(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

<font color="aa00aa"> Tien, I am also seeing my gynea tomorrow...hehe..remember to update ok..

hippo, at least is a senior that going to deliver baby hippo if anything happen..

sotongmum: congratz

tien: so means when swell subside, most likely labor soon? not otherwise ah?

Astro: yalor dun think i can be SAHM also.i cnat stick to a plc for long:p

hippo: ur gynae super .....dun know what to say.pray hard my gynae dun tell me she need go anywhere. so u gog for natural or c-s in the 1st plc? if natural difficult to confirm definitely on 3oct rite

Tien: my mummy working as well n my cooking skill sucks haha tts y i told my hubby its better for him to be SAHD then me be SAHM haha

<font color="aa00aa">eh...how come you all so worry leh...don't worry tooo much, my friend at 38, her gynea told her baby 3.8kg she went for normal, baby come out only 3.2kg

so may not be accurate

some babies engaged, good weight but mummies cervix not ripe, not soften then ended up c-section. so we can't really predict... not to worry ok...</font>

PY,
well, he didn't say, as usual. just that it's prolly gonna be a 3+kg baby at full term. am just getting a bit sick and tired of this roller coaster ride. at first bb head up in breech. then head turned down. so great. can go natural. now say bb may be too big. may end up with c-section.

diana,
yeah. mail came today. no lilypadz. just check for me k? yah lah senior doctor but i didn't go to him in the first place cos dun want uncle to be peering between my legs mah! $%(*^#&amp;($

annette,
u know i dun really care anymore how the bb is gonna be delivered as long as she arrives safely. think it's just better not to have a preference over the other. so i minimize any disappt.

hippo> haha why he likes to peng here peng there wahaha.. really like rollercoaster ride leh. hai just hope that all of us will have a smooth delivery! :D

Annette: I am not too sure. The way my doc made it sound is like if bb is finally engaged, the swelling might subside. I hope it is the case.

As for cooking, I am not very good too and cos my kitchen is so tiny, it's not fun to cook. Nonetheless, it is fun to experiment. You should give it a try. Try cooking porridge or those one dish kind of meal like fried rice, fried bee hoon...me going to dig out my recipe books and see what I can do next week haha...

Diana: No worries. Will surely update. You too, ya!

Re: BB's weight vs est weight
What Diana say is quite true, the est weight and the actual BB's weight will differ. So far the ones I have heard are over-estimated, meaning BB turns out to be lighter than est weight. Havent really heard about the other way round.

haha.. i like my gyne. he dun say a lot. just show where's baby's head.. let us see the spine and the heart beating.. then hear the heartbeat... after that if nothing much.. he'll say "very good, you are doing very good"..

seems like many are looking forward to pop next sat... i hope mine will be next sun!!

astro
hmmm, my hb is the type tt wanna fall sick but nvr really fall sick. he juz feels weak and lethargic.

oh u mean ur gynae nvr wore mask all along??? mine has been doing tt since the outbreak of H1N1. In fact the clinic nurses all wear masks. Even the normal GPs does tt so i am v surprised tt ur gynae din wear all along.

gd tt baby's within the weight range.

Sotong mum
like u, i oso wondered how can a baby feel comfy in an upside down position for so many weeks! haha... but i guess she's suspended in the aminotic fluid, gravity pulls does not matter in this instance?

So now tt baby is engaged, does ur pelvic alrdy feel v sng? i am alrdy feeling v sore now, so cant imagine how much more sore i will feel when baby descends lower and is engaged.

Tien
gd to hv a list of things to do!
i often do not hv, ended up dilly dally and din complete the errands I am supposed to. If u hv been doing regular exercises, then u shld hv no problem wif natural delivery.

hippo
u din suan ur gynae? so last min then tell u he's gg away???? sorry 4 saying this but i really feel he's downright irresponsible! u dun need such a bomb at this stage....

