(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

lin: I think cannot treat husband too well. Must make sure you take money from him. I think I'm a bit cynical, but just now I was just telling my colleagues that my husband gives me pocket money every month. This is important, because you never know what is in store in the future. It acts as a safeguard. Even if it is a small sum, just take from him. Coz when men have it too easy, they take it for granted.

shugar: wow, you can make baby crafts! I saw some books at the library that has interesting toys for babies, and the mothers can make them easily. I used to enjoy making things when I was a kid, but now I just prefer to play computer game.

Shucks, I think I can't control my mind and stomach. They are like two separate entities. I'll be super hungry, and I'll eat, but 20 minutes later, I'll be so full that I cannot move and I have a bit of stomach discomfort.

hi lin,

ur MIL cant speak well, cant communicate at all make her temper not bery good too as no one can understand what she trying to say... i remember once when my ex-bf mother who hav stroke too, cant communicate, n her pi qi turn bery bad too, she n we cant do much too... all she do is fa pi qi loh. Maybe u can just ask, have u eaten, hungry anot? All those question that just ned to nod or shake head 1, just to shw u care or what loh...

hippo: u taurus.. right?..
i think you should be a sagi.. if i have had a chance to meddle with ur bday.. ha :p

blink: ha.. u are cute!. it meant.. Thank God it's Friday!!

funzee: i like your fable too

lin: at the end of the day, perhaps it would be good to maybe think of it this way? .. Life is transient.. Miser (my hb) likes to say this to me, 'you can spend one hour being sad, or being happy.. but which will bring you greater joy? '...we will all pass on one day.. any things that happen now.. happened only now.. eventually it is all just 'nothing'.. eh, u get what i meant? i just woke up ffrom a forbidden snooze :)P).. so not very lucid. ha..

when i am down with the World.. i remember that there are people in other parts of the world who face more challenging situations in their lives than me.. how about the bed ridden? how about those paralysed with life threatening diseases? how about little kids who are struggling with cancer at tender ages of 3?? don't we in retrospect better off? yet they take on life so positively.. what are our 'miseries' as compared to theirs? they dun feel miserable.. and hence why should we?

funzee's fable serves a good point, we can't change others.. but we can change ourselves.. have you read the 7 habits of effective people? it talks about the same thing.. one of the habits.. being proactive.. once you start to be more proactive, the things which you could perhaps 'control' become bigger.. and the things which you can ony react to , become smaller.. and you become more in control.. and not as overwhelmed?

also.. your MIL didn't choose to have a stroke.. we see her seated there watching SCV.. we think she is having life easy.. but in reality.. are we sure of that? pple lash out at us for various reasons.. but sometimes it might not be as intended.. your mil might just really want to go out and have some fresh air.. like the way you can.. who knows? so why be upset with her? more morbidly, would we want our kids to treat us that way when we grow old and frail??

things are topsy turvy for you and it will continue to be topsy turvy unless we change our lens and perceive it a different way and be more proactive and make it a happier life for ourselves

and just in case how come all of a sudden i asked if you are a piscean.. heh. coz.. i saw '1703' behind ur nick. cannot be the YEAR you are borned mah. :p so i figured it could the dob.. and. more imptly. i see myself going through what you have experiencing now.. i am a piscean.. and i love company.. or rather. i dislike being alone.. hey. ur hb is gd liao. 7 - 8.. huh? my miser. woo-hoo. 8 - 830. and this is the EARLIEST!.. sometimes into the wee hours of the night.. buz trips and whatso ever.. u get it lah.. hence when i was a stay at home mum.. for 2 years. i really drove myself and everyone around me crazy..
.. so ah. now i am back at work.. to find my purpose in life.. ( i cannot SAH. coz i lack the discipline to create activity for myself.. and then i start whining).. and be driven up to the wall by others lor!

chin up!

