(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

famela: yeah.. just to gain 8kg. from now till delivery, 1kg/mth.. should be more than enough lah.. haha.

ong: yeah. eat normally.. i'm not eating normally cos i cant eat normally.. so i'm not gaining weight.. eat already puke. the rest of the day hungry but cant eat.. so just eat a little bit.. bo bian.. i want to gain more also cannot.. haha.. but the best is maintain like this lah.. trying very hard now to live my life as per normal.. but i guess its all prep for parenthood.. no choice also.. hahaha..

chiapatty : ya, hope that is true.

loke: wow, just 8kg throughout? If so, then u would hv a easy time to be back to shape within wks ! how i envious those ppl who can gain less than 10kg thru out the 9mths....

Chiapatty, I tink so too. Coz my symptoms were the worst when I had my girl. I was the ugliest also. But for the two boys I was not m/sing that badly.

I havent weight myself...hmm wonder how much I've put on or lose. Not been eating well...

loke, 8 kg throughout! Serious. I would give anything to have dat...the min I've gained is 15 kgs and it increases for each pregnancy.For this one, haiyah don't know how much I will gain. My last one I gained 25 kgs!

Brand new Medela PIS Advanced 2008 (shoulder bag) for sale. I am selling it away cos i have very little breast milk. Used for 1 week only. Just bought this yr hence still under warranty. Bought it for $599 and selling it for $400. Interested...pls email me [email protected]

i hope to gain about 10 kg max.. i have gained about 1.6kg so far, so means i'm left with only 8kg to go.. that's pretty tough at the rate im eating..i just hope my weight wun hit the 70kg mark!!!

Ong: Just leave it to Mother nature. We can only do the best that we can. I worry about weight gain because it comes along with alot of health problems.
Dont yr Hb stop the fastfood,burgers stuff.I m having a hard time trying eat my fav. food in moderation.

Xoxo: What do you wish to catch up in the first place?

Rina: Do you mean to say that our looks will difer when we are pregnant?

rina & ong: so far so good for me.. haha.. my friend's the same case too.. so far 1kg/mth.. not that we dont want to gain more.. just cannot. haha. at least for now.. i gained and lost and gained and lost.. so everything is back to the same.

loke: I dont think/see that not gaining weight is a problem. I seen alot of undersize women who have healthy and gifted kids. It is the quality not the quantity of food. So try not to worry.

Humin: Hi. Are you more relax now?

HI I am discharged from Thomson. I feel better, been eating medication. How is everyone feeling? Still suffering from MS 24hrs?
Who is choosing Thomson ah, theyhave a new 1 bedder suite..but its going to cost. Any of you opting for that?

ww: yeah.. i think so.. just dont wanna go to the extreme also.. so trying hard to eat and not puke. haha.. i got good appetite for my mum's food. haha.. hope we all have strong, healthy and intelligent kids!

ww : nope, my Hb dont stop me fm anything that i wish to eat. He is those non kancheong type. In fact, i am having a hard time thinking of wat to eat daily since everything just seems so sianz to me
however, my bb is always hungry n therefore no choice but to grab some food to satisfy my stomach first.

rina : i gain 18kg for 1st one and i guess 25kg shld be an "easy" target to hit for this round since my weight gain is tremendous and normally at 2nd & 3rd tri, the weight gain is even more !

loke :your fren oni 1kg/mth. my fren gained 33kg thru out the entire pregnancy.

My mum says if the pregnancy is smooth,no MS no discomfort etc, it will be more likely a girl (like how she had me and my sis), but if there is a lot of throwing up, craving, etc.. then its a boy (based on her experience with my brother). How true is this?

ww >> doc says i am underweight. have to try and put on abt 12kg. hmm..i don't know if that's achievable. plus i hated taking supplements. now loaded with them everyday. can feel my nails and bones are getting stronger though. the former grows really fast, and the bones..they don't feel "loose"..the boobs hurt like crazy and they no longer look like an airport runway hahaha..so lots of catching up.

huimin >> what happened? how did you land up in hospital??

hello all..

ong! wah! already 6 kg? how far are u in ur preg?
hmm. might be wise to watch the diet slightly now.. coz too fast a weight gain can have implications.. not dieting per se.. but change the things u are eating? from carbo.. to fruits and focused more on proteins??

xoxo: omg.. u are not even half my weight!.. i dun want to stand near u .. haiz.. *sigh*

ladies..
two interesting reads here.. all about weight gain during preg.. more often that not.. it is not how much we want to gain.. but how much we shuold gain.. (see a diff here?) and pretty much how much we should gain.. is dictated by our built and pre-preg BMI.
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/physicalhealth/weightgain/

this one is a online tool to help u customised the weight gain u should have..
preg weight gain estimator
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/tools/weightgain/

for me.. i need to make sure. i dun go over 11 kgs.. can be done. but.. the aftermath is what i fear coz skali cannot establish bfing and i binge on bubble tea.. god bless me liao!

