(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

sunnyling, that is rather small. But it's still of acceptable weight right? He/she don't need to stay in hospital right?

hippo, hello, 1 waffle ice cream for 3 to share?! don't torture me please! I honestly can eat one or 2 by myself leh! The portion is so small! Ok, I won't mention about my weight gain. Don't want you guys to sit on me!

Crying >> I'm like Ong, didn't cry cos I'm just glad that it's all over! My hubby mentioned to me that he was looking at our baby thinking "OMG, I made this? This is my son?! I'm a daddy now!!!"

Miemie, perharps the reason for my small weight gain is because I already have too much fat in me?!

Coconut water >> I took that and I feel that my baby is rather clean. Not too much of blood too. One of my friend told me that she has so much blood that it kena her slipper!

miemie, the tea that you friend is talking about would be Raspberry tea.

ROAR!! really is less than 5 kg!!! oh man, you dun need to lose much weight already lo.. pls leh, you have too much fat? you should see me sia.. i powered up after wedding and during my honeymoon!
and everytime i look at my wedding photo hanging on the wall, i will tell myself, that was like only less than 1 year ago, and look at myself now..

how often did you drink the coconut water? i have GD now, and i dunno if its advisable to drink coconut water since its so sweet.. maybe taking raspberry tea is a better option for me?

Mie, i am tall and definitely nt skinny or petite leh. Just look average in size overall. He says is normal to gain weight. i know is normal but not to the extend of almost 20kg leh especially i am not skinny to start with

btw, my bb did not cry when carry out fm my belly. probably he still blur blur cos c section. skali he was still sleeping or comfortably inside. Seems so different fm what we saw on TV whereby all bb will cry once out. he oni cry after the nurse brought him for cleaning etc.

>-< I better don't say anymore if not, later I will be kena bite rather then sit on by this firey lion! But don't forget hor, I need to lose an addional 10kg on top of those that I put on now!

I drank once a week on my last month from my edd. And it needs to be old coconut water. Some people advise against it as they said coconut is too cooling. Guess for your case, you cannot take it.

As for raspherry tea, read more on this link
http://www.pregnancy.com.au/raspberry_leaf.htm

Not too sure if you can drink that but tea in general isn't sweet unless you put sugar. I guess it should be safe but do check with your gynae?

Sotong,

ya loh very small but lucky never stay in hospital cos just over by a bit. The doctor is 2.2 and under will need to stay.

I didnt cry also when I saw my bb cos I was still giddy and super tired nv even look at my bb properly.

I drink coconut around 30+ weeks ard one per week bah

wahahahahahaha.. i tink i will prefer to bite rather than sit also! hahahaha
but dun worry, i bite also just bite backside nia.. LoL

raspberry tea is fruit tea so should be ok ba.. im drinking infusion tea now coz no caffeine.. so fruit tea should be all right..

anyway for those whose babies still not in the head down position, can try this method.

My friend's sis's gynae told her to shine a torchlight at her downunder so the baby will sees the light and move towards it. And it works for her! haha no harm trying ah hehe...

jRt: i thought your account of your boy's birth process was vy touching too!

mie: you mean raspberry leaf tea? I'm drinking that now too. Not sweet, so should be no problem.

sweetzinc: ooh yah, i'm trying this torchlight method now too... do that every night. BB kicks when he sees the light, but not sure if he's following it though I hope he will!

pinkiemie
yes, i drank coconut water twice in my 3rd trimester. sometime aft 32 wks. dun drink too early. in fact i din finish the drink coz i hate this drink lah. so each time i merely sipped. and i heard its effective if its a particular type of coconut... think its indonesia or sthg. cant rem. I'll ask my MIL if i can rem coz she was the one tt bot it 4 me.

sotong mum
i'm v keen to know how much weight u gained! r u within the normal BMI?
so far i gained 2kg and now am 28 wks. I'm within normal BMI. my weight is machiam like stock market. 1 wk go up, the other wk comes down.
frankly i am abit concerned. however check-up last wk showed tt baby is ard 1kg now and of gd weight. so at least i am relieved.