Hey my friend gynae told her that her bb is 3kg and come out is 3.6 kg. There is alway some different on bb weight.

jRRt,

My gynae and all her clinice staff also nv wear any mask.

Yeah my friend estimated baby weight is 3.4kg but come out 3.8kg but natural birth too. and she's quite small size also.. amazing ha

i hope mine will pop anytime after 30 sept hehe i will give her the green light yeah!! :D but if really admit hosp on 30 sept or 1 oct hor, be prepared that the hosp will have shortage of beds hai

Loke,
Honestly, is there such a thing as gravity pull inside?!

Hippo,
I was laughing at your merry go round story. In the 1st place, your family members want you to go to this serior gynae right? But cos you are uncomfy so you choose your current doc. In the end, there's still a possibility that he's the one delivering your baby!! So maybe it does pay to listen to mama?!

I'm toying with the idea of going swimmnig tomorrow. Really miss it. My hubby is different from yours haha. Expect for swimming, he's quite comfortable in letting me out of the house. And people are still commenting that I'm only in my 2nd tri! I love to see them open their eyes big big when I told them it's anytime now...

No one pays up... cos both of us have our bets on you!!! So we aren't going to get our goodies?! Anyway, the race has yet to end so you will never know!

Astro,
At least you managed to be a SAHM longer then me. I hang up my white flag after 3 months and out to work on the 4th 6 years ago. To think I resigned to be SAHM but simply cannot make it! It's for my elder son's well fair I would say!

annette/diana,
Thanks! Baby ready but I'm not ready yet haha. Hubby going to move some funitures(including baby cot) over to our house this coming sat. So I cannot stay at home... was thinking where should I go on a weekend with my son at this stage?!

jRRt,
It's sore enough to make me give up my twice weekly swim since last week. It's really a big diff when the baby is engaged. Hmmm... so no gravity pull in this instance?! but still isn't it uncomfortable?!

<font color="aa00aa">PY wow!! your friend power...hehee...

so from what i saw today, looks like I dont have to bother so much about BB's weight..hahaaa...

hippo, thanks and sorry again, my sister said today evening she will give me the tracking number, now she busy with her work still..I then call the singpost, they said kiv on friday / saturday. I wonder why they take so long also...

Now I am calling speedpost to kacao them also because they actually left the parcel at my doorstep while I WAS AWAY, not at home and they are so daring, left it at my doorstep, worth > USD200 leh. luckily didn't go missing! or else, I am the one forking out money to return all of you...

jRRt, i can understand how you feel about the "away for holiday" thing, most of us will feel bad even when our gynea told us going to NS/RESERVIST because no choice, this vacation trip looks so...erm... how should i put it, shouldn't shock the patients loh..</font>

sotong mum
if u ever think of things u can do wif ur son at this stage, pls let me know as well. coz i oso am clearing leave every now and then, wanting to spend some time alone wif my son b4 i pop and yet dunno where to go. i cant walk too long and far, obviously carrying a 3 yr old is out of the qn as well. so its to somewhere easily accessible by public transport (hopefully can avoid cabs)... so mah-fun of me... tts y haven thot of where to go till now...
even bringing him to swim is a challenge coz he's super hyper when he sees water. not easy to hold him down!
yah i guess its really a big diff when baby's engaged... so uncomfy and sng!
i meant gravity pull when baby is not engaged yet, so 4 u, there is more gravity pull coz baby's head is alrdy "giap" firmly down there mah. its more uncomfortable than gravity pulls. but i guess its a natural rxn for them to b engaged so they dun feel uncomfy?

one qn i am always pondering is: Do babies cry in wombs? If they dun, why do they know how to start crying after they are borned? So boh liao rite??? hahahaha...

jrrt,
you know in my normal fiery temper, i would've given it to the fella. but this guy is responsible for my bb's and my life further down the road. so i just swallowed it lor.

