(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

dreamygal: gylnnis was so adorable! How come her hair dropped off after 4 mths? I hope she has grown them back by now. =)

jrt: ur confinement month appetite for #1 sounds very fierce man... i hope i can have the same appetite and still be able to gain back my pre-pregnancy figure! Lol...

yesterday i just made some 9-layer kueh lapis, and i had onde onde last week. Hope that wouldnt drive up my blood sugar too much...

does anyone know whether it will be easier for the baby to latch on if you place him/her at your breast and try to do so immediately after delivery?

1 more question: do i really need a special maternity pad or will the normal sanitary pads do? How many pads will we need a day on average?

Re washing of baby clothes, I havent done mine yet. Planning to do so together with all the baby bedding nearer to late august or early september. If i wash too early, they may accumulate dust 2 mths later.

Celline: welcome to the thread!

Elly Ong : I don't know the reason why her air dropped. Till now, her hair is still not very thick.

At TMC, they will bring the baby to you after they clean up the baby for you to breastfeed. If you want total breastfeed, just let them know. They will bring the baby to you every 2 hours. If you are staying in one-bedded, then baby will be with you all the time. Can also request for them to cup-feed your baby if he/she cry in the middle of the night for milk.

TMC gave 1 pack of maternity pad and i bought 1 or 2 pack (can't remember). For me, changed quite frequently. After that, i bought those maxi thick pad to use until everything cleared off.

Dreamygal>> U delivering ur #2 at TMC too? so they will clean up the baby before bring to us in the labour suite? coz those video i saw durin the class the midwife just hand the baby to the couple immediately after the bb is out from the mother. haha .. btw we must breastfeed the baby immediately after birth huh ??

btw during the hosp tour the lady told me that no camera and video are allowed in the delivery suite. if want, need to write in and seek approval. =.= but outside the delivery suite can take photos liao (for eg at the baby weighing machine area where they measure the baby)

dreamygal: thanks for the info! I think i'll just get 2 packs of maternity pads.

sweetzinc: I dun think we need to breastfeed the baby immediately after delivery, but I'm not sure. It's just that I heard it would be easier for babies to latch on subsequently if u take him/her to your breast very soon after delivery. I dunno how true this is.

dreamygal, in what circumstances will we have aging placenta? may I ask how old is your sis in law? My gynae never say anything about aging placenta for me, but I worried bb comes earlier coz my tummy very very big. People around me all thought I going to give birth soon :S

sweetzinc : My gynae put Glynnis on my tummy the moment she came out. Then the midwife carried her off to clean her.

I don't know if can take photo in delivery suite or not. Back then, never thought of taking. Haa... Only when the midwife brought Glynnis out, i reminded my hubby to quickly follow while gynae do the stitches for me.

Don't think its a must to bf immediately. I remembered the midwife asking me.

Elly : But seriously i think it depend on individual. Some people took longer time to clear off the blood. Mine quite fast.

ddnikz : She's 37 when she gave birth to her #2. I don't think aging placenta got anything to do with the size of your tummy. If gynae never mention, should be ok. Don't worry, k?

dreamygal, thanks for your advice. This sat going to see gynae again. Will see if she hint anything on early birth. My bb is supposed to be EDD around 24 Oct. However cos' is slightly bigger, gynae shifted the EDD date to mid Oct. just hope she dont come out earlier. I wont be taking leave till she is "near out". haha, don't really want to start the labour pains in the office. :p

My EDD is on 10 Oct and this is my 3rd child. Till to date is 30 weeks and i alway thought that my baby will come out anytime from now. Sleep not quite well. Stomach alway very tight.
and below seem to be swollen or opening soon. I am not sure too. Feeling droping out kind.
Anyone has the feeling also. I am so difficult to walk, even is a short distance. Midnite feeling stomach not well but is not a labour pain. Not quite sure what is it also. As I had passed experience of Premature Birth and early birth - same no labour pain but just want to come out. What to do with the current one. Anyone can share yours?

ddnikz : Me seeing gynae this sat as well. My EDD is also 24th.