shugar
i believe all of us will feel touched when the moment comes.
ur turn will come soon.

pinkiemie
yes, i gained <font size="-2">2kg</font> so far. but to me, i am more worried than happy. like "Hello, sthg is wrong when my tummy is quite big liao!" even my hb asked me if our weighing machine is not accurate coz my tummy so big but i gained so little. i said no leh, i weighed the same even at gynae's.

ok lah, i let u bite me a little... but juz a little coz i still need the flesh ah.
then again, for my #1, i oso gained quite little. total 8.5kg for the preg. so i guess its my body bah. however, i am not those slim slim kind pre-preg figure. i am not fat but not ur idea of slim type. and weight piled on me shortly aft i stopped bfg. tts why i love to BF!!! weight is kept at bay and i can eat watever i wan!

jRt>> instead of biting, can i donate some of my fats to you? but seriously, 2kg is abit too little already.. the waterbag and the placenta already takes up abt 3 kg, plus baby 1+ kg, you are actually losing weight leh..

hey,
whos EDE**NN *A* in FB ah? someone just added me, but i dunno who is she leh. sorry ah, i very anal about granting access to strangers hor.

peiyu/ lynn/ sunnyling
yah its 2kg so far @ 28 wks. scarily little rite? I am scared oso. i lost 4kg in the early trimester due to MS. then the 4 kg took so long to gain back and i think its only @ 22 wks then i am back to my pre-preg weight. fr then on, i thot i am finally on the way to weight gain for this preg. then its a roller coaster ride all the way liao. 1 wk up, 1 wk down. dunno wats wrong. since my baby started to turn heads down, i can now finish 1 full meal portion liao and vomitting is almost non-existent now (finally!) soi thot weight will surely go up. i am oso eating a few fast food meals a wk so where did my weight gain go to???
u all r the normal ones, i am abnormal here. so i wan to see if sotong mum oso gained so little like me...

pinkiemie
Yah i know. half of my 2kg weight gain is alrdy wif the baby, then how abt my placenta and waterbag? I know i am the one losing weight. tts why i told my hb, "dun worry lah, ur daughter is v smart; she's the one gaining weight while i am losing." actually it was the same for my son then. there is weight gain but he absorbs 90% of it each time. however wif him, the weight gain is steady each mth, it wun go up and down. and he weighs a healthy 3.1kg at 39W4D as when i delivered him.
i think i got enuff fats. my breasts r expanding and so r the sides of my tummy. thks 4 offering to donate to me thou. kekeke

jRt>> as long as baby is growing healthily, i tink shouldnt be too alarming ba.. but i tink you need to take care of your health when you're doing your confinement ya?
and 3.1kg for your boy is a good weight right?

i asked once already in FB, but no reply. so i not going to accept this request until i find out who is it. :p

sweetzinc,
thot u put on very little weight only? maybe u like me, got lots of water retention. neh mind lah. deliver already then worry lor.

miemie,
hahaha... now u know how little is sotong's weight gain hor? ;)

hippo: i think cos sotong's weightgain is sotong also.. dunno where it went to.. that's y she didnt put on much..

hahha.. i'm laughing at my own joke.

i cant believe it. i'm so exhausted by the exhibition over the weekends. still so tired.. appetite went down. but my weight didnt go down leh. haha.

i got a question for those mums who already got children.. is it advisable to bring kids below 6mths overseas??

sweet: can. i've been drinking cranberry. haha. but not everyday lah. just once in a while.

recently my appetite no good. very sianz.. so stressed. but no appetite... eating is a great form of distress for me... but now really sianz.. hahha....