too bad for everyone else that had to cross MY PATH today. so the idiot banker at DBS kena from me already today. well, sorry for saying this, but i always have to turn into a biatch to get things done. stupid bank supposed to give me my mortgage offer letter 2 weeks ago but til now still haven't generate. so i asked the guy when do i need to go to lawyer's office to sign the docs. he said "um, lawyer takes about 2 weeks to process the docs, then u can go down and sign in 2 weeks time." that's when i gave it to him. "the thought of going to sign docs at the lawyer's office during my confinement is not very appealing to me right now at this point in time". so too bad he had to cross my path today. *hippo is hot and cross today*

sotong,
you BOTH had your $ on me?! hahaha... shit man. did i say i had my $ on you??? bwahahahaha... i'll pass on breakfast tom. i don't think i'm gonna be very desirable company these few days. you'll be sitting next to a time bomb that will explode anytime at anyone.

no lah. nobody told me to go to "uncle" lah. its just that they were surprised i din choose him naturally. like all my aunties and mum did. sigh... then can u imagine if he really is the one in the end? so pai seh right? "hello uncle. er... sorry i din go to you in the first place" like dun really give face right? see when i tell my parents this they gonna laugh at my face and give me the "we told you so" look. hmph!

<font color="aa00aa">jRRt, nope they don't, lungs are collapse. they come out, take the first breath then trigger them...they also din know they can make noise, they probably thinking why so noisy...ahhaa</font>

diana
tts precisely why i feel gynae shldnt suddenly declare they r gg away for non-urgent trips! imagine if they were in our shoes?!

even if its reservist, there is always ample notice and not some last min arrangement mah.

hippo>> i seriously think its going to be damn paisay if that uncle is going to be the one delivering isabel.. heehee.. but hor, he like that last minute tell you, very wad lo.. i would have given him that KNN face.

sunnyling>> you haven handover yet? i handover my stuffs already.. this week is like to come in and make guest appearance like that.. heehee

miemie, PY,
his father and my ah gong are friends. he and my father and all my uncles aunties are childhood friends. and he was the one who delivered both my bro and I, not to mention almost all my other cousins. but not close close per se lah. but i think i've been getting ang pao from him every CNY since i was born?! but you all know what i mean when i say WEIRD right?!

see what i said? mum just came home. i told her the whole episode. before i could tell her who is the backup, she gave me a smug look and asked "uncle isit?"... *shake head*

miemie,
like i said, if it was any other service provider, they would've kena from me already. but this fella my GYNAE leh?! so i can only inside my heart give him the KNN face lor. hmph!

hippo>> think of it in another way la, your mum erm, went thru the whole episode of having 'uncle' peer in between her legs twice somemore! heehee
but hor, i can fully understand how strange it is going to be like if he really ends up being the one delivering Isabel.. coz when i think abt any of my doctor frens being the one to deliver my baby, i will go "yucks! no way am i gg to be his patient", heng ultimately none of them decided to be a gynae... lol

miemie,
eh u got any doc fren who's a plastic surgeon or not? think by the time i can close factory i need to see one. keep trying to convince my cousin who's in med school to go into plastics/aethetics. haha... cos i told her too late for her to be gynae. i cant wait for her already. but plastics i think just nice the timing will be perfect!

<font color="aa00aa">hippo, why see plastic surgeon? I think most of us will go back to our shape in no time because all very determine to BF our babies and it does help a lot in getting back shape..

Miemie, if gf becomes your gynea then ok right? hehe...my cousin taking medicine - she wanna be a PD, another cousin still unknown yet.</font>

annette,
I have been wearing scholl and crocs shoes to work since 20 over weeks preg. The crocs now getting too tight to walk >.< hah... lucky no more of the painful days. Just need to slip on slippers when I go out for lunch starting from today :p

Tien,
Is that true? Ah... according to those old wives' tales, should on and off swell for 3 times before birth right? But looking at my feet, only go down once and up again. Don't look like it will go down again. Shall monitor and see...

diana,
because yesterday i stepped out of the shower, took one good look at myself in the mirror and felt like i looked like a sumo wrestler. seriously... hehe... happened to see my cousin online so i said i'm gonna need liposuction after this and persuaded her to go into plastics. half joking lah...

