(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

mrs neo, my son called his dad first. mama came much2 later.. to say mommy properly was again much2 later.. same with my fren's kids' too

mrs neo: i recalled hor.. they said preg women.. are on the liang side.. hence no matter how we eat dried logans (which is darn heaty).. we dun get the ulcers or whatever.. i tried it.. at least it works for me.. hmm. but i am no chinese physcians..
anyhow. we will be drinking red dates tea post natel.. crysanthemum to me is quite mild..for me lah..

I experience intense moodiness when i cut off all the cold/carbonated drinks, fast food last year.

I gather that it is better to start eating healthy than to go thru all the frustrations/pain/torture in adjusting diet.
Especially coke.

rina: as soon as i clicked .. i realised. ur kid age very staggered.. so u might still have onli one..
teng sleeping inhis cot now mah.. dun tell me buy another cot? shucks..

carbo said papa first.. then took so long to say mama.. i remembered last time asked him say mama , he shakes his head ah! this ingrate!
think m sound harder for them to pronounce..

i am soooO addicted to coke right now it's scaring even me.

oh well...

ok ladies, am gonna turn in for my nap now. better sleep while boy sleeps. if not no more chance to rest til he sleeps at night.

see ya later!
and enjoy chatting with one another yah?

famela, just now u mentioned coke. Dang! Now I feel like having coke...Btw I happen to be reading this just now after we talked bout the baby not taking the food we eat during the first few weeks.

Got this from Babiesonline.com. this is the development for week 9

This week marks the end of the embryonic period and the placenta is developing as well. Your baby looks like a tiny human now and is approximately 13 - 17 mm or about 0.51 - 0.66 inches in length (about the size of a raspberry). At this point, he weighs approximately 1 - 1.5 grams (the weight of a paperclip).

While the internal reproductive organs have now become either testes for boys or ovaries for girls, there's nothing yet to tell you whether it's a boy or girl even if you look closely. The skeleton has begun to form as cartilage and bones take shape. The baby's intestine has begun to move out of the umbilical cord into the baby's abdomen and your baby is now taking his first few drinks - he's drinking amniotic fluid. Remember, a little of what you eat and drink ends up in the amniotic fluid so, it can end up in him. Reflex muscle movements continue and now your baby will move away if touched through the uterine wall. Other changes in your baby are the heart valve formation, the retina formation, and the tip of the nose becoming visible.

Ok so I tink we should be a bit careful bout what we eat? No? Aiyah...so leceh..

Btw, any mummies here already start an online journal bout yr pregnancy. I have mine. But its private for now as I havent start announcing yet.

But it's great to have one, to remember the good and bad times you had during the nine months..

Rina: Yes yes, I heard before when having a girl, the mummy's nose will become very big and overall the mummy will not look radiant. That's me when I was having my girl.

siang jiao: My 1st pregnancy also no MS, no nothing and I got a girl! Maybe your mum's theory is right!

Xoxo and those of you who don't dare to handle/carry bbs: Can I suggest you all go for the antenatal class to learn how to handle bb. Very helpful. Last time my hubby practised and practised how to swaddle (ie. wrap in a cloth) the dummy doll during the antenatal class that he became an expert later with my gal. Better than me even wor! I think all the hospital have such classes. Remember don't start the classes too early (or u may forget what you've learnt) and don't start too late (for obvious reasons!).

rina: hb and i have a wedding blog.. bb's first photos are on it already.. hehe...next photo will prob come in next wk after visit to gyne...

rina>> i also started an online journal about my pregnancy, but so far me and DH are the only readers coz we haven really announced to many pple yet... thinking when i should post the baby ticker on my own blog also...

Astro: hahaha Me too I never cried when I 1st saw bb. I actually thought to myself, "Aiyoh why so bloated, purple and nose so flat.. Eee....warm warm wan, so dirty, someone take her away for cleaning please". I have to say I was feeling damn exhausted and shitty (withdrawal symptom from the epidural - makes you shiver uncontrollably and pukish) then but once the epidural effects were over I actually pined and pined for her to be wheeled into my room for feeding because I missed her so much!

haha..yep, once we are thru' the 18th, time to sign up for the antenatal classes from the 20th. can see the $$$ needed soon...sigh. i've begun a private blog too..waiting till things alot more stabilised before announcing to e wider world. it's been quite a harrowing journey for me so far. constantly entertained...i am thinking of exploring hypno-birthing..also, to go for prenatal yoga..anyone keen?

chiapatty >> huh? they don't place BB with you in the same room? hmm..how many days do u need to be warded in hospital after delivery? say if u deliver at night, can u go home at noon the next day?

im keen on prenatal yogo or aqua-aerobics.. i feel a very deep need to do some exercises now in fact.. but i am not a very sporty person before preggy, is it wise to take up these sports?

miemie >> same here..never that active..i am like a slow loris! haha..but now have an urge to get all the cobwebbed joints out! aqua-aerobics might be fun but it sure sounds tough. swimming i know is ok. i am thinking of prenatal yoga...it would be fun if some of us in the forum can band together for a few exploratory classes..same timespan = same physical shape!

Loke: haha like my hubby too, got 2 left foot lah he. Anyways, usually for antenatal class both mummy and daddy also sign up and go.

loke: wow. I wish I was more internet suavy last time. Only just started blogging 3 years ago, so I only can do a pregnancy blog for this pregnancy

Miemie: I'm the only reader. Even DH doesnt know the existence of my blog. He's not such an internet freak so didnt bother to tell him also. He becomes a freak only for car forums. Sometimes I feel like he loves the car more than he loves me...*sob sob* recently been too emo and sensitive lah..haiyah.. I've already place the ticker on my blog today. Got it from pregnancy-gaga.