Halo MTBs >_<

My edd has been moved to 28 Sept many months ago. Going to see gynae on Sat and I hope to find out whether the edd is still end of Sept and whether I need c-section. Gynae said my bb is quite big woh and he has reached 95 percentile in term of size at 26 weeks and he has also turned downward then. I told my husband I don't mind c-section so long bb arrives safe and sound. How great we are and would sacrifice for our dear bb hor :p

Has anyone started washing bb clothes? I started to wash those 0-6 months clothes and also the bedding set. hehe

Oh, does anyone has a good Pre-natal Masseur in town areas to recommend? I am having sore everywhere these days after I wake up. Ouch

Errr.... I still think I'm normal leh! I'm always the avg kind of person. Regardless of look, studies, career or sports. So my weight gain is not as scary as jRt!

jRt, your 2kg is too little lah. My weight gain hover between 4kg to 5kg nowadays and I'm within normal BMI. But that's because I did a lot of exercise. My ms is not as bad as most of you that's why I didn't lose any weight in my 1st tri. Comes 2nd tri, I swam twice a week with 50 laps each time and did yoga with the ladies here weekly. It's only when I'm entering 3rd tri that I start to lose 1kg or 2kg when I stop swimming my normal laps. That's when I thought it's abnormal and start eating lots of durain. Now I'm happy with my weight gain again

miemie, guess what? I love to bite my son's backside! I will do it especially when he don't want to wake up.

hippo, that nick look damn funny. Like some foul word!

blink, haha you are wrong this time. My weight gain is normal because I swim a lot! :D jRt is the sotong one... dunno where it went to!

Hey, you have the kind of job that require you to look at pretty stuff instead of normal boring office work. Why are you still feeling sian?!

I don't think it's advisable to bring babies overseas when they are under 1 year old. Their immune system is not fully develop yet and thus, they will get sick easily. I brought my son to Genting when he was 7 month old and he caught some nasty virus. Was very sick when he's back in Singapore.

pei yu, I always feel that we can eat / drink anything we want as long as it's in moderation. That's with the expection of sashimi!

sotong: haha.. i dun get to see pretty stuff wor.. my office is a orchard towers.. and i dread even going to the toilet. the smell and the girls turns me off most of the time. so i'm a little dreading going to office.

i think i want to start working from home soon. my next event is in less than two weeks' time. after that i should be working from home.. unless necessary, then i'll be in office. after i give birth.. i hope we'll be preparing to shift the office to somewhere else.

blink, I thought toilets in town offices are always very clean? It make me think of my ex-ex office in raffles. The lights are auto turn on in the toilets. So when we are working late and walked into the toilet, the lights will turn on one by one by itselves. It's like xing guang da dao!

If you can, then work from home. You will feel more comfortable.

Loke>> ohhh hee okay :D

Sotong>> haa with an exception of sashimi but i did eat abit a few weeks ago. haha but just a small slice =x

ong : so far so gd for my temp job..hubby kanna retrenched also 1 month ago, luckily 1 week later found a job that was better than his previous one...nw waiting to give birth lor...
u knw i put on alot of wt, last visit to gynae, i put on 4kg within 3 weeks leh, even my gynae also wan me to watch my diet, dunno y always feel hungry easily.

jrt &amp; miemie: my mum and a fren of mine both had episiotomy during delivery, and they found it really painful postnatal. Also took long time before they can walk about normally without feeling the pain. My consultant said that it's a very common procedure in UK too. But he advised against it because of the muscular damage that episiotomy causes. He said it would be better try pushing for a while more, instead of opting for the procedure straightaway. But that's as far as I know abt episiotomy. Jrt, I think u r rite in that the recovery rate differs from people to people.

pinkiemie
yes, i engaged CL for my confinement and i ate v well for my #1's confinement. I really watched my diet for 100 days, not touching cold drinks etc.
yep, my son's weight is considered normal.

this time i will oso watch my diet during confinement since i dun intend to hv #3 so muz make sure i "bu" my body well.

