(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

pups: yeap... as long as he eats the right thing and sleeps enough usually when he's not sick.. i dun think its that bad..if doc says ok.. just trust that its ok lor.. nothing else u can do also..

kkbt>> yeah i jus imagining the worst and am sensitive about comments that he is small, and my MIL is the kind makes u feel worse (my hubby q understanding so sorry to say she has diminished role with my son)

sleep i need sleep!! i jus wan to close my eyes n sleep for 10hours.

Elated*Mie : Ameda at $300+ and its quite good. I used it for my #1. It works perfectly fine through my 14 mths of breastfeeding. And i used it heavily because i breastfeed through exclusively pumping. Its good and reliable enough.

happy hippo : Maybe you can consider. Freestyle is much more compact than PIS. I was thinking if i need to bring pump to and fro my mum's place, its more convenent.

pupsandcups : I just cried yesterday. I felt that these 2 weeks, my Glynnis has been very naughty. MIL kept saying its normal for #1 to be more naughty when we are pregnant, but i was very upset that she misbehaved.

But anyway, we need to stay positive and i believe the difficult time will pass. You have us to gove you moral support... Take care...

hellooo every mummies here

newbie here...
in 16th week nw...
but stil dunno gender

any1 same plight as me??

btw... wad shld i expect in weeks to come?
i see like alot mummies did blood test n all..
but i have yet to ??

hi all mtb,

I have just done my confinement this year and would like to recommend the confinement wine that i used during my confinement. I have tried several wine done by different people and i find the one that my friend's mum did was very good.

So if you are interested in getting confinement wine, do let me know and i will help you take order from her. Do PM me if you are interested.

cheers!

dreamygal>> sorry to hear u cried too. these hormones r quite crazy huh. my boy had high fever but somehow i'm taking to it better today.

agree>> ameda is affordable n reliable. i dropped it many times and it was still ok. i turn everything on to max and it was gentle but yet churning lotsa milk outta me

pups, glad to hear tat u r feeling better. i hv been eating sushi but nt the raw sashimi cos my hub says may hv bacteria so its nt advisable to eat.

i was very upset last night and cried uncontrollably due to work stress furthermore my hub was working nite and I am all alone in my bedroom. Thank God that my fearful meeting this morning turned out good nt as fearful as what I tot it would be.

pups>> i had 3 slices of salmon sashimi at a jap restuarant which i am pretty sure their sashimi is fresh.. and i felt really happy after that.. was going thru a very rough patch at work and at home that time, if it will make you feel better, i tink is ok to take in small quantities..

if you are considering gg sakae, i tink you shouldnt take their sashimi.. coz i feel sakae standards dropped a lot and i doubt they have very fresh sashimi.. just my 2 cents worth la..

anyway do you think those japanese women will stop eating sashimi when they are preggy? i doubt so.. haha

glass: congrats on having a boy! wow half an hour that's quite long ah haha. but dun understand why hubby is not allowed in the room ..

Jeanette: welcome !! i did my oscar and blood test on the 12th week.. maybe u would like to check with ur gynae if any blood test is needed for you coz some mother may have done their blood test prior to pregnancy

jeanette >> welcome, i didn't know the BB's gender till the 18th week and on top of that, it was only 80% confirmed. however, i managed to know the gender, with gynae's surety now, two days ago in my 20th week...so don't worry ok? sometimes the baby is just shy...esp girls..it's harder to spot.

for tests, i didn't go for oscar but i had the usual - blood sugar, immunity agst various infectious diseases etc..and also a planned detailed scan in my 21st/22nd week. this is something i think u need to book cos it can only take place b4 the 22nd week.

dreamygal, pups >> where did you purchase your ameda pumps? the more i read abt it, the more i seem to like it...

pups >> my jap clients who live in japan eat sushi, sashimi everyday..cos they know for certain it's super fresh. i think u need to goto a reputable plc here. agree sakae is out. waraku at times is also questionable though i love it in normal times (they get too much pp and the yellowtail i had when i was not pregnant was "off")...erm..if i may venture, why don't u try wahiro at katong mall? the boss there is a japanese and so far, all their sashimi is solid. fresh shipments on tues, thurs and sat. enjoy and it's just two more days to the weekend!

jeanette, i oso only knw my bb gender tis wk which is 18+ wk, thn on 19+ wk i will be doing detailed scan. i cn understand hw u feel whn u saw sm of the ladies cn see their bb gender, prob ur next chkup cn see aldy.

mylvera: wahh!! u counting down with me eh.. hehee.. YES YES YES!!! my mum more excited than me ah.. keep asking me if i've gone for the scan...

pups: glad that u feel better today.. hehe.. i was frustrated this morning. i think stress ah.. so we got ot keep ourselves high in spirits!

sashimi>>> pls dun go sakae. i agree with mie.. not fresh. not even their cooked tuna is like considered fresh to me. and in the radio commercials sakae said they try to make their food healthier by adding vitamin E?? so is that healthy or fresh or additive or what. haha. i've lots of doubts abt it. its better to get those sashimi from jap supermarts. i think carrefour or cold storage ones maybe fresher...

