(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

ok.. now i know why i dun look preg. yet .. :p
'Some women might not look pregnant as yet especially if they are tall because the weight of pregnancy gets evenly distributed over the entire body.'

astro >> that's what i gathered recently abt TMC. dunno if it is really the case now though. would help is more mums can cfm the going-ons.

as for the dun look preggers bit..haha, i am short..so how ar?

sotong mum >> we shall see abt the lunar effect..but nice lah, having a babe on the lantern festival...only thing is, if this is true, i think getting the type of bed/ward you want it gg to be difficult...

sotong,
you are legendary with the 5hrs for #1. i think i kiss the ground if under 10 hrs. then again, a lot of exercise suppose to make it easier? i'm secretly hopeful. hehehe... will keep up the exercises as long as i can still move.

xoxo,
i'm like the most clueless to ask lor. baygon was like so u did NT scan? or detailed scan? or what? and i was like *DUH* dunno some kind of scan that took an hour. but i got nice long report and alot of images. do u have to pay extra for your detailed scan? if price is around the same, then u can consider going to camden. the sonographer quite cool with a wicked sense of humour. hehehe... $350. i have a short clip of my little "zhao cai mao" waving her right hand at me, which i nicely showed everyone. hehe...

baygon,
i think i figured out why they sent me there around wk16/17. cos then they can say "erm, gotta come back and check baby's heart. make sure no holes. now too small cant see clearly yet." then i gotta pay again.
i think if i have #2 must shop around a bit. this one like for pple with $$$ oozing out of their nostrils.

then again, if i have to have c-section and wound is nicely healed, i will bear the pinch second time round too.

Baygon,
There you go, it's this avg an hour for 1cm dilation that make me goes without epi! I seriously thought I'm going to take at least 10hours for the whole labor and thus the pain will be worse at later stage. So I say, MTB, don't think too much in labor ward, just take epi once you feel the pain!

BTW, how tall are you?

Xoxo,
I think nowadays people don't really look at lunar calendar. So don't worry, we will get the bed/ward that we want. *trying to comfort myself* But if it's true and all bed are full, what's going to happen?

hippo,
I think you are set to break my record! I'm very active during my 1st pregnancy. Was working for US region and thus report to work at 530am. I won't be home till 9pm and can still do housework after I reached home. This continues almost everyday till I go on leave. Maybe that's the reason why it's 5 hours?

oh ya, xoxo, Happy Birthday babe! Hopefully ms will stay away from you in the evening so that you will be able to enjoy a nice, romantic dinner with you hubby!

Sheryl,
There's a number of places which sell swimsuit. Taka have them but is kinda expensive. I brought my at OIO around $59.

xoxo,
HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! ooooo... nice romantic dinner?
btw, my EDD 18th oct lah. not 3 oct. 18th not full moon meh?

sotong,
i dunno man. urm, scared my pelvic bone not wide enough. but then how to NOT be wide enough? my ass is so freaking huge now?! now that u mentioned that u went without epi again, i wanna like KISS THE GROUND U WALK ON!!! how da hell u go without EPI??? OMG!!! gonna pinch u next time i see u, see whether u can feel any pain one or not. hehehe...

sotong_mum >> haha, i don't think the hospital will be full hse lah. don't worry, be happy. i think if i gotta choose btw bed or pain, i'd rather pray for a relatively pain-free delivery...nvm the bed..aiyoh, so chicken nowadays :p

Besides, thanks for your wishes. Hope you're having a romantic nite out with your HB and his birthday!

Mie Mie >> thanks babe!

Hippo >> no romantic dinner lah. I'd my nausea after a pizza lunch. the babe didn't like that the pizza was burnt so I was churning charcoal
After that, went to sleep until 8pm!! Had a simple thing with my HB and mum at Breeks, changi airport....sob..this will be the last yr I can put the no "2" in front of my age...thanks for your wishes though, I think overall, I'd a peaceful and tranquil day...

Sorry to interupt.

Brand New Yaolan for sale - comes with spring, hanger and net. Only set up to let baby try but baby just don't like to be in it. Bought the whole set for $120. Selling as a full set at $80 now.
PM or email me at [email protected] for pictures.

Hi all! I went to window shop for baby stuff yesterday, and it was very interesting! However, my colleague said that the prices at Robinsons were super inflated. She bought a jumperoo or dunno what stuff from kiddy palace for less than 200 bucks, and they advertise the same thing for $350, and the discounted price was $230.