<font color="aa00aa"> hippo, seriously, I don't think you're fat pre-preg so no worries, no need liposuction..hehehe...

sigh...going to be week 37 day 6 tomorrow - gynea appt..NO VE can... I am just too afraid, hopefully it is going to a "pleasant" one.</font>

<font color="aa00aa"> ginger,I also almost forgot many stuff, luckily this reader of mine asked about confinement list then I slowly list them out..now you reminded me, I have to add - disposable panties !

You still got time to buy?</font>

Heya ladies.

Updates fr my check-up: 37w6d, baby head down but not engaged, weight abt 2.6kg. She's still got some catching up to do in e weight dept after all tt fasting i feel. Did ve, just 1cm dilated, so am glad. More long winded updates on my blog yah? http://famela.me

Re swollen feet: i empathise wif those who haf it. Mine's gone down since I've gone on my hols and ML. This pregnancy, am not swelling too bad. Wif my son though, was a completely diff story. My feet swelled to it's MAX fr 5th month right up to a couple of weeks after delivery! Painful. Sheer torture.

Hippo: i empathise wif your angst abt your gonna-be MIA gynae. And your potential awkwardness wif e standby gynae! Wat a predicament to be in at this stage of pregnancy. Wld be vexed if i was you too. Try to chill ok? You wldn't want your baby to feel your angry vibe and feel stressed...

diana, tink i die die must make a trip to get those stuff this sat. if i bring the list to a chinese medicine hall, they will know how to pack for me right? i don't really know how to read half the words! then again, if i buy the herbs, how do i use them? the CL will know right?

i just called mdm zainab.. she is charging me more since i stay at tiong bahru area... but i guess it is worth it! btw, i forgot to ask if she will bring all the essentials like the binding cloth n oil.... any idea? did she also advise u to call her after u have delivered since u duno when u are popping?

<font color="aa00aa"> hey Famela...super busy ar you...must rest well ok... glad your check up is good, hope I will have the same good ve experience tomorrow..hehee..

ginger, depending on yourself leh. if you don't like certain herbs or your CL doesn't know what to cook with these herbs then wasted... my mum knows my taste and I know her cooking style so she didn't buy all listed there. ( i don't like ginseng chicken, my dialect pattern, we use coconut to steam chicken and my mum knows how to use dang gui tou to make pure chicken essence) You gonna check with your CL. ppl at medical hall may give you those pre packed herbs. just pour everything in and strew with chicken. You can check with them, like 十全,八珍 are pre packed.

Oh, her daughter told me she will bring EVERYTHING. I told her my EDD and also informed her I will call her once I've delivered then she said, she will come on the THIRD day of post normal delivery day or SEVENTH day of post c-section day.

Goodness just now had a scare. I thought I had contractions after my dinner. Sat in the car and the tummy just went churning and tightening...Couldn't find a interval..came home and lie down and let some gas out and pain is gone...haha...so looks like it's indisgestion.

ddnikz: I dunno how true it is. Just hearsay from my mum and MIL. Just that the way my gynae said it, it seems like when bb is turning to be engaged, water retention can be a sign.

Famela: You started your ML already!!?? That's good!

jrrt: yep. that's a question i have already asked myself.. how the bb stay comfortable with head upside down so long? imagine the blood rush?! :p.. also another quesiton. they say as bb grow.. and space becomes tiht in the womb. when they move.. we dun feel that forceful the movements and hence we are often advised to keep check on fetal movements.. i thought it shd be the other way.. precisely coz bb bigger in a small space. movements ought to be more forceful mah? unless they are saying as bb grows.. they move less? also cannot be since their reflexes become more developed.. they can move more mah....hahaha. the random things i am thinking..
ya.. my gynae never worn the mask even at the peak of h1n1.. her nurses did though..