(i meant for this to be a short entry.. how did this become so long? .. i am too longwinded!)

lin: piscean is your horoscope.. pple borned in march are normally pisces

remember this.. you chose your hb urself.. he has his flaws. BUT he must have his strengths.. else why are you attracted to him? i whine about miser being ridiculous all the time.. but i respect and still infatuated with him.. that i am not shy to admit.. i find much better than many men i have seen. heh. yaya a bit.. then siam liao. else get bashed for wayanging how good my hb is. ha..

i used to think like this too.. and in fact. i told miser.. i wun take care of his father and i wun stay with him.. reason being. miser has other three sisters, one who is married.. other two still single.. so the two single ones can take care of his father.. while me.. i have only my sis and my mom.. so i have the responsiblity to take care of my mom (though she didn't take care of me wheni was young) more so that to take care of his father.. he undrstood this. but then again.. should something happen to my fil..(touch wood).. miser is the only son.. actually regardless of gender. we all. are responsible for our parents.. u married ur hb.. his parents are ur parents. no matter how nasty they can be.. i am NOT a filial daughter.. but sometimes.. we must repay what we owe our parents also.. however minimum.. ur hb is caught in this situation.. that's why..

and.. yes.. noone can give u a family.. or rather a happy family.. except urself.. be more proactive.. i dun really understand why you must be cropped up at home.. and like you i dun like to spend miser money.. but if doing puzzles gives u joy .. then just buy one.. and my god.. 3000-4000 pieces?! wah. i 1000 can die liao! :p

cheer up. life is really short.. go out take a deep breath.. observe the surroundings around u.. look at the innocent toddlers running around in the playground.. u cld feel much better.. take teh first step

it just heart pains me to c him wk so heart n i just take his $... i feel that whenever i pity my MIL, i have to suffer...in the way that i cant be a great person, always giving in to others, there will be a moment i cant take it de.

me, as normal human, needs to have things in my own way too.. there r already so many things i m giving in, but pardon me, ppl is taking things for granted just ppl i keep quiet..

indeed there are much more ppl suffering,,but,i who cant handle my own problems, will of course feel miserable. if only i m a god, den i will be able to show concerns for others and dont bother abt my miserables...my apologies

any1 of u got indoesian maids who needs to take part in the recent indonesian president election? any1 knows which website to go to take part online? n what is the deadline?

lin: really.. go out, take a walk.. buy urself the puzzle or what ever you like. unless you take the first step.. the current situation will not change..

loke,
am surprised you dunno. Thank God Its Friday!!! no wonder u so good mood. picking up HB tonite. hehehe... enjoy... ;)

lin: I like to buy cheap puzzles. Last time I remember buying $5 jigsaw puzzles and working on them with my parents. You take the money from your husband, doesn't mean you have to spend it. Take it that you can keeping for him. So no need to heart pain.

astro: I know!! But my mind always tell me I'm still hungry. I must learn to control myself.

My husband's workplace got H1N1 case, he super paranoid about catching it and passing to me, but I tell him to relax lah.

I think I can't do any more work today. Going to go home to sleep or play computer game over the weekend. Goodbye!

Glass: Yups, i enjoy making things... hahhaa. seeing the end product makes me feel super happy... but sometimes end product dun turn out well, ha! a bit xian :p I got a small little collection of booties liao... to match some of the clothes i got! wahahaha....:D

astro,
you 1000 can die?! I 500pcs already cannot tahan! haha Hmm, come to think of it, it's no wonder I didn't get any puzzle for my son!

lin,
Pull yourself out of this. Only you can help yourself. You may think that your life is miserable but you are already lucky in many ways. My situation is not any better then you but I'm not going into that now. At the very least, your hubby is returning home to you every night. I can only see my hubby during the weekend for 2 days at the most. The rest of the time, I gotta deal with everything my own. I even had to go to the gynae myself till to the point that the nurses thought I'm single mother cos they have never seen my hubby before.

I have my own sets of problem but I choose to wake up everyday with a smile. I'm a SAHM after my resignation in Jan. This is the 1st time I'm not working and I'm really not used to it. I try to make full use of it, doing things that I like to do. You are still lucky cos you can cry when you are feeling down. Me? I gotta put on a smile for the sake of my son even when I feel rotten. Yesterday I finally cannot stand it and almost accepted a contact job when the agent called me. But my hubby refuse to let me work, saying we don't really need the extra $ and want me to rest. What he don't know is that I love working and it's driving me crazy for not having the challenges from work! Still, I respect him and decline the offer. My hubby knows I'm very stressful recently due to problems I'm facing at home with my family + in law. So he thought by working, i'll have additional stress. But to me, work will be a release from thinking too much. He don't understand this but I do know where he's coming from. I think you are having too much free time, thus your thoughts ran wide. Do take up some of the mummies suggestion and do things to occupy yourself.