jeanette: i only get to know the gender next week! and i did the blood test at about wk 16. ur gyne prob do it at 18wks or something. diff gyne got different style..

kkbt,

haha cos i m counting down for myself!! this friday!! haha everyone refuse to buy my story tat " i duno the gender!" everyone ard me insist i shd hv known by now.

i feel bad leh , is like after i was upset , a lot of people upset , let's blame the weather hah cos it is really dam hot.

v worried about my son, but keep telling myself it is normal. also i really miss him, cos he sick so grumpy n not his usual self, who is loving chirpy and always makes me laugh at the end of a bad day.

xoxolight>> i purchased directly from the retailser, gotta go some dam far away place. let me try to recall the name and get back to you, have to check at home.
yap if you read online reviews, n there r heaps comparing Ameda with Medela, they say Ameda is more gentle. it is cheaper too.

in the end i didnt buy sashimi as the one near my office (Which is near lau pa sat) all kinda dodgy. i think i will go .. where in the west got good yet affordable ah?

pupsandcups : I always cry... Haa... Now even worse... I'm ok. I feel better after tears come rolling down... But i'm glad that i have my girl. She always console me.

xoxolight : I bought mine at Robinson. Its actually very last minute purchase. I initially got a medela mini electric passed to me by a friend. One fine day, half way through the pumping session, it broke down. I was so panicky and called my hubby. That very night, we rushed down to robinson to get one.

jeanette: my colleague had her detailed scan at five months, and still couldn't tell the gender coz the baby refused to open the legs. I think she probably has to wait until 6 months, so don't despair if you don't know.

Seems like many of the distributors are at Tagore Lane. Must plan my trip first.

pups >> thanks babe. that'd be helpful. i honestly didn't know abt ameda till both of you mentioned it. which version of ameda are you using? have you tried sakuraya at anchorpoint or village ctr in buona vista? i visit the one at parkway parade..but do take a guinea pig first to test it out nonetheless ok?? must be extra careful! but i think the sakuraya brand is not too bad. near yr office..have you tried hokkaido sushi at M hotel? i think it's fabulous..their grilled sanma is great and pp just go there for sashimi, sushi and nothing else.

grin, and i was just reading a book when it mentioned "pre-baby jitters"..this feeling of various fears and unsettling thoughts with regards to the impending arrival of baby...that sounds so much like all of us isn't it?

mummies..

i got an assuring call from the doc today. they found no trace of infection or amniotic fluid in the swab taken the other day after my "plumber is required" episode!

now i gotta twiddle my thumbs and wonder when the next toilet leak is coming..very worried abt embarrasing myself major in public of something..huh..but i am also 155% sure it isn't pee...well, the nurse kept telling me it's ok, that this can be part of a normal pregnancy...

gotten a bad leg cramp last night. twice in a row! shoots..i tell you, the pain is @#)$()(%*...

sweetzinc + xoxolight + Jazol + glass -- thanks thanks.

i missed e oscar n slightly regretting it nw.
n i totally din knew e blood+urine test were done so early. gynae nv even mention. or mayb... 1st child... over anxious.
hopefully.... monday my bb wil b guai let me noe e gender.

btw... i've been havin on-off cough n flu 4 like 2-3mths??? will it like affect e bb? im like soooo worried. but docs say wont.

yoo hoo i m back. wah...sashimi talk, breast pump talk.
talking abt sashimi, i notti notti go eat 2 slices of sashimi when in Perth. wah...melt in mouth. i like.

hippo > Yes, i went to makan la porchetta. pizza was really good and v cheap. Din manage to go to others dimsum, viet, etc. But I ate a super keng Indian food. I ask them which is the spici-est and confidently told them i can take it. wah..shiok. the meat was tender (no vein) and curry is super. v v spicy :p

Re" Breast Pump
So far i read Medela, Ameda (cheaper & gentler). Nobody considering Philips Avent or Pigeon? Or its in previous days notes which I have not read.

Re: Detailed Scan
I m so excited.
my turn this saturday.
Ran out of supplements (calcium&multivits) though, got to guai guai remember to drink 3 cups of milk.

Er..MTBs in TMC, did you sign up for FBI?

xoxo,

glad that the results are ok. dun wori too much. sometimes the bb is pressing onto our bladder and we might not even know tat we pee (erm more of "such incident" will happen when our tummy getting bigger). nevertheless, the test result shows tat it doesnt contain amniotic fluid or infection! tt's the best re-assurance u can get. as for wat is the water? erm.. leave it behind liao n move forward!

good morning, mummies.

guess wat, last nite after watching Channel 8 on the programme abt food, i asked my hub to bring me to the 'wu xiang' at macpherson... haha... got the crave to eat suddenly.

gal^>> i have been told that Avent breast pump is not very powerful, which is why i tink no choice, most prob i will be getting ameda.. and well, maybe see if there are any BPs to get the Ameda cheaper..

mylvera>> just monday only, i was having dinner with a rather full bladder.. suddenly i went "woooo" my pee nearly came out.. apparently is my baby jumping onto my bladder or giving my bladder a sudden hard kick.. and this happened a few times, making me go "wooo" throughout the dinner and my hubby was laughing non-stop at me lo... i just hope one fine day the pee wun really flow out like that!

jeanette : You can start telling your baby to remember to open legs wide wide...

gal^ : I did. I signed up FBI and now 2 years later SBI. FBI can get you discount for the prenatal course, the oscar & detailed scan, discount for rooms. So the discount is more than the price of the card, so i signed.