tien: yeap. next sat will be the day

sotong: ha.. but half the time i was an UNHAPPY SAHM :p

hippo: chill.. gynaes need to go on their breaks also lah
.. but i do agree. .he could have pre-empt you earlier..

hippo>> bo leh, my doc frens - one going to be a PD, one going to go into those scope thingy, one a bone specialist, and another one going to finish his MO stint in the army.. dun have plastic surgeon, if have, i sure chope him and make him give us a special rate! heehee

diana>> even if is girlfren become gynae, i tink i will not want to go to her leh... a bit weird to have my own gf go peering beneath ma.. wahaha..

thanks diana... ok, tink i will just buy a bit of everything then check with CL. if need be then send husb out to buy more.

were u the one who mentioned about taimaobi? i went to the website but realised they dun have a branch opp tmc... or did my preggy brain remember it wrongly?

ginger,

mdm zainab will bring the cloth binder but you have to tell her to sew one for you. you must tell her your size roughly S, M or L. i think she charges $40. but the cloth you get to keep. the oil and everything she'll bring. you just have to prepare a foldable mattress to lay over your bed. cos she massages you on your own bed while she sits on a chair. the mattress is to keep your own bed from getting oily. i threw my old foldable mattress away after the massage sessions last time cos too oily. this time round, i've also bought a cheap foldable mattress to be used and thrown out after that. just bought this afternoon - $13.90. if you're interested to eat the jamu, then also can ask her to prepare for you. she'll make them into pill form. just tell her your EDD. then after you give birth, maybe you give her a call from the hospital to alert her. or get hubby to call. then she can come when you're back from hosp. hope this info helps

diana, she charged you very cheap leh. 3 years ago she charged me $80. this time round i have yet to ask her for her charges. i wonder if she's reduced her price generally...

im 36 week 6 days today
went for my appointment
gyane said:
- baby is head down but not engaged-
- baby's head is big (bigger than average and has been like that for the past 7 weeks)
- baby is 3.2/3.3 kg as of today
- amniotic fluid is borderline
- narrow pelvis

anyone with similar experience?

<font color="aa00aa">ginger, no problem..famela engaged her before so you take her advice re: mdm zainab.

famela, yeah very cheap, i was shocked then i immediately take her for 7 days. I think we stay nearby,she won't change you too high

Re: oily bed
oh no, very very oily? i got tilam, but not very cheap one leh...where did you get for $13? Plaza 888?</font>

famela, thanks for your advice! but i sleep on a platform bed so i doubt she can sit on a chair to massage me. she asked me about my size but she dun quite seem to understand when i say i m of average build. then she mentioned 16 or 18 yards but no mention of the cloth being chargeable. she also didnt seem to have taken note of my EDD and my address. just told me to call again when i have popped. should i call her again?

tien: yeaps, i started ML on 14th sept. exactly after end of school hols and start of t4. am glad, glad, GLAD to be away from school! no regrets!

diana: actually nowadays not so busy already. every afternoon i just lay on my bed and 'nua'.. heee hee is that the word?

BUT, i have one major item still need to get.. last minute one. a bed for my son!! arghh! all along my son has his cot converted to a toddler bed already. my baby was gonna use an older bassinet that adil used from birth up to 6 months only. skali found that these metal hanging bars are missing. search high and low cannot find!! my hubby must have accidentally thrown them out or sthg lar.. grrrrr! singapore distributor of the arms reach co-sleeper has discontinued the line so they don't sell replacement parts. emailed US main supplier and Aussie distributor, both cannot ship out to singapore. so now have to go for plan b. re-convert adil's ikea toddler bet to a cot and upgrade him to a single bed. shucks. still must go shop for it lar. otherwise everything all ready.. i hate last minute surprises like this and when my schedule goes awry. bah! gonna go shop this sat.

famela: i just bought the Viska series (forgot how to spell) toddler bed from ikea for rayner.. he is sleeping on it now.. ikea has quite many for ur selection..