Ok so whenever we're ready, we'll announce our blogs when its made public k.

3 more weeks and it'll be open to public...feels like 3 centuries..

Xoxo: I think for TMC, if you take the single room, you can opt for bb to stay with you in the room. The nurses there said that that's what the angmoh mummies normally request for. However I didn't do that because I felt my room was too cold for bb. The temperature in the bb's room is adjusted to suit newborn bbs. In fact there was one incident after a feed I kept bb in my room so long that the nurse dropped by and notice bb shivering! So quickly send her back to bb-room.

The stay is 2 days from natural birth and 3 days for c-section.

Mie-mie: Yogo (haha) and aqua-aerobics are great activities for expectant mummies. It's always good to exercise because when it comes to the final day of bb's arrival, you need to be pretty physically fit to literally push bb out. Also through out pregnancy, strengthened muscle will definitely help with carrying all that extra weight and so on. My gynae even encouraged me to play tennis. Till now I think she siao.

chiapatty >> were the nurses at TMC nice? i felt the receptionist there was pretty rude..and read comments in other forums that TMC nurses quite pro-epidural...hmm..moi forming a bias agst TMC already..maybe a little premature i reckon.

when i was warded in mt a last week, i had quite a few visits from the nuns as the maternity ward was just below mine (i was on level 4, they were on level 3) and the nurses were rather caring...plus i see the sisters or nurses helping the new mothers carry the newborns to wait for the dads at the driveway..i don't see this at TMC..what was your experience like at TMC? i am a sucker for details like these so maybe i am being too sensitive / demanding..

xoxo>> when i told my fren about aqua-aerobics, she was like, are you going to wear 2 pc or 1 pc swimsuit? hahahaha.. i cant imagine it myself too! haha

the pregnancy book that i bought, shows some simple exercises that we can do at home, maybe i will start some simple exercises first, then when i feel ready to enter classes then i sign up.. my joints are like super stiff and not flexible, i cannot imagine how im going to survive yoga lessons actually.. though i really feel like exercising..

rina>> you gg to announce it at 12 weeks? i dunno when i wanna announce leh.. heehee.. then our list we can add in another column for our blogs!

chiapatty & all other already-mamas >> can you babes please describe the pain at childbirth? it sounds vague but bad..so it'd be good for the benefit of childbirth sotongs like moi to know what to expect from the pain rather than be hit with it like a freight train...

xoxo: i am in for the pre-natel yoga!

shall we create a list of interested mummies?!

Prenatel Yoga!
1. xoxo
2. Astro

add on to the list?

I was thinking of taking up yoga also. An assurance to not gain weight so much and to lose weight fast. I hope..

Miemie: Yup at 12 weeks. I think by then should be stablise already and also, dont tink we can hide any longer after that...

Xoxo: I found the nurses at TMC pretty nice and attentive leh. But I've no experience with nurses from other hospital so cannot compare lah. As for pro or not-pro epidural, I think that's up to your gynae, not the nurses.

One thing I liked about TMC is that they have a very good lactation consultation team (again not sure if that's the case with other hospitals) in that there's full support from the nurses to coach and give reassurance to you on breastfeeding. I think my bb would've starved if not for their help and guidance. On the whole, I have no complaints.

Xoxo: I have 2 words for you.. "No pain!" But there's a caveat - MUST HAVE EPIDURAL! I am pro-epidural too! Just make sure you get epi before the really bad contractions kick in otherwise like my fren like that, pain until cannot stay still to administer the epi!! Double whammy man!

For me, after the epi's kicked in, I could not feel any contraction. But towards the end when bb is about to come out, the doc reduced the epi dose so that I was not too numb that I couldn't push. When the epi reduced, I could feel the crampy feeling in the tummy when the contractions came but that was all. There was, all in all, No Pain. So everyone who's got low pain threshold here (like me!), there is nothing to worry! Yay! Yay! Yay! 3 cheers for EPIDURAL!!

I think I must die die have epidural kind lor.. cos my pain threhold is rather low! If no epidural, i think the most TMC will hear my screams! LOL...

loke>> i think you're not wrong in that sense, coz we're using the same muscles when giving birth! heehee.. just that the output is much prettier! ;)

i am drinking sunraysia pear fruit juice.. not too bad.. dun dare to buy prune juice.. coz u all say till so horrible :p

xoxo: epidural?! wah.. dunno how to tell u! hahaahaha.. maybe later tonight when i have mor etime..

MieMie, Mrs Neo: Yes, it is like pang-sai-ing. That's why before going to labour ward, the nurse must admininster the suppository to make you pang all your sai out first. Even then there are cases mummies push until sai also splash out, that's why the gynae wears a face guard when he's sitting at the dangerous end. muahahahah..(oopsie, did i make anyone puke?)

chiapatty: wahh!! ok.. that's very descriptive!! i didnt know that they'll give us suppositories!! i've made those bullet looking stuff when i was in NUS!! haha. it was fun..

For my previous delivery, i die die also dun wan the epidural, only on laughing gas...the pain was terrible. I was induce in the morning 7am till nite arn 5pm plus then start to feel the contraction till 11pm my cervix only open 3cm, as water bag already broke 1 day b4, so gynec advised nt to wait anymore...in the end guess wat, i have an emergency c-sect...Shit, wan to save money, in the end spend more....hahahaha

astro >> yep, let's have a name roll. maybe we can narrow down a top choice and ask them to do a test session to see if it suits our lazy bodies/inclinations...haha..maybe can have grp discount too!

xoxo: ha.. sounds cool..

aiyoh. carbo. messing up my study room now! sorting all the coins and paper clips into respective groups. but dun want to put back into the box!