At this time, you have to be happy, if it's not for yourself, then think of the baby inside you.

Hippo,
I have become lazy again haha I also didn't go to yoga today =p You guys are making me lazy....

shugar: wise one?! oh. some one catch astro.. she's floating!!

glass: actually i am also hungry liao. hahaha
h1n1? ah.. vit c, wash hands, wear masks.. gosh i sound like broken recorder repeating the same old htings! :S

Hi Mummies, sorry to intrude.
I have an Ameda Lactaline, comes with BN valves (for your hygiene purposes). Bought end last year so warranty still valid.

Pumps were used for 3 months but kept at v good condition. Bottles were sterilised everyday during use.
Collection locations flexible - open for discussion (weekdays: Jurong, Bukit Batok, Tanjong Pagar, Upp Bukit Timah; weekends: Bukit Batok, Upp Bukit Timah, Queenstown, Bugis etc)

If u r genuine about buying, i can also let u have the
1. Ameda Flexishield areola stimulator (used only once)
2. Pumpin Pal original handsfree strap
3. Pumpin Pal Super Shields (used only once)(http://www.mumsfairy.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=20&Itemid=31),
4. Soothing CD for Mummies (for relaxation during expressing of bm)
5. Lanolin spray mist (BN), and
6. Milk storage bags
all at a "package price".

Email: [email protected].

astro: Hmmm... I don't even know if my son can handle 6 pcs puzzles a not! ok, I'll buy puzzle over weekend to let him try. If he can't do it, I'll know why too haha

sotong: how old is ur son again?
Superman will insist everyone in the household to do up the puzzles for him..then he picks the completed puzzle up.. and throw it to the floor.. and then laugh laugh laugh!! MANIAC.. him..

sotong,
hahahaha, i was just wondering if you went afterall. but for obvious reasons, i think u wont want to be there... hehehehehe...

astro,
i like your post. pretty much what i would've said if i had not gotten off the tangent abit. hehe...

shugar,
if u hear an irritating cough later, ops. its me.
if no one coughing, then that means i cough until my lungs drop out and couldn't make it.

astro,
sotong's son also very handsome one leh. i want to 相亲 with my princess already.
somemore i like 6 yrs age gap. hehehe...

astro: 6 years old! & yes, I'm also facing the stress of P1 registration starting from next week!
He's superman or destroyer?! hahahaha Superman 3 years old right? That's the period when they want to destroy things!

hippo: you really know what is the obvious reason?! Super!

hippo ah, my son not only handsome but also very gentle and sweet leh. (that is if you don't see him playing with his buddies) hahaha He want a mei mei to take care but not a didi cos he believe a didi will snatch his toys!

Why do you like 6 years gap? Let me guess, your hubby and you are 6 years apart?

sotong,
dun tell pple my secret leh. hehehe... i figured as much when u said xoxo cant make it also. can almost hear the "i also dun wanna go already" in the sms. bwahahahaha... hope i didn't give u my bug last week. you're ok right?

shugar>> im still stuck in the office now, supposed to leave early to go fetch my hubby from his office then go for dinner then to class.. i scared i will be late!

anyway see you later!

