(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

hi mtbs,

feeling all weird today, did not manage to sleep well last night, kept waking up at 2 hrs interval.. then somemore dunno if tis the food that I ate or what, I had diarrhea throughout the night, total of 3x last night.. =(

now in office, feeling so cold, thought pregnant ladies supposed to feel hot? not sure if it is due to the rain this morning or what, but office aircon sure is colder today hai me feeling a bit numb and cold in both hands and legs.. sob sobs.. feeling all so weird but just cant pinpoint where am i feeling wrong.. the neck stiffness and the back pain is horrible too.. argh..

i'm just looking at strollers, crib car seat and what not. So many things!!!! I don't know what to get at all.
Can anyone help to start the ball rolling?

I was checking this out because I just read one chap on Gina Ford's book. She says that we should get the things earlier so that we won't be so stressed.

Thanks gals for the advice. Just came bk from my family doc. Apparently, it's normal for mtbs to have lower red blood cells as our bbs are sharing blood with us. As long as the haemoglobin is fine, it's ok. But think I am going to start taking more beef...

Glass: Those items are really ex! And they are going to take up bulk of the money spent. I still need a wardrobe for bb and not forgetting playpen, baby chairs, breast pumps, sterilisers, food warmers and milk bottles. Been looking at them whenever I go shopping. So far I like Maclaren's and Combi strollers cos' of the colours. Chicco ones are of lower price range..looks sturdy enough Even got their catalogue. Will be waiting for the next Isetan private sale to get them. Today cannot buy, too early to get them. Think that's the purpose of bb bonus right? Think all of it will go to all these items. Was telling hubby that I better have another kid and if can have 3rd one even better, make sure the money is well spent.

glass,

Re: items to get.

Crib : what i heard (old wives' tales) is crib is best to get new ones unless u know how the previous bb's health condition like.

Stroller: can buy 2nd hand cos at most use few mths? unless u intend to hv more kids n wana keep for future?

car seat: same as stroller. some bb car seat can be attached to the stroller too (cos newborn bb too small to sit in stroller) eg, graco (but tis brand very exp)

u definitely need some cupboards or drawers to put the bb clothing inside.

some hospital give out bath tub. so depends on which hospital u giving birth, dun buy this if included.

bb clothes: if u know the gender, can start buying. most of the times for newborns we wd jz make the bb wear tops n bottoms covered with diapers. dun buy too many 0-3 mths size cos bb tends to grow at fast rate
buy some 3-6 mths size to stand by incase u hv big bb

Wraps: can use thicker cloth n sew the corners to prevent fraying or if u int in new swaddle me, I have that in stock. can sell at cheaper rates

tt's all i can think of now.

hippo,

metrolite costs 600+ (few yrs ago pricing) but very sturdy.. even now when my #1 play n abuse it ..still can be used .. i fully depreciate mine liao haha

glass
heyhey when it comes to buying baby stuffs, im the guru of saving one. LOL. You wun believe it but for #1 I got everything right down to the clothes from my cousin,aunty and friends.
The only thing I pampered him with is a brand new stroller, cuz 2nd hand are reli dirty, some even peed on it, got smell.
You needa prioritise what you really need. If you confirm chops getting #2 a few yrs down the road, its good to invest but not splurge. =)
Firstly try and source 2nd hand items on this forum, basic necessity is;
1. cot + bed/bedsheets/tiny pillows and bolster
2. stroller
3. bottle sterilizer
4. breast pump + empty bottles for storage
5. nursing bras +loose Pjs for easy pumping at night
6. of course items like baby wipes/cotton swipes (will use alot lor)
I do not think car seat impt until bb is 1yrs plus. My kid always sit in the back with me while hb is driving. So uncomfortable I see those car seat with the curve and his head still head downwards.
dun forget the cash you need to pay upfront after delivery, about 2k-3K! So do try to get as many hand-me-downs. As from experience, the clothes dun need so many designs. on ur 1st mth celebration, alot of ppl give clothes, toys.
I hope I gave a detailed idea on how you can save, instead of stressing over what to buy. Hehe.

