(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

miemie: how come the pax who deliver ur bb cot nvr set up for u? mine set up aldy just tt i dump everything inside for the timebeing

*MieMie*>> during my previous visit i saw a new machine in her room.. but she detached it liao she said the man leave it there for her to test test and to temp her.. but she's said it's too expensive.

I asked her if can do 3D scan she say can but too bad she's not changing her current machine due to high cost >.<

yeah the GD test is -ve but i still gotta control what i eat wahah....

hey ladies! i popped today.
natural with epi.baby breana's 2960g
with a full head of hair and looks like papa and kor kor!
i was only 37+4 days!
will update birth story in next post... see if this one comes through first..
testing

I just came back from my gynae check. Sigh no update on bb at 36w3d because my gynae was more concerned about my feet sweling and sudden weight gain (5 kg over 2 weeks...appalling, right?). She said that the weight gain is likely to be caused by the swelling (I seriously hope it is true)but her main worry is the stress level I have been getting at work and the swelling could be sign of possible hypertension which could lead to Pre-eclampsia. That really got me panicked...and this was the first time my doc was soooo concerned about me. Been given 2 weeks MC to rest at home..sigh...can't do a proper closure at work. Have to see doc again this Friday to see how it goes...looks like she will be monitoring my blood pressure...

Astro: Agree on names of students...sometimes the names of students can be a mouthful...so I would end up with my own pronounciation and soon the kids got used to them.

ok here goes

1900: irregular mild contractions.dismissed them.
2200: wtill irregular contractions, but getting stronger. went to bed.

0330-0530: woke up cos kept needing to pee and contractions getting painful. contractions about 10 min apart.
0600: called tmc and nurse said to come in.
0630: got to tmc. VE and sister said already about 6cm dilated! requested epidural cos pain getting unbearable.
0730: gynae came. already fully dilated. burst water bag. said will come back in half hour to check if i'm ready to push.
0815: 3 pushses and baby breana is out!

Thank God for a short and easy laboour!

COngrats MATA!!! This is soooooooooo excited...more and more mummies popped..

Diana: Love your nursery room...very very pretty...my girl girl also has no room yet...only a corner...cot is not even here yet. Will be moving house next yr, so she will get her own room then.

<font color="aa00aa"> thanks to all who like baby Asher's room...

mata... congrats to you leh...oh my, our edd so near, joyce and you also popped already...now i am nervous leh, hope baby doesn't come now...</font>

nomsnosm: hehe next one might be u wo, get prepared.Asher waiting to use his room

Re: Sterilising Brand new avent steriliser

Any one knows how to sterilise the a brand new avent?Do we just use hot water to sterilise it?It comes with few small packs of steriliser but based on instruction those r for mthly sterilising after use.

Re: ?Baby cloth's detergent
What brand is recommended?

Congrats to joyce and mata and all mums who have popped if I missed anyone....so exciting!

Diana: yr nursery is so beautiful!

clumsybabe: I'm like u, baby will have to sleep with us in the master bedroom.

Have not had opportunity to set up the baby cot yet. Some of her barang are still lying all over the living room. Still waiting for hubby to rearrange the furniture in our master bedroom.

congrats mata!!! how's jw's stitching skills? good? hehe this is so exciting so many mummies are popping!! dunno when will be my turn...

congrats mata!!! u surely had a blessed and smooth delivery!!! ;D share with us photos soon!

i just got back from my 36week checkup.. bb is weighing at 3.2kg now and i am inducing labour on 3rd Oct
hope it will be smooth!

miemie >> will u kindly help me update the table? maybe can share with me how do i update it again? the method? thanks! i have changed my hospital to Mt Alvernia and inducing labour on 3rd Oct
many thks for ur help!

wah!! joyce >> u are my heroine!!! i pray that i will have half of your power! natural with epi will be my biggest accomplishment. did dr woo did a good stitching job for u? hee

Congrats, Mata!! Remember to post your bb's photos for us to drool :D

Annette,
Why your steriliser still need steriliser tablets?? Thought those are for hot pots kind of sterilising process.