xoxo: underweight? ya.. u need to put on MORE than 12 kg leh.. the top u can max.. according to the weight gain calculator. is either 16 or 18kg! lucky u! :p:p

g'afternoon astro >> thanks for the links... like that i'd breach the 50kg mark for the first time in my life. seems like dr sim is giving me the lowest possibility weight gain - 12kg. how would it be possible that i weigh half of you??? i lost appetite completely today. going to have a subway sandwich..

loke >> lucky lucky you! having home-cooked food. my family is made up of career women who are hapless in the kitchen!

what's the consequences if we don't gain sufficient weight? i see in the breakdown..the BB's 3.4kg?? hmm..i rem my mum saying i weighed only 2.2kg at birth..

interestig.. they say my bb should weight 3.4 kg at birth.. gosh.. teng was only 3.1.. and he turns out (as of now) to be a minature giant.. wah. if 3.4 .. dunno how big he will be now! most likely over 20kg! *shudder*

xoxo: haiz. coz i weigh XX kg before preg.. so half? no?
*BIG SIGH*

hmmm.. 2.2 kg is on the small side.. i think, if i am not wrong.. they require bbs to be 2.5.. before they discharge them from NICU? hmm. i dun remember the exact number..
but being smaller. means more complications possible and more TLC needed.. coz they might not be able to bf properly etc.. smaller and more frail..
average.. 3.5 kg wor.. teng was still considered small .. my other thread.. all super big bbs! bbs tipping the scale at 3.7 kg at birth. the champion.. is a bb girl. just borned. 4 kg!
gosh..
my other fren.. 3.8kg! alamak..i am always amaxed with big bbs!

ww: For me, I look better when I'm pregnant wit my boys. The girl too all my shine..haha. I guess it depends on individual.

Siangjiao: for me its the other way round

Hi ladies! Talking abt weight gain.. i scare until dun dare to go on the weighing scale! Haaa.. But i can really feel the impact cos all my clothes are so tight lor.. I know i am gaining more weight than the bb.. Haizz..

Am so happy today! Friend helped me to buy Baby Gap and Carters from USA.. Cost abt $50 for 9 jumpers.. worth it or not ah? I went to see the clothes sold at kiddy palace.. seems to be very ex leh..

2257891.jpg

2257892.jpg

astro >> ok ok ..don't get distressed! the world takes all kinds yah and weight or not, you are still my friend!

i am really considered the puny one (so got bullied alot!hahaha). i was in the NICU for 2 days due to severe jaundice and that was abt it. my mom had an easy delivery - just 3 hrs and i was out. but all thru' life, i found it tough to put on the kilos and was monitored by the school health services..can u beat it i weighed just 15kg at p6? slightly more than a sack of rice. add to that, i am lactose intolerant
maybe that's why i am not coping well this round. the body's overwhelmed by the amt of things it's gotta grow, produce etc.

Babies must be at least 2kgs before they can be discharge. Coz my first one was a premmie. Only at 1.6kgs. He need to stay in the hospital for 1 mth

hey all! am back. nasi lemak eaten.. my son now in the bed trying to go down for his nap so i got time to chit chat here a bit.

wah still talking abt weight?

thanks for that link astro. was just gonna say something to that effect.. abt how we need to gain a suitable amount of weight for baby's sake. you put it across most aptly

i also like big babies.. easier to handle i suppose like what astro said. too small scared to carry. so i rem during my last tri i ate some durians too. but my baby still not that big lei. he was only 3.44. i was slightly born slightly bigger at 3.5.

xoxo, you reali tiny la girl..
you will be a cute mommy. eat more after the ms is gone ok? don worry abt the slow weight gain now. it'll pick up pace once you hit 2nd tri.

hi rina >> it must have been quite tricky to handle a newborn right? i see that they are so tiny..usually i'd decline to carry (very rarely) any BB that's less than 1 year old. they always seem so fragile. so how did u learn to handle your BB?

rina: roger about the weight limit for bb to be discharaged from NICU.

xoxo: ha. u cute lah.

mrs neo: wah! so fast buy rompers liao?! chiam.. i think u wun be able to resist liao when the bb is out.. easy easy ..:p they outgrow super fast one! u want girl or boy? if get girl.. i think.. worse :p coz the variety for bb girls.. is HUGE! :p

xoxo: just take consideration in the fac that while the rest lament and worry about putting on weight.. u MUST put on more weight.. else it is very tiring on u.. should u been keen to bf.. psst.. then airport runway will not be runway anymore.. twin peaks?! hahhahaha

famela >> my two closest frens are laughing their heads off..they are telling me they figure i'd have difficulty keeping myself "balanced" (they mean it in all figures of speech - mental, physical etc)..i am also worried. not getting out of the hse cos besides the one pair of size 1 maternity pants i got for myself at thyme, i don't have any other that fits. and too sick to go shopping..so it's a vicious cycle..no clothes = no travelling = no health.

astro >> no maternity bra seems to fit properly now and i cannot wear my old ones...sigh. i absolutely detest underwires...

xoxo, sayang sayang... slowly slowly.. it'll pass soon..

rina, wow, your first was really small. and you were very young then too rite? did you have difficulty coping?

xoxo: i think. need to buy the bra extensions. to increase the girth. cup size maybe not that big a change yet.. it is the girth.. i am at home today. braless.. else press on my bloated tummy. i can't breathe.. haiz..