Sotong mum
wah u sure v active! did so much sports? u dun feel tired? i am tired easily and rest alot. i was not like tt wif #1.
aiyoh, my hb cant wait to feed me wif durians but i am scared of the smell now leh! wif my son, i loved it and my ILs wld buy me durians every wk to fatten my baby. and all the weight mostly went to him.

yah i really dunno where did my weight gain went to... hopefully i dun start piling rapidly during 3rd tri! then the stretchmarks will b horrible!!!

Joanne
its normal to feel hungry easily... i was like tt too...

Whao. I didnt come in for a while and the thread just flows to archive already! :eek:

Yap, Dreamygal... I am Oct MTB. Edd supposed to be mid oct but cos' I opting for C-section, bb going to come out 1 week earlier instead :p

Have read articles that bb can come out as early as 2 weeks before EDD. Abit worried leh... cos' my one is first born. Heard first born always comes out earlier.

mrsL, I wanted to start washing the clothes alreayd but my mum say wait later it gets dirty again. Guess later wash them will be better cos' they still stay fresh :p

jrt: I can't believe u only put on 2kg so far! Aiyo... u must really take care of ur body during confinement month. Take lots of tonic. Ur baby has been taking all the goodies from ur body during pregnancy, and when u start to breastfeed, she will continue to take some more. So u must take more tonic than normal!

mrsL>> i have started washing bb clothings since abt 1 month ago haa and i packed them into those zip lock bag to prevent it from getting dirty :D:D

sweetzinc: tht's a good idea. ziplock bags.

looks like i have a lot to do to catch up. :p

jrt : 2kg. wow. bt if ur first one oso like tht then maybe its ur body structure?

episiotomy vs tear
Mine was a tear. And i pushed too hard until a small blood vessel in one of my eye burst. Haa... My eye was red...

As to whether a tear takes longer to heal. I took painkiller on first day. Then subsequent day if i can skip, i just skip. Not really a problem. My hubby said stitches ok. Maybe mine was a nice tear. Later i go see if i can find a pretty photo that shows my 'red eyes'. But only if i can find a pretty enough one, then i will post. Haa...

Blink : I brought my girl to Thailand when she was nine mths or so. For us, no problem. The milk pumping is more troublesome.

ddnikz : My girl loh... Came out 10 days earlier than her EDD.

i also have yet to wash anything for baby too.. thinking of starting in september, but that is a whole lot of stuffs to wash and prepare!

Elly &amp; gal^
i weighed this morning and is pleased to find that i gained slightly over 1 kg this wk. So total weight gain for now is abt 3kg. I hope it wun fluctuate the next wk.

Yah agree tt baby is depleting fr my body reserves this period and will continue to do so aft delivery if i dun take in enuff to replenish. i hope for this confinement, my appetite will be as ferocious as my #1. Back then, i was eating 2 pple's portions per meal (eg 2 bowls of rice, extra servings of noodles etc) and i need 3 snack times a day, inclusive of 3 slices of bread wif a cup of milk. Even my hb was horrified at the way i was eating! hahaha

ddnikz
at 38 wks when baby is delivered, they r considered full term. so no need to be worried.

dreamygal
thks 4 reminding me! i dun rem tt i hv to help my son get the teachers sthg for Teachers' Day! Hahahaha! mayb check out the bookshops for for ideas...

washing bb clothings:

mie>> Yeah it's a whole load of stuff to prepare that's why i dun want to do it one whole shot haha. separate them into different batches haha!!

Dreamygal>> wow the blood vessel lead to your eye ah! so i guess episiotomy is a better option ?

ong: Thanks for letting me know of the FAST scheme. I know it exist, but does not know of any benefits, so didn't sign up. Will do so the next visit.

Went for the GD full day nutrition counselling yesterday. My results wasn't that bad so i need not go for insulin jabs at the moment. Just have to control my diet. Control means no more junk food anymore.

siangjiao>> no junk food only ah? so good.. need to reduce carbo intake or not?

sweet>> but if do now, i need to buy a LOT of ziplocks leh.. and hor, i haven got ready the drawers to put baby's things.. the stuffs are still in boxes lo..