(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

mata,
CONGRATS !

Joyce,
nathan have pretty chubby cheeks
so cute!

shugar,
120ml is alot ! that is the amt for bb of aro 1mth old. keith is taking aro 70ml now

roxie / PY: tht's my concern also. how can we know that we going to labour? :S my HB say no need to worry..when its time we will know one. duno man
*lost*

gal^ >> my gynae also told me, you will know it when you are having contractions! i was like, how will i know its contractions? and last night i kept telling my hubby that im scared.. he told me no need to be scared, dun tink abt then not scared liao.. duhz!

<font color="aa00aa"> gal, my hubby said the same thing too...yesterday night was weird...i thought i fall asleep but i didn't... i toss here and there and just couldn't find a good spot to sleep... and I am thinking should i nap now so tonight I won't be so miserable..my upper abd is slight painful, no other obvious signs too..</font>

<font color="aa00aa"> oh ya, I think I miss those posts about chinese name.. those who getting shifu, can share some contacts? TIA !!</font>

noms: same here!! i've got like cramps on the upper abd in the middle of the night for two nights.. dunno y also... but i heck.. continue to sleep. .hahaa...

joyce >> then maybe i should monitor closely on the hardening also.. told bb that he still has a choice if he prefer to come out earlier then 3rd oct... its up to him.. haha.. i have been losing alot of sleep.. menses cramps and hardening n bb still can do the kallang waves all day long. think for first time mummmies like us, its really hard to know n estimate when is the REAL labour signs... gancheong n yet confused! when i go toilet at nite... i don even dare to pee too fast.. scared it trigger the pipping and my waterbag leak.. when i poo poo, i don even dare to push too hard, just in case i push the wrong hole! haha

oh ytd dr woo didnt do the VE for me.. he said will do so on my 37week (next tuesday) and see if have dilated. mentioned that if has dilate already, meaning my induce labour could be a smooth one.. but if haven, i ought to be prepared that there is a 50% chance i might have to go with emergency c-section (if cervix takes it own sweet time to open)

anyway, he estimated bb should be 3.5-3.6kg on 3rd oct.. so it boost my confidence level abit on natural birth.. hope all goes well!! cant wait cant wait!

i experience the lower ab pains n menses cramps at nite too... but after emptying my bladder will ease the pain off abit bit.. have to bear with it loh.. but i cant get back to sleep after going toilet.. sigh, thats y losing lots of sleep!!! i am on leave from 1st oct... hope can sleep well for two days before labour day comes! ;D

the weather is so hot!! i went for lunch and hurried back to office liao.. *sweat*

loke/nomsnosm>> my cramps is the lower part.. same as menses cramp ... but awhile only ha! wah lao we are all in this waiting game. ha ha ha!

haha btw, when i told my gynae abt the menses cramps, he said its normal.. fingers n toes numbed.. he said its normal.. hardening till discomfort.. he also said its normal.. all are normal.. don worrie... just remember to bring the admission letter to hospital if i am in labour... woooh.. my turn to have blank face.. but my hubby very pleased with him cos commented he is always so steady and cool.. if got problem then he will say a few more words.. if not problem.. he have no comments one.. very confident and cool.. very good! sigh but for gancheong mummy like me.. abit hard to please leh.. hhahaa.

roxie: why are you inducing on 3 oct? dr woo's recommendation?

he will only be doing VE for me during 38th week (next sat) even though previously he mentioned 37th week can do le. so no VE for me this sat

when i asked him abt GBS, he says no need unless i insist coz results is transient. today clear results does not mean you will not have it when you deliver. oh ya, i also told him about the hardening and pelvic pain... everything is normal -.-"

ginger >> cos bb is abit on the heavy side. he said that if i wait till labour is launched by its own (perhaps 40weeks), i may have to deliver a 4.2kg and will have to go thru emerg c-section (he encourages natural delivery first and cannot then c-section one.. )

so we discussed and he is ok that i induce bb earlier so that i can try delivering bb at a better weight with natural.. but of cos no guarantee lah.. might have to go emerg c-section if my cervix don open etc..

whats GBS? haha yea he is "Mr. Normal"

>___<""

roxie: my bb's weight is similar to yours... 3.1kg at 36 weeks. shd i be induced too?