Astro>> No lah.. not i buy 1.. my friend in USA went shopping.. and she saw SALE in carters and baby Gap.. so, she quickly grabbed few for me... But of cse, the papa will have to pay for it.. :p

Yeah.. hubby said dun need to buy so many clothes for the bb.. cos they outgrow them very fast.. I tot so too.. but i think i can never resist the temptations to buy more! LOL..

xoxo>> Whu dun u try shopping online? I think u will feel better during 2T.. ANd hopefully mood for shopping will start to kick in.. SINGAPORE SALE???!!! :p

xoxo: maternal instinct I guess. I tink its different when you hold other ppl bb than your own. You will automatically know how to take care of it.

Ok just to share a bit of my birth experience. The feeling is indescrible. To see you bb face for the first time is overwhelming.Then you'll know all the m/sing and labour pains are worth every second.

Also I've been trained since young to take care of my sis. So i guess that paid off too.

astro, must be the durians and the gallons of milk i drank in those last few weeks. heh

xoxo, be prepared to see your twin peaks grow. you'll be surprised. i went fr a very modest b, to a c and finally to a d. i was never happier with my two best frens. hahaha

i oso at home. bra less.. hahaha.. most comfy

Mrs neo: poor Mr N! :p:p.. u know i can go gaga over clothes for bb. coz so cute.. and they sure to fit one.. hahaha. then Miser will like.. 'buy so much for what.. they will outgrow.. dun be crazy' yada yada.. :p

i tell him.. this time aiming for girl. i tell him to hold on tight to his wallet! whahahhaha :p

hey. anyone here skilled in holding sprees ah? i cannot do sprees one..hopeless with maths but i figured out.. we all cannot resist sprees.. hahaha :p

famela, yup I was only 17 then..heheh. Well my mum was the one who handle the baby most of the time during the first week especially. Coz even when I brought him back, at 2kgs only. He was still very much small. Cant even bath him the normal way in a tub. Can just wipe his body with wet cloth.

famela: i think so.. for chinese.. if they top up with bird nest.. bbs also grow very big!.. ha..

rina: i shared with shugar last night.. coz we were the only ones left still up.. watching 'bringing home bb'.. and the father saw the kid.. so touched till cry. then the mother also cried..
then i told shugar.. i didn't cry. neither did miser.. guess both of us.. just stunned lah. glad that it was over.. my reaction to bb when i first saw teng 'oh.. like that one ah?'.. hahaha. miser.. was as usual.. calm.. hahahah..

not those big big tears of joy or what so ever leh. hahah the two of us..'emotionless' :p

Rina>> Salutezz to u!!! Dun think i can handle such small and fragile looking bb at tat age!!!

Astro>> Yeah.. Poor Mr Neo! I called him and asked him to transfer the $$ to my friend (cos i dun have internet banking).. he was like, "Wat? U asked her to buy Coach again ah?" When I told him its for the bb.. he sounded kinda happy or shld i say relieved.. LOL

famela, you are making me so jealous to be braless at home...hmmmm. I wish I can braless at werk oso, but all the men here will pengsan. Not out of shiokness but out of shockness!

Rina>> I think my office pple will also die of shock if i were to be braless in office.. LOL.. At least u gals can be braless at home.. I cant leh! Wif MIL and SIL at home all the time and FIL coming back occasionally.. I can only be braless in my own room.. and when my MIL comes knocking at my door... i will have to rush like mad to put on my bra..

Talking about big babies, i think they might run in my family. My sister's 3rd child was 4.26kg and she gave birth naturally without epi. Her number 1 is 3.06 kg only though and her babies just got bigger. For number 3, she only took on some laughing gas. The whole pregnancy she only put on 8 kg and the doctor keep telling her not to put on weight cos her BB very big oredi. Her husband quite farnnie, was saying when he saw the head crowning, he thought it is a honeydew, but after the whole head emerge, it is a watermelon. My mum said i was almost a 8lb baby.

rina, you are really amazing man. 17 year old with a baby, and a preemie at that. i would have gone bonkers. even when i had adil at a mature age of 27, there were moments when i felt so lost! it's not easy this taking care of baby biz.

hahaha... i cannot imagine you going braless at work. please don't ok. wait headlines come out in stomp or sthg!

re crying when first meet baby:
i oso cried lei. i am not a cry baby you know. i don just cry.. but i saw my son for the first time dono how come the floodgates opened so wide. still rem, calling my mom to tell her i gave birth already and i was sobbing like a baby myself. my hubby took photo some more that time. hair all dishevelled, face all read and nose big big with all that sobbing. hahha.. come to think of it now, quite farnie

Sorry to intrude in this thread. I'm from May thread.

I have a brand new CLARINS tonic stretch mark oil to let go. Please PM me if you are keen to take over.

2258064.jpg

Zombie: I like to watch the baby shows channel 70 oso. Some of them I will almost cry when they cry. Usually I'm not one who can cry easily. But nowadays, tears can just flow like there's no stopper.