Decided that I need a lightweight stroller, so Aprica seems suitable for me. Many other strollers were too heavy for me. My husband likes the handle to be in both directions. And after that, I started identifying the strollers very quickly by brands. So many young parents around! One brand caught my eye, but I don't know how long it can last for the baby's growth. It's Stoke. It looks like some high tech stroller with huge wheels.

Was checking out the medela breast pump in style, but someone from the breastfeeding support group told me they sell it cheaper. My colleague also told me about the group and she got her stuff and support from them.

Think I'll get a cot that can be transformed into a child's bed subsequently, though the shop I went to at great world city appears to be super expensive, so I will need to find out more.
Realised that the baby bottles look alike to me. I can't remember which brand has everything in a bundle, so maybe I could just get that.

I also realised that it is not too early to start looking or buying, because some stuff may take a few months to arrive, such as the cot.

Ooh! I also checked out the cloth diapers that I mentioned the other day. They were so cute!! They could be folded down to cater to a newborn baby, and enlarged for a growing baby, due to the press studs (I think that's what they are called). I just hope that during Oct - Dec rainy season, it won't rain so much that the cloth diapers can't dry in time. I should probably supplement with disposable diapers.

Only problem is my husband is now counting his pennies and watching his money so much, plus my in-laws constant daily nagging to sell our apartment and buy a cheaper hdb flat, he says we can't afford maid, and we should downsize, or stop at one child. Wah piang, I want to faint. I told him to stop bugging me, or I'll get super negative emotions that will affect the baby.

P.S. Regarding birth of second baby, my ex-colleague was so fast she really gave birth in her own house. She's super thin and petite. I didn't know she was pregnant until she was probably in her late 2nd trimester or early 3rd trimester.

hi mummies ,

im selling off some items, do PM me if interested:

1) MEDELA MINI ELECTRIC (single breast pump)
-only bought in mid FEB, only used once, sterilised and back on box. giving baby FM so no longer need pump
selling at $150

2)PIGEON - Breastmilk cooler bag (brand new)
selling at $48

3)PIGEON - nursing pads 36s (unopened)
selling at $8

4)huggies ultra super jumbo pack M size selling at $18, or exchange with its L size.

5) New Avent pacifier 3-6mths, pink & yellow, with teddy bear design selling at $8

pls pm if interested-
self collection at mrt station (sembwg, admiralty, woodlands)

hi, sorry to intrude...

I've a car seat to sell, very good condition almost like brand new.
Bought less than 2 months ago, and very seldom used.
Those times when my boy does sit, I will always have a covering layer over it.

Details -
1. Striking red and black colour combo
2. Suitable from infant to toddler (0 to 18 kg)
3. 5 point harness
4. Convertible & reclinable - can be used both rear and forward facing
5. Wrapped in protective plastic to keep it dust free

Selling for $130, self-collect at my place at Bt Batok.
Pls PM me for pictures.

Good morning mummies...

Astro : 17 mins is really fast. I must tell my hubby tonight...

Glynnis came out quite fast. First contraction at 12 plus and before 6am, she's out... This one better be more well prepared.

I remembered that time, i still drank chicken essence before going hospital... Hee...

morning everyone

yesterday got a big kick by BB. could see a little bump pop out for a split second... maybe that's a foot?

miemie: my client just told me that the BPA-free bottles should be in the stores by July.

wow, shugar.. you saw the little bump pop out! i have been observing my tummy hoping to catch a glimpse of that! so lucky! most of the times when baby gives me a really hard kick, i will get a shock and my hubby will see me get a shock and do a little startled act.. hahaha..

i had a dream of my baby kicking really hard until i could see almost the whole of her leg pop out of my tummy, and then i grabbed hold of her leg by the ankle from the outside (the leg is still inside my tummy) and then i shouted to my hubby to look, that is our baby's leg! hahaha.. hilarious dream..

miemie: I play kicking games with BB sometimes when i feel light kicks. I'll tap a few times on my tummy and get some light kicks in return. but the big kick happened so fast that HB didnt manage to see it. :S and when he was busy staring at my belly, nothing happened liao!

hahahaha! that's a really funny dream you had! :D
it'll be bizarre if it happened in real life!

Hi hi everyone! Long time no see! As usual, been really busy with work and 1st bb. 1st bb sick most of last 2 weeks, had to send to KK coz of super high fever (40.4!!) but thank goodness everything ok now. Mummies out there who's experienced their bbs with high fever will know how stressful and upsetting the whole experience can be!