<font color="ff0000">Congrats, Mata! U had such a smooth delivery!</font>

Diana
I just went to ikea over the wkend and looking at the colourful kids' bed/quilt sheets, I was so tempted to buy! But too bad their sizes r weird and dun fit into the one i hv at home....

annette
i think 4 the 1st cycle, juz sterilise as how u would as if there were bottles inside there? mayb sterilise wif clean water for 2 cycles? anything written on the box?

PY
ur turn will def come! Patience!
enjoy the peace before war hits! I am asking my princess to stay in there till at least 39 wks coz we r all not ready 4 her arrival yet.

nomsnoms: your nursery is so nice! love the tranquil green walls and the colourful curtains!

are you going to let the bb sleep by himself? i heard that most bb/kids end up sleeping with parents. being creatures of habit, if you let the bb sleep with you from the beginning, they will refuse to sleep alone when you decide to put them back into their room, and vice versa.

i have a guest room which was meant to be nursery room but my mil has taken possession of that room for the past 1 year by putting in a tv and console and sleeping over every weekend. with CL coming, i told her to move her tv since i dun wana CL to watch tv and neglect bb, and of course there is no space for console, cot and guest bed in the room. the look on her face really changed, until i added that once CL is gone, can bring tv back since i will move cot to my room. ytd, she finally moved the tv but refused to move console so i moved it to study room. tink she is still claiming her stake in the room. my blood really boils whenever i tink abt it. she keeps reminding my hb dat she will move the tv back 1 mth later... arrgh! i have a super strong urge to throw away the guest bed!

roxie: u r inducing on 3 oct? was it dr woo's recommendation? my bb is 3.1kg at 36 weeks but he never mentioned induction leh. he just says bb is of caucasian size since average bb is 3.2kg

CONGRATS mata! envy your easy labour!

nomsnosm/gal: thx thx

ddnikz: ya the steriliser stuff comes with the steriliser wo.its like when u use it for a period of time,it will accumulate dirt or bacteria too,so need sterilise the steriliser as mentioned in the instruction.

jRRt: no wo, its not stated for the 1st cycle. then i dun wanna waste a pack of the steriliser stuff tt comes with it.Guess steriliser with warm or hot water shd be fine hor:p

hey ginger, are u also letting bb sleep alone? i am... and have bot the bb monitor as well.. to monitor at night etc.. don wanna bb to face the phase of separation when the time comes that i will want him to sleep alone.. hence the heart-aching decision made... will let bb sleep with confinement lady in the first mth.. then will carry on from then liao...

jRRt>> Yeah me too .. we're not ready for her too.. house not ready everything' not ready.. so i hope she stay there till at least week 38.. and i think by the time she'll be ard 3.5kg! omg haha..

but if she decides to come out earlier, of coz we will welcome her :D

congrats Mata! Really smooth delivery.

Nom and clumsybabe: nice work! My cot just arrived and it's looking super bare.
I better pack my bag soon!!

Tomorrow going for another checkup. My ob is back from her leave.

I can't sleep after drinking teh tarik last evening. Now super blur but not sleepy yet even though brain shutting down.

I better quickly finish up my work instead of playing computer game at home. Now on leave already. Feet super swollen.

roxie: i wanted to let bb sleep alone until my sis and friends advised me against it. says its impt to let bb to be near us esp during 1st year. but then again, like wat u mentioned, separation anxiety will kick in when u want bb to be independent... haiz. i oso duno wat to do... any advice from experienced mummies?

Annette,
That's pretty interesting. My Pigeon steriliser only use lemon water to clean the dirt. Also went to read up on the tablets thing, seems like is all individual items. Sorry, cant help...

ginger: it depends on what u want.. for me. i set up the stage to follow what the books recommended.. all the supposedly 'good' habits.. let the bb sleep by himself in a room etc.. then after that. i find myself breaking the habit one by one :p.. myself.. :p.. i bring teng into bed with us.. coz i like the closeness.. i stay with him in the bed room waiting for him to go to sleep. coz i enjoyed that time to see him drift to sleep..
so.. it is up to us.. what kind of person are u? follow your heart

3.2 is average size ah? teng was 3.1.. gynae said on the small size! then tmc nurse once told me.. average was 3.5!