I remembered my dearest colleague, sitting next to me, was very well prepared when i was pregnant with my #1. Haa... He was so scared my waterbag burst in office. Gynae should be able to watch out for signs, placenta is good, waterbag level is good, baby heartbeat, etc. Don't think now your baby is engaged right? If you are still unsure, just ask and ask.

happyface : Have you talked to your gynae about it? Since you have past experience, your gynae should be quite careful in monitoring right? Is your gynae checking for contraction signs or dilation during your gynae visit?

dreamygal>> pls reserve one of the milk bags for me hor.. i dunno if i will need it, but is better to be prepared right? i will msn you on all the payment details etc okie? thanks babe!

sweet>> mount A allows photo and video taking in the delivery suite, but not during stage 2 of the birth process.. that was wad i understand from Sister Kang..

i tink you can check with Mrs Wong.. My fren gave birth in TMC, and her hubby was happily taking photos of her in the delivery suite, but is all before birth de la, then hor, rmb to ask your hubby to follow the midwife out from the delivery suite hor, follow baby all the way until they put on the name tag on her leg! heehee

miemie,
hahaha, i told my HB the same exact thing!!! i said dun look away from bb for 1 sec and follow all the way. scali come back wrong one how???

fifi>> yes yes yes! i also scared of that leh.. but thank goodness in Mount A, the weighing scale is next to us, so the chance of a wrong one come back is minimized to the lowest already! heehee
eh, i thot you delivering in Mount E ya? you attending Mount A pre-natal class! i just realised that! heehee

hahaha... yah lor no choice mah. my gynae tua pai only at Mt E
i saw Mt E's prenatal class macham wayang wayang one so i dun wanna go there. in fact, i haven't even been to hospital tour yet. i called up they say dun go so early later forget everything. like as if need to remember what the deliv suite looks like lor.

ya lo.. hahaha
then when you gg for the hospital tour?
my colleague delivered her 3 kids in mount E too, later i go find out from her if the weighing scale is inside or outside the delivery suite.. heehee

Mie: i guess what the dietician means is we can have unlimited clear soup. But if the soup becomes all starchy from the noodles, then better don't drink, so your gynae is right in a way.

I like to have 4 kids too, cos i have 3 siblings. But hubby thinks i'm mad. But given the rising costs and everything, and my desire for an overseas holiday a year, i think better stick to 2. I was joking with hubby, since first once is boy boy, we'll keep trying until we have a girl. If 1st one is girl, we'll keep on having kids until we have a boy.

My colleague was advising me, coming closer to delivery date, i better put a plastic sheet on my office chair, car and bed. His wife waterbag broke while she was sleeping and it messed up the matteress.

In the case of aging placenta, i heard from my nurse friend that some gynaes will recommend earlier delivery if the baby does not gain weight towards the end of the last trimester. This indicates the baby is not receiving any nutrients through the placenta and is not growing, and will probably be better for the babe to be out, otherwise they will 'starve'.

Elly
wah my appetite was v fierce! in fact it started day 2 at TMC, i kept waking up at night coz i was hungry and kept asking nurses for cups of milo/biscuits! they muz hv found me a real nuisance! haha

For me, i request baby to latch on immed aft he was cleaned up and while we were in labour ward. and yes, do let the nurses know u intend to TBF anot. they will indicate at the cot. this means no supplement, no water etc. and i purposely wanted a 1 bedder so baby can bunk in wif me. this is so tt when he 1st show signs of hunger, i can latch him immed instead of letting him wail for a longer time if he was in the nursery instead. and nurses will take a while to bring to baby to u. this is to prevent baby fr being over-hungry and refusing to latch when he's handed to u.