GBS is Group B Strep Test which is basically a swab test to see if there is bacteria infection at V area. If yes, need to administer antibiotics prior to natural delivery.

<font color="aa00aa">blinkblink_girl, i wanted to sleep but the pain ... not unbearable but enough to stop me from sleeping and I start tossing again..

roxie, jia you, 3rd oct is a good day!! hee

py, mine and blink = upper part, mine is lower left ribs...very uncomfortable when the pain comes!!</font>

<font color="0000ff">Wow... so many posts, i'm having difficulty catching up, hehe

Anyway, am still quite lost for names. Wondering if you all can provide some inputs?

Baby Boy with names starting with 'M'.

Names we have shortlisted:
- Malcolm
- Marcelle
- Maverick
- Marvin

Any other suggestions or comments? My #1 is Max, hb's name is Marcus</font>

ginger>> wow 3.1kg at 36 weeks. i tot mine already v big liao. haha i think ur doc will advise u to induce? when is ur next check up ?

Blinkblink: I think I wasn't chardged for the 1 pack of maternity loop pads. In fact I did not finish using it n brought home half a pack. Used my own 40 cm night flow pads on the 2nd day. The diaper gift bag they give got bb bib, changing pad, cooler bag, bb acessories set and some diaper samples.

ong: oops, haha type wrong! I meant 40ml each feed.

PY,
eh i also leh. have slight menses cramp as i type. last 2 nights started to have mild cramps. but not very painful so can still go back to sleep.

max,
i like marcel, but marcelle macham sound like gals spelling leh. marvin i think of marvin the martian. haha... no offense.

roxie,
hehe... ur gynae sounds like mine. also dun say much. i think they're the same style. dun startle the 1st time mummies unnecessarily. hahaha... he always say everything's good. bb's growing well. great! congrats! shud call mine Dr Great or Dr Congrats. cos that's all he says.

joyce, mata,
congratulations!!!

isit Mrs L that's scheduled to pop this friday?

gal^, miemie,
i asked my gf. she said contraction pain is like 10 times more painful than menstrual cramps lor! ok, so for sure i WASN'T having contractions. haha...

xoxo,
i dunno when man. but i'm pretty innate other than the alternate day swim sessions. its very strenuous to stroll around the estate even.

dreamygal,
you have mail.

astro,
hehehe... you post quite cheem. i think i have to re-read to understand. a bit sleepy now...

gal^,
oh yah. if can swim or stretch, there's always the trusted deep heat cream or salonpas medicated plaster. dun worry asked doc b4. can use for sore back. in fact, i have 2 on me right now! hur hur...

shugar>> how's BB Samuel? discharged from hosp yet? hehe i'm still waiting for his dancing video :D

hippo>> yah lor dunno when is the time to grab the hosp bag and go man

PY: i have been wanting to comment on your fb's tummy shots.... u have very nice skin! no trace of stretchmarks at all! *envy envy*

how big is ur bb at 36 weeks? my next checkup is tis sat... think i need to ask dr about induction. he usually don't say much unless i ask qn.

ginger>> she's 2.8kg at W36...
haha i kena stretch marks from week 35 onwards.. so most of the photos i took were way earlier than that.. so no stretch marks yet..

but now got liao but it is only at the hip area and the bottom of my tummy so even if i take photos, also v hard to see lah ha ha ha! unless i take side view :p

Astro
For a moment, i was thinking who "GF" was... until Tien mentioned! hahaha... pregnancy brain cells!!! cannot make it!

babytum
I am the type tt will nvr allow baby to sleep wif maid, all the more during infant time. Due to SIDS (sudden infant death syndrome) in the 1st 6 mths, i think. all the more i wanna ensure baby is nearyby to check on her. wif a maid, she'll sleep like a log and prob will not be affected whwn baby cries. worse if maid gets irritated by baby's cries and does sthg drastic? eeeee, i dun dare. sorry ah, not scaring u but i am juz not so trusting abt maids.