pinkiemie,
i am not sure when is the "safe" period but i thot it shld not b less than 5 mths to our EDD. else its so obvious they r terminating to avoid paying us for our maternity benefits.

glass
those r prob the high end ones.
I got the car seat for my #1 in Robinsons' during a sale at ard $250 (quite reputable brand but 4got it offhand), carpella stroller $200+ (bot from Cheong Choon - quite famous for its low prices, it is a baby essentials dealer located in chinatown and they do free delivery for purchases abv $100, i think) and subsequently when #1 is older, we bot a maclaren at Taka sale for $260+. Bbaby cot is $300 (bot fr warehose in kaki bt) tt can b converted to toddler bed when we need to.

Thanks everyone so far for your suggestions. My problem is more of being confused by the huge variety available.

I can get hand-me-down clothes from my friend who has just given birth to a boy, though these will be quite old because they were already hand-me-downs from her first son who is 3 years old.

ok, 2 friends just gave me some contacts, i'll just list here so that i can refer to it again.

Britax safe and sound infant to toddler car seat
Aprica stroller
Can get at robinson sale
Distributors at tagore lane
Aprisin Singapore Pte Ltd
50, Tagore Lane Unit #B1-02, Entrepreneur Centre
Singapore 787494
Email: [email protected]
Phone: (65) 63368311
Operating Hours: 10:00am to 6:00pm (Mon-Sat)

Little tikes and aprica
Kidsloft
Bumbo seat

Baby’s hyperstore 69 kaki bukit ave 1, shun li industrial park 68441123
Baby’s kingdom 83 kaki buki ave 1 #01-00 shun li industrial park 65471677

to add on to glass list..

baby wipes (so far the cheapest) is carlson wipes avail only at JL unless someone got the contact of the supplier. it is 3 packet for 5+? pigeon wipes is 3 for $9+ cheapest?

milk bottles: depends on what type u looking for. i did a check n found out it is cheaper to order from USA. eg, Dr Brown's bottle costs abt $18 per bottle? while i can get it 3 for US$12 or US$13? even if i include shipping oso cannot reach $18 per bottle haha

clothes: i normally buy rompers at USA site or can go GIANT to buy. cheaper too.

yo! i am back from my gynae's checkup!
the babe-in-store is a GIRL!

my HB couldn't stop grinning. ultrasound pic looks like ultraman, uh, ultragirl..queer when u see things in 2D, blue hues and flat dimensions eh?

baby was tapping and tapping her feet today. not moving much other than that...the sum total of my weight from the beginning of my pregnancy till today is 1.8kg...so on orders to try to eat whenever i can cos i still have pretty bad MS.

speaking of which, is my merlion club dwindling in membership? which mummies are still part of the club can raise your "hands"? misery loves company...

xoxo: congrats on having a girl!

I've never joined your merlion club, but I'm still puking once in a while. Finally had 'morning sickness' when I puked in the morning yesterday.

mylvera
do you have the link to buy dr brown direct from USA?thanks heaps.

xoxo
COngrats!!A babe on the way uh..lol for my handsome prince...
I still puke on some mornings, but I can control the explosive urge to merlion better now. And I have figured out what the lil pankster dun like to eat. when I explore new food, I go slow. If accepted, means hurray! If not, skip to the loo liao. So does my company counts?

glass
think alot of sales coming soon. Keep a lookout. Today is Isetan private sale only if you have invite though.