annette: run the steriliser on clean water for the first time.. then after that.. sterilise something? u konw metal spoons also can?

which reminds me.. i haven't (dunno what verb that is).. use the chemical to sterilise my steriliser.. haiz. i told miser i am moody .. he said 'still got a lot of htings to buy?'.. i said 'no.. a lot of things to DO!'.. haiz. no mood.. been on forum the whole day :p
now miser resetting the cot to the higest level.. tomorrow think teng will get a shock when he see his cot so high up again!

blink: eh.. i wld advise against doing that.. apart from issues of discipline.. it sets up a potential stage of conflict between the two sets of families also. u get what i mean? then it is going to be very tiring for u to have to keep mediating.. coz what is done on mon - wed.. will def impact thur - fri.. then skali bb fall sick. they will end up 'blaming' one another..

hippo: heh. then must talk it out with ur heli.. and make sure both of u on the same page..and prepare him for conflicts management..:p

astro >>> agree manz... even though now me n hubby decided on the separation on rooms.. he hinted to me that there is also a slight possibility that we cant ren-xin and do it when the time comes.. especially after we felt so attached to bb liao.. now we just get ourselves mentally prepared first...

JRRT: yeap. i was a SAHM for two years.. so during those two years. i was 'sick and tired' of teng :p:p:p.. once i started working. i regained my equilibrium.. and i enjoyed teng more.. so then i know.. i am not suited to stay at home.. coz i dun have the perservence and creativity of SAHMS.. i would just mop around and whine at home that i am bored :p

so there u go. for every decision i make.. there has to be a cost.. so the cost is 'sharing' teng with someone else.. but this cost is not permenent.. so that's the good side to it..it makes everyone less tensed and happier, appreciate one another more.. etc.. ha.. i sound so crappy :p

no lah. ur son is well behaved. teng knows he can get away with things.. coz i got my mum and ellie.. who gives in to him mah! but u know. it is quite powerful. coz when i look at him. he will hush.. whereelse with my mother.. she can't handle teng.. ellie needs sometime to quiet teng down.. ha. so quite powerful feeling also. hahahaha. i sot liao..

astro: then i guess i will be like most parents to let the bb sleep wif us

average is 3.5kg? then why my dr keeps saying my bb too big? actually pple ard me have bb ard 3.2kg or so.... didnt tink dr was scaring me to watch my diet.

astro: u r right about baby falling sick and causing conflicts. so what should i do? i thought of getting a babysitter to follow me around when i start working...

about sleeping in the same room:
i have a friend who's a businesswoman.. her kids are still sleeping in the same room once in a while though they are already pri 5,3 and going p1. her thinking is that they are so busy during the day they dont have time for the children.. shouldnt stop the children from wanting to sleep with them.. its a good time to bond together in a way too.. so it really depends on what u want...

ginger:
maybe it is just me lah.. i was so obessed with keeping up with standards that i impose so much stress upon mself and my family..then now i reflect. i wondered what it was all for
.. so this time. i tell myself. RELAX.. and enjoy the infant moments.. teng's first 3 mths was a blur to me.. i cldn't recall anything but unhappy times.. that's bad..

that's what the TMC nurse told me.. then hor. i go and clicked on full term for the online indicator.. week 40.. it states.. 3.5kg.. so i assume that is the norm lor ..

roxie: heh.. same thing.. listen to ur heart

blink: hmmm.. baby sitter to follow u around when working? for ??

finally managed to log in. Just ended a conf call. Hopefully, it'll be the last meeting for the year.

mata - congrats! *hugs*

Decided i'll start my ML on Oct 5th. Although it is 2 weeks before my EDD; decided i have enough of the unappreciative work enviroment (work can never be completed right ...) and i'll like to stay at home for some 'me' time. I guess after baby comes, 'me' time is really difficult to come by and considering i might be induced earlier, really need at least one week break.

Hopefully baby is shifting downwards, i keep feeling stabbing pains in my pelvic region today everytime baby moves. In fact, i have been feeling crampy on 2 occasions today with the whole back suddenly very 'sng', like menses want to come like that. But they are not regular, so i was not too alarmed.