Ran thru the recent posting briefly...my comments:

FAST 2ND DELIVERY: My friend just warned me that 2nd delivery is much much faster than the 1st. Her 1st bb took about 15hrs and the 2nd one she almost gave birth in the car!!! It was so fast that there was no time for epidural or anything! Another one I know of (my hubby's fren), gave birth to her 2nd child so fast that the doc didn't even have time to put his robe on!!! My main fear is having to deliver without epidural... I don't think I can handle the pain. My 1st birthing experience was long but painfree. I want to stick to this kind! The other fear I have is that by Oct the swine flu is so prevalent that everyone is quarantined and I have to give birth at home with gynae instructions over the phone! Yikes!!

TMC DETAILED SCAN: Just did mine, Xoxo is right, my hubby was told to wait outside while the sonographer did all the measurements. But its not as bad as it seems lah, when she told us hubby had to wait outside, she explained that it was so that she can get the measurements done properly, quickly and without too much commotion first. After the measurements hubby can then join in and she'll redo all the scans and that was exactly what happened. It was like doing the detailed scan twice. So no issue at all. The good thing about doing the scan at TMC for me is that my gynae is at TMC as well. Right after the scan we go straight to the gynae's office with the detailed scan report for a quick explanation on the report. Very convenient.

Shugar: I'm playing the kicking game as well, though it's not very obvious. A book that I read said, 'Kick, baby, kick!' and tap the stomach at the place you want. It will take a few times for the baby to respond accurately.

going for detailed scan this afternoon. Hope to confirm my baby's gender.

TMC detailed scan: I did mine last Friday. Yes, sonograher does not allow hubby to go in with his wife till all the measurements are taken. After that, she will ask him to join in to show him the bb and has some brief explanation on the scan which she did earlier with the hubby.

2nd delivery: My first one took 9 hours to delivery and my second one took less than 4 hours. So, proven! Second one is indeed will be fast. Thus, I dun know if this third one will be out in 17 mins... Hehehe

shugar>> at night my baby will usually respond to my calls.. when i know that she is awake and happily kicking, the moment hubby puts his hand onto the spot, she stops kicking.. only after i say "baby" then she will kick.. and my hubby will talk to her in all sorts of weird voices, i told him that next time baby wun be able to recognise his voice coz she will be thinking which one is Daddy!!! hahaha

Hey hey people. I'm also counting down to my detailed scan. It's next Thurs. I'm getting it done by my doc though. He said that it's just a different "level of confidence" whether he is the one who does it or someone more specialised. He was saying that he does recommend some patients to someone more specialised but it costs $500! We decided that we could just get the gyne to do it at $120. Quite nervous and excited about it. I still have not found out the gender yet so it will be my chance! Also nervous because I am an anxious first time mom, very concerned about whether my bb will be healthy or not. To this day, I still have not felt my baby kick. It worries me a little. No fluttering, no big kicks. All I feel is pulling at my lower tummy (suspect it's the stretching ligaments or something like that).

mie, I saw your post on not taking calcium and iron together - why not? I usually take all my supplements together in the morning, unless I forget. That includes iron + multivites, fish oil and calcium. Oops, you mean I've been doing it wrong for the past few months?! *pound head against wall*

mylvera: wow! thanks for reminding me!! YES!! its monday today and tuesday tomorrow and next TUES is THE SCAN!!!

funzee: hi-5! we gonna know baby's gender next week! dun worry about the kicks. my sis didnt feel much kicks for her #1 too...

kicking game>>> didnt know there's such a game we can play with baby so soon! hahha. i usually just ignore the kicks. cos it can be quite distractin. and baby does that throughout the day except when hb tries to feel it.

btw, the weather is SOOOOOO HOT!!!!!!! i'm feeling sleepy ALL the time!!!

funzee,
i also do the same. all eat together in the morning. dunno what's miemie's reasoning. but i think if we are not meant to consume them together, the doc/nurse would've specifically told us not to.
since they didn't, i dont think its a big issue.

kkbt,
today go out will get "peng-kang" alive lor. good luck with your detailed scan. i'll be away this thu onwards for 2 weeks. so drop me a mail lest i miss out your post k? hehe...

funzee & fifi>> my gynae told me that if we take iron and calcium together, calcium will interfere with the absorption of iron, so it is not advisable to take both at the same time.. she told me to take them a few hours apart, and since I am taking my DHA at night as well, i made it a habit to have my iron in the morning, and calcium at night...

hippo: sure!! i hope its a kkb news!!

mie is right, but i think for those multi-vit that contain some amt of iron, it shouldnt be that bad. cos the amt is not a lot. but just to be safe, take them apart also no harm.

I consume all supplements together too.. hopefully we didnt do it wrongly.