Tien
so wat does ur mum expect at nite? to give ur girl the bottle? a CL shld not interfere wif the way u wanna baby to b handled. who is she to tell u owise man?!
"feed from one breast and express from that breast" means after latching baby, empty tt same breast by expressing... this is to ensure tt u "drain" out all the milk so that ur body receives the signal to produce more milk.
dun stress urself in the 1st mth when u r still trying to get the hang of a routine. u might wanna start expressing aft full mth when u roughly hv a routine in place and u can start to express.

PY
real contractions are painful and they r dead regular. mine was exactly 10 mins apart to begin wif, then it was 8 mins. when i say exactly, i meant EXACTLY. i used my digital watch to time then coz i wasnt sure. the real contractions r slightly more painful than menses cramp but bearable. but when contractions come, i will curl up like a prawn and used breathing to cope. I had a few false alarms b4 the real contractions came &amp; had cold feet oso. but surprisingly when the real moment came, no cold feet anymore. so dun worry!

False contractions (like wat u mentioned) are not painful and irregular in intervals. they might b 15 mins apart, then later 20 mins, or 30 mins etc until it disappears. there is no trend and u cant predict when the next wave hits. so it might juz b braxton hicks.

Shugar,
How's Samuel? Baby Megan is out from hospital, but we will need to bring her to PD tomorrow - check for her jaundice. Megan is drinking about 50ml per feed, but very slowly, sometimes take up to 30-40mins.

Anyone has good suggestion on how to handle the elder child's jealousy with a newborn sibling?
My elder son is 3yrs old, very jealous and we caught him trying to hit the younger mei-mei.

jRRt>> hmm.. okie.. how about letting maid sleep with her from yr 1? or u think it's safe to leave her alone with a baby monitor of cse...

im so afraid that i dunno when real contractions are and then later reach hospi too late for an epi (is that possible?).. i cant live without the epi... since im workin till d-day, im just afraid my waterbag break in office or contractions come during a mtg..

JRRt: funny thing is my mum wad the one insisting on getting a CL. She was the one who found n book one for me. Cos she wants me to rest at nite witj the CL taking care of the bb. Actually all the while I know I want to try feeding the bb at night but just couldn't get her to understand. Anyway I'll just treat the CL as someone to give me a crash course on handling bb. As for who is taking care of bb at nite, once bb cots position is fixed in our room it is impossible to move. Just hope I wun go crying to CL to ask her to take over at night.

As for GF's routine, will surely take your advice. Won't stress myself up. Probably will print out that schedule m paste it somewhere to remind myself haha..

oh.. celline.. u were the one who i wanted to congratulate.. but i forgot ur nick
congrats on the arrival of megan

hmmm.. have u been telling ur boy that he will have a bb sister soon? .. i read and was advised to have a gift exchange in the hospital .. so that the elder dun feel that all the attention has been taken away from him..when all the adults fussed on the newborn.. similarly.. the same thing should happen at home.. i am trying to remember that.. my boy has a mild temper.. and he has been sayanging my tummy 'didi'.. we try to bring him along on gynae trips .. but coz he has classes on sat mornings.. then a bit hard also.... dunno how he will turn out also..
but i guess. till 6 mths.. the infant pretty much sleeps and eats :p.. so meanwhile make it a consious attempt that it is ur boy first?

jrrt: heh..
ha.. in general i am an okay person.. but after having been screwed by confinement lady the last time round :p.. i realised.. confinement ladies need to be more professional to respect the suggestions of the mothers also.. so i concur.. kekekeke.. :p

tien: eh.. ur mother is not happy with u feeding the bb inthe middle of the night.. or she expects the bb will sleep through and wunwake up for feeds?

hippo: it is ok.. i dunno what i am writing anyway!! :p just wanted to tell u that that element of 'demand latching' is covered in her books lah..

