is the day!

<font color="aa00aa">sotong, very good to know that..you're ready and baby is ready also...anytime yeah..</font>

xoxo, sotong,
whoever's got the $ on me, looks like can pay up already. i think sotong gonna be leading the race to the finish line!

sotong,
no choice leh. my back is more sore from inaction compared to the sore pelvic area. so i gotta keep swimming lor. i feel the load in my lower back when i go for walks.

i'm quite sian now. still gotta wait at least two weeks. everything's ready and nothing else to prepare. somemore kena "grounded" like how the hell to not drive myself up the wall? u know what? i'm gonna lift my "home arrest" order. if the HB grumbles, i think he's gonna get it from me. ARGH!!! #$%^*%(&amp;*^%(*@$#($!@($

Hippo: Well like what you said, at least the silver lining is you are going to be taken care of by a very experienced doctor if bb chooses to come earlier...things happened. Doctors going leace and holidays are quite common..like my doc has been going on leave these few days...kinda worried. I know no other docs there already...hey me also aiming 3rd Oct 八月十五! Hahah...if it really happens for both of us, it could mean that we might be side by side at the hospital screaming our heads off...hahah...but my naughty girl doesn't seem to want to get engaged despite her head is like way down...me really hoping and wishing...really can't wait to see her...