i was feeling unwell jt nw, but i choose not to call him back for fear of disturbing him and he promise me that we would be off by 530. so i keep myself relax by listen to songs and do simple exercises n switch on the air con...cos i do not want to make myself unwell, i do not like the feeling...
suddenly a msg came at 5, asking me whether can he wk till 8? i have no choice, but to reply ''huh? anything, as u wish''. this is not what i want, but i have to keep things inside my heart cos i noe i am now his burden...tears roll down my eyes the moment he say he wishes to do the stupid OT.
wk wk wk, $$$, parent parent parent. all these is no1 in his heart, although he says i am no1. from all these incident, i noe i am not...does it matter to me? it doesnt reali matter le, although i love him very much, but he has make me very disappointed..
i have just read up a article in motherhood, the man says he regret putting his work at first n family at second cos he feels that his son sickness is not getting very worse, although his symptom is only fever. but end up his old 4 yrs old son died...
my family is now overseas for a wk, and he cant accompany me, although he promise he will, but i noe he will not.i m getting sick n tired of all these, very helpless...if he choose not to come back at 530 today, i think divorce is the best way since wk is the most impt.
i have spoken up and told him that i am lonely, but since he cant change bcos of me, den i shall change...

Me haven't come in for a while.

Was reading what lin posted.

lin : I am a SAHM and staying very near my in-law (in same block). My mil is also not an easy person to deal with and i see her everyday. Somehow, my hubby also ended up being the one who has to take care of them. But no choice.

We do have conflicts often. I believe some of the mummies here have seen my posts in facebook... Haa... But lives still go on... There are bound to be conflicts when we face each other so often.

Please try to avoid all the negative thoughts. I believe its not that your HB don't care. I believe divorce is the last thing in his mind.

After not working, same as you. Occasional meet-up with friends will be it. No more daily gossips. Sometimes i feel bored as well...

But i try to do other things to keep myself occupied. I will go shopping or tea with my girl, bring my girl to the library or for a swim, go back to my mum's place occasionally if i don't feel like staying at home. Now you are pregnant, maybe should go out for a walk often. There are a lot of activities that do not need to spend a lot.

hippo

You are scary..... or am I really that transparent?! I'm all right expect for my insomnia. Told you I am a strong gal, won't caught your bug easily.

You faster get well soon. Then I will have another person to go for a cuppa!

lin,can c yr hus is trying hard 2 earn $ n oso he do care abt u. Tink u juz nt used 2 being alone as yr family is only away 4 a wk n u seem at a lost n tots start 2 run wild. If u dun feel like gg out, u can always read magazine or books 2 pass time. Or mayb there r some freelance work tat u could do at hm such as telemarketing 4 property firm etc.

sotong,
hehehe... i have a keen eye for detail. n i m very observant. so... scared or not? hehe...

yeah i better make this my last course of medication. cos my gp is sending me to chest specialist if i go n see him agn.

when i got home.. superman was flying around in his white 'cape'.. jialat. he really think he is superman liao wor..

lin: i see gemini.. heh. :p

hippo: ur cough still not well? really minimun period is one month ah?

astro,
it was almost all gone, then came back with a vengence. had to go see doc again today. he said he doesnt like it that i've been coughing so long. after this course of medicine, i would've been coughing for a month, so he would send me to chest specialist, just to check that its not allergy induced or anything more serious.

i've been so good. no cold drinks, no spicy stuff, even no aircon and no fan!!! and i'm dying in the heat. i am just sick of coughing.

Hippo: Just want to suggest one home remedy we do in India generally. if you don't mind trying this, then boil little turmeric powder in water properly. atleast for 7-10 mnts.
add salt to taste. and have this water. it should be very hot when you have it. it helps in relieving cough.

lin: Maybe try going out with ur friends? for window shopping also good haha.. at least u wont be trapped inside the house

Sometimes we also need to understand our hubby's stress at work... i resign from my job in april due to morning sickness and i'm also still studying till mid sept... so we have made the decision to let me be a SAHW ..

so now i'm living with a single income.. no longer dual income liao.. so ya must understand and put ourselves in their shoes also..

u got msn ?

hippo: hmmm din really hear any bad coughing just now... did you make it? I managed to said hi to miemie and clumsybabe.

i recall i had a bad cough in early part of 2nd tri. think it lasted about 3 weeks... from dry to one with lots of phlegm. :S hope yours goes away soon.

Hi Lin,

I'm all for exhanging contacts. Maybe you can PM me your email address? We can MSN.
Throw all the negative thots away. Divorce shdnt be mentioned easily. Are you prepared to hv him out of your life? Even now, with him being away for a few hours, you're already finding it tough yeah? So I can see you still care for him a lot. And I believe he cares too, because he's trying to earn more $$ for you and baby. Think positive, your hubby is hard at work, he's not out pubbing away.