xoxo:i am like u..i need some research before i feel confident to rattle off.. i also prefer a certain order and not 'live by the moment' kind.... but do trust urself that once u get the hang of it.. u are able to manipulate the timings to suit ur needs..as long as u grasp the piniciples of bb sleeping patterns and their feeding timings.. the timings are 'non-essential' in GF once u get the hang of it..

look at ur family habits and plan the schedule of the bb around ur family hor.. not the other way round..

i lovemaxmax: what is ur hb's surname? i also having problems with my son's english name!! :S
hey.. ur names are nice.. another suggestion from me.. mervyn?

clumsybabe: drink some warm milk before u sleep? i was told that can make u drift off to sleep relatively easier.. though i have not done that. i am dead tired all the time.. i just concussed.. :S

noms: ok. i see..

eh.. i dunno why but i am brooding at the computer again! i completed my tasks at work.. yet i am not happy? haiz.. me going sot sot again...

<font color="0000ff">happy hippo
hehe... thanks for your advice. hhmm... didnt realise it's a gal's spelling. yeah.. the Marvin part i agree too.. dun really like this name wor... :p

Celline
yeah... i heard about the gift thingy too... so mayb you should prepare a gift and give to ur elder son on behalf of mei-mei. he will soon learn to appreciate her

Astro
hb's surname is one of a kind - 'Ter'. It's 'Dai' in chinese. so kinda difficult esp when paired together with the surname... sighz..

hehe... thanks for your suggestion. I've got a couz by the name of Mervin, so I guess that's why I ruled out this name

haven't been checkin in to the forum frequently cos' been really busy at work - tryin hard to clear all my work within these 2 weeks ..still contemplating whether to stop work on 2 Oct even though EDD is 18 Oct.

not to mention my home PC is down!! (of all times). been naggin my hubby to fix it asap, else i will foresee BOREDOM during my confinement period

astro>>it's inspiring to read your long post about caring/feeding the baby according to the methods. maybe i shld go borrow the book and read up.. have been reading my "what to expect when you are expecting" for the past 7 mths inside and out...not the best book around - but i guess reading and preparation before hand helps a lot

joyce>>congrats! by the way, i rem you mentioned that you also had borderline issue with high blood/low amniotic fluid - i guess it didn't matter after all - given your smooth delivery
so it kind of put me at ease

re: contractions
have also been askin arnd the office these few days esp. with my really bad menses-like cramps. but a lot of mummies assured me that real contractions are WAY more painful than menses cramps. so i guess we shldn't scare ourselves unnecessarily

i wish i can stop work now and jus stay home and sleep. realised i sleep better in the day now (with 2-3 hours nap during weekends) as compared to the night.. wonder if you gals experience the same

oh yah, does anyone know any website where i can search for translation of chinese hanyu pinyin names to e.g. teochew dialect names or hokkien dialect names? hehe

jrrt: oh. u said something abt ur boy not wanting to give up his cot to his mei mei?

i bought from teng's toddler bed from Ikea.. the viska series (i forgot how to spell their names lah.. the products names are all swedish!).. .. teng at ikea refused to sleep on the demo bed when we cajoled him to.. asked him if he like that bed.. he said 'no!'.. wah. got us worried.. :p then still went ahead and buy that :p we bo hiew teng :p then now come back.. ncely set up. he looked at it.. and went 'wow!'.. then has been happily sleeping on it then. maybe at ikea.. he finds the demo bed dirty so wun lie down on it.. :p

ilovemaxmax: wah. ur household m family ah? :p i know about ur difficulty with hb's surnmae.. gues what? my hb's surname is kong! and then chinese surname is jiang! aiyoh.. finally got a good decent chinese name.. now still pullin gair out on english names.. has been spamming this thread and my other thread on request for help with english names!haiz..

vodkarib: inspiring?more like long-winded :p.. erm.. read more on parenting now that u got time.. preg hor.. pretty much if the bb/circumstances dictate otherwise..we hae to follow :p.. that is my humble opinion after having teng! :p

celline - someone told me once tt ya can buy a small gift that your boy really likes and then give it to him, saying that it is actually from his lil sis, then he will not feel too jealous of the lil sis..