I doing my detailed scan next Friday at NUH. Anyone doing there? Same as other mum, i havent know the gender yet, my bb refuse to open his/her leg when the gynae is scanning. However, i am more concern with the health. Hopefully, everything turns out good... God bless us...cheers

OIC, thanks folks for the advice on the iron and calcium. I will try and separate out the consumption.

BTW, anyone has recommendations on where to buy those t-shirt bras for maternity/nursing. Lightly padded, moulded, smooth cups. I have gone to Spring, Perfect Mum (bought some bras there but with seams so can't wear with fitted clothes) and also Egg. So far I find the one at Egg pretty good but thought I'd try to expand my choices.

Sorry to interupt.

Brand New Yaolan for sale - comes with stand, spring and net (blue). Only set up to let baby try but baby just don't like to be in it. Bought the whole set for $120. Selling as a full set at $80 now.
PM or email me at [email protected] for pictures.

hey everyone,

shall we all list our supplements, i realised differs across hospitals huh.

I'm on

Ganilia (multi vit for preg and bfeeding mom)
Caltrate 600

I believe my gynae plans to start me on DHA supplement at my next visit which is this Friday.

hey pups,
just remember what u said abt ur weight and height. haha... it is definitely a figure every mother would love to have. hehehe... *envious*

oooh... DHA. yucks. have fun with it.
i dread taking it. but been good and eating it since prescribed.

ProLacta with DHA for mother
Vit C 100mg
Suncal-D (calcium carbonate + vit D)
Flouron (Iron hydroxide, Vit C, Folic acid)

kkbt,
spain + paris. ah... cant wait. finally its here!!! we decided to go ahead cos this outbreak seems less potent than originally thought. plus, trafalgar tours imposing 30% cancellation penalty for our 9D spain tour if we cancel. so since its my last real holiday, we decided to go ahead lor. hehehe...

I am taking
1) DHA x 1
2) Iron x 1
3) Calcium x 2

No vitamin thou, gynae say different gynae prescribe different supplements and he feels that above is sufficient.

miemie,
haha... NO. that's a bit too OTT. the abbott purple bag that clinic gave me is gonna be my diaper bag. hahaha...

kkbt,
yeah we honeymooned in paris few years back. so am looking forward to gg to paris again. but spain i've never been and i think it has really nice architecture and all. so am looking forward to it.

fifi>> haha, i've got a similac purple bag that my clinic gave me.. i also thot of using that as my diaper bag.. coz i really cannot bear to buy too expensive a diaper bag...

i'd a scare midway thru' work today. ard 3pm, i became distracted by the fact that my seat has become soaked. i got up and lo and behold, my entire pants was wet! nvm the seat, i went to the loo and checked, turns out i was leaking water (cfm not pee) - more specifically, it's watery discharge. not the whitish, yellowish whatever that is usual. not thick or heavy, it really felt and looked like water. and to think i was wearing liners..decided to err on the side of caution and call my doc. she asked me to go over for a quick check up immediately..the 30mins it took me was scary enough..the initial tele-conversation was that she suspected my waterbag had leaked...

thankfully, by the time i was seen by the doc and she did a swab which showed no presence of amniotic fluid, a scan which showed baby cuddling up and hugging her feet (double-cfm now that it's a girl) and was told the sudden heavy discharge is probably normal. some women may experience stuff like that. hmmmm...so does it mean i shld wear pads everyday now just to be safe? luckily i've swopped my usual cushioned roller chairs for hard seat ones and the leak didn't cause any great distress for my office...

anyway, this scare has tired me out for today. really don't know what to make of it. brighter side is that my "low" lying placenta seems to have moved a little higher..i guess all that "stick my legs to the wall" movt learnt at our yoga class is helping...

post completed, load off my chest..but yeah, i am going to say yet another prayer tonight for all to be well for everyone of us...

xoxo: first of all happy belated birthday

hmm. sounds scary.. so.. ur gynae said that it was normal? i wld also freaked out bigtime if it happens on me! :S

re iron and calcium
yes, they hinder one another.. as high as 50% i believe.. so please space the comsuptionof such supplements out. 2 hours before and after iron, no calcium or diary products, vice versa..

vit C helps enrich iron intake.. particularely non-heme iron in veg.. vit D helps absorption of calcium.

which remind me.. so guilty ..with bao last time i so diligent with my diet.. this time. haiz.. anyway..

my gyane during the last scan said 'you can have my word for it that it is a boy this time'.. aiyoh. ok.. all hopes dashed.

good night all. tired. it has been a busy week.. and it is going to be a busier week ahead.. haiz..

night all..