Anyone going to the Crocs sale at Expo next week?

glass >> thanks and...awwww...why you are not part of us? our merlion club is quite a cosy corner yah?
talk abt puking...i was quite cham at TMC today...the parking situation coupled with the temp taking nonsense there makes it a nightmare! sets off my nausea...and did i complain abt the really stinky toilets on the 4th flr?

huimin >> explosive urge..good phrase..i have mastered control over when i actually deliver on e puke but the nausea can drive me insane still..i've a list of forbidden foodstuff...heaven help me if i touch anything there!

sales and everything sound so good..did any of you manage to go to the MPH expo sale last weekend?

xoxo,
welcome to the princess club. hehehe... sorry i not qualified for MS club. but hey, 1.8kg is a credible feat. considering how bad your MS is. now, lets not mention my number (only a number as you say... ) lest everyone else fall off the chair!
bwahahaha...

as usual, pls brainstorm what we're having for lunch. AC preferred. non-AC unless its super yummylicious.

huimin, glass,
thanks for the comprehensive list! i'm gonna copy it down! hahahaha...

mylvera,
what??? it costs $600??? ok, then i better grab!!!

glass,
so have u been to shun li industrial park? i heard from my fren that can get some cheap deals there. but i never been b4 of course. kaki bukit is near me. so i can hop over if worthwhile. but i hate going down ubi ave.

Hi Oct '09 MTB! sorry to intrude.

I'm trying to buy a quinny buzz at a cheaper price therefore i found one which able to give me discounts if i order at least 5.

Each Quinny Buzz3 is $980. (quite a bargain for me as outside sell $1200+)
( DO TAKE NOTE I'M TALKING ABOUT 2009 MODELS. ) Each year, the model is different. (Quoted from the dealer "Difference between 08 and 09 buzz3 is due to colour. Besides that, the suspension seems to be changed, and the bumper bar material has changed to an anti-tear material. ")

Colours available: Strawberry, Iron, Breen, Wave, Raccoon, Storm, Greystone.

The standard package comes with an XL seat lining, Carseat adaptor, Raincover, Buzz box and hand pump.

If you want to purchase the maxi cosi carseat together it will be $1280 . up to you to get it as a matching pair or not. The carseat doesn't have any quotation.
2008 & 2009 colours are avalaible.

Or you could purchase the car seat seperately at $320.

Do let me know if anyone of you are interested. you can pm me or send me an e-mail at

hippo, glass
before you head to ubi, check out offers by mothercare of other dept stores. I mean for Biggie items such as stroller, baby seat. I bought my maclaren at baby kingdom and the sales girl said 'cheap cheap and good good'. But then later I realised Mothercare also had an offer, which was about $30 cheaper. Not much difference la, but I can go to Vivo which is nearer my house lor, save my petrol. And Ubi always JAM like sardine....

Re:quinny buzz
My 2 cents worth on quinny, hippo did u say you wana get one? I think quinny very very very ex.design uber nice too.I would definitely get one if I go jogging along Orchard rd with my cutie on the Quinny...kekehehe

mylvera
thanks for the link. I am still checking out what other stuffs they have. You are right, Dr Brown is cheap!!! I should have bought it when the US$ was lowww...drats.

Did any mummies experience "fake contraction"? It a v tight feeling on the tummy. I been getting tat alot during the nite, it is fake contraction so it is painless, bt smehw it seem 2 b pressing onto my vagina's bone, same feeling when wana giv birth tat time when bb head kep pushing dwn. 2rd x mummies shd knw wat is fake contraction ba...

I dream i got pre-term bb, n was sad cos of the hospital bill n tiny size bb. Tik these day muz rest m0re

Did any mummies experience "fake contraction"? It a v tight feeling on the tummy. I been getting tat alot during the nite, it is fake contraction so it is painless, bt smehw it seem 2 b pressing onto my vagina's bone, same feeling when wana giv birth tat time when bb head kep pushing dwn. 2rd x mummies shd knw wat is fake contraction ba...

I dream i got pre-term bb, n was sad cos of the hospital bill n tiny size bb. Tik these day muz rest m0re

hey hey hey!!! finally get to come here to read the posts. been busy the whole day...

gemstone class>>>
u'll get to see nice stuff lah.. u want to buy, i sure ask my hb to give you fantastic rates. btw, u'll get to learn more than just looking at the gemstone. haha..

dreams>>>
mie mie... i think its pretty normal for weird dreams.. dun take them to heart! haha..

red blood cells>>>
lower count cos we share with bb????? no wonder i've been so lost all the time recently.. i can go to the wrong side of the escalator, press the wrong floor on the lift, forgot to switch this and that off... then i can even forget what i wanted to do the moment i'm distracted. bb must be enjoying mummy's blood. haha..