Diane: Lovely baby room. I wish, i can spare a room for baby, but my apartment only got 2 bedroom, so baby is staying in the MBR with hubby and me, while my PIL occupies the next room. My cot will only come Oct 3rd and i'm so excited to set it up.

Astro - i stay opposite Bukit Timah Plaza and i didn't even know there is a great PD so near my place. Will definitely go to her. Thanks for the recommendation.

mascot: ha. check her out? her clinic. on the third floor.dorothy bb and child clinic.. she is on the FBI card also so got some discount..
she is frenly and confident.. sincere.. that's what i like about her.. and she doesn't have long queues like the PDs at TMC.. hours very favourable for me also.. :p just be prepared for a ahosck. coz she 'doesn't look like' a doctor.. no spoilers :p go and judge for urself :p

blink: i see.. will that distract u instead when working? coz bb in the first year.. relatively hard to settle wor. end up whole day preoccupied with the bb.. cannot concentrate at work.. they also need a secure and quiet environment to nap

mie: i also naughty girl. went for one round of mooncake tasting at vivo last week, and a 2nd round of mooncake tasting at taka yesterday. My weekly sugar test, out of 3 meals, fail 2 meals. I really cannot make it right. sometimes, i control liao, also fail... then i feel very discouraged, and my chocolate craving is very strong. Don't nip a bit, i'll feel even more depressed. But most of the time, i do control la, cos i also scared baby come out too big. The bigger baby is, the higher risk during natural birth.Hey, if you crave coke, my dietician says coke zero is ok
but too bad, no chocolate-zero available in the market

astro: that's y i'll hire a babysitter if that's the case. at least i can concentrate better at work.. cos someone can be there to watch over baby when she's sleeping.. and when she's peaceful, not crying for anything.. then i dont have to keep thinking how's my baby.. and no need to rush to my mum's place to pick her up.. or worry abt mil taking care of her...

if we really decide to do that.. then i'll make a space for nursery in my office. we gonna shift to a bigger place soon anyway..

Mata>> Congratulations! Your labour really sound short, so good! Do rest well and share with us baby Breana's picture when you hv the time yeah?

Mie>> Now you mk me crave for Topless 5, so I shall hv it by this month! Otherwise, after delivery, will be some time before I'm allowed to touch ice-cream. Hehe...

joyce, mata >> congrats on your smooth deliveries!

shugar >> i finally had my 6 hrs of sleep this evening...
very grateful for that.. all ze best with the doc visit today...and hope bb samuel will be home with you really soon!

mrs L >> yep, christmas planning...i didn't get very far with that...my HB was saying since when am i a far-sighted person...ok, jokes aside...now the thing is to scale it up or down. just realised too that quite a few of my friends who had were posted overseas are returning home, so that might be a gd opportunity to catch up too.

nomsnosm >> the apple green room is charming
mine's a dull cream colour...mainly because the other half prefers to stick with just white.

hippo/miemie >> abt myths and superstitions...my mum had a mini lesson very early on that these aren't reliable at all. she was convinced, very convinced that my bad nausea and liking for certain foods meant i was expecting a boy. so she went into a bet with my aunt and promptly lost that when the scans showed a girl. needless to say, i am quite smug. bring on the crabs, sotong, whatever....

astro >> been meaning to ask you this...how specific and strict are you on the bb's schedule?

rather anal me was thinking of actually plotting a timetable so that all caregivers can follow and we'd be able to know how to structure our lives around the babe's "timing" . my HB says i am counting the chickens before they hatch...hence, my qn abt how adept are babies at "following" a preset "schedule"...i kinda anticipate quite a fair bit of stress on my part with this, hence would appreciate yr practical advice.

siangjiao/mooncakes >> i'd look like a moon soon if i am not careful! had the whole vivocity to myself this afternoon and it was really a case of whatever i could carry, i did..

Noms: woow lovely room!! So nice n bright! ;)

mata : ooooh congrats! I just read that you popped! This Thead is moving at top speed! So many posts to catch up with.

Xoxo: thanks! Looking foirward to seeing samuel tomrw!

6 hrs?? Weee... good for you! Hope this keeps up! Haiz I'm kept up by the hot flushes.... Trying to cool down and get back to sleep :s