the initial wk, i used the special maternity pads coz the flow will b super heavy. cant rem wat was my brand but can easily get in stores. its def not kotex. my discharge cleared up pretty soon and by emd of wk 2, it was light discharge only. it varies among mommies, so dun worry. so will take up to a mth to clear. i will chg the pad each time i visit toilet for hygiene purposes and oso coz its v heavy flow the initial few days & coz u r required to wash down there wif the solution provided. so i am sure u dun wan to be stuck wif the same pad aft u hv washed, so might as well chg a new pad. but dun worry, its not painful when u wash. in fact i find it refreshing and i look fwd to washing down there each time.
my CL asked me to take certain chinese powder as my discharge lightens to ensure all the discharge r "purged" out.

besides each time when u BF, ur uterus will contract and u can feel discharge coming out oso. i am not sure if BFG helps in this manner, juz my experience.

i gg to buy those type of blue sheets that they use in the hospitals to put in the car and at home.. in case my waterbag burst..

but hor i tink the chances of water bag bursting is not so high ba.. *keeping my fingers crossed* i tink for me will be contractions or 'show' appearing..

mm.. then i should keep trying until i get a boy? wad if number 2 is a boy, then he will tell me 'Close shop lo'.. so i'd better make him agree to have at least 3, max 4 first?

but hor, now i can be happily saying i want 4. sekali baby number 1 come out, i BTH, i say i wanna stop at ONE! hahahaha.. i am THAT fickle minded.. LoL

siangjiao
u r right, as i am near to my EDD, i put a piece of this plastic absorbent sheet (can get fr guardian) in case my water bag burst. but even if water bag burst, it shldnt b tt messy coz its supposed to b only water, not blood.

thereafter, i used it on my bed for a wk aft i delivered to ensure i dun stain my bed due to the heavy flow aft delivery. juz like the sheets they will place under our bums in the wards aft we deliver. act as a protection.

jrt
sounds good, I'll go guardian to look for the absorbent sheet.

mie
hehe, i'm like you too.. scarly after the 1st one, with the night duties and constant wailing, i'll freak out and stop at one.

The haze is bad today. Everyone do take care, and try to stay indoors.

siangjiao
nope not too late to go prenatal yoga. i went to the one tt xoxolight recommended and i really like the instructor. i signed up at tanglin mall branch. i've seen many heavily pregnant ladies in class so u r still not late.
some were alrdy at 37/38 wks and still attending.

http://web.me.com/colleensimmonds

Taking photos at delivery suite

I don't think i will let my hubby take me. I will be looking so tired and ugly then. Then when contraction comes in, i still must take care of how i look, very stress leh.

dreamygal>> dun take when the contraction comes in la.. can take before that when the contraction not so pain ma.. when just go into the delivery suite that time.. i tink i will, then after that will force him to switch off the camera.. hahaha

dreamygal>> ohh haa coz that's what the lady told us lor.. anyway will check with mrs wong again hehe.

miemie>> yah! i told him last night must follow the midwife and the baby out, if not i will chase him out also haha!

eh... i donch have bb pics to share. this one can? too cute to resist... ;) cant put on FB, later the HB see already i kena. she's not allowed on our bed. of course i din set the rules. i mean, the poor mutt - it was HER bed before it became HIS bed lah... *eyes rolling*

2778413.jpg

hippo>> he's v cute lah! hahaha i think ur hubby jealous is it haha....

btw ytd i went to jurong point's pet station and there's a super super overweight corgi! really like a coffee table sia.. so fat until she walks v slowly haha but she's v adorable too!

shugar,
hehe... it's up. what i meant to show u yesterday. not a very flattering caricature but i treasure it very much still... ;)

sweetzinc,
yeah lor. this one our family bao bei ok. my HB doesn't understand that this little princess is cleaner than anyone of us. she wun go and pee or poo in the garden if its wet hor. and she's always only indoors with us in the AC. so how to be dirty??? HB thinks her fur dirty and all lah.