Hey pups!! Was gg thru the thread and saw ur post.. Thank God that ur bb boy is healthy!! Trust in Him ya.. Cheers!!

xoxo
*hands up* i'm still in the merlion club and i am 16 wks. still puking everyday. Juz had a mega session during lunch. still carrying plastic bags wif me. haiz...
and boy, am i envious tt u r hvg a girl! Congrats!

Joanne
u talking abt braxton hicks? seems too early to hv it now & if u r concerned, check wif ur gynae. i thot usually starts ard 3rd trimester? if u rest, does it go away?

tien:better eat more red meat,beef since low red blood cells.but dun eat too much liver cos i read somewhere that too much intake of liver may cause miscarriage or something like tat. u with dr Kang too? have u seen her yet?

xoxo:congrats on the baby girl!! hope mine is a girl too. =)

hiya, thanks for the 'gratulations..haha, there was a commotion within the family as some lost their bets and others won $$$...phew, lucky i didn't throw my ounces too fast...the babe was still very shy and kept her legs fast to her chest but the doc's no fool and went "behind" her and that's how the expose happened..

moi looking at the heaps of work i still got..dunno where to start...haiz haiz haiz.

jRt>>i thought i'd be done with my last pack of 100's puke bags, now realised if this carries on, it's not going to be enuf. the doc says i've her sympathies..get used to it. move on..yeah, that's what's happening now. i am GETTING used to the feelin'. to sound like a crank, what happens when i no longer feel the nausea? will i miss it?

ww >> join us for a short makan lah...don't trouble yourself too much with packing stuff for us ok? but thanks for your sweet thoughts!

ting_24>> *sprinkle baby girly dust all over you*...

lokey >> yr site under mtce..so can't help u for the moment...but we are no experts leh..when are u gg for yr detailed scan?

yoga mummies >> see u ltr in the morning...11.30..shiok, can sleep in!

good nite don't let the bedbuggies bite..and for all who have weird dreams..rest easy if u'd them 3x in a row. i find the strange dreams disappear after they appear in sets of threes...

ww,
wow, sounds like u r packing a picnic basket. mebbe we shud go to east coast park for picnic instead
cya ltr!

kkbt,
cant see very well on the video. cos the screen is flickering a lot. let me try agn...

joanne: why don't you try preschool. I think Ntuc has some training programme. Approach your MP for help. I think you may qualify for some help for training, and maybe other goodies.

xoxo: never joined the club because I only puked a few times during my first trimester. Don't want to join it because it's such a horrible feeling. This morning while I was driving to work, I nearly threw up again. Argh!

joanne,
i think u can go and approach your CDC and your MP for help. there's a lot of retraining programs under SPUR for you too. glass has a point. a lot of preschools are needing to hire badly. so maybe u can consider those? good luck

huimin,
hahaha... the quinny buzz. nah, i wont get it. not at that price anyways. it looks really nice tho. i thot maybe hb can bring princess when he goes jogging. but um, on further thot, i think if he really did that bb will fly out anyways. cos he's an athlete mah. better dont put that kinda ideas in his head! hyuk hyuk.

kkbt,
i would love to attend your gemstone class. but i really doubt the HB will let me anywhere near "dangerous" things like that. think if he knows i go for gemstone class, he will "xiu le wor".
so i have to pass.

but i will definitely take you up on your offer when and if i'm working again!

thanks sweetie!

hippo: sure.. but its not ex lah. just for knowledge sake.. i only charge $80 for the workshop cheaper than pre-natal classes!! hahhaa.. but still its not as important as pre-natal classes...

video>> i also cant figure out if its boy or girl. hb scolded me for staring so close at the screen. say i sexually harrassing bb.

joanne: i was also thinking of preschool for u.. i heard on the news that they are opening up posts in preschools. u may want to try it out.

xoxo: detailed scan on 2 june.. a long way to go...