another thing that was observed with my cousin (not sure if it applies to most kids in general or only him alone), tis when we visited his place for his younger bro's 1st month celebration, some of the aunties kept telling him that 'your brother looks so cute, can i bring him home?' then in the end, this elder bro was suddenly very proud of his lil bro and viewed him as part of the household and will stand near the baby cot to ensure that no one really carried his lil bro away.. haha.. tis quite cute tho..

hope that all'd be well with your son and daughter and that your son'd love his lil sis and gradually accept her into the family.. =)

<font color="aa00aa"> went baby's full month celebration and saw most guests buy extra gift for the big brother(3 yrs old). then he won't feel he is being left out.</font>

Can anyone help me to translate my girl's name from mandarin to teochew? I dun hv chinese word so can't type it in, It's mei (mei li) and en (en hui), Full name lin mei en...do u understand wat I'm trying to say???

Astro: well my mum wants me to rest really well during confinement. She said it's the time when u either break or make your health. So having a cl means I can sleep at night. But then if I want to bf, even if I let bb sleep with the cl, I will still hv to wake up to pump the milk so I thought I
might as well hv bb with me and latch on straight. Been assuring her that I will sleep in the day with bb
to compensate my lack of sleep.

Have gone to taimaobi for chinese name yesterday and got their reply today. Orginal price $88. I have $8 discount voucher(if engaged their service within 7days after child borned) so ended up paying only $80. Seem to be very reasonable price. They provided 5 names that u can use and 10 individual 2nd character and 10 individual 3rd character. So combo will be 105 names that u can chose fm. That's alot , isn't it? they can provide within 24hrs which is pretty fast. U gals can take a look at their website if interested. Anyway, they hv a branch opposite TMC.

Sotong mum,
Did not use the contact u provided as i found the price pretty steep. Anyway, thks for your help

Blinkblink_girl: thanks. Sounds so ah lian...hehe. Will put the hanyu pinyin name in BC then, anyway, hubby side hokkien, think will sound even more ah lian...hehe

vodkarib : thanks for the translation site. will check it out tonight

hippo : ya..salonpas...v good. used it for my ankle injury coz' dun dare go massage. hee hee
today not too bad..no major backache.

hmm today i got slight tinge of pain on my left belly. i have not encountered mensus cramp so duno man. but if contraction is like diarhoe cramp and its going to be worse than diahoe cramp... *faint* i rem diarhoe cramp damn painful.

hee hee..going to watch movie. tink aliens in attic / gamer. HB dun allow to watch Final destination
talk more tonight ;)

<font color="aa00aa">gal, I more jialat, i don't remember menses cramp and I don't have diarrhoea pain also...I just know, I will go hospital when I think I need to go..haha, lower backache, waterbag burst or having show.

Thanks ong for the infos, I am thinking of taimaobi too. Thanks.</font>

Wow! Missed SO much excitement here! Congrats Shugar, Joyce and Mata!
Cute babies! So happy for you guys! This is getting to be v exciting! I wonder who's gonna be next!

ginger>> depends on yourself loh, cos gynae say tat i can wait till full term - 40weeks. but u know he encourages natural birth right? so if i wait till then, he say i have very high possibility to have emerg c-section..cos he estimated bb's growth these few weeks to reach 4.2kg and above if hit 40weeks. which i don't want to. but he say that if i induce, the success rate for natural birth is higher but no guarantee as still have to depends on cervix opening and position of bb's head..

Can't reali comment much on anything else cos i'm checking via HP and v hard to scroll up/down and comment one by one. Oh, but i did see beautiful baby rooms!
Lovely! Will catch up again later perhaps... Me still at home, busy wif household chores etc etc. Been lazy to take out and switch on laptop. Maybe will try catch up wif more of e posts tmr after my gynae check-up. Take care ladies! Esp to those experiencing early labour symptoms. I'm hoping my baby stays in for 2 more weeks. As close to EDD as poss wld be best cos seriously NOT looking fwd to e extra busy2 and sleepless nights. Hehe
Later ladies!