These 2 days i suddenly started to feel hungry very very often...

hi dreamygal,
u mean FBI card hv discount for prenatal course as well as detailed scan? my detailed scan at TMC is scheduled for 15 June. Duno whether am i in time to sign up for the FBI..

wahhhh......... couldnt sleep last night! some irritatin mosquito sucking my blood! after that i cant sleep anymore..

i think i'm too tensed up.. very stressed out all of a sudden... exams in 3wks time... and i'm not even halfway there! and so many pending urgent matters to do!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

woke up with weird stomach... tensed up stomach.. arghhhhhhh..........

dreamygal, its good to feel hungry cos once u feel hungry u will eat thn ur bb will take ur food n grow. i had put on quite a lot of weight cos i started eating whn I am abt 17 wks.

sorry har, i very suagu.. wats FBI?

sorry to interrupt

i have this for sale:
preloved Medela Pump in style Dual breastpump selling cheap, in good working condition! Used only for a short while

>Comes with BRAND NEW set of tubings, bottles, membranes & valves.

> Has a day carrier which includes the icecool packs which can be used to transport EBM outdoor.

> Serves well as a spare pump to be placed in ur workplace, etc

>willing to throw in BN nipple cream, glass bottles, BN avent breastpads and storage cups FOC

Pls PM me for price n pics if interesed

ipheh : Ya. Can get discount. Actually you just need to sign up at the counter. When you go up for the scan, they can give you the discount when you present your receipt.

But you never took up the oscar + detailed scan package? I took out that package and paid everything together when i did my oscar.

Jazol : I scared i will put on too much weight leh. My #1 i put on 17kg. Luckily breastfeeding helped me shed off most of the weight.
I hope this one i can put on less than 10kg.

FBI is the first born incentive card from Thomson medical.

Re: Sashimi

So where is the best place to go for fresh sashimi?
i've been craving it since i found out i'm preg! omg but then hubby dun allow me to eat haha..

Breast Pumps: I sufferred from major block ducts when attempting to breastfeed my #1 last time. I was using a hand-me-down Ameda at that time. The (rather famous) lactation consultant sorting my block ducts problem out then told me that some pp experience block ducts with Ameda and told me Medela is better. I got me a Medela PIS on the spot. (On hindsight the Lac Consultant was selling the PIS pump lah so she could be potentially bias lah...*tssk tssk tssk*).

My block ducts problem eased up eventually but not after recurring a zealion times even with the new $700 pump! *Ouch!* (squeals my hubby) So I really dunno if its the pump that was the problem in the 1st place or not. But one thing's for sure, the breastshield for the PIS pump is made of soft plastic (while the Ameda and most other pumps use the hard type) which I felt helped a lot with my pumping.. could well've improved my block ducts problem. But 1 warning though, the soft breastshields don't last and are expensive and troublesome to replace. They were ALWAYS out of stock (even with the main distributors) and I had to trouble friends to buy from the States and send over.

dreamygal: thanks! no. i didnt go for oscar scan. But i am gg to sign up for the antenatal class n detailed scan. so looks like the FBI is worth it.

sweetzinc: i just ate a piece of sashimi yest. hee. cant resist the temptation leh. I tried at jap restaurant at keppel club. The jap buffet at riverview hotel oso serves fresh sashimi.

dreamygal, my gynae says avg for a preg woman its ok to put up to 16 - 18 kg tink tats why u lost weight after ur #1. indeed BF will help mommies to get back to shape. looks like FBI is only at TMC, i m wif KKH might not hv.. anyway, my hub is a CS so cn get subsidies too.

wow envy you all lei, cn eat sashimi... hehe mayb i secretly eat behind my hub whn i meet my best fren for dinner... haha

ipheh: i also want to eat lor
haa i shall double confirm with my gynae during my next visit if can eat sashimi anot.

Jazol: yeah my hubby also refrain me from eating sashimi ha.

chiapatty,
hmmm... thanks for sharing your experience with the 2 pumps. interesting...

kkbt,
yah... hehe... u remember ah? i'm shaking leg, waiting to pick up HB then have dinner, head to airport already!!!

re: sashimi
here's my 2 cents. if even my gynae who has a pretty cool heck care attitude told me NOT to eat raw food, there must be a pretty good reason. i miss sashimi too. but if you're unlucky enough to get food poisoning from the bacteria from unfresh raw fish, you guys know what the consequences are. so is it really worth it? places like sakae and waraku are definitely out of the question. even up market places that fly in direct from tokyo tsukiji fish market does not GUARANTEE you fresh, bacteria-free fish. so enough said. proceed with caution. i'll put up with not having it. afterall we're almost halfway through by now. not worth the gamble just to satisfy our craving.