By the way ladies, are you all active in facebook? I hv an account but seldom login leh.

Sotong Mum, I'm also registering my elder daughter for P1 this month!

Hi Loke,

Good that you're in gd mood!

My day started off being busy at work but good thing was at least most problems were resolved by the end of the day and hubby could fetch me after work. He only does it once in a while when he can knock off early, otherwise, I will take bus and squeeze with people.

Hope the weekend will be a good one for all of us!

lin : the advises given to you are all true. i can see from your posting that your hubby loves you a lot. You should not depend on your hb to ease your loneliness. Before you met your HB you also do your own things right? get a hobby, do something you like. myself am quite a hermit and i stick to my hb a lot. but if he busy, i will just do things i like...

now u should be bz. bz tinking abt bb. maybe u can read up books on child birth, child care, baby sleeping patterns ;)...read baby centre, fun things you can do with your kid, research on what bb bottle to use :S, etc ,etc, etc.

Based on bb centre, it says around this time our bb can feel movement and we can even tickle bb foot. isn't that cool?

what i m trying to say is, u need to look forward. Since you have identified you are lonely, what are you going to do to ease the loneliness, how should u approach it. think u have a lot of good ideas from all the mtb here. Tomorrow when u wake up, take deep breath, sing a happy song, go get a nice breakfast and start your happy day, decide what you want to learn and go for it. :D

fifi>> i thot i saw you at the class leh.. no, i should say im quite sure it was you that i saw!

bluesea>> facebook got a Oct 2009 Baby group..

hippo,

When I have flu or cough, I would love to take everything in peppermint. That includes shower form. I just feel that it will make me better or even lift up my mood. Maybe you want to try it?

Bluesea,

How? Are you stress about it? It is a big issue in our family as it will determine if we have to move from the east to the north in the next few months!

miemie, shugar,
yeah i was there. surprisingly i didn't cough much. but i had a thermos flask of hot water with me. hehe...

i didn't see anyone that looked familiar to me except miemie - were u sitting at the front row in blakc/white/red printed/floral top? i thot it was u but i wasn't quite sure. hehe... cos only see your wedding photos in FB leh.

sotong,
thanks for that.
today i'm actually venturing out. but i think i will wear a mask. cos we going to vivocity to watch transformers in gold class. HB booked the tickets already. so i hope i make it thru 2.5hrs without a violent cough.

i feel like i'm ah ma. bringing thermos flask of hot water wherever i go these couple of days. hahaha...
other than that i dun really wanna go elsewhere. oh but today is also MIL day. eeee...

miemie,
um... hahaha... yeah it was you!!! my HB was next to you. i just saw your recent pics in FB. pai seh ah. i not 100% sure i dun wanna open my mouth. later wrong how???

but i think subsequent classes we're in different groups. i'm gg for the 4-6pm slot. think shugar is same group as me.

morning and so many early birds!
hehehe, *waves*

at least i got out of the right side of the bed today. been having it a little rough for the last couple of days past. no leg cramps, pelvic cramps, backache etcetera...

hippo >> i couldn't make it for yoga AGAIN! not due to work but because i'd this menses-like cramps that started wed and lasted for two whole days. coincidentally, i saw my gynae on wed and received an all-clear, "baby's happy" affirmation so i was actually trying to tahan it. now told to take it easy over the weekend at least and rest more. the grass is always greener from where we are. those who are working wants to stop working and stay at home - vice versa. i'd love to indulge in all the shopping wheezing past me now..attend classes, have nice teas and so on..well, am gg to enjoy the next two days chillin'...

sotong_mum >> i'm done with my maggi mee breakfast. and still hungry! what's happening?? having a craving for pizza..but it's 9am..this craving gotta wait. i've put on 3.5kg ovr the past mth..seriously don't know how i did that when i was so stressed and busy. haha, shld have reserved this fact for the next time we meet...
think the extended snooze did me a world of good. now i feel i've got enough energy to run a marathon (of course not lah!)...