he knows lah, that b4 he came along this princess sleep with me on my bed one k. hahaha... of course when he came along she will "siong" him cos he's taking up her space on my bed. hahaha... think she wanna like SNORT at him lor...

wah... haven't seen CORGI like a coffee table b4. if u love dogs like me hor, (now cannot lah, next time after delivering then can) go to the pasir ris dog farms. you wun wanna go back. i saw all the puppies damn super duper cute lor. wanted to buy all of them. especially chocolate toy poodle and retriever puppies. HB had to literally drag me by the collar to leave. hehe...

lin>> i think maybe u can consider opening a BP at the BP section, maybe like that more business.. rather than u keep advertise around in threads ...

my turn my turn! hahaha
my Jack Russell ... sick after 1st day of CNY.. think too many pple anyhow feed him with CNY goodies lol

btw he's 10 years old liao but still super active, jump here and there. he's the pest buster in my house haha!

2778659.jpg

lin>> i agree with sweet lo.. you like that go and post in other threads hor, i tink nobody will go and see one.. might as well open a BP if you think your stuffs are very sellable..

lin : You posting in threads? Better don't go post in other people's threads, some people may complain to moderator de.

dreamygal,
ur shih tzu is 12? i think my fifi just turned 13 leh.
i take it that glynnis has no problems with either of them right? no asthma either right?

sweetzinc,
hehe... my cousin has a pom x jack russell... a combi or urs and dreamygal's dog. hahaha... jack russells are hyper-active to begin with right?

my fifi is still active and nimble. ... lets hope they all live to ripe old age. i want my bb to play with fifi...

hippo: awww, that's sweet!

Oooh the doggy pics all so cute... hahaha, i only have a fat pig "parsley guzzling sausage roll" pic to put up! :p
2778686.jpg

hippo>> i wonder how the dog looks like.. cannot imagine leh.. yah JRTs are very hyper one cannot stop for a second haha... i think fifi should be v gentle with small kids.. i dun trust my JRT hahaa... think he will bully my bb

shugar,
i think your hamster damn cute!!! esp with whatever he's eating sticking out of his mouth! hahaha...

sweetzinc,
if i can find a pic, i'll put it up. he got JRT face, JRT type of coarse fur, but pom colour. that's all. oh, a big smaller than JRT lah... hehe...

fifi : She totally got no problem.

And reports actually shows that children in contact with animals since young got lower asthma attack risk. If the dog is clean, vaccinated, i don't see any problem.

But one thing to be careful. They may be jealous of the baby. So, when you first bring baby home, get your hubby to carry baby. Initial stage, don't leave them alone. The dog may want to play with baby but don't know how to.

My pom is adopted and he was quite badly abused. He bites, especially my hubby. But towards Glynnis, he is quite gentle. If Glynnis is the one who bumped into him, he will just walk away. If its my hubby, he will turn and snap him. Haa...

nice pictures of your dogs
Shugar, your hamster is sooo cute too. He is like a furball. Dreamygal, your pomeranian reminds me of a pomer-huahua, i once had

I'll try to find pictures of my Hercules and upload too.

everyone's got pets ah! my only pet is a non-talking bear and a smelly pillow! wahahahaha

used to have 2 dogs when we stayed in kampung (but that was like super many years ago)..

shugar,
hahaha... parsley!!! i thot lettuce or something. ops sorry. guinea pig. to me, hamsters and guinea pigs the same lah. hehe... so she/he got parsley breath or not?

dreamygal,
ah... u have an adopted problem too. we have an adopted doberman x (ah... cant remember that breed now... big black breed...) she nearly killed my fifi TWICE. bit fifi's neck and wun let go. sigh... but my mum damn sayang her leh. and i cant get rid of her. so that's like my nightmare now. we gotta separate the 2 bitches. princess inside, mutt outside. @#$%(#&* its that crazy one outside that i'm worried about. the second time she bit my fifi i nearly took her to back to SPCA. but then i think my mum would disown me lah. so i didn't.